Lacking midbass

infinite_RPM

Lacking midbass

Postby infinite_RPM » January 18th, 2010, 6:37 pm

My gallery setup is lacking frequencies between 60 and 120Hz.... I was thinking to put in a small woofer (8" or 10") and tune high to produce these frequencies.. I really dont know what sub to use... i have about 300-400 to spend... any suggestions?

Postby nervewrecker » January 18th, 2010, 7:07 pm

been there considered that, try some sound barrier's, zebra's or hurricane's.

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » January 18th, 2010, 7:43 pm

Someone selling a RF P1 8 inch and a kicker 8 inch on the forums. Well within your price range. Do a a search.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » January 18th, 2010, 7:49 pm

what your gallery setup is?
my gallery system has lately been throwing off car alarms with midbass and low mids when i playing rap , u need to check me for a hear :D

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 18th, 2010, 7:50 pm

how do u know its lacking in this bandwidth ?

for gallery sets d lpf is usually set at 80hz & bass for these kind of sets usually shine from high 30s-80hz

if 60-80 is lacking in ur bass & if ur deck has a EQ then try boosting those freqs slightly in ur deck or processing & listen to d result ......

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » January 18th, 2010, 8:00 pm

i set the low pass and subsonic for the bass 30-80Hz and the mids crossed at 80hz...it not designed to play that low so it will start to distort when i turn it up... so i tuned it higher...my mids match the bass now but from 60-120 is kinda non existant...

btw my setup is 2 6"dls in front
2 8" soundstreams in the back
1 mtx 12" tr75 (in horn loaded enclosure)
PB asa1000.1dx
ss xta 480.2

i was checking out some audiopipes to buy

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 18th, 2010, 8:04 pm

try disconnecting d 8s & listen if u get more midbass from d 6.5" in front ....

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » January 18th, 2010, 8:10 pm

those speakers need to be in like a n enclosure for the frequency u want,

and is the 2 channel running all that?

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » January 18th, 2010, 8:15 pm

2 channel running the 2 8's at 4ohm stereo...the 2 6" in front runs off the deck

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » January 18th, 2010, 8:33 pm

what enclosure is the 8s in?
and those 6s aint seeing enough power

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » January 19th, 2010, 10:41 am

ok how bout dis... i buy 2 more 8" soundstreams and run all 4 in an enclosure tuned to 75Hz i will go a little over budget doh

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 19th, 2010, 2:16 pm

^^ that'll work fine. ell, even alpha's give good midbass in the proper enclosure.

i'm guessing the 8's were on the back dash.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 19th, 2010, 7:42 pm

The 8s ported right now?

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » January 19th, 2010, 11:32 pm

nope just crossed at 80hz

nello-sello

Postby nello-sello » February 3rd, 2010, 7:10 pm

update???

Postby 3stagevtec » February 3rd, 2010, 10:17 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:i set the low pass and subsonic for the bass 30-80Hz and the mids crossed at 80hz...it not designed to play that low so it will start to distort when i turn it up... so i tuned it higher...my mids match the bass now but from 60-120 is kinda non existant...

btw my setup is 2 6"dls in front
2 8" soundstreams in the back
1 mtx 12" tr75 (in horn loaded enclosure)
PB asa1000.1dx
ss xta 480.2

i was checking out some audiopipes to buy

odd setup you have there imo.. i.e. with the fullrange DLS off the deck power and just a pair of powered midrange 8"s in the back..

and the DLS will only be receiving about 14Wrms / CH from your typical Pioneer deck.. (from my experience, a properly powered and crossed pair of components can get really loud)

if you add more 8" drivers, you midrange / midbass will get pretty loud and you will start to fall behind in the high frequency range.. i.e. the DLS off deck power will not keep up..

i see you want both SQ and gallery.. so why not develop each system properly?

i.e. run the 8"s in a ported enclosure to get good response from 80Hz up, along with a pair of compression drivers to complete the gallery set frequency range..

then run the DLS components for SQ / daily use only..

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » February 4th, 2010, 11:03 am

thats d kinda advice i was looking for^^

Postby 3stagevtec » February 4th, 2010, 11:54 am

:fadein: :fadein: