W.T.K.....which wrx is better JDM or SDM

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Dion76

W.T.K.....which wrx is better JDM or SDM

Postby Dion76 » June 13th, 2008, 10:45 pm

when purchasing a wrx which is the better one to go with the ones from JDM or SDM? (WRX)

and whats the reason for goin the way u choosed?

thanks in advance
Last edited by Dion76 on June 16th, 2008, 12:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

riderz

Postby riderz » June 13th, 2008, 10:58 pm

Between the SDM or JDM both have advantages and disadvantages.

WRX.

The SDM wrx does not put out the power that the JDM does out of the box. The JDM WRX (which you really dont seem to see much of since the 02 model) comes with AVCS on the heads and a such better spool and HP. The SDM however come with a better gear ratio and brake setup.

The SDM also has no speed cut, and a speedo up to 260 I think. JDM cuts at 187.

The JDM runs 1psi more boost than the SDM, buy hey you can tune that.

SDM interior has a more sporty finish than the JDM.

SDM WRXs are more available on the local RORO market.

STI.

Both are the same except for the speed cut and dash. The SDM runs less aggressive igntion maps, AVCS maps, Boost Maps and might put out the same power but a takes a while to get there. The JDM is a lot more aggressive. Remember that can be tuned as well.

Go Fast
Location: Cheap and fast won't be reliable. Cheap and reliable won't be fast. Reliable and fast won't be cheap

Postby Go Fast » June 14th, 2008, 12:23 am

riderz wrote:The SDM wrx does not put out the power that the JDM does out of the box.

talk done.. get a JDM. doh hurry an just buy one. You might just regret it ..

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 14th, 2008, 4:03 pm

have the choices of a SDM wrx in good condidtion and a JDM wrx in good condiditon but the problem is one if the front seats is black and the other one is black and blue :? not lookin too good

which would u choose?

riderz

Postby riderz » June 14th, 2008, 8:05 pm

If its a matter of interior I would choose the one with better safety and power.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 15th, 2008, 12:16 am

which would be the SDM or the JDM?

STi-N

Postby STi-N » June 15th, 2008, 12:52 am

JDM ftw

STi-N

Postby STi-N » June 15th, 2008, 12:52 am

:twisted:

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » June 15th, 2008, 2:25 am

GET JDM!!!!!!!!!!!!111!!

so much better....and you get the twin-scroll turbo

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 15th, 2008, 7:00 am

ImprezaDriver wrote:GET JDM!!!!!!!!!!!!111!!

so much better....and you get the twin-scroll turbo

so the SDM doesnt have the twin scroll turbo?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 15th, 2008, 7:19 am

^^The SDM STi's, as with the JDM STi's from '04 on....get the twin scroll turbo AFAIK. The only 04+ STi that doesn't carry the twin scroll setup is the USDM car, which is EJ25 powered.

And WRX's don't have twin scroll turbos in any market around the world.

So.....I'm not sure what ImprezaDriver is talking about. :roll:

In terms of the WRX, the JDM is the more powerful option, because of primarily AVCS and different ignition mapping (to give 19 more hp on 98 RON octane). Other than that, the turbo setups, suspension etc are bascially the same. My only grouse with the JDM setup is that it's intended for 98 RON octane, which means that you WILL have to tune for local gas. The SDM's require 95 RON minimum, and from my experience with logs on twoSD cars (mine being one of them), they run pretty well out of the box on pump gas.

For the STi....the stock JDM Sti puts out 280 hp, with the SDM (04+) putting out something like 265. Few differences between the cars, other than emission controls, and the JDM carries more aggressive head work (bigger ports) and ignition maps.

have the choices of a SDM wrx in good condidtion and a JDM wrx in good condiditon but the problem is one if the front seats is black and the other one is black and blue not lookin too good

which would u choose?

Are these 02 or 04 models? Bugeye or Peanut eye...or newer?

Ultimately, it's up to you. Both cars can be upgraded pretty easily, to similar power levels, depending on how far you wanna go.

reason why you chose

Simple. The SDM WRX is identical to the UK WRX, and the USDM WRX. The UK Spec WRX is what was sold locally, so parts ain't that hard to get from the firm, or to order. Also, since the SDM WRX is practically identical (engine/suspension/drivetrain) to the USDM WRX, I can ship in my own OEM parts from US Subaru vendors with no worries of "compatibility issues". And also, pretty much any US Spec aftermarket part that the folks in the U.S., i know will work on my car too with no issues.

(e.g. Did you know that the catback on the JDM and SDM/USDM Sti's is slightly different....in length? Put a US Spec catback on a JDM car and you'll have to cut it to fit :shock: )

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 15th, 2008, 8:46 am

Knight1 wrote:^^The SDM STi's, as with the JDM STi's from '04 on....get the twin scroll turbo AFAIK. The only 04+ STi that doesn't carry the twin scroll setup is the USDM car, which is EJ25 powered.

And WRX's don't have twin scroll turbos in any market around the world.

So.....I'm not sure what ImprezaDriver is talking about. :roll:

In terms of the WRX, the JDM is the more powerful option, because of primarily AVCS and different ignition mapping (to give 19 more hp on 98 RON octane). Other than that, the turbo setups, suspension etc are bascially the same. My only grouse with the JDM setup is that it's intended for 98 RON octane, which means that you WILL have to tune for local gas. The SDM's require 95 RON minimum, and from my experience with logs on twoSD cars (mine being one of them), they run pretty well out of the box on pump gas.

For the STi....the stock JDM Sti puts out 280 hp, with the SDM (04+) putting out something like 265. Few differences between the cars, other than emission controls, and the JDM carries more aggressive head work (bigger ports) and ignition maps.

have the choices of a SDM wrx in good condidtion and a JDM wrx in good condiditon but the problem is one if the front seats is black and the other one is black and blue not lookin too good

which would u choose?

Are these 02 or 04 models? Bugeye or Peanut eye...or newer?

Ultimately, it's up to you. Both cars can be upgraded pretty easily, to similar power levels, depending on how far you wanna go.

reason why you chose

Simple. The SDM WRX is identical to the UK WRX, and the USDM WRX. The UK Spec WRX is what was sold locally, so parts ain't that hard to get from the firm, or to order. Also, since the SDM WRX is practically identical (engine/suspension/drivetrain) to the USDM WRX, I can ship in my own OEM parts from US Subaru vendors with no worries of "compatibility issues". And also, pretty much any US Spec aftermarket part that the folks in the U.S., i know will work on my car too with no issues.

(e.g. Did you know that the catback on the JDM and SDM/USDM Sti's is slightly different....in length? Put a US Spec catback on a JDM car and you'll have to cut it to fit :shock: )

both are peanut eyes
the JDM is a 2003 and the SDM is a 2005

riderz

Postby riderz » June 15th, 2008, 10:28 am

Knight1, its not usual that I contradict your statements, but am I to understand that because the SDM is almost the same as the EDM or USDM, and the JDM is almost its own market that JDM customers will get worries out of ordering out of the US. That isnt true. Subarus are lucky that the USDM market accomodates ALL parts, both USDM and JDM. So nobody has any worries. The AVCS solenoids for example can be ordered out of the US as they have cars with it (same part number)

Not all parts you can get out of the US would be the same LHD vs RHD, but SDM, JDM, USDM and EDM part numbers are constant across the board. OEM parts are easily available and if the US supplier doesnt have he will take the order and have it shipped from JAPAN.

Many locals are dependant on the USDM market due to ease of shipping. From my experience getting parts out of JAPAN works out better, faster, and cheaper. The problem is the language barrier and the time difference.

Now Dion, if both are peanut eyes, both has their advantages and disadvantages. So arguments can be either way. The SDM comes with no speedcut and compatiable with our emissions and its newer. The JDM comes with AVCS (that magical power adder).

I would suggest go back to basic. Look for the one with better mileage, condition, mods (if any already bolted on) and get a mechanic to check out the rest.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 15th, 2008, 12:24 pm

the SDM has the lowest mileage, is in good condition...i had really like the JDM but d ting is one of the front seats black and the other one is blue :?

Go Fast
Location: Cheap and fast won't be reliable. Cheap and reliable won't be fast. Reliable and fast won't be cheap

Postby Go Fast » June 15th, 2008, 12:50 pm

pallie, the seats is nutting. We telling u that the JDM is better because we have experience with it. doh make a mistake that everyone is making. get the better machine. Someone will always be willing to trade, or u can just dye the seats if it pleases u.[yes the upholstery zips off for cleaning]

you can also get the seat by gobin in bamboo, or order it in.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 15th, 2008, 7:41 pm

Knight1, its not usual that I contradict your statements, but am I to understand that because the SDM is almost the same as the EDM or USDM, and the JDM is almost its own market that JDM customers will get worries out of ordering out of the US.

I think my post is being misconstrued. Please reread my post. I stated my take on it, and did not say that JDM parts were difficult to source in the US market. :roll:

For the benefit of those who seem confused.....let me clarify......

Of course JDM parts can be imported from the U.S., as many parts are shared between the JDM and USDM markets cars. This is something I stated in my previous post. The point I was trying to make is in relation to folks having to wonder "aye....is the US car different in this way or that way to my JDM". In many cases it isn't different....in some it is. But with the SDM.....it's practically identical (negating LHD and RHD)......so no worries there.

So for the average newbie, who may not be acquainted with the differences between both markets, the SDM is the "foolproof" choice...so to speak. That's my point....if you're looking at things from that angle.

Other than that....the JDM car has the "rare" factor to it (hard to find down here)....and it packs more power out of the bag.

the SDM has the lowest mileage, is in good condition...i had really like the JDM but d ting is one of the front seats black and the other one is blue

What it all comes down to, as was posted above......which car do YOU like? Which car looks like it's in better condition? Less "used"? Better cared for? Why they being sold? That will be the best angle to take in the purchase.....a used car is a used car!!!

pallie, the seats is nutting. We telling u that the JDM is better because we have experience with it.

That may be a bigger factor than you think! Why was the seat changed......was the old one REALLY worn out? (sign of intense usage).

Or is it that a Racing style aftermarket seat was installed? (Recaro/Sparco/Bride). That's a plus....... :!:

BTW....is the '05 WRX SDM a Silver one with an STi Wing...and an "Impreza" decal on the windsheild :?:
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on June 15th, 2008, 7:52 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 15th, 2008, 7:48 pm

they replaced the seat with a sti recaro

the 05 wrx is blue i will post a pic of both a lil later for u all 2 see exactly wat is going on

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 15th, 2008, 7:57 pm

^^Ah....STi Recaro. That's weird. Maybe the original seat was busted up?

Definitely gotta see these pics!

As a side note.....for those who may be interested......the 05+ WRX's (JDM and UK) carry a variation to the inverted strut suspension from the STi's of that model year. Better handling, stiffer, beefier...whatever you wanna call it. The older WRX's carry standard struts.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 15th, 2008, 11:50 pm

this is the 2005 SDM WRX 5k cheaper than the JDM

This is the JDM

this is the pic with the seat (notice the difference in both seats)

which would u choose?
Last edited by Dion76 on June 16th, 2008, 6:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 16th, 2008, 5:37 am

They6're both RORO or are they local used?

If the White one (JDM) looks like that in real.....and is good condition, I'd be hard pressed not to buy that.

That thing has gauges already....and look at the rims. Those are Ltd. Edition rims off the WRX UK 300...made by Rays Engineering (same folks who make VOLK) for Subaru/STi.

8-)

NOw on the other hand, the white one may have been repainted. The bumper's been changed (or at least the side splitters have been changed) to STi spec. The scoop's been changed to the STi spec...and look at the portion between the side mirrors and the windows. That's white...when normally it should be black (look at the blue car and you'll see what I'm saying).

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 16th, 2008, 6:08 am

they are both roro.....which is the best one to buy?

riderz

Postby riderz » June 16th, 2008, 10:41 am

looks like JDM in this case

Go Fast

Postby Go Fast » June 16th, 2008, 11:09 am

ok, thread topic says wrx or sti, you do realise that thee cars are wrx, but not Sti right? did u want a WRX Sti, or a WRX,?

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 16th, 2008, 11:16 am

sorry there i meant wrx

which one out of the 2 wrx's is better?

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » June 16th, 2008, 11:58 am

a next question, the blue wrx dont u all find its a lil brighter than normal wrx's?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » June 16th, 2008, 1:25 pm

^^^could just be the camera that was used to take the pics.

Breds. I think everyone has pretty much made some good contributions inside here, as to advantages, disadvantages, and what to look for.

I'm not going to be the one to say yay or nay.

The final decision is yours to make. :wink:
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on June 16th, 2008, 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Go Fast

Postby Go Fast » June 16th, 2008, 1:27 pm

well, hands down, buy the JDM

Postby 16 cycles » June 16th, 2008, 1:32 pm

a next question, the blue wrx dont u all find its a lil brighter than normal wrx's?
:?

Go Fast

Postby Go Fast » June 17th, 2008, 12:30 am

no paddna..
it's called rally blue. :twisted:

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » June 17th, 2008, 3:55 pm

hoss....JDM all the way

i don't even see the contest now that you got pics and everything.

Return to “SUBARU”