My Season 09 SFWD,Turbo Civic Build .

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Pootie

My Season 09 SFWD,Turbo Civic Build .

Postby Pootie » December 26th, 2008, 8:48 pm

Well i'm new here. And i figured i'd share a bit of my build for next season.

The name is Jon. But because of that damn Chris Rock low budget movie i got my "nickname". I used to live in Trinidad (Arima) but moved to the States when i was 10 year old. My father was into cars, and i guess so am i..

This car has had almost every set up u can think of aside from a K or a H motor.

and lately it's been getting out of hand, mainly because i am never happy with the power.

so here it is , Its a 1996 civic hatchback Turbo.

few specs:
MOTOR: is a 84.5mm Sleeved GSR, with 10:1 CP pistons and manley Turbo Tuff rods.
The head is a port and polished B16a2 head with a Crower valvetrain and Skunk2 Tuner 1 cams.

TRANS: GSR with ITR diff and final ( won't last long) :(

Clutch: is a Competition Clutch stage 5 with a dual diafran Pressureplate (untill it goes then the TwinDisc goes in) which is NOW! lol

Turbo Kit: This thing has been changeing a lottt lately, mainly because i been trying to milk more power by swapping out the weak parts.
soon it will be the NEW Full-Race twinscroll bottom mount manifold
with the Borg Warner S372 turbo,3"-4" downpipe, 2 Tial 44mm gates, Precision 825hp core cooler, 3" cold side charge pipe and 2.75" hot side, 1200cc injecotrs ( soon to switch to 1600cc) and a tons of other misc sheit.
Questions are welcomes ( both good and Bad).. i have tons of pix but they will take forever to load. So here are 2 short videos to sum things up.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YP5LZZYZIfs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T3S5OP6PxsM
Last edited by Pootie on December 30th, 2008, 12:43 pm, edited 7 times in total.

Pootie

Postby Pootie » December 26th, 2008, 9:00 pm

the video is a mix of the old and new set-up... The car as it sits as we speak is almost where it needs to be . it made 447whp on pump gas on the previous 81mm stock sleeve set up.. And i skipped pump gas on the 84mm sleeved set-up.. lets just say it made a lottttttttttttt of power on C16 race fuel. lol ( i will most likely never drive the car at that power level since it's useless on 24.5" tires, and i don't want to run 26" tires. But it's nice to know it's there.) :wink:

i say i will compete with about 700-750whp and dial in the boost by gear to keep too much stuff from braking ( mainly my gearbox), but still get me into the 9's
Last edited by Pootie on December 26th, 2008, 10:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

shady23

Postby shady23 » December 26th, 2008, 9:55 pm

WTF.

Pootie

Postby Pootie » December 26th, 2008, 10:02 pm

shady23 wrote:WTF.

is that good or bad? 8-)

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 27th, 2008, 12:22 am

:twisted: build

cannot wait for the 8-9sec clip

best for 2009

phaze

Postby phaze » December 27th, 2008, 7:47 am

boy allyuh mad yes....i wish i was tooo :cry:

Pootie

Postby Pootie » December 27th, 2008, 11:20 am

red_dragon wrote::twisted: build

cannot wait for the 8-9sec clip

best for 2009

Thanks, there will be plenty of footage. I donno about 8's but on "kill mode" it should go 9.80@150ish mph. Still have to cage and chute the car. I just to lazy lately to take the dash down and start. But I have 3 months to do it.

Once the cage done ill mount a bracket on the cross beam between the driver and passenger seat for the camera. I just have to figure out a way to keep it from being fuzzy from the vibrations of the motor under load. I did a helmet cam a while back ( just duct taped it my helmet)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GPRZssA78DM (GSR with CTR internals and a tranny with the longest 3rd gear everrrr lol .. 103mph in 3rd in teh Quarter Mile) lol it actually worked good if I don't move my head around too too much, then u get motion sickness.

But ill add more pix once I start the cage, and ill have to test the chute ( on the streets, lol) that should be fun.
Last edited by Pootie on December 27th, 2008, 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 27th, 2008, 3:28 pm

stupes
3 months to wait damn

Pootie

Postby Pootie » December 27th, 2008, 3:45 pm

red_dragon wrote:stupes
3 months to wait damn

yea track closed till March ( weather pending, has to be no snow and above 35*).

i could street race the car, But i spent wayy too much $$ to chance getting it taken by the cops.

but this was one of my past street $$ races from a few months back.

this is a race i had the same day i got tuned @ Xenocron ( 0 seatime, lol).. VS a 03 SRT-4 (420whp)est

VS

Burnouts!!
http://s16.photobucket.com/albums/b11/Carlitoo/?action=view¤t=MOV040_NEW.flv

back view of the run
http://s16.photobucket.com/albums/b11/Carlitoo/?action=view¤t=MOV041_NEW.flv

front view
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yAKdDTY5dDk

it was a street tire vs street tire run..
*$800 pot
*i was on the gate (7psi about 340whp).. im sure he was on alllll 420whp.
*my clutch was slipping badddd , and still had him covered about 8 cars. i pedaled him a bit and had him by a car or 2 at the 1/4 mile marker. not fun blowing out a car (u will never get another EZ $ run again) then u'll get called out by single digit RWD cars!!

shady23

Postby shady23 » December 27th, 2008, 6:36 pm

Pootie wrote:

is that good or bad? 8-)

"Good" is an understatement man. That build is crazy. Congrats.

