QG13 - What can i do to make it go?? IT SUCKS!!!

JoeZwalez

QG13 - What can i do to make it go?? IT SUCKS!!!

Postby JoeZwalez » August 3rd, 2009, 8:28 pm

So i recently downgraded/degraded to a QG13 engine (from a monster of a QR20) and frankly this is NOT " the little engine that could!"

Here are the specs:
QG13 doing 32000kms (and dealer maintained!!)
Car is 5 years old and formerly lady (NOT)-driven

So far I have added a drop-in K&N! and it still sucks, take-off is slow and the car feels weak! Am I just suffering from post-QR20 stress??
What can i do to give it some pep??
Allyuh help meh nah!!!

moti

Postby moti » August 3rd, 2009, 8:34 pm

nothing :|

try thinking about putting a QG18 or SR **

that QG 1.3 was built with only one thing in mind..................................fuel economy...

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » August 3rd, 2009, 8:36 pm

^ and it doesn't even do that very well

moti.... check yuh pm

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 3rd, 2009, 9:12 pm

bring it ah go make that 1.3 wok :lol:

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » August 3rd, 2009, 9:13 pm

What have i done???!! There must be something besides a total engine swap! come nah..some ideas quick!

About these engine swaps, is there a lot of conversion required? more info please

vin123

Postby vin123 » August 3rd, 2009, 9:42 pm

extractors?

trvs

Postby trvs » August 3rd, 2009, 9:44 pm

drink a redbull and pretend ya flying

praise

Postby praise » August 4th, 2009, 5:59 am

These engines are not very powerful. Like you said your previous engine was a QR20, so your trottle responce would be a lot different. Usually a vehicle maintained by the firm do not always means that everything is being done on it to work properly. These would only do oil change, adjust brakes, check fluid levels, alignment and tyre pressure, if the owner makes no mention of having any problems. So to make sure that everything 100 percent, service your injectors and trottle body, change spark plug and do a diagnostic scan to check your timing and injector pulse. I had those same complains from people who had QG13's and did the same with great results.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 4th, 2009, 7:06 am

well actually thats exactly what i do. i do some changes on the ECU and walla Power!!! there are a few fellas on tuner i did it for also

Seeker

Postby Seeker » August 4th, 2009, 2:37 pm

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:well actually thats exactly what i do. i do some changes on the ECU and walla Power!!! there are a few fellas on tuner i did it for also
I really need to come by you boy.

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » August 5th, 2009, 6:48 am

I have also heard that i can change the Air flow sensor (replace with a QG15, 16, or 18 ). Will this work??

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:well actually thats exactly what i do. i do some changes on the ECU and walla Power!!! there are a few fellas on tuner i did it for also

Anil, where are you located? What's the cost of your service?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 5th, 2009, 8:32 am

^^ PM me that info too please Anil !!

moti

Postby moti » August 5th, 2009, 8:51 am

[quote="JoeZwalez"]I have also heard that i can change the Air flow sensor (replace with a QG15, 16, or 18 ). Will this work??

key factor for this to maybe work will be the pins on the air flow

i know some QG air flow carry 3pins while some carry 4pins so you will have to take that into consideration when swapping airflow meters

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » August 5th, 2009, 1:42 pm

my advice is throw it away and buy a QG18 or SR

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 5th, 2009, 4:00 pm

i don't need to PM anything i got nothing to hide. :roll: $350 for a complete cleaning and changing. Includes cleaning of injectors, throttle body, MAF, pump filter, changing oil/filter,installing a gas filter,plugs,air filter. changing the settings on the ecu is another cost.

JoeZwalez,moti, changing the MAF does nothing all the QG13,15,16,18 are interchangeable once the pins are the same. without any power gains.trinidrift, i could bring a 1.3 QG to wash your 1.5 GA so :?:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 5th, 2009, 4:07 pm

wats the price of the ecu tuning?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 5th, 2009, 4:08 pm

$150 it's done together with a scan of the engine

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 5th, 2009, 4:16 pm

keep engine sell car get a march,b11 , put a 5fwd and you orn!

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 5th, 2009, 4:24 pm

seriously
get light weight rims, take out back seat(depending on how drastic you are take out passenger seat), extractors, cai, gearbox, change plug wires, iridiums, premium gas. carry a donut instead of normal size tyre. take out music, amp boxes etc. dont full up ur gas tank( have it around 1/3 - 3/4)

Picasso

Postby Picasso » August 5th, 2009, 4:41 pm

i could bring a 1.3 QG to wash your 1.5 GA so

Lawd let's hope wagonrunner does not see this :lol: :lol: :lol:

vin123

Postby vin123 » August 5th, 2009, 9:03 pm

Picasso wrote:
i could bring a 1.3 QG to wash your 1.5 GA so

Lawd let's hope wagonrunner does not see this :lol: :lol: :lol:

lol...so i guess if u tune a 1.5 GA it will work real borse lol :?:
by the way how long does it take to do this?

Spectre
Location: Constanly using the savannah as my personal raceteack

Postby Spectre » August 6th, 2009, 12:47 am

Improve your suck and your blow. Bigger throttle body, extractors, free flow exhaust, nology SILVER plugs, MSD ignition, blaster coils, raise your idle, ECU......just my 2 cents

Seeker

Postby Seeker » August 6th, 2009, 12:45 pm

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:i don't need to PM anything i got nothing to hide. :roll: $350 for a complete cleaning and changing. Includes cleaning of injectors, throttle body, MAF, pump filter, changing oil/filter,installing a gas filter,plugs,air filter. changing the settings on the ecu is another cost.

JoeZwalez,moti, changing the MAF does nothing all the QG13,15,16,18 are interchangeable once the pins are the same. without any power gains.trinidrift, i could bring a 1.3 QG to wash your 1.5 GA so :?:
Good info

kimolal

Postby kimolal » August 6th, 2009, 9:27 pm

here what to do.... go to any parts place buy crc electrical contact cleaner and spray ur airflow sensor give it a 10 mins to dry and then carry the car for a spin. guaranteed ur car will feel like u just put in a turbo. then call anil let him tune ur engine and u will be ready to race anybody!!!!!!

QG

Postby QG » August 7th, 2009, 11:35 am

JoeZwalez wrote:What have i done???!! There must be something besides a total engine swap! come nah..some ideas quick!

About these engine swaps, is there a lot of conversion required? more info please

Service injectors, change oil, change plugs...(The regular Tune up).

QG

Postby QG » August 7th, 2009, 11:40 am

JoeZwalez wrote:I have also heard that i can change the Air flow sensor (replace with a QG15, 16, or 18 ). Will this work??

Useless, no power gains cause they use same type MAF with 3pins and 4pins :lol: 8-)
The QR20 MAF on the other hand will work but you will run lean.

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » August 8th, 2009, 8:22 am

QG wrote:Useless, no power gains cause they use same type MAF with 3pins and 4pins :lol: 8-)
The QR20 MAF on the other hand will work but you will run lean.

What do u mean by "run lean"?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 8th, 2009, 12:19 pm

i think he meant rich

QG

Postby QG » August 8th, 2009, 3:14 pm

http://www.qg18de.net/phpBB3/viewtopic. ... 79&start=0

Sorry, I meant rich lol.

Do some other look around in the forum, you must come across some interesting things.
The QR20 Throttle body on a QG motor would be a great mod here in Trinidad.

qg13mera

Postby qg13mera » April 11th, 2010, 2:12 pm

Anil_Sooknanan,
hey i was reading so of the post and am interested in modding my ecu in a qg13 almeara so