Would any SR20 transmission work on any SR20

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Would any SR20 transmission work on any SR20

Postby Advil » January 31st, 2010, 12:41 am

Would any manual transmission work(well) on a SR20VE?

meaning a tranny from a DE and a tranny from a VE if the engine came with a CVT tranny

Reason i'm asking is because

I've been offered an SR20VE with harness and ECU and a couple other things for $5000, minus the transmission.

1.Is that a fair price?
2. How hard would it be to find a manual tranny for this engine?
3. If i need a specific SR20VE tranny, what do i look for to determine it's the correct thing?(a code/ a # or sumn?)
4.What's the average price of a manual SR20 transmission?
5.any of them have LSD?

i'm guessing i'd have to get a manual ECU as well?$$$?

yakuza

Re: Would any SR20 transmission work on any SR20

Postby yakuza » January 31st, 2010, 5:49 am

Advil wrote:Would any manual transmission work(well) on a SR20VE? YES

meaning a tranny from a DE and a tranny from a VE if the engine came with a CVT tranny ???

Reason i'm asking is because

I've been offered an SR20VE with harness and ECU and a couple other things for $5000, minus the transmission.

1.Is that a fair price? YES
2. How hard would it be to find a manual tranny for this engine? NON LSD=EASY, LSD=HARD
3. If i need a specific SR20VE tranny, what do i look for to determine it's the correct thing?(a code/ a # or sumn?) SR IS SR
4.What's the average price of a manual SR20 transmission? $3000
5.any of them have LSD? YES

i'm guessing i'd have to get a manual ECU as well?$$$? THERE IS ONLY ONE 20VE MANUAL ECU, FROM THE SR20VE/20V THAT CAME IN THE P12 GT

Advil

Postby Advil » January 31st, 2010, 11:00 am

Thanks meng, errrr.... how muc would that ECU cost?

yakuza

Postby yakuza » January 31st, 2010, 11:06 am

The 20V ECU wouldn't work on the predecessor, pin out is different, the 20V has E-throttle, coil packs, cam angle sensor, etc etc.

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » February 1st, 2010, 12:30 pm

ANyone seen any 4wd SR Manual gearbox?

5forward

Postby 5forward » February 1st, 2010, 10:49 pm

^Yes. Daz the gearbox from the pulsar gti-r

yakuza

Postby yakuza » February 2nd, 2010, 8:19 am

^ there is also a small spline, hydraulic one out of the P11/U14.

demented

Postby demented » February 2nd, 2010, 12:51 pm

Advil wrote:Thanks meng, errrr.... how muc would that ECU cost?

You'll have to use a normal SR20DE harness and ECU and hook up an external triggering switch to activate the VVL if you use the manual gearbox application.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » February 2nd, 2010, 1:00 pm

demented wrote:

You'll have to use a normal SR20DE harness and ECU and hook up an external triggering switch to activate the VVL if you use the manual gearbox application.

So what wrong with the VE harness and ECU?

streetsleeper2

Postby streetsleeper2 » February 2nd, 2010, 2:44 pm

Advil yuh talkin to the right tuner here. Yakuza or as i does call him the sr guru...he go fix yuh up normal normal.

demented

Postby demented » February 2nd, 2010, 3:25 pm

yakuza wrote:
demented wrote:

So what wrong with the VE harness and ECU?

Nothing...but I heard that when using the gearbox, you'll need to modify the VE harness alot to get the VVL switching signals. Educate me.

yakuza

Postby yakuza » February 2nd, 2010, 9:46 pm

demented wrote:Nothing...but I heard that when using the gearbox, you'll need to modify the VE harness alot to get the VVL switching signals. Educate me.

Well you heard wrong, there is no need to "modify" the VE harness to activate the cams, even with a gearbox attached to the 20VE, the cams still switch....

Just dynoed 3 B14's with SR20VE tonight, with stock VE harness, stock VE ECU, and no cam activating device, the cams still switched at the stock points.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » February 2nd, 2010, 10:38 pm

yakuza wrote:
demented wrote:Nothing...but I heard that when using the gearbox, you'll need to modify the VE harness alot to get the VVL switching signals. Educate me.

Well you heard wrong, there is no need to "modify" the VE harness to activate the cams, even with a gearbox attached to the 20VE, the cams still switch....

Just dynoed 3 B14's with SR20VE tonight, with stock VE harness, stock VE ECU, and no cam activating device, the cams still switched at the stock points.

^^^ Very true a lot of people get the impression that the VE cannot activate without the CVT transmission. Yes it can, also all the DE low port harness can work with the VE, so to you can use a SR16 ecu on both the same harness. i personally will choose the DE harness because it looks way neater due to not having the bulky transmission harness attached

Advil

Postby Advil » February 4th, 2010, 10:13 pm

k, i'm confused

Postby Sinister_Audio » February 10th, 2010, 6:41 pm

yakuza wrote:^ there is also a small spline, hydraulic one out of the P11/U14.

and u12 and u13

MotoRex26

Postby MotoRex26 » February 23rd, 2011, 2:59 pm

ok so could i change my CVT tranny to a gearbox comfortably?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » February 24th, 2011, 6:22 am

^^yes!

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » February 24th, 2011, 10:03 am

real sr20 gurus in this thread :mrgreen:

MotoRex26

Postby MotoRex26 » February 25th, 2011, 8:16 pm

bess!!!! thnx guys :D *bonx* sooooo wud i have to change d axles from d CVT tranny or i cud keep em?

William18

Postby William18 » June 12th, 2011, 12:01 pm

Would need this post.........

MotoRex26

Postby MotoRex26 » August 31st, 2011, 4:39 pm

So is it easily possible to find an aftermarket LSD for the SR20DE gearbox???