My car actually downshifting itself

Toyopet

My car actually downshifting itself

Postby Toyopet » October 7th, 2008, 9:31 am

Ok,so ah not in Trinidad for a while,doh beat me up. I buy a used Sunfire and it was working fine,then yesterday I realise when I slowing down the car downing so much that it holding back the car more than the brakes. Is that normal?

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » October 7th, 2008, 10:34 am

aammm....not sure na........BTW what brand is a Sunfire ??

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » October 7th, 2008, 10:40 am

Sunfire made by Pontiac. And the car is an automatic,if allyuh didnt notice.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 7th, 2008, 1:40 pm

Postby RBphoto » October 7th, 2008, 3:20 pm

You have downhill assist?

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » October 7th, 2008, 6:30 pm

I have no idea what that is. But it happens on level road. D car doesn't even have overdrive.

Postby cinco » October 7th, 2008, 8:14 pm

check yuh trans fluid see what it looking like
you would get a better response on a pontiac forum or if you google it
what year is it and the mileage?
yuh pull the carfax before u buy it?

Postby buzz » October 7th, 2008, 8:18 pm

you would get a better response on a pontiac forum or if you google it

X1000000

down shifting automatically? :shock: :shock: wtf

last time my car did that the transmission seized 2 seconds later :|

Postby sMASH » October 7th, 2008, 8:39 pm

i get that when the wiring went hay wire. but check the pontiac dudes

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » October 7th, 2008, 11:08 pm

The car is a 2001 wit 82k miles on it. I didnt get d carfax cause it was a real rush buy,and it running sweet otherwise.So like allyuh could link ah man to a pontiac forum,if you happen to know one? I'll try to google one by the time.

Poopsingh

Postby Poopsingh » October 8th, 2008, 2:11 am

It shud down gear but not that Consdierabley More than the Brakes. Have transmission checked, Checkfluid levels first though

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » October 10th, 2008, 3:28 pm

Thats what you get for buying a pos :lol:
But seriously i wish i could help you i have no idea whats wrong.

Postby cinco » October 11th, 2008, 11:06 am

never too late to run the carfax and still get it to aamco or some transmission specialist and let them take a look at it.

vin123

Postby vin123 » October 12th, 2008, 10:50 pm

check a transmisson specialist for true, downshifting for itself have to be something wrong with tranny