Is the PNM realy doing that bad of a job?

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 5th, 2008, 7:18 pm

Or is it that we are blinded by some kind of hate?

reason i am asking this is because some people are realy in support of how the country and funds are being managed......

I dunno...so reasonable discussion starts NOW!.....
actually i was jsut asked by one of my friends ( a pnm supporter hardcore) to put this question out......

Postby brams112 » September 5th, 2008, 7:38 pm

pal wait till next few months when all the money finishes then ask,how much hundred billions spent where,how and what are we getting for it and how will the people survive with no medical attention or no beds although we got billions to spend on paybacks for the boys.... :wink: :wink: :fist: :fist: 0X 0X

BOXER

Postby BOXER » September 5th, 2008, 8:07 pm

There are doing a fine job.By the year 2020 we will be broke.

Postby brams112 » September 5th, 2008, 8:14 pm

2020 too far we broke already 0X 0X 0X 0X

kalongi

Postby kalongi » September 5th, 2008, 8:21 pm

R they really doing a bad job hmmmmm!!!!! Let's see with all the billions of dollars floating through this country and only six men benefitting namely monteil, ken julien, calder hart, lenny saith, colm imbert,manning and the public is getting the trickle down of the spoils when they play with billions of our dollars hell know they not doing a good job what the poorer class gets pales in comparison to some of these mega million dollar non transparent projects that flow through these fellas hands which I am sure they get kick backs in some form or fashion

Jus failure wid these. Guys imagine we are the only carribean that has not changed a pm within the last two elections and some people want to blame the cop supporters get this through allyuh head if the people wanted to get pnm out they would ah vote them out they wanted it like that so take strain now

turbonator

Postby turbonator » September 5th, 2008, 8:24 pm

Well they using all our valuable agriculture land to build house, the bringing down aluminum smelter to poison we ass and help use up we natural gas, and soon crime will be on the decline because there will be no one left to kill, and last but be no means least they think that a first world country is one with big buildings so we have about ah million unessary gov't projects going on (mind u is not even d locals what getting piece ah d action because is chineese wha doing all d wuk) which they are spending unimaginable amts of our money which in turn have d inflation rate at 11.5%.

PS: We also have no dengue problem :)

So IMHO they are doing a damn good job of running this country into the ground :|

turbonator

Postby turbonator » September 5th, 2008, 8:28 pm

kalongi wrote:Jus failure wid these. Guys imagine we are the only carribean that has not changed a pm within the last two elections and some people want to blame the cop supporters get this through allyuh head if the people wanted to get pnm out they would ah vote them out they wanted it like that so take strain now

100% correct.

Also ent dey say to "tighten yuh belt." :? So start pulling :lol:

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 5th, 2008, 8:29 pm

gord the man dogging me to reply.using my nick....but i tell him to create his own un. an pw....should not have post this up in the first place.....

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 5th, 2008, 8:58 pm

Surely you jest.

axe

Postby axe » September 5th, 2008, 9:17 pm

This government is consumed with erecting monuments, wooing fellow regional bodies that offer us no strategic advantages, and making themselves look good (trying to bring down unemployment by enstating programmes that are very unproductive in generating REAL value: CEPEP). In the end we will have skyscrapers that cost millions to maintain (while our oil depletes and inflation eats away our spending power), Manning will be the President of a lesser Caribbean Federation (T and T, Barbados, St Lucia, Grenada), and a welfare state will be in existence where people doing little depend on government handouts. This is called 2020.
This government ignored the brightest minds in our country who warned them about Dutch Disease Phenomenon: where a booming sector in the economy (OIL) can lead to other sectors dying (Agriculture) and runaway inflation. This occurred already in the 1980s. The government exacerbated the situation by creating another booming sector (Construction) with their fast paced housing scheme: hastening the effects of Dutch Disease.
Ours is not the only country with natural resources, but while many have tried to manage their wealth (Dubai, Australia, etc) we try to impress, squander and spend millions on a media propaganda machine. I never thought i would hear our leader (with thousands of BLIND supporters) say crime is a global problem so we have to accept it....man crime, poverty, are all symptoms of a socially ill population, it must be handled, managed, and eradicated.
You think it is fair in a RICH country for hospitals to have no beds, lack key drugs, have to send blood tests to be done in private labs, have CAT scan machines and others not working? This government continues to ignore the value of human capital....hell i could go on and on.....man wake up and smell the coffee

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » September 5th, 2008, 9:21 pm

swearing of manning - 500,000$+
last time - $29,000

heard this in radio today

let the figures speak !!

by the time 2020, i feel we roads will be 30inches of the ground!!

