what if?

GANESH

what if?

Postby GANESH » June 20th, 2008, 8:32 pm

anybody have an idea if it's possible to run a 280zx with a rb26,rb25de+t,rd25det orrb25 neo
i was told it's a real headache (and wallet ache) to convert the front of the car to take the engine what you guys think? 8-)

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 21st, 2008, 5:47 am

A RB26DETT costs a lot, why then would you be worried about the other costs :?

GANESH

Postby GANESH » June 21st, 2008, 10:35 pm

he! sorry Conrad just curious if all the engine types were able to fit depending on the price ranges you can get them for i don't want to budget for say as sr20 and only have to pay small money for the engine bay conversion when i could purchase a better engine and still remain within budget with the conversion......
but seriously the engine type aside, whats the average costs to do the conversion for even the most complicated engine type (a worst case scenario if you will) from there i'd be able to average the cost of engine and other misc. stuff needed eg. brakes, suspension etc.

IDRC

Postby IDRC » June 22nd, 2008, 12:32 pm

but didnt that car come with a six cylinder engine :?:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 22nd, 2008, 1:19 pm

I personally would've tried to go against the crowd (a lot more expensive) and keep the L. L28ET with some healthy mods can still be a beautiful combo in this age of FWD SRs. Don't be afraid to go against the crowd, just do some healthy research.

Page OldSkoolRule and other 2nrs for info on what possible avenues you can take with the ZX.

GANESH

Postby GANESH » June 22nd, 2008, 9:08 pm

thanks conrad unfortunately expensive is the key word and on my salary it would be my undoing :lol:

Coldfyah

Postby Coldfyah » June 23rd, 2008, 12:47 pm

Hey ganesh is this the blue zx by the hardware in belmont....if so it look great.....i livin in belmont... u should not have trouble installing any rb or sr engine in it

Bandit_Edition

Postby Bandit_Edition » June 23rd, 2008, 2:00 pm

The Z takes the RB with ease! as far as I know the only problem is engine mount brackets.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 24th, 2008, 7:37 am

^^^sweet pic!

GANESH

Postby GANESH » June 25th, 2008, 6:51 pm

Coldfyah wrote:Hey ganesh is this the blue zx by the hardware in belmont....if so it look great.....i livin in belmont... u should not have trouble installing any rb or sr engine in it

jed!! I livin belmont too!! and is dat same zx have me wild :shock:
it also have somebody on tuner selling one for $15000. and it makin me think !!

GANESH

Postby GANESH » June 25th, 2008, 6:56 pm

Bandit_Edition wrote:The Z takes the RB with ease! as far as I know the only problem is engine mount brackets.

but bandit meh partna averaging the cost of the conversion between 4-7k
but he didn't mention mount issues
what is the problem, difficult to custom for install?

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » June 26th, 2008, 3:06 am

i say do an L28 build, they're good motors...just not as good as an RB

if you're looking to go fast right now on a low budget, drop in an RB20 with an RB25 turbo.

if i had an S30 i'd do either an L28 full build or an RB25 with bolt ons, but that's just me.

Postby Sinister_Audio » June 26th, 2008, 4:17 am

the answer is yes
next

move on

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 26th, 2008, 4:21 am

WOW ! The blue ZX in Belmont is yours homie! Nice car. Many times I pass through Belmont and see it and wonder if the owner wants to sell. Whatever engine upgrade you do make sure you upgrade the brakes and replace or upgrade the suspension. Control and stopping is a must. I would hate to hear that lovely ZX is no more due to no stopping power or a suspension problem. Nice project!

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 26th, 2008, 8:11 am

I don't think it's his.

As nismown3d said L28 or RB25 FTW :!:

GANESH

Postby GANESH » June 26th, 2008, 6:11 pm

allyuh have dis indian tinkin to spend money and have the wifey throw meh hairy arse in the dog house :lol:

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 1st, 2008, 9:19 am

being single is great no dog house
:mrgreen: