Hindu Wedding...Question?

Postby RASC » December 15th, 2008, 9:00 pm

Is it normal for the Groom to wear lipstick, nail-polish and make-up as part of the ceremony?

Thanks in advance!

aR&D

Postby aR&D » December 15th, 2008, 9:16 pm

.... the dhulaha also wears on a pink jamajohra. Whats' it to you? Planning on marry under Hindu rites?

Postby RASC » December 15th, 2008, 9:20 pm

aR&D wrote:.... the dhulaha also wears on a pink jamajohra. Whats' it to you? Planning on marry under Hindu rites?

Just curious. So is this in ALL weddings...or just the Traditional ones or what exactly?

aR&D

Postby aR&D » December 15th, 2008, 9:30 pm

Its more traditional. Some aspects of the traditional wear and make-up are followed by the newer (younger) generation, for example the kajol around the eyes and the nail polish. The lipstick i've not seen nor the pink jamajohra. The modern look is more along the lines of formal kurtha with scarf, turban and sandals.

btw, Ture and X looked very spiffy in their Kurthas :wink:

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » December 15th, 2008, 11:21 pm

Don't forget 5 women have to bathe you and then your mother.

Postby RASC » December 15th, 2008, 11:49 pm

aR&D wrote:Its more traditional. Some aspects of the traditional wear and make-up are followed by the newer (younger) generation, for example the kajol around the eyes and the nail polish. The lipstick i've not seen nor the pink jamajohra. The modern look is more along the lines of formal kurtha with scarf, turban and sandals.

So when exactly did this tradition of applying womens' cosmetics in weddings start?

Postby Cjruckus » December 15th, 2008, 11:51 pm

RASC wrote:
aR&D wrote:Its more traditional. Some aspects of the traditional wear and make-up are followed by the newer (younger) generation, for example the kajol around the eyes and the nail polish. The lipstick i've not seen nor the pink jamajohra. The modern look is more along the lines of formal kurtha with scarf, turban and sandals.

So when exactly did this tradition of applying womens' cosmetics in weddings start?

The day after their mothers and fathers picked their spouse.

larafan

Postby larafan » December 15th, 2008, 11:52 pm

RASC,

like yuh find a lil indian ting boy.....

remember....two chook in de poonkie...one in de boomsee :)

DuAL StaR

Postby DuAL StaR » December 15th, 2008, 11:53 pm

its not normal but more traditional
there is soo much things that goes on in a hindu ceremony

Postby RASC » December 15th, 2008, 11:53 pm

larafan wrote:RASC,

like yuh find a lil indian ting boy.....

remember....two chook in de poonkie...one in de boomsee :)

Been had "lil indian tingS" long time...No boomsee chook for me, I'll leave that to you :?

Postby Cjruckus » December 15th, 2008, 11:54 pm

but you lookin like the kind of man who take boomsee chook though

larafan

Postby larafan » December 15th, 2008, 11:54 pm

doh knock it till yuh try it...

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » December 16th, 2008, 12:48 am

^^^ so u does take boomsee chook? :shock: :|

honda4life

Postby honda4life » December 16th, 2008, 1:05 am

TriniVdub wrote:^^^ so u does take boomsee chook? :shock: :|

somehow i feel like you want to take chook as well eh

pandu

Postby pandu » December 16th, 2008, 6:47 am

Is just to make the groom look beautiful. The whole thing with the Hindu weddings is that they are supposed to be things of massive beauty, feasting, etc.

Now it degrade to the brown bag on yuh car trunk.

Postby Greypatch » December 16th, 2008, 7:13 am

you have it wrong hoss

Postby crazybalhead » December 16th, 2008, 7:15 am

RASC, Hindu culture often depicts males wearing make-up and GASP earrings!!!!

Doh let yuh western influence dictate yuh senses man. Open yuh mind.

Postby Greypatch » December 16th, 2008, 7:17 am

saddist bored all he ahd to do was to google same..

Postby crazybalhead » December 16th, 2008, 7:19 am

Yuh better than that patch. Man just feel to chook fire. But he go get offended if I ask if all africans does castrate their daughters and sell them for a few scraggly cows.

Postby Greypatch » December 16th, 2008, 7:25 am

it to early hoss...

lemme go eat meh fry alloo and roti...

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » December 16th, 2008, 7:39 am

Come fellas...
Lehwe injuns take a smoke of de good ole peace pipe..

It's a nice Tuesday morning!! :mrgreen:

aR&D

Postby aR&D » December 16th, 2008, 8:06 am

~*§ãñCħїą*~ wrote:Come fellas...

:shock: what a minute ... you are mixed with Amerindian? Cause if you are it explains your exquisite physique.

Re: Hindu Wedding...Question?

Postby SmokeyGTi » December 16th, 2008, 8:06 am

RASC wrote:Is it normal for the Groom to wear lipstick, nail-polish and make-up as part of the ceremony?

Thanks in advance!

lipstick?
where get that from?

when i got married i get makeup (but then again so does every actor in a movie) but no lipstick..

larafan

Postby larafan » December 16th, 2008, 8:10 am

aR&D wrote:
~*§ãñCħїą*~ wrote:Come fellas...

:shock: what a minute ... you are mixed with Amerindian? Cause if you are it explains your exquisite physique.

wtf...as of late...i find REAL men trying to mamaguy sanchia u know....

little do they know dat she is ah run dong ole tantie....

aR&D

Postby aR&D » December 16th, 2008, 8:16 am

^^^ :? :? :? Since when complimenting a woman on her attractiveness, poised and wits equates to "mamaguy".

I think it is us Men duty and responsibility to let a woman: wife, sister, mum, friend... tantie etc know that they are looking good.

aR&D

Postby aR&D » December 16th, 2008, 8:22 am

crazybalhead wrote:RASC, Hindu culture often depicts males wearing make-up and GASP earrings!!!!

Doh let yuh western influence dictate yuh senses man. Open yuh mind.

and to add, it is acceptable and expected (traditionally) for married Hindu men to get both ears pierced

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » December 16th, 2008, 9:36 am

aR&D wrote:^^^ :? :? :? Since when complimenting a woman on her attractiveness, poised and wits equates to "mamaguy".

I think it is us Men duty and responsibility to let a woman: wife, sister, mum, friend... tantie etc know that they are looking good.

larafan take notes...
I sure dis man does actually get laid!!
By a woman!! :P :lol: :mrgreen:

larafan

Postby larafan » December 16th, 2008, 9:41 am

yuh know if i were to put on meh saga boy suit...yuh go cyah help yuh self...

u know i find me irresistable....

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » December 16th, 2008, 9:46 am

u know i find me irresistable

That makes one of us!!! :roll:

:lol: :mrgreen:

Postby wagonrunner » December 16th, 2008, 9:47 am

larafan wrote:yuh know if i were to put on meh saga boy suit...yuh go cyah help yuh self...

u know i find me irresistable....

that happening only in bright hot sun, cause yuh know that not possible at night. :lol: :lol: :lol: