ES1 civic help needed URGENTLY!!

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Primera VVL

ES1 civic help needed URGENTLY!!

Postby Primera VVL » September 11th, 2010, 3:27 am

Fellas I have a es1 with the d17 engine. Recently I started experiencing a problem whereby the car would be driving and just cut off. The first time it happened was when I was driving daylight and just flashed my lights to give a man a bligh to pass. There was no lights on the dash even when I tried starting back. After bout 2 min the dash lights just came back on and the car started normal and i went home. Then about a week after it happened again on the highway whilst driving. Car took about 5min then I got dash lights and the car started. Well last week it happened again but this time it never started back so I just towed my baby home and it has been there since. The battery is brand new and fully charged I had it checked. Anyone can advise me on what should I check or know any good Honda specific electrician that may be able to help. At present when i turn the ignition key no dashlights and car just dead like it have no battery. Thanks....

red_dragon

Re: ES1 civic help needed URGENTLY!!

Postby red_dragon » September 11th, 2010, 9:08 am

^ did you do any stuff to the car .. before it started ?

check the link

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=178621

also does the car have a immobilizer ?

extremehonda

Postby extremehonda » September 11th, 2010, 3:38 pm

I think I had the same problem with my ES once, I went to autonation and Andy changed the speed sensor, after that it worked fine. They would also do a diagnostic scan to see whatever else could be causing the problem.

extremehonda

Postby extremehonda » September 11th, 2010, 9:14 pm

I guess it could be the crank sensor, when a diagnostic is done you would know for sure.

Primera VVL

Postby Primera VVL » September 11th, 2010, 9:27 pm

But would the crank sensor cause you to get no current in the car.. Nothing like if the battery has been removed... The only thing I am getting is the hazard lights.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » September 12th, 2010, 8:12 am

if you are getting nothing except hazards, start at your main fuse block and check for a broken/dodgy fuse or fuse link and work your way forward. problem may be as simple as an oxidised connection or loose contact, dont forget your '-' or grounding cable too.

Sudhaakar

Postby Sudhaakar » February 13th, 2011, 6:41 pm

had same problem with my ES when i had now bought it...... carried it back in to achievors, got them to replace the cam and crank sensors with NEW ones an den... boom.... problem solved. u should check those out, cuz trust me its a pretty dangerous thing, makes ur car cut off in the worst of places at time ( in the middle of a major four road intersection) lol

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 13th, 2011, 9:16 pm

Primera VVL wrote:But would the crank sensor cause you to get no current in the car.. Nothing like if the battery has been removed... The only thing I am getting is the hazard lights.

yes, crank sensor can cause this.

Sudhaakar

Postby Sudhaakar » February 14th, 2011, 9:57 pm

alternator is secondary....cud bet yuh las dollar is either cam or crank sensor

nutsman

Postby nutsman » February 25th, 2011, 12:32 pm

change your cam or crank sensor someting similar to this happened to me

trdfire