Anyone attending Anchorage Pop Rock Awards?

chineerat

Anyone attending Anchorage Pop Rock Awards?

Postby chineerat » August 11th, 2010, 4:26 am

Is anyone here attending the Anchorage Pop Rock Finals 2010 this Sunday 15th August?

Re: Anyone attending Anchorage Pop Rock Awards?

Postby goalpost » August 11th, 2010, 7:04 am

ummm...nope

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 11th, 2010, 7:18 am

yuh mean the POP awards :roll:

hott 93 totally fack up a good event .

no metal no care :evil:

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » August 11th, 2010, 7:30 am

Nah man..some of the metal bands does throw in some heavy metal occasionally.
You might still hear some Slipknot or Metallica or Ironmaiden and Pantera. 0X 0X 0X

Premera

Postby Premera » August 11th, 2010, 7:51 am

chineerat wrote:Is anyone here attending the Anchorage Pop Rock Finals 2010 this Sunday 15th August?

WHY ????? lol

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » August 11th, 2010, 7:53 am

rell smallies yo

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 11th, 2010, 8:27 am

lostboys crew wrote:Nah man..some of the metal bands does throw in some heavy metal occasionally.
You might still hear some Slipknot or Metallica or Ironmaiden and Pantera. 0X 0X 0X

but u have to admit it has lost its theme from the early days
imagine the ad 93 have out the heaviest song on their ad is from Green day :|

the crowd in there is not of olden days , back then twas booze like rain , girls were drunk and easy, sex in the car park was a normal thing....damm i miss those days :cry:

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » August 11th, 2010, 8:50 am

For real man...girls like rain and only bess thing. First time i ever got high and hurled my guts out Pop Rock Finals 1999, Damn F*@king Weed and Alcohol .. :( :( :(

Postby goalpost » August 11th, 2010, 10:26 am

Never went to one of these. Not exactly a fan of a bunch of greasy smelly indians dressed in black headbanging their long oily ass hair. At least daz how those pics on facebook make it out to be...

Postby Hook » August 11th, 2010, 10:34 am

^^^ you need new friends

lostboys crew wrote:Nah man..some of the metal bands does throw in some heavy metal occasionally.

:lol: have you READ the new rules?

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 11th, 2010, 10:37 am

Hook wrote:^^^ you need new friends

:lol: have you READ the new rules?

disqualification if u play that stuff :evil:

i would ah play it jus to rile dem idiots :twisted:

Postby Hook » August 11th, 2010, 10:54 am

Boi, honestly, what a lot of bands used to do back in the day was play APMA just for the exposure (and/or the free drinks and season passes) because it was THE rock event for the year so they used to flaunt the rules and play originals just to get their music out (because nobody could compete with Black Rose and Isolate).

The one and LAST time APMA allowed originals (one cover minimum) was in 2003 (which was the last time I competed) and it was by far the largest crowd there had ever seen. The reason they bundled the prelims and semis into one night was because the band participation (and thus ticket sales) couldn't warrant the club opening separate nights for each event. If you see pics of what happened this year for the first leg, the audience attendance was poor and I'm not expecting much better for finals.

Local rock is evolving and going retro all at once. We're seeing the momentum that the Lockdown series is building from the last couple years, the pull of Summerfest and the huge buzz that the Digging Up The Underground tour is creating with these older original bands resurfacing this year.

Al and Rory need to understand that APMA needs to evolve in step with these trends for its survival. They've invested too much in renovating the joint to let it go belly-up because of outdated thinking.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 11th, 2010, 11:18 am

blackrose FTW

Postby buzz » August 11th, 2010, 11:22 am

Hook, what are the new rules ?

Postby buzz » August 11th, 2010, 11:22 am

btw black rose had an "original" album coming out for the past 12 years now ?

Postby Hook » August 11th, 2010, 12:25 pm

Buzz, normal scene from the original rules, there's a list of songs from which to choose, but there's nothing heavy on it (not like in 1998 when some band did Pantera's Becoming and Dream Theater's Caught In a Web)...I think I saw a Godsmack in there....basically radio songs from 80's, 90's, current, reggae, blah blah blah...I recall hearing of a cover of a local original song played on local media, but not seeing it on paper...then again I only skimmed thru it as it didn't interest me...dunno if MRU/Total Local songs are included in that rule if it's true either, but if not, it basically limits your local content to Lyndon Lai Tan, Kees, Orange Sky, TAF, Skid and Collin Bell...if it IS, I guess it's some form of provision for your own content to be heard.

