How To Clean Air Filter

Black_Primera

How To Clean Air Filter

Postby Black_Primera » March 14th, 2009, 8:48 pm

I recently bought a cs3a Lancer that has a blue washable air filter. How do you clean this properly and how often? Thanks for any help

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » March 14th, 2009, 9:02 pm

^^^ I Have ah K&N I Doz blow it out by d Tyre shop every mth. or so

altec

Postby altec » March 14th, 2009, 9:13 pm

DO NOT BLOW OUT ANY K&N TYPE FILTER WITH COMPRESSED AIR!!! You can punch small holes in the cotton gauze and ruin the filter. Buy a recharge kit instead.

kingkdr

Postby kingkdr » March 14th, 2009, 10:05 pm

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » March 14th, 2009, 10:09 pm

See this thread posted by Rx Cleaning my K&N filters.....pics

...I have a Simota drop-in filter and uses the K&N recharge kit, it cleans the filter real good :!:

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » March 14th, 2009, 10:29 pm

Suzuki Sportsman wrote:See this thread posted by Rx Cleaning my K&N filters.....pics

...I have a Simota drop-in filter and uses the K&N recharge kit, it cleans the filter real good :!:
wow thanks dude

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 14th, 2009, 11:43 pm

^^^^and hope you DON'T go blowing out your K&N by the tyre shop anymore!

Postby 3stagevtec » March 15th, 2009, 2:20 am

i have a standard filter, and does wash it with breeze about once every month! :lol:

ztune

Postby ztune » March 15th, 2009, 6:17 am

3stagevtec wrote:i have a standard filter, and does wash it with breeze about once every month! :lol:

X2, with a k&n :oops:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 15th, 2009, 10:48 am

:shock: ^^^what the hell..........did you all not read the leaflets(if bought new) accompanying the filter or even self research the thing?

Postby cinco » March 15th, 2009, 11:32 am

wow
mad people in here use the k&n cleaning solution and clean the filter and re oil
NOT ALL REUSABLE FILTERS ARE OILED please read and make sure which filter you have before you destroy it. sponge type filters do not need oiling the paper types ones generally do
NO BREEZE NO COMPRESSED AIR
you can use the compressed air on the stock filters but by time you need to blow those out then you should replace them anyway

Postby Dave » March 15th, 2009, 3:36 pm

blue is accel and amsoil

i suggest u look at the filter for a name and if no name is forthcoming, determine type of material to decifer which brand of filter u need to follow as per cleaning instructions

using wrong chemicals can destroy the filter media

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 15th, 2009, 10:03 pm

men blowing out K&N with compressed air and washing it with breeze :? :?

i guess that happens when you want something and dont know what you are going to do with it :|

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » March 15th, 2009, 10:16 pm

*OUTSIDER* wrote:^^^ I Have ah K&N I Doz blow it out by d Tyre shop every mth. or so

Look through your filter in some light. See what I think you see?? No filter there anymore right??

Don't blow you filter or use breeze.. Read the K&N instructions and follow it just as they say on the Recharge Kit.

VIP2Nr

Postby VIP2Nr » March 16th, 2009, 9:20 pm

X2 Dave & M-Tech

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » March 16th, 2009, 11:00 pm

M-Tech wrote:
*OUTSIDER* wrote:^^^ I Have ah K&N I Doz blow it out by d Tyre shop every mth. or so

Look through your filter in some light. See what I think you see?? No filter there anymore right??

Don't blow you filter or use breeze.. Read the K&N instructions and follow it just as they say on the Recharge Kit.

8-) 8-) THANKS BRO.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » March 18th, 2009, 3:01 pm

I does buy a new filter fuh $25 every service :lol: