Depressed, I need help, held up at gunpoint.

Anonymuse

Depressed, I need help, held up at gunpoint.

Postby Anonymuse » August 30th, 2010, 12:12 pm

So recently I was held up at gunpoint and robbed of my cellphone and some cash, and what makes the situation worse for me is the person who have done it, knows where I live, I feel like I've put my family in danger for some reason, and now I don't even feel safe in my own home, even with the alarm on 24/7 - The 20 seconds it takes to get from my door to my car on the mornings scares me because I have to constantly look around. I've reported the incident but the police are as useless as a piece of tissue paper, I feel like I'm trapped in a bubble. My entire life has just changed for the worse, I haven't ate since the incident took place (two days ago) and I just lost interest in doing anything, driving to work this morning felt like it was a difficult task. So I used Google to look up the symptoms of depression when my father mentioned to me that I may be depressed, and most of the symptoms apply to me right now.

* you can’t sleep or you sleep too much
* you can’t concentrate or find that previously easy tasks are now difficult
* you feel hopeless and helpless
* you can’t control your negative thoughts, no matter how much you try
* you have lost your appetite or you can’t stop eating
* you are much more irritable and short-tempered than usual
* you have thoughts that life is not worth living (Seek help immediately if this is the case)

The same site also says to seek professional help, I would like to know if there's any local places that can help me, or a therapist of some sort. Any help at all will be very much appreciated. I know this is trinituner - but please keep the negative comments away.

I know I have broken a rule by making another account but I just didn't want to tie my account with this situation, I just want to be on the safe side. I really hope that the mods understand.

*Edited by Moderator*
The OP used a duplicate account to post this (which was dealt with as per forum rules) however, the person requested to have you all informed that they reside in East Trinidad (specific location withheld so as to protect their identity) if this would help in getting the help they need..
Any suggestions for counselling in that general vicinity would be appreciated.

Re: Depressed, I need help, held up at gunpoint.

Postby crazybalhead » August 30th, 2010, 12:16 pm

I'm truly sorry to hear what happened. I suggest talking it through with your family and peers, share how you are feeling and go through the stages of grief. Recognise your feelings as part of the natural process.

In the mean time, act, do what you can to protect yourself. Understand that you have to continue living, find reasons.

Talk it through here if you want, many people find it cathartic to express themselves in writing, and people will respond accordingly.

Postby UML » August 30th, 2010, 12:20 pm

Life Line closed down :|

Postby AllTrac » August 30th, 2010, 12:23 pm

ive never been in such a situation as yours, thank god for that, so i can never know what you are going through. Im sure getting a gun pointed at you is a scary thing. I dont know where you can get treatment, but im just posting to tell you to hang in there and as cbh said, speak with your peers, im sure the last thing you want to be is by yourself.

Postby Rainman » August 30th, 2010, 12:25 pm

I disagree with you, tissue paper is very useful.

Joking aside, I think your situation is unfortunate, if the company you work for has an EAP program you can start there. If not, a co-worker just gave me this number:

Human Services Institute Ltd 9 Lange Street, Vistabella, Trinidad - 653-0436

Postby Hook » August 30th, 2010, 12:35 pm

If the OP could post a location it would be helpful in finding help in his area.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 30th, 2010, 12:42 pm

Sorry to hear that. I was also held up at gun point this was 8 years ago bandits broke into our home and held a gun to my head.

Never bothered me much to be honest we just told them take what they want and go.

You need to become tougher in life. Only you can really help yourself you can't show fear not in this world.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 30th, 2010, 12:48 pm

seek professional help buddy.
depression should not be taken lightly.

Chipz

Postby Chipz » August 30th, 2010, 12:54 pm

So sorry to hear about your situation bro, just thank god they took the material items & not your life

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » August 30th, 2010, 12:54 pm

Went thru the exact same situation a few months ago so i know how that feels. The next couple days will be REALLY rough and everything moment will be spent replaying the moment. I did it the hard way by dealing with it myself as well talking & making fun of the situation with some understanding friends as opposed to going professional counseling.

You'll feel every single emotion possible (hate, anger, loneliness, sadness, listless; you may even ask what point is there to life and contemplate the big "it")

All I can say is you will have to dig deep to pull yourself out. It's DEFINITELY not easy BUT you will get over it - just surround yourself with supportive people and don't be afraid to talk about it openly. REALLY TALK it out as much as possible. Your experience is going to help somebody someday so the faster you are able to mentally deal with it the better you'll be after.

Also you will NEVER get over it; as I still relive the moment up to today, but learning to deal with the situation is the only road to keeping you sanity. Think of yourself as a recovering mango addict.

Can't recommend a counselor; sorry.

Postby buzz » August 30th, 2010, 12:58 pm

well, while i know its hard to think positively at times you can try to just think of what you have, accomplishments etc

everyone has their darkest hour so its not just you

the higher you are on the threshold the more subtle, more frequent and more difficult life's challenges become IMHO

but as others said, seek professional help.

dpresident

Postby dpresident » August 30th, 2010, 1:06 pm

I understand how you feel and what you are going through. Last sunday my daughter and I was carjacked at gunpoint and taken somewhere in the back of Princes Town where everything was taken from us. Hang in there you have your life, its gonna be tough so dont beat up on yourself. Be positive and dont act as a victim, be an overcomer. Put your faith in God though.

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » August 30th, 2010, 1:17 pm

Just know that after everything that has happen your not the one who's gonna pay the price afterwards things does come back soh doh worry there turn willl be soon.

Postby shogun » August 30th, 2010, 1:19 pm

Also sounds like PTSD. seek some professional help and know you should be fine, just give it time.

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 30th, 2010, 1:22 pm

hmm..everyone reacts differently...my hosue was broken into last month...no one was at home..the moms usually is though.....but after that......... i became a madman....and i got the guys who done it.......did not rest till i knew who done it....went for 2 weeks without sleep....raided a house...

Postby Hook » August 30th, 2010, 1:28 pm

To tow something Pios, or are you being an ass again?

Postby bluesteel29 » August 30th, 2010, 1:29 pm

pioneer wrote:buy the rope jus in case

Postby crazybalhead » August 30th, 2010, 1:29 pm

It may be a cliche saying time heals all wounds, but it will.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 30th, 2010, 1:30 pm

naboidanboiPiosboi

to the OP, sorry for your loss man. Can't let that paranoia and fear make you stop living your life man, you'd eventually send yourself to St. Ann's

Postby X2 » August 30th, 2010, 1:31 pm

Depression takes time to take hold of you. It is often from a chemical imbalance. You are probably just still shaken up, which will go away.

Just be mindful of your surroundings... we living in the wild west !

apple

Postby apple » August 30th, 2010, 1:41 pm

sorry to hear abt your experience. having walked with depression as a companion for all my life I know how dark it gets even tho there are others around.
try looking at the upside..
no one was hurt, no lives were lost, anything else is replaceable. about your family's safety, take the steps to secure the house and talk to them about it.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » August 30th, 2010, 2:37 pm

Went thru the exact same situation a few months ago so i know how that feels. The next couple days will be REALLY rough and everything moment will be spent replaying the moment.

I too was held up at gun point (gun to my side, and eventually pointed at my head). And the quote above is true.

If it helps the OP, just remember that talking about it, be it counselling or otherwise, can help you deal with the circumstances. True, you never look at life and your surroundings the same again, but at the end of the day you have your life and limb - that is a blessing in itself.

Alexy

Postby Alexy » August 30th, 2010, 2:45 pm

have faith...be strong buddy. everything takes time.

on another note...mods please do something to get Pioneer to stfu.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » August 30th, 2010, 2:54 pm

While I do empathize, I am not going to sugar coat this, move - either temporarily of permanently. Bottom line is to move! You need to not feel trapped and regain your confidence. Stay by a friend, family, even a colleague from work so you can shake that early morning fear. You do have to move on and stepping away from the scene of the incident is the best thing.

You have to instill confidence back into your family and being scared, albeit justified, does not help them. The tough part here is that you have others to consider and take care of.

Another alternative is to hire a security guard from a REPUTABLE SECURITY FIRM and stand the cost for as long as you can afford or need.

Hope things work out positively for you.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 30th, 2010, 2:58 pm

Alright, first of all sorry to hear about your situation. While it is very unfortunate, let me assure you that this 'depression' as you call it is not really depression, it is an extreme form of stress or fear (acute stress disorder not post traumatic stress syndrome), so you should be thankful for that, as it is not permanent, your brain is just in a a state of trauma, which with appropriate counselling will go away. For now, what you need to do is avoid situations or similar stimuli that will remind you of the event, eg. don't visit the same location, change up your daily routine a bit (remember just for now, things will soon go back to normal.) BTW I'm almost sure the thieves don't care where you live, they just wanted your immediate belongings.

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 30th, 2010, 2:58 pm

call the Ministry of Social development you may have access to free counsellors.

or you can contact one of those EAP providers and ask for a personal consultation- eg Petrotrin Employee Assistance Programme Services Ltd (PEAPSL). we use them in wrk for counselling for trauma events like one you went through.

Postby bushwakka » August 30th, 2010, 4:19 pm

aye, sorry abt that xp....

but u living, thats a positive, grow from there

Deboss101

Postby Deboss101 » August 30th, 2010, 4:25 pm

jus thank god ur ok and be careful,i have been nearly robbed seven times one including a kidnappin but all of them i got away by runnin for my life without lookin back and i thank god for that,anytime i think of it i check back as i could of been a dead man....my advice keep low for a while and don't go liming and stop using the same routes to get home confuse them if they followin u and keep in mind the cars behind u....hope my advice helps

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 30th, 2010, 4:38 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Sorry to hear that. I was also held up at gun point this was 8 years ago bandits broke into our home and held a gun to my head.

Never bothered me much to be honest we just told them take what they want and go.

You need to become tougher in life. Only you can really help yourself you can't show fear not in this world.

^^^ This

Honestly, suck it up, sh*t happens. Get your family a couple Rotts/Mals for home protection. Call Adam Chin Leung, get into the Krav class, start training (running, pushups, etc, military style). Remake yourself, not to be a victim.

Some of the most dangerous people I've ever met were victimized at some point.

Life tests you on all fronts, we all fall down, we get back up ... That's how it is.

Postby shogun » August 30th, 2010, 5:10 pm

^^Everyone's not built the same way. coping skills differ from person to person, especially when dealing with a traumatic life threatening situation .. each person is going to react differently.