Postby Monk BANzai » September 5th, 2008, 10:03 pm

Postby hydroep » September 5th, 2008, 10:13 pm

The Good:

Free tertiary education.

Low cost housing.

High paying jobs in the petroleum sector.

The Bad:

Double digit Inflation

Uncontrollable Crime.

Deteriorating infrastructure.

Wasteful expenditure. (BCL Stadium, Tobago Hospital etc.)

Unsustainable jobs (CEPEP, construction etc.)

Unequal distribution of wealth.

etc...etc...etc...

There's a lot more bad than good. It's also easy to see that it does not take a lot of planning to build houses or give someone a job once you have a lot of money. The real brain-work comes in using that money to solve the problems listed under the second section.

The oil money simply hides their poor management skills. It was the same story in the '70s and when the bottom fell out of the barrel in the '80s the hollow shell of economy was exposed.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 5th, 2008, 10:22 pm

axe wrote:This government is consumed with erecting monuments, wooing fellow regional bodies that offer us no strategic advantages, and making themselves look good (trying to bring down unemployment by enstating programmes that are very unproductive in generating REAL value: CEPEP). In the end we will have skyscrapers that cost millions to maintain (while our oil depletes and inflation eats away our spending power), Manning will be the President of a lesser Caribbean Federation (T and T, Barbados, St Lucia, Grenada), and a welfare state will be in existence where people doing little depend on government handouts. This is called 2020.
This government ignored the brightest minds in our country who warned them about Dutch Disease Phenomenon: where a booming sector in the economy (OIL) can lead to other sectors dying (Agriculture) and runaway inflation. This occurred already in the 1980s. The government exacerbated the situation by creating another booming sector (Construction) with their fast paced housing scheme: hastening the effects of Dutch Disease.
Ours is not the only country with natural resources, but while many have tried to manage their wealth (Dubai, Australia, etc) we try to impress, squander and spend millions on a media propaganda machine. I never thought i would hear our leader (with thousands of BLIND supporters) say crime is a global problem so we have to accept it....man crime, poverty, are all symptoms of a socially ill population, it must be handled, managed, and eradicated.
You think it is fair in a RICH country for hospitals to have no beds, lack key drugs, have to send blood tests to be done in private labs, have CAT scan machines and others not working? This government continues to ignore the value of human capital....hell i could go on and on.....man wake up and smell the coffee

Brilliant.....man hit d jackpot here yes....i say u should put this in d dam express for all dem guntas to read

Postby Team Loco » September 5th, 2008, 10:48 pm

we hada be real blind to believe in them. we as a country should not have high food prices on produce. common sense would show them, they could simply utilise former caroni workers on agricultural lands. we have a gold mine of arable land here, yet we talking to foreign countries wooing them to produce megafarms. we suffering our own people.

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 5th, 2008, 11:23 pm

well to soem its clearly only race ..

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 5th, 2008, 11:35 pm

If HE thinks the PNM is doing a good job, then clearly he is one of the many, but not majority, of people who are benefiting right now.

And you have to face that fact. Many people ARE doing well under the PNM. They are not like the rest of us, who are affected by crime, food prices etc.

Either that or many PNM supports really don't care to find out how the government is running the country. e.g. No one they know is in hospital = they don't care about who dies. They have those cards to get groceries = don't care about food prices. They have plenty badmen partners = don't care who gets killed.

They don't care what UDeCOTT do, if the roads are not maintained, if school system is shot. All they know is : they are doing fine. It's a selfish approach.

