average resale value of a VW Bora

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

average resale value of a VW Bora

Postby Advil » September 17th, 2008, 12:48 am

its a PBT

odometer reading 38***

Vehicle was bought new from the dealership

Vehicle has been maintained by the dealership from the day it was bought.

Interior is in good condition,

Exterior is in good condition, (small scratches on the side mirrors,)

err... what else ya need to know?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 17th, 2008, 10:02 am

2004 Volkswagen Bora? 1.6 or 2.0? You can offer $50,000. maximum for that car if its 1.6 and $55-60k if its the 2.0 with sunroof.

Advil

Postby Advil » September 17th, 2008, 11:39 am

i believe its the 2.0

thanksx2floor

also, anyone knows where i can find an evaluator?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 17th, 2008, 12:18 pm

^^you mean a Valuator?

Insurance Investigations Services Ltd. #45 Dundonald St., POS or
Cariclaims Investigators and Adjustors Ltd. #32 Gordon St., POS Tel. 625-9080 hope the info is accurate, double check phone book.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » September 17th, 2008, 2:30 pm

There's also Motor Critic on Mucurapo Road... all finance institutions accept their valuations with no questions asked. They also go a step further by inspecting the entire car and give you a checklist of what is wrong with it, if anything.

IMO, given the car's age, and low mileage, I'd say it's worth about 75K if it's a 1.6, and 85-90K if it's a 2.0 These are fair values considering a comparison with a RORO 1.6 Corolla of the same age (with rolled back mileage :?), which goes for 100K and up.

50K is definitely too low... that's the kinda price a PBH to like PBL model would go for.

Advil

Postby Advil » September 17th, 2008, 11:10 pm

oohhh, a valuator... my bad yo...

85-90 is what i was thinking, x2floor's number kinda had me worried.

yeah it's a 2.0

Postby equipped2ripp » September 18th, 2008, 3:10 am

abt $90K

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 18th, 2008, 9:19 am

i maybe does talk real sheit on this forum fellow buddies but believe me when i say those prices i called are solid!!!! damie, never compare resale value of a vw bora to a roro corolla altis.......corolla = #1 and vw is @ the lowest in local rankings.

Case in point.......i bid for vehicles and then sell them back. Its funny that the topic of Bora came up cause im gonna get one for $25k (PBL).......another a PBN went for $40k (it had new tyres).......a good way to make an assessment on bora's resale value is to guide it along cars like a peugeot 307, ford focus, renault megane, hyundai elantra, nissan almera, kia spectra/cerrato and skoda octavia. The honda civic, mazda 3 and toyota corolla is a different ball park all together (very high resale).

A PBP Bora COULD NEVER fetch more than a local PBP Almera similarly equipped and those Almera's sold for $55k as a matter of fact, Nealco used cars by N&M in Morvant sold a PBT SG-L Almera for $70k. Someone just sold a Peugeot 307 hatchback (PBR) for $50k and XD Elantra similarly equipped (nealco again) going for $45k.

keep your price below $60k pal because all components of a vw bora are rare, expensive and poor in quality. Make sure the thing have good brakes, engine and transmission otherwise walk away.....it ranks just like them PBB-PBK Audi A4 1.6 rubbish cars, the dash board fades away and trim panels melt in the hot sun..and i thought peugeot and renault was bad, heck a PAZ hyundai accent (notorious for cracks) is better.

please be guided accordingly.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » September 18th, 2008, 10:07 am

^^ I hear ya, but could the business you're in cause a bit of bias when it comes to pricing?? After all, you're looking for the lowest price so you could sell over for a profit.

I'm confident the guy could get as much as 90K for it, because spec, condition and mileage play a big part. I haven't seen the car so I'm only basing my comments on the description. With a 2.0 engine, such low mileage, just a couple scratches on the wing mirrors, and routinely serviced, I'm assuming this is a grade 4/4.5 used car and is worth the value I stated. Not to mention, all he has to do is wait for a buyer who appreciates euro design and engineering over asian econo-boxes (and there are many out there) and he'd achieve a good price.

You can't use used car lots like Nealco as a guide because they pay next to nothing for the cars they sell (trade-ins and ex rental cars) and thus could sell over at cheap prices. Not to mention they don't refurbish their cars anymore, like they used to a few years ago, so you really don't know what box of headaches you're buying.

About the Corolla, I personally find them overrated... they're knock-offs of the MK1 Ford Focus, and parts are a lot harder to get, and in some case more expensive than VW Parts. VW parts are easy to get now... you have Parts Runner, ERM, and Automotive Supplies selling them... plus you can get at Skoda because the Octavia and Bora are mechanically identical.

Finally, yes I'm aware of these cars having a propensity for deteriorating interiors, but that's only caused by how they're treated. If parked outdoors day and night at the mercy of the elements, you would run into problems. But honestly, a simple windscreen shade and a lil Amorall on the dash, console, door panels etc makes a huge difference. I know a fella with a 8 year old Bora who did that and his interior is immaculate.... same goes for a neighbour with a 7 year old Octavia.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 18th, 2008, 10:21 am

if only it was a 1.8t :wink:

x2floor wrote:A PBP Bora COULD NEVER fetch more than a local PBP Almera similarly equipped and those Almera's sold for $55k as a matter of fact,

because all components of a vw bora are rare, expensive and poor in quality. ......it ranks just like them PBB-PBK Audi A4 1.6 rubbish cars, the dash board fades away and trim panels melt in the hot sun..

WRONG ...that is the most amount of bs i have ever heard lol

Advil

Postby Advil » September 18th, 2008, 10:52 am

as soon as i get time to throw up some pics, i will

this will probably be Sunday or Monday

Odessy

Postby Odessy » September 18th, 2008, 12:34 pm

$2.50c :lol:

Advil

Postby Advil » September 18th, 2008, 1:10 pm

its not a civic

and stop spammin mih thread

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » September 18th, 2008, 2:45 pm

^^ oh sheit!! :P

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 18th, 2008, 6:37 pm

damie again you post valid info and argued it quite well unlike a fella who jus say what he had to say and have no 2nride to draw reference to. Oh well, your points are all valid so much so that this is my perspective from my line of thinking and experience which is not necessarily shared by others.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » September 18th, 2008, 7:24 pm

^^ well lively debate is the name of the game, or at least it should be. That way we see others' perspectives and learn from one another. The minute you said you're into buying and selling cars I figured that would have automatically put a spin on your views, but it's all good.... now the man has two opinions on the value of his car depending on how he disposes of it.

And if the "fella" you referring to is triniVdub, doh take it personally. He's a cool guy and he love a VW too bad, so any negative comments about one would get his blood boiling :lol:

Advil

Postby Advil » September 18th, 2008, 8:45 pm

x2floor,damieG82, thanks for your opnions, OBVIOUSLY i'm going with damieG82's $$, just cuz its more money

but, in the case where the car needs to be sold quicky, i will go withx2floor's, price, cuz i understand why he chose that #,

the surprising thing is the manner in which u all debated, it was nothing like a civic vs Maza 3 debate :lol:

Thanks for ya help

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 18th, 2008, 10:11 pm

x2floor wrote:unlike a fella who jus say what he had to say and have no 2nride to draw reference to.

Lol look at my pic....thats enuff reference for u...... :wink:

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 18th, 2008, 10:12 pm

damieG82, lol u know me well :lol: :lol:

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » September 18th, 2008, 10:59 pm

HAHA, well Fayez or Imran (or was it Nadia?) mentioned you're a VW man, and d Golf jus give it away too :wink:

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » September 19th, 2008, 1:22 pm

x2floor wrote:.......a good way to make an assessment on bora's resale value is to guide it along cars like a peugeot 307, ford focus, renault megane, hyundai elantra, nissan almera, kia spectra/cerrato and skoda octavia.

the dash board fades away and trim panels melt in the hot sun..and i thought peugeot and renault was bad, heck a PAZ hyundai accent (notorious for cracks) is better.

As it was pointed out to me by Motor Critic agents, the vehicle is evaluated with respect to the market value for the car. Then they check the features, mileage, and apply a wear & tear factor. As with the Renault Megane, you have the Privilege model (fully loaded) and the Authenique (basic) and they would fetch a different value.
Even though I paid 35k for the Clio, it has a market value of 38k, because of LOW MILEAGE, good body condition, with all original parts.

Also, there is no way that I would line up a Pug 307,Renault megane & Skoda Octavia with a Nissan Almera,Hyundai Elantra and the Kia Spectra.

cjawahir

Postby cjawahir » September 19th, 2008, 2:53 pm

60,000 max

Advil

Postby Advil » September 19th, 2008, 6:52 pm

^^^ why? :|

yuh cyah just jump een and open the hole in yuh face?

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » September 19th, 2008, 11:05 pm

^^^ exactly!! Like some ppl in here linguistically challenged!

I for one would NEVER buy a 4 year old 2.0 Bora for 60K.... the first thing I'd ask the seller is what wrong with it... an d minute he say nothing I walking away. No way in hell that car worth so little.

Pointman, I agree with you 100%, but in reality, to people who view a car as, well, jus a car, they'll group everything with a 1.6 engine and 4 wheels together... so they will infact compare a Bora to an Almera. It's totally asinine to us, but hey, there are a lot of asinine people out there :?
Last edited by damieG82 on September 20th, 2008, 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 20th, 2008, 9:00 am

Also, there is no way that I would line up a Pug 307,Renault megane & Skoda Octavia with a Nissan Almera,Hyundai Elantra and the Kia Spectra.

so true........the pug, ren and skod total worth is $100,000.
the other three total is $130,000.

Renault's resale resembles that of computers and yard tools.
Peugeot's could get lucky once in a while once you don't have a transmission problem or interior trim miracle fade away/crack act...........this car goes well with Chris Angel's Mindfreak.
Volkswagen of yore ie. old Passat and Bora, better than the two trash cans above..........they are ideal for Zen's pimp and hoes night this tuesday 23rd. they should have one for advertising purposes........the interior is very sticky and the headliner already starts to hang giving it that real Snoop Dogg effect. Wear gloves otherwise the shift lever might stick on ur skin and that smells worse than the blue tiida that got washed out in flood by claxton bay the other day

Chevy and Daewoo apart from them not existing on the roads, they don't have insurance for it and it probably have a B14 engine in dem.....worthless so need not be mentioned.

The Grand Touring exotic likes from Johnny come lately brands like Hyundai and Kia puts those above to shame :lol: it too funny, XD 3rd generation elantras already have shitty resale yet they commanding higher prices generally......so what some have 4 airbags, leather, sunroof, fogs, spoiler, 4-wheel disc, TC/ABS/EBD and Euro NCAP 3 star rating.....its still better and it doh melt or fall apart. J2 Elantras, the more popular version despite being like 12 yrs old already still have better resale than a peugeot 306, renault clio etc....

Almeras........fuss it have ah set of haterz on this forum (heck me included)......what that ghetto taxi kidnap roro special POS worth more than my 307 which have a Blaupunkt (forgive the spelling, doh give a lion's arse) 5-cd changer, PORSCHE TIPTRONIC and rear wheel disc brakes? :lol: most of them not powered by PORSCHE trannies anymore.....NEVER rank a Megane and a 307 with the N16 cause the kidnap special will always worth more just like a B15 and Wingroad.

Kia.......hmmm killed in action? poor resale is a fact but it getting better and I rather own a Cerrato anyday over those European knock-off light weight monsters they selling here.

Skoda Octavia (new one is sexy no arse)........previous one is like a totally different kind of car, full of sheit but hey at least they'll sell, if u find the replacement parts but thanks to Sterling they put an add in yesterdays express i believe indicating they have parts now so come and buy while stocks last :lol:

so those octavia owners who have they car park up for the past 5yrs can now spend alot of $$ and buy new parts and then sell it. Good one.

Rover.......thanks to Nissan GA and SR series engines and Honda's D and B-series signature engines and related trannies, Rover still have a chance but were crap alike so much so that a friend of mine got a green 623 for $22k. albeit the sunroof is now a moonroof since it doh work.

Daewoo is now Chevrolet and those cars selling, at least thet still alive which is economically feasible for future and current owners unlike some others above which I understand like one in particular, they still in trinidad but they in martinique! wtf?

Colm Imbert and the best in the MOWT and the entire management and staff of Motor Critical could say what they want.....the classifieds says it all.

But every automaker had some bad times when it came to resale its just that Toyota, Nissan, Honda and Subaru like it neva had none! Mazdas of yore were the shiznit but resale was poor due to poor quality, now compare the new Mazda 3 to the others now? :shock: the pug, ren and skod = 1 mazda 3 :lol:

so please.......i know (and it is obvious) that by virtue of some of you guys previous postings on this forum, euro cars are well loved and supported and that is admirable but I don't pick sides, ill argue from both ends.

truth is......if I had a choice for my wife and child it would be a european car for her to drive....I can stick to my japanese car, maybe the savings costs will offset that which may go wrong in the euro.

cjawahir

Postby cjawahir » September 20th, 2008, 3:28 pm

Advil wrote:^^^ why? :|

yuh cyah just jump een and open the hole in yuh face?

look fella , I know the car may worth more money, but that's what the next owner will pay for it .

OK I will tell you what you want to hear , the car is worth 90.000 dollars ..................................................

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » September 20th, 2008, 4:00 pm

look fella?? :shock:

who d arse you feel you talkin to?

Well FELLA, that might be what you would pay for it, but thank God you aren't judge, jury and executioner when comes to car values. Outta curiosity, what do you drive?

HAHA, jealousy is a hell of a thing eh!

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 20th, 2008, 4:46 pm

x2floor wrote:Skoda Octavia (new one is sexy no arse)........previous one is like a totally different kind of car, full of sheit but hey at least they'll sell, if u find the replacement parts but thanks to Sterling they put an add in yesterdays express i believe indicating they have parts now so come and buy while stocks last :lol:

so those octavia owners who have they car park up for the past 5yrs can now spend alot of $$ and buy new parts and then sell it. Good one.

Horse where d hell do u come up with this info??? Again u go bumpin ur gun when u have no idea what u are talking about. Skoda Octavia is based on the MKIV platform (in case u still don't comprehend that is also what the golf, jetta, ibiza and the A3 are all based on). The engine parts whether it be mechanical or just maintenance, or suspension parts can all be found quite easily once u know where to look as the parts ARE interchangeable, depending on the model. SO before u start to post up sheit again no ur facts nah pls.

cjawahir

Postby cjawahir » September 20th, 2008, 6:35 pm

damieG82 wrote:look fella?? :shock:

who d arse you feel you talkin to?

Well FELLA, that might be what you would pay for it, but thank God you aren't judge, jury and executioner when comes to car values. Outta curiosity, what do you drive?

HAHA, jealousy is a hell of a thing eh!

dont get me wrong .
I love german vehicles , I myself have a BMW x5 2002 model diesel, nissan b15, surf with prado engine etc ,
had volkswagen vehicles all my driving life, and before that my dad had many .
people may pay more for the new beetle just on looks alone .

cj

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » September 20th, 2008, 7:50 pm

x2floor wrote:But every automaker had some bad times when it came to resale its just that Toyota, Nissan, Honda and Subaru like it neva had none! Mazdas of yore were the shiznit but resale was poor due to poor quality, now compare the new Mazda 3 to the others now? :shock: the pug, ren and skod = 1 mazda 3 :lol:

It's not poor quality at all... and maybe they never had bad times because of the inferior cars they make... I'll explain. Asian cars have better resale value (only in TnT mind you) simply because of lower maintenance costs... I'll explain that too.

Firstly, I don't find asian cars anymore reliable, and certainly not better quality to euro cars (my family owns a multitude of both so I have 1st hand experience), and one must admit asian parts (genuine) are inferior in quality, hence the lower prices. For donkey years now parts (genuine) for euro cars carry warranties stretching to 10 years or more in some cases... you lucky to even get a warranty with an asian part, and when you do, it's 1 year tops.... a testament to the vast difference in quality. So you might go thru 3 or 4 of the same part in an Asian car, versus 1 replacement in a Euro car.

Furthermore the engineering in euro cars is leaps and bounds ahead of Asian, also contributing to the higher costs. Airbags, ABS, ESP, catalytic convertors, turbo and super chargers, and the rotary engine are examples and technologies that came out of Europe, and first appeared on European cars. Stands to reason an alternator for a BMW would be more costly than that of a Toyota, after all, the BMW's own is immensely complex and even has water lines to tie into the car's cooling system. Why? Cause it was built to run on d Autobahn at a 155mph all day long... your run-a-d-mill Nissan or Toyota isn't.

Now when it comes to resale, this is where the anomaly (and a purely local one at that) comes into play, and IMO it's intertwined with socio-economic factors. Chances are if I bought a new Bora for instance, in a few years time I could just go back and buy another one. What then happens to my old Bora?? It goes on to the used car open market... and realistically speaking, no one buys a used car if they could afford a new one. So now my old Bora, despite maybe having 4+ airbags, ESP, light and wiper sensors, tamper-proof wheel nuts, etc etc, gets lost in a sea of Corollas, Almeras, and Lancers (all of which have lower running costs as I explained above). So the only incentive to motivate someone to buy my Bora over the competition is to undercut their price. And it only takes a couple sales of this nature to cause widespread depreciation of values of similar cars.

Return to “EURO”