Pootie

Postby Pootie » December 27th, 2008, 6:51 pm

shady23 wrote:
Pootie wrote:

is that good or bad? 8-)

"Good" is an understatement man. That build is crazy. Congrats.

Thanks man, a lot of good friends and a lott of late nights and $ lol

My wife allows me to spend a bit on the car , so yayy for her.

first start up!! ( this was a month or 2 ago) idle a lil choppy ( too much fuel)
idle fixed, but high compression and cams = :twisted: idle :wink:

Pootie

Postby Pootie » December 27th, 2008, 7:25 pm

photobucket.com was acting up lately.. finally got it to work.

:mrgreen:

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 28th, 2008, 10:19 am

hope that is not what u putting out :mrgreen:

only thing i gotta say is time to get spare gearboxes :D and get it into 8

Pootie

Postby Pootie » December 28th, 2008, 11:58 am

red_dragon wrote:hope that is not what u putting out :mrgreen:

only thing i gotta say is time to get spare gearboxes :D and get it into 8

Full-Race Topmount and a BW S368@29.5psi on C16 race fuel.

who you telling!! , we stopped on the dyno after this pass, because on the next pass 4th gear went.

thats why i said i will not be running the car at that power, just wanted to see what it would make. i'll de-tune to about 750whp and dial in my suspension and boost by gear to get the car solid. I'll try to save up for a Liberty or a Dogbox tranny next year. ( they run about $5k-$7k). :shock: .

so i'll have to limit the car till i get one to hold the power. I'd hate to get towed off teh track every pass.
Last edited by Pootie on December 29th, 2008, 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ksimon

Postby ksimon » December 28th, 2008, 4:38 pm

WOW>...................Nice :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby honda hoe » December 29th, 2008, 10:18 am

:shock: :shock: :shock:

SurGTR

Postby SurGTR » December 29th, 2008, 5:09 pm

nice real nice 0X

Pootie

Postby Pootie » December 29th, 2008, 5:53 pm

SurGTR wrote:nice real nice 0X

honda hoe wrote::shock: :shock: :shock:

ksimon wrote:WOW>...................Nice :shock: :shock: :shock:

thanks

Well i had a little issue with my damn Throttle Body gasket, it was leaking at 2 points.
could not find a Gasket, or a shop that would part with TB . So i made my own!!

FlePro rubber based Gasketpaper, a nice sharp blade, a hole puncher,and the core of a pen to mark off the tight places to cut.

install

Pootie

Postby Pootie » December 29th, 2008, 9:54 pm

Should have put this on the first page :roll:

stats:
~BODY~
1997 civic CX hatch that i got off an old lady in 02 for $2100 in Atlanta.
VSM Silver

~Motor and plans~
GSR 84.5mm Darton sleeved and copper o-ringed block
10:1 CP pistons
stock Ls crank
Manley turbo tuff Ls rods
GE headstuds
Oil squiter block offs ( they hit with the use of Ls rods and crank in a GSR)
Honda oil/water pump, oil filter, gaskets,timing belt etc

B16a2 head
port n polish
Crower valvetrain
CTR cams (has Skunk2 Tuner 1's now)
Stock camgears ( figured i'd save a lil $ and less bling)
Victor X intake manifold
Skunk2 70mm TB (soon to swap out, because it gets stuck a lottt)
custom -10an breather fittings on the Valve Cover.

Tranny is a GSR with ITR final/ LSD diff
Clutch is a Competition Clutch Stage 5 (4 puc sprung with a Dual diafram PP) now running a Twindisc
Fidanza lightweight flywheel ( lol, i can't remember the weight , less than 12lbs , more than 8lbs ) lol
OEM axels for now till they won't hold anymore. So far preloading FTW!! :6 ( i have Driveshop axels for spring because stock axels won't last a launch on the new power)

~Turbo Kit~
MB Racing T3 topmount turbo manifold (Full-Race T4 topmount, dual gated for now till the new bottom mount manifold becomes avaliable to the public)
Tial 40mm gate ( 2 x 44mm Tial wastegates now)
Full-Race T67ho turbocharger (BW S368 now, the T67 quit at 760'ish whp).
3" custom SS downpipe to full 3" exhaust to a Vibrent 3" pan muffler in stelth black to not get sheit from the "fuzz". ( 4" downpipe now)
Tial 50mm BOV ( in uber cute Purple for the ladies ;))
All Alum cooler piping (3" cold side/ 2.5" hot side )
Precision 825hp core intercooler ( overkill , i know i know.. i got a good price on it )

~Fuel and misc sheit~
1200cc Precision injectors ( will need 1600cc sooooon)
dual intank 255hp fuel pumps (people get scared and run for the bushes or yell "racecar" when they see a sump. ::)) <~ :( im on a Aeromotive A1000 now
BDL fuel rail w/ Areomotive fuel pressue Reg
Fulidyne Radiator
Skunk2 short throw shifter
Endyne breather kit x2 ( one on the VC and one on the block)

~Suspension~
K Sport 1 piece drag coilovers
Omni Power rear lower controle arms
DC front upper and rear lower tie bars that i have had foreverr
Skunk2 rear upper tie bar
GSR rear disc brakes
and stock CX fronts with Brembo slotted stock replacement rotors ( kept it CX in the fronts so i can runa 13" rim for slicks)
Blox front camber kit

~Rubber~
M/H 24.5" x 8.5" on Bogart 13" x 8" rims
ARP extended wheel studs ( i hate these things, u know how long it takes to change rims?) :-\

~Engine management~
Chipped P28 with eCtune <~~ yes a chipped ECU :D
AEM eugo wideband

~Plans and Goals~
430-450whp on pump gas
750whp on C16 ( 844whp on C16 @a lil under 30psi)

Aiming to get into the 10's on the pump gas tune, and 9's on Kill-Mode.
Kill mode will be 700-750whp untill i can get a tranny that will be able to hold more.
Last edited by Pootie on December 30th, 2008, 5:07 pm, edited 6 times in total.

DownesDigital

Postby DownesDigital » December 29th, 2008, 10:12 pm

monster of a civic
well done :mrgreen:

Pootie

Postby Pootie » December 29th, 2008, 10:36 pm

SlimThug wrote:monster of a civic
well done :mrgreen:

aye day nice yes, but serious talk, " why ya kick meh duck?" :rofl:

Pootie

Postby Pootie » January 1st, 2009, 9:41 pm

Happy New Year to all!!

2009 is going to be fun! :D

Pootie

Postby Pootie » February 3rd, 2009, 3:18 pm

well it's been some time.

The materials for the cage has been ordered. And i just picked up a nice shop sponsor to help me out this season!! :D

Big Thanks to Chirs Harris @ Xenocron!! ( this is one of thoes dudes that you would Rep even if he wasn't hepling out, he is just that good of a guy)

I'm Proud to Rep

And new T4 divided Topmount via MB Racing!! 8-)

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » February 3rd, 2009, 5:41 pm

very very nice pootie

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » February 3rd, 2009, 5:44 pm

Pootie wrote:well it's been some time.

The materials for the cage has been ordered. And i just picked up a nice shop sponsor to help me out this season!! :D

Big Thanks to Chirs Harris @ Xenocron!! ( this is one of thoes dudes that you would Rep even if he wasn't hepling out, he is just that good of a guy)

I'm Proud to Rep

And new T4 divided Topmount via MB Racing!! 8-)

i thought u were going with a full race manifold this time

also i have been hearing a lot of good things with the bosh 1000cc injectors. should be able to up the fuel pressure and support your goals.

Pootie

Postby Pootie » February 3rd, 2009, 6:59 pm

Yea, i like the Bosh. I already had 1200cc Percison injectors (i'll run them till i have an issue, then swap them out for the Bosh).

And i'm getting local help. So F-R will take a back seat, plus Geoff won't release the manifold i want till spring . ( thats why i went with the MB manifold, it will do the job)

Free owns> Full Price anyday!!

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » February 3rd, 2009, 8:54 pm

what time are you looking to do?

Pootie

Postby Pootie » February 3rd, 2009, 10:10 pm

B20VTEK wrote:what time are you looking to do?

the power level the car is at now, and weight . It should go 9.60's without tranny issues . That being said, I'll be happy with a consistent 9.80 car.

Pootie

Postby Pootie » February 6th, 2009, 10:59 am

well no real update yet. It's been 15*-17* the past few days. And i just don't feel like looseing a finger or toe to frostbite.

So i'll post a few pix of my "back up" turbo. But this used to be my back up turbo last year. It won't bust a grape ina fruitfight on this build.

so it's for sale.

Rebuilt Air Research turbo
T4 Divided houseing 1.00 back
.60 trim wheel ( i think, lol still havent measured it)
3" v-band
no shaftplay or leaks
about 300 miles on it
asking $300US ( will trow in a free set of M&H 22" x 8" x 13", with 4 passes on them, still plenty of meat)

will support 500-550 whp.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 7th, 2009, 6:43 pm

i just have two questions...

does ur child know that you are useing their mat to take pic of the turbo... :D :D

next
do you mind telling now you run the PCV for the car, i may need to do you, so ur insight will help

thankz

Return to “HONDA”