Skyline_babe

Postby Skyline_babe » September 5th, 2008, 11:56 pm

blehh.....still the gov't is ah mudda kant....

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 6th, 2008, 12:12 am

^^^^ aye sweetness watch yuh mouth before ah put something in it :lol:

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 6th, 2008, 12:17 am

stop huttin allyuh head...stargate start.. :wink: .goin to ask mods to delete this.....should not have posted this shyt up in the first place...

Postby Maserati » September 6th, 2008, 12:44 am

axe, good post

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 6th, 2008, 1:10 am

26 million goes to aid to other countries......

our farmers and flood victims catching asss......

was goin to delete the psot till i saw the guardian headlines.....HELP YOUR OWN FKIN ppl first...

turbonator

Postby turbonator » September 6th, 2008, 2:04 am

Don't delete it. Just check this out, out of all the posts that were made in this thread how many supports the current gov't and how many are against?

Postby Sky » September 6th, 2008, 2:12 am

streetbeastINC., It really comes down to race, and I'm sorry to say this because I'll come across racist. But that's how that kinda people does move. Glitter.

I mentioned this before on 2nr. I spent alot of time by my grandmother in Tunapuna on the north of the main road. She's East Indian but the general population on that side is of African descent. They always spoke about how the East Indian people on the south side ( Pasea) always had big houses and looking rich. They must be in drugs. when in fact, peas build most of those big houses.

My point? Indian people know how to band their belly jed. And in power, they wouldn't do the same things with the money we have now and had for the past few years. They'd suffer the country and citizens for the greater good later on. Most of the things our present Gov't boasts as their accomplishments, we as a country can't afford. And they don't see that. Alot of people vote on racial motivation, but they have the wrong idea why they are. think I'm racist? Ask the people that personally know me what I look like....

And tell your friend that all that glitters is not gold.....
I woulda pay for my education and buy an expensive house if it meant I didn't have to carry a knife around while wishing I had a gun...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 6th, 2008, 2:18 am

well said axe and Sky.....

WD40

Postby WD40 » September 6th, 2008, 2:25 am

Sky -

" And in power, they wouldn't do the same things with the money we have now and had for the past few years. They'd suffer the country and citizens for the greater good later on. "

I was following you up until you made that point about the UNC. What exactly did Panday do for the country when he was in power?

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 6th, 2008, 2:59 am

soon we will end up with a spectacular sea front in pos...and alot of friends in relation to all the handouts ...and serious recession.....

Postby Sky » September 6th, 2008, 3:32 am

WD40 wrote:Sky -

" And in power, they wouldn't do the same things with the money we have now and had for the past few years. They'd suffer the country and citizens for the greater good later on. "

I was following you up until you made that point about the UNC. What exactly did Panday do for the country when he was in power?

You missed the point. The question is what didn't he do...
The only bad spending I saw him do was the money in the London account.
This is open for any additions.

^^ That as opposed to a stadium we don't need, a plane the PM doesn't need, $ for a foreign political personality to visit ( like we give a crap about being emancipated. Every slave worldwide was sooner or later). Paving over roads that don't need it, while other districts are being flooded out. $ ALWAYS being spent on luxuries while our justice system needs a total make over/ Should I go on? And get this.. I don't actively follow politics. All this I got from this very website alone from the dozens of people b!tching about the PNM. This party is spending money aimlessly and without cause or a sign of stopping.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » September 6th, 2008, 10:34 am

This is what happens when you put a geologist to run the country....

kalongi

Postby kalongi » September 6th, 2008, 10:46 am

Again if the people did not wnat it so they could not have enjoyed the power they have today they would ah be in opposition and who vex loss by no means unc because no matter what they had there chance and made a mess of it started off good and fail later

As dry as dookeran was I rather trust a former central bank gov than a man who could not have paid his mortgage a couple years ago and a man who loss he mall due to miss management , at least for sure ah know they would ah been planning strategies to stay in power and not moving aimlessly foward with shitty plans that of course was not mentioned or budgeted for in the fiscal plans anybody asking themselves where manning getting this money from with this integration sheit becuase I certainly did not hear that allocated for previously in any plan they delivered