Car Alarm

neckto

Car Alarm

Postby neckto » June 30th, 2004, 11:14 am

how do i go about choosing a car alarm stsyem i don't know much about what specs to look for or features also within reasonable range
thanks

Sully

Postby Sully » June 30th, 2004, 11:16 am

Most importantly, what's your budget. Next is the features you want in an alarm.

Mini

Postby Mini » June 30th, 2004, 11:20 am

talk to your insurance people first

sometimes they require certain alarms for full coverage

neckto

Postby neckto » June 30th, 2004, 11:27 am

what kinda features do they have
whats the average price for a alarm system?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » June 30th, 2004, 11:44 am

Alarm have all kinda feature now yes. Ignition lock, gas lock, back-up battery, remote start, remote trunk, voice module.....etc.

And they vary from $500 up to over 2gs but like Mini said.... check your insurance company first.... they have some stipulations for alarms that they give ins discounts for.

aR&D

Postby aR&D » June 30th, 2004, 4:56 pm

one invaluable feature is the Anti-hijack. It shuts the car down unless you punch in the necessary key sequence to dis-able it.....be it yourself or a bandit.

In this day and time i think it is a must have feature IMHO

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 30th, 2004, 4:59 pm

True, could be handy if yuh leaving ah party tight and yuh cyar remember the code for it, bep right there yes :lol:

aR&D

Postby aR&D » June 30th, 2004, 5:50 pm

^^^ ohhhh, come on nah man....leave that for the Ladies nah..... thats like saying you're one of those who cant' find and recognise their cars in a parking lot :wink:

neckto

Postby neckto » June 30th, 2004, 9:12 pm

who does sell or install these systems?
could you refer me to someone preferable in south who is good and not money hungry?

Mini

Postby Mini » June 30th, 2004, 9:20 pm

who does sell or install these systems?
could you refer me to someone preferable in south who is good and not money hungry?

carplus on cipero st. usually does my work

licensed installers so you get the lifetime guarantee on the 'brain'

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » June 30th, 2004, 9:53 pm

viper 700esp...... sound and security in valpark.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » June 30th, 2004, 10:28 pm

Just had one installed.......viper 700esp

neckto

Postby neckto » June 30th, 2004, 10:44 pm

what feawtures the viper 700esp has?
how much you pay for system/install?

dragzster

Postby dragzster » July 1st, 2004, 12:54 am

yes i have a viper 700esp myself. not impressed with it though

dragzster

Postby dragzster » July 1st, 2004, 12:54 am

if ever u up north, try car boutique

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » July 1st, 2004, 2:14 pm

Wuz the prob with it???

aR&D

Postby aR&D » July 1st, 2004, 2:30 pm

it does not have the anti-jack feature. The 300 series has this, but not the 3-point immbolisation points like the 700esp. there are devices that will integrate with the 700esp as an auxillary feature.

Having done my research, it is a good product. Dragzster why you not impressed with it?

like the saying goes: cheap thing nah good and good ting nah cheap....... you make your own compromises.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 1st, 2004, 3:23 pm

www.datadotsecurity.com

This is perhaps the best alternative to an alarm.

Car Thieves know how to bypass alarms...just my 2 cents

SubaBlu

Postby SubaBlu » July 1st, 2004, 8:03 pm

www.autowatchonline.com
Alarms with anti-hijack, 3 point immobilization, if you have a turbo car, they have one with a built in Turbo Timer too.

If not Turbo, the 236 Rli with Anti-Hijack is the ticket......
Check them for Insurance acceptance.........

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » July 2nd, 2004, 12:37 am

viper 700esp...... sound and security in valpark.

don't ever buy this alarm
it only vcomes with one pager remote and no alternate key
so if this one malfunction yuh arse dark

my ole man have one...pressah

dragzster

Postby dragzster » July 2nd, 2004, 2:38 am

i respect viper, don't get me wrong here however, i think i got a defective product or probably it was not installed correctly. basically its the erratic behaviour i cannot handle, ie. the keyless entry sticks as well as the sensitivity, range and other little things. I have seen much better quality though. I am not a specialist is alarms but I know people with older model viper systems that work much better than mine.

dreadman

Postby dreadman » July 4th, 2004, 6:51 pm

allyuh ah have black widow in de car....don't know if dat iz ah good kind but ah get it with de car and it wuking good, no problems at all

dreadman

Postby dreadman » July 4th, 2004, 6:56 pm

allyuh i think dat datadot is sh!t, no offense Mighty dot sasman, but when dey spray dat on your car, when u have to change ah part in your car what happens for eg...if you getting ah rough ride in your car and u want to change shocks.......and next thing de shocks good u have to keep de shocks, u cyah sell it at all

dat's only my opinion

G20

Postby G20 » July 5th, 2004, 1:07 pm

ralliart...seanf..how much is the viper 700 esp ?

aR&D

Postby aR&D » July 6th, 2004, 11:25 am

G20, installed by the same place in Valpark for $1550.

Aye 5Forward, you sure is a Viper700ESP you saying that only have one remote.....i have 2 for mines :?: :?:

Mini

Postby Mini » July 6th, 2004, 12:34 pm

don't ever buy this alarm
it only vcomes with one pager remote and no alternate key
so if this one malfunction yuh arse dark

my ole man have one...pressah

pardner something wrong

I have this in both cars owned in recent times... two remotes two keys in each case... somebody obviously have one remote and a key for you alarm.. it's in your interest to find out who.

BTW did you get the lifetime warranty on it? if not.. .then the installer is probably not licensed by Directed Electronics to do so.

Viper 700ESP at Carplus... TT$1595... Lifetime Warranty included.

There are a handful of other people in Trinidad who are licensed by DEI to install and service the Viper Alarms. I just know Carplus cuz I accustomed dealing with them.

Sully

Postby Sully » July 6th, 2004, 1:13 pm

^^ The only dealer listed on the Viper website is Sound and Security in Valpark.

mattu

Postby mattu » July 7th, 2004, 2:26 am

have some clifford alarm system in my l200 but the funny thing is every time the van gets wet the alarm goes off, u would swear the van cussin ya
any solutions for this?

Mini

Postby Mini » July 7th, 2004, 7:51 am

have some clifford alarm system in my l200 but the funny thing is every time the van gets wet the alarm goes off, u would swear the van cussin ya
any solutions for this?

this is an easy one.... don't get the van wet! :lol:

seriously now

have you check to see where the water getting into the unit? where is the unit located? under the dash? Maybe the siren is getting wet and shorting something out. If you mean wet when you washing it... then maybe the shock sensor so sensitive it reacts to the water spraying on the van (though I highly doubt it)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 7th, 2004, 10:11 am

aR&D wrote:it does not have the anti-jack feature. The 300 series has this, but not the 3-point immbolisation points like the 700esp. there are devices that will integrate with the 700esp as an auxillary feature.

really??? I need to have a look at my manual to check that.