Seatbelt "Law"

Postby Monk BANzai » January 28th, 2009, 1:41 pm

whats the legality of wearing seatbelts? Is it the wearing of seat belts or having them installed in your vehicle?

What was this passed in Parliament?

no twitter answers please.
Last edited by Monk BANzai on January 28th, 2009, 1:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby buzz » January 28th, 2009, 1:43 pm

$300 fine i heard :|

Postby Monk BANzai » January 28th, 2009, 1:45 pm

^ for what? not having them in your car or not wearing them?

Re: Seatbelt "Law"

Postby SMc » January 28th, 2009, 1:47 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:whats the legality of wearing seatbelts? Is it the wearing of seat belts or having them installed in your vehicle?

It was made a legality in 98/99 I think..as I was almost charged ( fornot wearing them)when I moved back from the bahamas then.

Plus I remember my father had to have them put in his ole ford

urabus

Postby urabus » January 28th, 2009, 1:50 pm

there's this stupid sensor in my car that doesn't stop unless i put on my seat belt....grrrrrrrr

but yeah i'd like to know as well, becuz most times when i spot police i grab the seat belts to pull over quickly

Postby Monk BANzai » January 28th, 2009, 1:52 pm

SMc wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:whats the legality of wearing seatbelts? Is it the wearing of seat belts or having them installed in your vehicle?

It was made a legality in 98/99 I think..as I was almost charged ( fornot wearing them)when I moved back from the bahamas then.

descibe if yu can remember what the officer told you...

snowman

Postby snowman » January 28th, 2009, 1:57 pm

cute corolla wrote:there's this stupid sensor in my car that doesn't stop unless i put on my seat belt....grrrrrrrr

but yeah i'd like to know as well, becuz most times when i spot police i grab the seat belts to pull over quickly

and what happens before you get in a accident?

Postby SMc » January 28th, 2009, 2:00 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
SMc wrote:

descibe if yu can remember what the officer told you...

Driving to Maraval from Belmont, reach by the Lights by 'Stanlys'/ Ellerslie Plaza, light was dead/out so Popo directing traffic...as I driving past realise I had no belt on, ask me to pull into the little slip/filter road by Marios there..basically said it was a crime to not waer it, told him I just moved back and was unaware...blah blah blah. He said do let it happen again, I said ok. That was it.

BUT now and not as as result of that I do wear me seatbelt..as it was law in SLU where I moved to not lond after that and have worn it since, even after movin back to TT in 03

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 28th, 2009, 2:04 pm

cute corolla wrote:there's this stupid sensor in my car that doesn't stop unless i put on my seat belt....grrrrrrrr

Your name implies that you're cute, your posts dictate that your're dumb.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » January 28th, 2009, 2:07 pm

Banzai,

See if this can help:

http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws/Chs ... Assemblies)%20Regulations.pdf

Postby buzz » January 28th, 2009, 2:13 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^ for what? not having them in your car or not wearing them?

not having them on

was sum crap a few years ago about ppl having to get rear seatbelts installed if their cars did not come with em

yadda yadda yadda

AFAIK no law was passed on such

as for not having them installed infront :? i dunno :|

Postby Monk BANzai » January 28th, 2009, 2:14 pm

9. (1) A person who desires to be exempt from wearing a
seat belt on grounds other than medical grounds shall apply for an
exemption certificate from the Transport Commissioner.

(2) The Transport Commissioner in providing an applicant
with an exemption certificate shall indicate on the certificate
whether the exemption is to be permanent or temporary and, if
temporary, the duration of the exemption.

(3) A person who holds a valid exemption certificate
signed by the Transport Commissioner and has the certificate in
his possession shall be exempt from wearing a seat belt.

(4) A holder of a valid exemption certificate or a medical
certificate occupying the front seat of a motor vehicle in motion
who is not wearing a seat belt shall have either on his person or in
the motor vehicle his certificate for production as required under
subregulation (5).

(5) A person referred to in subregulation (4) shall, on being
so required by any member of the Police Service, give his name
and address and produce his certificate.

(6) A person who fails to comply with either
subregulation (4) or (5) is liable to a fine of five hundred dollars.
10. These Regulations come into effect on the 1st day of
January, 1995.

this area is what was being discussed....so you CAN be exempted form wearing a seatbelt.

(The police iccifer was right then......not about them being exempt..but that there is an exemption in law......interesting)

thanks OriignalBling....great stuff here...

N_A_K

Postby N_A_K » January 28th, 2009, 2:20 pm

post 1

Postby wagonrunner » January 28th, 2009, 2:20 pm

originalbling wrote:Banzai,

See if this can help:

http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws/Chs ... Assemblies)%20Regulations.pdf

amm..........
all answers at this link ppl.

N_A_K

page 2

N_A_K

page 2

Postby buzz » January 28th, 2009, 2:21 pm

was now readind that part

IMO if your not in a condition to wear a seatbelt, legally you should not be able to travel in a motor vehicle

off topic* where do motor bike saftey regulations fit in other than helmets

or is it just helmets :?

N_A_K

Postby N_A_K » January 28th, 2009, 2:21 pm

page 2

N_A_K

page 2

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 28th, 2009, 2:21 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:

Your name implies that you're cute, your posts dictate that your're dumb.

x2, sorry there chic, IMHO ppl who wear seatbelts only for la policia should be shot with sheit and charged for smellin.

it is for your own safety.

N_A_K

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
(The police iccifer was right then......not about them being exempt..but that there is an exemption in law......interesting)

thanks OriignalBling....great stuff here...

There is a clause concerning police powers, that exempts them from wearing seatbelts

Will have to find it though, but a police client of ours was telling me about it years ago when I ask him why he doh wear seatbelt and everyone else have.

He said he get accustomed to not wearing because they dont have to wear it in police vehicles, and that all citizens have to wear seatbelts but, there is a law/clause that exempts police officers specifically.

I will find it.

Postby tr1ad » January 28th, 2009, 2:26 pm

who seh peanut punch dey

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 28th, 2009, 2:29 pm

Jus curious, what's the purpose of this question?

Postby SMc » January 28th, 2009, 2:39 pm

buzz wrote:was now readind that part

IMO if your not in a condition to wear a seatbelt, legally you should not be able to travel in a motor vehicle

off topic* where do motor bike saftey regulations fit in other than helmets

or is it just helmets :?

Just helmets, but if I were riding a bike in any county, I would always wear my leathers...nutting like a good whiteman to keep yuh awake at night for a few weeks

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 28th, 2009, 2:40 pm

Scully, yuh real harsh, but quite a deserving response.

But my question here, especially on this Trinituner site, which most times promotes safety in all things motoring. With all the facts known and proven, why do some idiots, and I use this description deliberately, still feel that they should not be wearing seatbelts for their own safety.

Re the Police, they requested and got their exemption on the grounds of the equipment they wear on their belts, but quite honestly, with their tendency to be involved in high-speed pursuits from time to time, I would have demanded a full harness instead of an exemption.

Remember Gerard Pegus, the late, try to find out why he did not survive his accident!

Postby SMc » January 28th, 2009, 2:44 pm

Monza+wind+no seatbelt= pearly gates?

buckle up...and stop talkin on the damn phone when yuh driving.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 28th, 2009, 2:48 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:Jus curious, what's the purpose of this question?

interesting exchange between myself and a occifer this morn over the legality of using a seat belt to protect some objects from moving around my car while i transported them. Told me that i cant use th seat belt for it and to remove it else i would be ticketed.

(shrugs)

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 28th, 2009, 2:52 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:Your name implies that you're cute, your posts dictate that your're dumb.

woooot? wtf? :lol: :shock: :lol: :shock:

Postby SMc » January 28th, 2009, 2:53 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
Notorious Scullman wrote:Jus curious, what's the purpose of this question?

interesting exchange between myself and a occifer this morn over the legality of using a seat belt to protect some objects from moving around my car while i transported them. Told me that i cant use th seat belt for it and to remove it else i would be ticketed.

(shrugs)

when I put a case of beer on the back-seat I always put the seatbelt aroung my little friends...

no law for inanimate object, but either way it is probably safer yuh do it