WTK... Droping Yuh Car

*OUTSIDER*

WTK... Droping Yuh Car

Postby *OUTSIDER* » March 22nd, 2009, 7:18 pm

Ah want to install some coil overs in meh car...Iz ah CK2 1999 LANCER.
Rite now it 2" of d grown & it doz ride real bumpy.
Who doz Supply & Install In South...What Price.

THANKS

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » March 22nd, 2009, 10:43 pm

17 views no comments :(

HELP

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » March 22nd, 2009, 11:02 pm

If ur ride height is soo low then u want something that is stiff!!! this will tend to be bouncy and very harsh on the road.
remember @ that height to keep ur damper from bottoming out and the cars body from hitting the road the settings on both the damper and the spring rate will have to be high!!!
For optimum handling i would suggest that u go no lower that the point where ur control arms angle upwards away from the ground.

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » March 22nd, 2009, 11:20 pm

^^^ I lend my lil bro d car last night & d mudda kant hit ah big hole & D left side front spring real banging.....

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » March 23rd, 2009, 7:22 am

i highly doubth that the spring is banging, i believe that ur dampers may have blown. this is why it is so important to have enough damper travel which would be reduced through the use of lowering springs. These lowering springs effectively reduce the travel of the damper and put an increased constant load on them, leading to premature failure.

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » March 23rd, 2009, 2:35 pm

i have a question about this topic. what do you all think about cut spring and rethread shocks to get a 2 1/2 - 3 " drop. (almera, daily driven, dont drive fast 140kmph at most sometimes)

i read almost all the posts on dropping yur car but i still not sure about it.

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » March 23rd, 2009, 2:43 pm

^^^^ very bad thing to do :!:
i know u will say that u r compensating for the cut spring reduction in height by rethreading the dampers however how accurate is this,,,,also the cut spring will be lower but the spring rate (stiffness) of the remaining coils will be the same, this will lead to more force being exerted on less coils and more strain on the coils.....
try it if u want, sometimes its better to learn the hard way, or u can take the advice that the car will feel like rubbish, if not directly after u do the mod , it will feel like rubbish within a few weeks to a month.

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » March 23rd, 2009, 6:20 pm

GEAR_HEAD wrote:i highly doubth that the spring is banging, i believe that ur dampers may have blown. this is why it is so important to have enough damper travel which would be reduced through the use of lowering springs. These lowering springs effectively reduce the travel of the damper and put an increased constant load on them, leading to premature failure.
D Springs i hav iz normal ones... Cut it with ah grinder.. :oops:

frontier

Postby frontier » March 23rd, 2009, 7:32 pm

i bought new tokico shocks and a set of megan drop springs from dual star and the installed it, with energy suspension bushings and a rear toe bar on my ek3 and the car riding good and handing even better, all i need now is a rear camber kit.
Now that's more than 3k but i know meh shocks wouldn't buss or damage in any way.
if you serous about dropping your car do it properly the first time.

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » March 23rd, 2009, 9:35 pm

frontier wrote:if you serous about dropping your car do it properly the first time.

xxxxxxxx 1 million!!!

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » March 23rd, 2009, 9:51 pm

frontier wrote:i bought new tokico shocks and a set of megan drop springs from dual star and the installed it, with energy suspension bushings and a rear toe bar on my ek3 and the car riding good and handing even
kool...ah pm dual star....thanks man.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » March 24th, 2009, 7:04 am

^^u can check TSC on the forum......he is the megan racing guru!

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » March 24th, 2009, 8:03 am

another question... how would you know which shock absorber to choose to work with yur drop spring?

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » March 24th, 2009, 8:58 am

i am not sure how u can ensure that the damper u use will work will with ur lowering spring...i don't know how dampers are rated however i know in a coilover setup the dampers are valved for the spring rates used.

i guess you would have to talk 2 ppl who are using that specific lowering spring on ur ride application...to test if ur setup is working properly and not bottoming out on corners etc u can use a tie-strap. secure the tie-strap @ some point along the damper shaft and then drive the car, push it hard like u would around corners then get out of the car and see if the tie-strap has moved. If it has moved to the base of the bump stops then ur setup if bottoming out the dampers and u may need stiffer dampers.

The following may not be 100% accurate but its something to consider-
Probably to ensure that the dampers are not under constant overload u can check the height of the damper assembly as opposed to the height of the lowering spring...i guess that if the ratio is close to stock...assuming that the valving is correct....then this would be fine. :|

Idle_Torque

Postby Idle_Torque » March 26th, 2009, 6:18 pm

wat about those suxpex people? any comments on dropping vehicles by them??

frontier

Postby frontier » March 27th, 2009, 12:05 pm

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » March 29th, 2009, 11:51 pm

original.badman wrote:wat about those suxpex people? any comments on dropping vehicles by them??

depends on if yuh want it back

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » April 4th, 2009, 12:31 pm

original.badman wrote:wat about those suspex people? any comments on dropping vehicles by them??

yeah IMHO i think suspex does a great job, but i still think drop shop does a better job. But idk thats just my opinion bcuz i know of ppl to complian about both places. :roll:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 7th, 2009, 6:53 am

^^^as u said bro..........to each his own!

my partner gone by drop shop to drop his ride,after he hit a hole and gone down in a little depression and the spring move out of place and all kinda thing,car sling up!

man gone back for they a$$ yes............one man army! :|

My $0.02

Postby Sky » April 7th, 2009, 10:20 pm

frontier wrote:i bought new tokico shocks and a set of megan drop springs from dual star and the installed it, with energy suspension bushings and a rear toe bar on my ek3 and the car riding good and handing even better, all i need now is a rear camber kit.
Now that's more than 3k but i know meh shocks wouldn't buss or damage in any way.

You don't need a Camber kit if the top of the back wheels are leaning inwards. At the top of the trailing arms there's the upper arms. They're bolted to the chasis with two bolts. If you get longer 14mm bolts to put here and use spacers or washers, you tilt the trailing arms back out and fix the camber. Essentially it's the same as what the camber kit does. Just that the camber kits tilt the trailing arms out by just the twist of a nut and cost A LOT more.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 8th, 2009, 6:44 am

^^^good info! :|

live67

Postby live67 » August 16th, 2009, 4:57 pm

frontier wrote:i bought new tokico shocks and a set of megan drop springs from dual star and the installed it, with energy suspension bushings and a rear toe bar on my ek3 and the car riding good and handing even better, all i need now is a rear camber kit.

I didn't know that people needed camber kits for the rear. When you lower your car do you need a rear camber kit?

I know for civics, you need a camber kit for the front.

Also I think I ruptured the right rear shocks. I stopped at a traffic light and heard something like an explosion in the distance, (but felt nothing in the car) and the right rear side is now lower than the left.

Is it a possibility I could have blown a shock?

Postby SMc » August 16th, 2009, 5:42 pm

I doh understand why 'cut' spring is even an option in poeples minds these days, spend a little more get the correct onas and save plenty by not having to replace shocks/end/vertebrea etc

live67

Postby live67 » August 16th, 2009, 7:07 pm

There are "top" suspension shops that still advise on cutting springs. Just imagine that!

Sarekha

Postby Sarekha » October 24th, 2009, 8:27 pm

any 1 have d number for suspex???????plz and tanxxxxx

live67

Postby live67 » October 24th, 2009, 9:33 pm

^^^ Buy lowering springs.

Postby Mark! » October 24th, 2009, 11:59 pm

^^ What he said

Postby 3stagevtec » October 26th, 2009, 3:17 am

i does hate it when people with dropped cars does drive in front of me.. have to slow down for every pebble / dip / bump in the road.. gets kind of annoying and looks really stupid..

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 26th, 2009, 5:20 am

There's a flip side to that.......neither of my cars are lowered, but I hate it when obnoxious SUV / 4x4 drivers run up on your back bumper, trying to put their front grille in your back seat, while trying to navigate some dodgy road / or a stupidly made speed hump.

For all that rush&push mentatility some of them have, I'm always shocked as to why they can never keep up after :lol:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » October 26th, 2009, 6:30 am

3stagevtec wrote:i does hate it when people with dropped cars does drive in front of me.. have to slow down for every pebble / dip / bump in the road.. gets kind of annoying and looks really stupid..

am...well you see...the thing is... :lol:

*yea my car lowered :oops: :lol: i does hear this alot :lol: *