I guess from a judging standpoint, it's difficult to judge a bands ability on an original track without judging the composition of the song itself (as the judges are musicians, not producers). However, they should be able to tell what sounds good and what doesn't, even if it's not measured against the original versions of the songs...and if they can't, radio-friendly covers IMO won't measure a band's ability quite like say a Periphery or BTBAM cover (lol... I know, I'm biased)

I dunno what happening with the Black Rose "original" album nuh, but they're still an active band (they followed us up at Guitar Wars last year) without Curtis (who has youtube vids singing like a canary in some subway station)...They still play like they're now learning their instruments tho :|

Postby A172 » August 11th, 2010, 12:31 pm

goalpost wrote:Never went to one of these. Not exactly a fan of a bunch of greasy smelly indians dressed in black headbanging their long oily ass hair. At least daz how those pics on facebook make it out to be...

lmao :lol: :lol: :lol:

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » August 11th, 2010, 12:56 pm

^^^^
Nah man back in the days was the high society peeps not them oil head Indo Trini. And the white chicks and a couple of rastafarians . But i believe the rising crime was the downfall of the event. When kidnappings started plenty of the regulars started to stay away so the crowds got smaller and smaller. Cause you know them rich folks ain't gonna send their children out.

But some of the good bands back then was Spiral Eve, my ole time padna was the drummer.
And Burn was good.

Postby Hook » August 11th, 2010, 1:03 pm

lol...CRI's are everywhere, just the ratios got skewed in their favor when the other guys stopped attending ('twas the same songs over and over yo...how many years u gonna pay to hear a bad cover of The Final Countdown?)...I doh remember Spiral Eve ever entering APMA tho :S

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2010, 1:05 pm

I stopped going when I was braced by the door for not having my Iron Maiden jerzey tucked into my jeans.............I was like WTF
think that was the year when Max Bit U etc platyed the finals
try moshing to Max Bit U singing REM covers
sheesh
I miss Alt Wednesdays in Infiniti :-(

Postby Hook » August 11th, 2010, 1:06 pm

careful now MG, your age is showing :lol:

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2010, 1:07 pm

rofl
excuse me, Iron Maiden on tour now eh
***puts on Iron Maiden Dubai tour tee***

Postby RASC » August 11th, 2010, 1:08 pm

JAIL
BAIT

neoise

Postby neoise » August 11th, 2010, 1:09 pm

'sigh @ alt Wednesdays in infinity ...... man bring back some memories there jed.

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2010, 1:10 pm

BTW Hook, I still have promo fliers from Oddfellows Local, Jaundis, Swift Tuttle I and Brothers Grimm playing at Infiniti eh :-p
ah shud frame dem.........that was the pinnacle of the scene for me......imagine moshing in that little bar to the sounds of Steve Brereton and BLEED on stage!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby buzz » August 11th, 2010, 1:52 pm

Hook wrote:I guess from a judging standpoint, it's difficult to judge a bands ability on an original track without judging the composition of the song itself (as the judges are musicians, not producers).

true but IMO judges should be a composition of musicians and well simply enthusiasts of the genre of the music being judged (i know it is hard to judge who is qualified to be the later type of judge but...)

and i really don't see how hard it is to simply recognize :

timing ( how "tight" the band is )

clarity vocal wise

mixing err well i suppose that one can be blamed on teh sound techs (IMO having a sinle team of techs for all bands is BS. ) and mixing for live metal shows locally usually sux

stage presence (unno the guys who can't stop looking at their fret boards to hold a fcukin power chord or front men who stare at the ground and sing, that kinda shite) ( oh and the musicians that make it obvious that a slip up occurred by looking at the musician at fault )

and well continuity or originality, i mean simply " is this catchy or groovy ? have these arrangements / compositions been raped over by countless of bands since 1980 or sound like every other "pop rock" band on teh radio

yeah i know it sounds like i'm talking out me a$s but then again i suppose its a "competition" and not a concert which again i find to be total bs

:| [/2cents]

Postby SR » August 11th, 2010, 2:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:blackrose FTW

hmmm

Postby Hook » August 11th, 2010, 2:20 pm

MG Man wrote:BTW Hook, I still have promo fliers from Oddfellows Local, Jaundis, Swift Tuttle I and Brothers Grimm playing at Infiniti eh :-p
ah shud frame dem.........that was the pinnacle of the scene for me......imagine moshing in that little bar to the sounds of Steve Brereton and BLEED on stage!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I REFUSE to relate to this :lol: I REFUSE!!!!

Postby SR » August 11th, 2010, 2:24 pm

so in other words hook

yuh goin then

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2010, 3:35 pm

Hook wrote:
MG Man wrote:BTW Hook, I still have promo fliers from Oddfellows Local, Jaundis, Swift Tuttle I and Brothers Grimm playing at Infiniti eh :-p

I REFUSE to relate to this :lol: I REFUSE!!!!

man back then, Steve Brereton was like a national hero
I remember my first guitar wars in Club Europe :mrgreen: everybody was chantin Brereton Brereton Brereton and we were like who de heck be he :lol: :lol: :lol:
den landed in UWI and find out mih bro was doin engineerin with him :shock:
I was like :shock: duuuuuude yuo KNOW Steve Brereton?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!