Canadian Travel Advisory on travel to Trinidad & Tobago

all motor

Canadian Travel Advisory on travel to Trinidad & Tobago

Postby all motor » October 20th, 2008, 9:41 am

http://www.voyage.gc.ca/dest/report-en. ... try=297000

Canadians should exercise a high degree of caution in this country due to high crime rates.

3. SAFETY AND SECURITY

The decision to travel is the sole responsibility of the traveller. The traveller is also responsible for his or her own personal safety. The purpose of this Travel Report is to provide Canadians with up-to-date information to enable them to make well-informed decisions.

Crime

Crime levels are high, particularly in Port of Spain, San Fernando and other urban areas in Trinidad. Robberies with violence, including assaults and rape, occur frequently. Cruise ship passengers should take particular care when walking around the docks in Port of Spain. Gang and drug-related violence, including shootings and kidnapping, occurs and can affect bystanders. Crimes of opportunity such as petty theft tend to increase during the annual Trinidad Carnival in February or March, and during the Christmas holidays.

Canadians should be highly vigilant in Laventille and at popular tourist sites such as Fort George and La Brea (Pitch Lake), where crimes targeting foreigners have also been reported. Incidents of gangs following cars leaving Trinidad's Piarco Airport and robbing travellers once they reach their destination have been reported. Deserted beaches and unpopulated areas (e.g. scenic overlooks) should be avoided, especially after dark. Extra care should be taken when travelling late at night.

Travellers should avoid visiting deserted and unpatrolled beaches due to the risk of crime. On certain beaches, security is provided from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. only.

Tourists and foreign nationals are also victims of crime in Tobago.

Visitors should seek the advice of local contacts and be vigilant, especially after dark. They should ensure that personal belongings and travel documents are secure at all times and that hotel room doors and windows are secure. They should not carry large amounts of cash nor show signs of affluence. Personal belongings and travel documents should never be left unattended.

In case of emergency in Trinidad and Tobago, dial 990 for an ambulance or the fire department, and 999 for police.

Postby Greypatch » October 20th, 2008, 9:45 am

Canadians should be highly vigilant in Laventille

if ah tourist go there dem deserve to be robbed

Postby RBphoto » October 20th, 2008, 9:48 am

Good, we need to get teh word out. Next thing hey need to issue is a health care advisory stating don't get sick in Trinidad, because Health Care is non exsistant.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 20th, 2008, 9:49 am

I have an uncle in Canada is gonna love this...

Freelander

Postby Freelander » October 20th, 2008, 9:51 am

so u mean i cant come home :cry:

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 20th, 2008, 9:54 am

Freelander wrote:so u mean i cant come home :cry:

BBBWWWWAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » October 20th, 2008, 9:54 am

so why we doh give travel advisory against these countries for their serial murders and child rapist, and gang violence.

Postby Greypatch » October 20th, 2008, 9:55 am

you can come back home when the mega farms start up...

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 20th, 2008, 9:57 am

im so proud....

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » October 20th, 2008, 10:05 am

I can't say I blame them. Everything there is true. Can we honestly say that that report is exaggerating a bit? I mean really...

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » October 20th, 2008, 10:13 am

so people is get robbed by the dock regularly? since when?

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » October 20th, 2008, 11:19 am

you know, i agree with everything in that write up. But the funny thing is i never realised how much i look over my shoulder until i read that advisory...it literally shows how much times we look over our shoulder to be safe

Postby Greypatch » October 20th, 2008, 11:23 am

comming soon the govt will put out a similer one for the citizens who reside on the island.

Postby Maserati » October 20th, 2008, 11:23 am

Greypatch wrote:
Canadians should be highly vigilant in Laventille

if ah tourist go there dem deserve to be robbed

lol for real

in every country there are some places you just don't visit.

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 20th, 2008, 11:27 am

Yup.. we in a serious state here..

btw ent it have a Canada in Lavantille :?:

Postby Greypatch » October 20th, 2008, 11:35 am

and beverly hills

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » October 20th, 2008, 12:21 pm

nice.... is run ah running to the embassy when current go or water gone.

sensiman

Postby sensiman » October 20th, 2008, 12:33 pm

Zeriam wrote:so why we doh give travel advisory against these countries for their serial murders and child rapist, and gang violence.

What are "these countries"?

Do you understand the concept of crime rates? frequencies?

Check the stats and see how many other Caribbean countries/tourist destinations have so many violent crimes, not just your regular pickpocketing or B&E, including murder.

aR&D

Postby aR&D » October 20th, 2008, 2:35 pm

... another opp for a cool $24M foreign affairs PR campaign

satan's ride

Re: Canadian Travel Advisory on travel to Trinidad & Tob

Postby satan's ride » October 20th, 2008, 6:45 pm

[quote
In case of emergency in Trinidad and Tobago, dial 990 for an ambulance or the fire department, and 999 for police....[/quote]

u better off calling 911...they'll reach here faster than trinidad police...

ever since leaving Trinidad....i dont consider there to be my home country and i am ashame to tell ppl thats where im from.

Postby SR » October 20th, 2008, 6:47 pm

thats part of the 500 mil exposure for the country