wtk ohm load

jack hammer

wtk ohm load

Postby jack hammer » May 1st, 2009, 1:10 pm

am running 3 single 4ohm sub off 1monoblock which gives me 1.3ohm that the amp is seeing. an to 18sound 8ohm 8" off a 2chan amp it's stereo.

wat i want to find out is, will doin this damage my amps
an can my mid an sub amp run at 8ohms and 1.3ohms stable?

nello-sello

Postby nello-sello » May 1st, 2009, 1:36 pm

what amps are you using? more details

jack hammer

Postby jack hammer » May 1st, 2009, 1:42 pm

us amp merlin 1800rms on bass an a( 2000watt max) explore on mids.

nello-sello

Postby nello-sello » May 1st, 2009, 1:49 pm

once you do not wire your sub or mids to an ohmage lower than what your amps can handle you should be fine.

the Merlin should be 1 ohm stable so youre good there

if you run the 8" in stereo at 8ohm the amp should be fine ..you would be underpowering the speakers though thereby not benefitting from its true capabilities.

but me eh no expert..some other tuners would tell yuh what is what

jack hammer

Postby jack hammer » May 1st, 2009, 2:08 pm

tankz man. any other info from anyone will be nice.

Postby X_Factor » May 1st, 2009, 3:11 pm

if ur monoblock is 1ohm stable...u dont have anything to worry about

the 2 channel amp...i'd use it 4ohm bridged mode to play the 8ohm speakers

if u basically put the 8ohm speaker on one channel in stereo, it would be wayy underpowered
Last edited by X_Factor on May 1st, 2009, 4:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » May 1st, 2009, 3:56 pm

the mono @ 1.3 Ohms will be fine.
To maximize the 2 channel u can bridge the amp (mono mode) to power the 2 8". This will give u the amp power output from the amp (like 2 Ohm stereo).

Postby 3stagevtec » May 1st, 2009, 4:29 pm

running below an amplifier's stable rating increases stress on alot of the internal components and results in an increase distortion levels..

running higher than the lowest stable rating results in increased efficiency, less distortion and less power..

at 1.3ohms, your reduced power will be minimal and the amp will run slightly cooler / more efficient..

to get maximum output from your 2ch amp, parallel the 2 8ohm mids speakers and run them to the amp in bridged mode..

jack hammer

Postby jack hammer » May 1st, 2009, 6:28 pm

i experimented with running it in mono mode a while back but can't remember .while in mono mode will it take the stereo signal an bring it in to one so u will hear very thing or just take one side of the stereo. signal?

Postby 3stagevtec » May 1st, 2009, 7:05 pm

jack hammer wrote:i experimented with running it in mono mode a while back but can't remember .while in mono mode will it take the stereo signal an bring it in to one so u will hear very thing or just take one side of the stereo. signal?

use both the left and right signal, the amp will combine them..

riadb

Postby riadb » May 1st, 2009, 9:36 pm

the merlin is stable to 1 ohm so u shouldn't have any problems with it. Actually running it at 0.3ohm above minimal impedance works wonders for that amplifier.

as for the 2ch, 2000W Max??
if it is really 2000W max or around 1000W rms bridged then it should have enough power to play the 8's in stereo mode @ 8ohms per channel.
higher impedances result in lower THD and a higher damping factor from the amplifier. You would be surprised at how clean and crisp ur midrange would sound :wink: