braking question

azoturbo

braking question

Postby azoturbo » November 3rd, 2008, 9:31 pm

saw a accident on the high way by after valpark just now so i want to know which is the quicker way to stop
1.gear down and slam brakes???
2.gear down and pump brakes???

Postby X_Factor » November 3rd, 2008, 9:36 pm

imo its to pump the brakes...?
just slaming brakes may cause brake fade and gasing?

although ur first reaction is to just slam brakes eh

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » November 3rd, 2008, 9:40 pm

X_Factor wrote:imo its to pump the brakes...?

true true but i think is a red laurel or something boi like the man bep out and he swing 2 avoid a car and swing back into the lane and slam brakes and run into a corolla

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 4th, 2008, 6:34 am

X_Factor wrote:imo its to pump the brakes...?

very true bro.........

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 4th, 2008, 7:12 am

fade comes in at higher temperatures......u not supposed to get fade in one hard stop, unless yuh pads worth $5, and u have rotors the size of a coin.......

gassing is a thin of the past when organic pads were used.......no longer applicable since it has been phased out.....however u may still find the odd brand or two that may have organic compounds........

so IMO once your tires dont lock up......stomp on the brakes.......
pumping is used for when u loose braking force :wink:

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 4th, 2008, 9:47 am

Well slamming on the brakes is sometimes a sure cause of a skid..
The fastest way to stop with the least chance of skidding is done by squeezing/pumping the brake and getting maximum stopping without locking the wheels.

moti

Postby moti » November 4th, 2008, 10:25 am

but with ABS you won't develop a skid right?

krack korn

Postby krack korn » November 4th, 2008, 10:52 am

ABS only functions over a certain velocity, at 'in traffic' accident speeds it won't activate. If you are at high velocity and you mash hard abs will engage if it detects slippage of any wheel and will remain engaged until u reach zero veloctiy and/or release the brake pedal. If you car has ABS then pumping the brakes is a sure way to not stop quickest.

Cacasplat3 is the one speaking sense in this thread listen to him.

If your tyres are skidding on dry gravel/oil free roads at lowish velocity then u need better tyres. The biggest brakes and best braking techniques won't prevent loss of friction between the tyre and the road. At some point it becomes the weakest link in the chain.

one thing I would like to add: the organic formulated pads are still widely made but they do not out gas or its very minimal. A lot of oem pads and most of the wagner are organic based. Even if a pad is semi metallic it does not preclude the incorporation of organic compounds. Only the very black looking pads may be carbon metallic and have little or no organics. other than that new oem pads are tending towards ceramic formulations.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 4th, 2008, 10:59 am

http://www.roadtripamerica.com/Defensiv ... Rule68.htm

Remember this: if you try to pump ABS brakes, they will not work. Pumping ABS brakes defeats the computer's efforts to sense a wheel skid. If your vehicle has ABS brakes, when you need to stop in a hurry press the brake hard and hold your foot on the pedal no matter what it feels or sounds like. ABS brakes pulsate, they rattle, and they make noise. Do not release the pedal until you no longer need to brake. I suggest you go to an empty parking lot somewhere, and stop hard enough to activate your ABS system. You'll then know what it feels like before you really have to use it.

QG

Postby QG » November 4th, 2008, 11:32 am

krack korn wrote:ABS only functions over a certain velocity, at 'in traffic' accident speeds it won't activate. If you are at high velocity and you mash hard abs will engage if it detects slippage of any wheel and will remain engaged until u reach zero veloctiy and/or release the brake pedal. If you car has ABS then pumping the brakes is a sure way to not stop quickest.

Cacasplat3 is the one speaking sense in this thread listen to him.

If your tyres are skidding on dry gravel/oil free roads at lowish velocity then u need better tyres. The biggest brakes and best braking techniques won't prevent loss of friction between the tyre and the road. At some point it becomes the weakest link in the chain.

one thing I would like to add: the organic formulated pads are still widely made but they do not out gas or its very minimal. A lot of oem pads and most of the wagner are organic based. Even if a pad is semi metallic it does not preclude the incorporation of organic compounds. Only the very black looking pads may be carbon metallic and have little or no organics. other than that new oem pads are tending towards ceramic formulations.

