Mitsu L200 Belt noise

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
RNR66

Mitsu L200 Belt noise

Postby RNR66 » June 3rd, 2008, 8:17 pm

Mitsubishi L200 4D56 Turbo.

Been getting a belt noise off my truck for a while -noise -real rattley loud and irritating. I know is definitely not compressor bearing , timing tensioners or timing belt because I changed all those last 2 weeks and exact noise still there. Changed all the other belts too

When I wet the belts it stops for a minute or so and then starts back. Belt dressing only keeps it away for a few hours.
What allyuh think it is?
Have noticed a very ,very slight waggle on the water pump pulley.

Anybody know where I can get pulleys for the 4D56 engine to buy?

Postby Team Loco » June 3rd, 2008, 8:22 pm

what belts did you use? you sure u used the correct size? may be too oversized. dont get fooled at the parts place, they tell you if the belt is a little bigger, that will work- rubbish, the longer the belt, the more it will shake and cause problems

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » June 3rd, 2008, 10:08 pm

Belts are the correct size and are not slack/slipping or anything.

Actually the previous belts I replaced were all genuine mitsubishi and seemed in good shape but the exact same noise was there even with those.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » June 4th, 2008, 6:03 am

Dont know your belt setup... Can you disconnect the belt to the water pump alone? See if its still making the noise...

venum

Postby venum » June 4th, 2008, 8:15 am

^^ that and balance shaft belt :?:

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » June 4th, 2008, 5:07 pm

Yeah I guess I'll just have to remove one belt at a time and see which is responsible for the noise.
BTW Balnce shaft belt and timing belt were both replaced about 2-3 wks ago. Genuine mitsubishi belts were used - both cost close to $1000

venum

Postby venum » June 4th, 2008, 5:21 pm

timing and balance shaft belt tensioners :?:

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » June 5th, 2008, 10:19 pm

^^ Balance shaft belt, Timing belt and tensioners all replaced with genuine mitsu parts.

Noise is not from one of the internal belts though I suspect it's coming from alternator or water pump pulley setup.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » June 6th, 2008, 1:15 am

I wonder if it could the pulley themselves?....

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » June 6th, 2008, 6:16 pm

^^ That's what I'm thinking myself - have noticed a very very sight waggle on the water pump pulley. Anybody know where I can get apulley to buy ??

venum

Postby venum » June 7th, 2008, 9:36 am

Special Auto

Simpson motors barbados - they actually cheaper than DM (with shipping)

call this number - 1-246-417-7777

DM - last resort

call me 782-8594

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » June 7th, 2008, 8:02 pm

Thanks. Lemme do some checking first. If is really the pulley I'll give you a call.

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » June 7th, 2008, 9:51 pm

my oy check all your pulleys especiallt your crankshaft......been through them problems already but mine was the crankshaft....

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » June 7th, 2008, 9:58 pm

what was wrong with your crankshaft pulley?

Evolved Automotive Ltd

Postby Evolved Automotive Ltd » August 13th, 2008, 8:05 pm

actually im having a samilar noise on my l200
and i figure its not really a belt, switch off the van when it making the noise
let it roll in neutral and if the noise still there then u screwed like me cause i still changing parts tryin to figure out the source, the wacko mech. have me changing cross next
saying he sure this time
:cry:
hmmmm.

venum

Postby venum » August 14th, 2008, 12:42 am

RNR66 any update :?:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 14th, 2008, 7:30 am

Sounds like the Bearing is bad, thats why the pulley wiggling too.

Postby wagon r » August 14th, 2008, 8:35 am

^ had the same problem.....turned out to be the bearing went on the pullley above the A/C compressor.....it's a bearing problem, not a belt problem.

.....have someone rev the van while doing a look see @ the engine while it runs....and isolate the sound.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 14th, 2008, 2:30 pm

Correct. Same problem on the Mazda's AC pulley bearing....

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » September 23rd, 2008, 10:33 pm

Update - problem was crankshaft pulley - there's a damper rubber molded on the inside edge of the pulley which can become detached causing pulley to move out of alignment over time.

In my case pulley had moved slightly forward and was coming in contact with the back edge of the power steering belt causing the squeaking /rattling noise.

venum

Postby venum » September 25th, 2008, 12:21 pm

good to know you sorted out

i listened for thsi after I did teh similar service

thanx for the info on teh bearings - I buy all outside - NTN and all Gates belt

l200guy

Noise

Postby l200guy » December 9th, 2008, 10:36 am

I had this same problem with my L200. Carried it into DM a Saturday morning and they said they couldnt fix it right then and there because it would take too long. I make a lil noise and a guy fix it one time. He adjust the pulleys a lil bit and everything was good after that.

venum

Postby venum » December 11th, 2008, 12:57 pm

after your belts get some break-in they usually stretch a lil bit

simple fix really

DM want to give yuh a run-round

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”