In my lancer's manual..the ABS activates approximately 10km/h

krack korn

Postby krack korn » November 4th, 2008, 12:19 pm

should be like 10mph which is 16kph but maybe improvements in the system in newer cars would allow for a lower activation speed.

Postby X_Factor » November 4th, 2008, 7:12 pm

well, my car doesnt hav abs
so in those cases..is it still advisable to stomp on the brakes or employ the mash and let-go technique?

cause i learning something new here

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 4th, 2008, 10:18 pm

X_Factor wrote:well, my car doesnt hav abs
so in those cases..is it still advisable to stomp on the brakes or employ the mash and let-go technique?

once u lock your tyres you could skid.. but stomping it's always the reflex action in an emergency..
but the best deal is to pump it though..

Postby X_Factor » November 4th, 2008, 11:32 pm

^^ yupp, it happend to me about 2 weeks ago...lights aint working...truck pulls out..i just doin about 90k's wit a/c....stomped on the brakes and picked up the skid..felt the car drifting into the truck...luckly i relaised and"corrected it"
and this is on potenza's RE101 eh...

so, i'll go wit mashing the brakes repeatedly next time...since im without abs

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 5th, 2008, 11:56 am

Oleander wrote:

once u lock your tyres you could skid.. but stomping it's always the reflex action in an emergency..

no......pumping is only used if u loose brake force.......i.e. the hydraulic system has air and the pedal is spongy etc.

if u do not have ABS, pumping will only take longer to slow u down like krak korn said......u need to 'feel out' the brakes, if it starts to lock up, release slowly until the wheels starts back spinning, and then gradually apply some more brakes keeping in mind u dont want to lock it up.........if u stomp on it, most likely it will lock up.......so try feeling it out.......

however i know ABS is functional only after a certain speed, but its almost impossible to lock up tires under that speed.....i've tried it and the tires just wont skid....even in the wet...........

after using the highway for almost 4 years with the same vehicle i can say without a doubt ABS has saved me more times that i could count.....has saved many dogs and cats lives too......

the pulsing and noise isnt important when u want to stop fast....just keeping the foot planed is important.......also remember to try to keep both hands on the steering wheel cuz the car tend to slightly swerve since brake force is reduced from some wheels at different times due to the ABS

QG

Postby QG » November 5th, 2008, 12:19 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:
Oleander wrote:

no......pumping is only used if u loose brake force.......i.e. the hydraulic system has air and the pedal is spongy etc.

if u do not have ABS, pumping will only take longer to slow u down like krak korn said......u need to 'feel out' the brakes, if it starts to lock up, release slowly until the wheels starts back spinning, and then gradually apply some more brakes keeping in mind u dont want to lock it up.........if u stomp on it, most likely it will lock up.......so try feeling it out.......

however i know ABS is functional only after a certain speed, but its almost impossible to lock up tires under that speed.....i've tried it and the tires just wont skid....even in the wet...........

after using the highway for almost 4 years with the same vehicle i can say without a doubt ABS has saved me more times that i could count.....has saved many dogs and cats lives too......

the pulsing and noise isnt important when u want to stop fast....just keeping the foot planed is important.......also remember to try to keep both hands on the steering wheel cuz the car tend to slightly swerve since brake force is reduced from some wheels at different times due to the ABS

AHHHH...you making plenty sense there pal. I tried that pumping sheit and the car took LONGER TO STOP :twisted: . Best thing to do is take off the OD and gear down if you have Automatic car/ and hold the brake firmly.
If skid develops ease of the brake a bit.

Postby crazybalhead » November 5th, 2008, 1:47 pm

Sorry to say it again eh folks, but the only place to test this out SAFELY is at soldex. In the finish box you have to learn to stop without hitting cones from a fairly fast speed. It's a real world test to all these theories. When I stop (have ABS) I mash hard and then let go after the car has comed to a stop to reduce glazing, although my rotors still have a little scorching.

From experience with ABS, the car locks, unclocks, locks unclocks.

Without ABS it will probably never lock up from a high speed, and lock easier at low speed.

The advice given to feel it out is the best here. And each car is different.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 6th, 2008, 11:58 am

Without ABS it will probably never lock up from a high speed, and lock easier at low speed.

technically this makes sense, but like u said each car is different........cuz i've had another experience.......

my front tires locked up a bit this morning from about 80kmph........had to release and floor the accelerator to prevent hitting a guy reversing into oncoming traffic....... :| :|

Idle_Torque

Postby Idle_Torque » November 6th, 2008, 12:14 pm

from experience, doh slam brakes with four wheel disc brakes, car tends to skidd.. better ting to do is to pump brakes.. but ppl would tend to slam breaks as its a reaction when goin into an accident...
wah bout pullin up the hand brakes?

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » November 6th, 2008, 9:01 pm

Doubt ABS may have mattered for the laurel if it was ah old one...

QG

Postby QG » November 6th, 2008, 10:52 pm

original.badman wrote:from experience, doh slam brakes with four wheel disc brakes, car tends to skidd.. better ting to do is to pump brakes.. but ppl would tend to slam breaks as its a reaction when goin into an accident...

Depending on the speed, pulling hand brake will send the car into a skid.

I saw a documentary that pulling handbrake from like under 80km/h... is safe and ok, but u must gear down.

Postby crazybalhead » November 7th, 2008, 7:13 am

original.badman wrote:from experience, doh slam brakes with four wheel disc brakes, car tends to skidd.. better ting to do is to pump brakes.. but ppl would tend to slam breaks as its a reaction when goin into an accident...

The car was skidding because you either were going too fast for the tyres to get traction and your brakes locked up, or something is wrong with your brakes. It has nothing to do with four wheel discs.

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » November 8th, 2008, 5:25 pm

never slam hard on d brakes..it wud always upset traction an prob cause u to lose control.... squeeze onto d brakes until u feel d limit when d tires startin to lock...dont just slam onto it...d only thing d pumpin of d brake pedal helps in is d brake fade...but dis is in repeated hard brakin where temps reach up really high...if d pedal feelin kinda spongy den pump...dis is when d brake fluid is at boilin temp...

squeezin onto d brake pedal smoothly will stop u faster dan jus slammin on it...think about it like a thread...it will be easier to burst d thread with a sudden quick tug...but it will be much harder if u smoothly apply tension..

vin123

Postby vin123 » November 20th, 2008, 10:17 pm

hm...nice topic, in a manual B11, gear down and pump d brakes while at d same time do it to the clutch lol..wit an auto car wit abs take of d od and mash d brakes, d computer will do the "pumping" lol

Postby crazybalhead » November 21st, 2008, 11:56 am

Why are you guys gearing down to stop???? The brakes are meant to stop the car NOT THE ENGINE!!!!!!

eitech

Postby eitech » November 21st, 2008, 12:31 pm

^^^good point

sham1984

Postby sham1984 » November 21st, 2008, 1:10 pm

Try this on for size...doh drive like a mad arse in the first place to put yourself in the position of the dead man in the mangled car on the hiway.
I get to see the car that crash in the Trincity area Sat15 Nov before anybody else got there. It wasn nice

The right side car doors were ripped off, the hood crushed in on the driver seat, the back hatch ripped off, man subs pelt out in the road, a left side rim and hub break off and the man thrown dead across the rim.

vin123

Postby vin123 » November 22nd, 2008, 9:27 pm

^^X2!!
well true brakes are meant to be used but gearing down also helps slow d the car down lol

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 22nd, 2008, 10:44 pm

sham1984 wrote:Try this on for size...doh drive like a mad arse in the first place to put yourself in the position of the dead man in the mangled car on the hiway.
I get to see the car that crash in the Trincity area Sat15 Nov before anybody else got there. It wasn nice

The right side car doors were ripped off, the hood crushed in on the driver seat, the back hatch ripped off, man subs pelt out in the road, a left side rim and hub break off and the man thrown dead across the rim.

Damn that's rough..
Guess pumping the brake didn't work for him... :?
What you're saying is totally true.. Drive with a conscience to avoid screwed situations.

QG

Postby QG » November 23rd, 2008, 1:16 pm

vin123 wrote:^^X2!!
well true brakes are meant to be used but gearing down also helps slow d the car down lol

8-) yip