Mul T Lock - Any good

trinianouk

Mul T Lock - Any good

Postby trinianouk » April 30th, 2008, 1:13 pm

Yeah fellas,

I want some advice on anyone with experience with this.

Is it anygood?? Worth the money?

i know if the bandit hold yuh at gun point yuh have to hand over the keys..... but what about otherwise.

Thanks
Last edited by trinianouk on April 30th, 2008, 3:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dave » April 30th, 2008, 1:54 pm

nothing is really steal proof but buys time and I like the original mul t lock
always used them

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » April 30th, 2008, 2:35 pm

well if the bandit hold u up, then yuh mul-t lock eh doing nothing. But it's still good to have.

GameOver

Postby GameOver » April 30th, 2008, 7:02 pm

if bandit hold up up - there is nothing better than clifford anti-hajack
approx $850.00 installed at sound and security, valsayn
its a keypad vehicle shut down that is activated from the time a door is opened

Conrad

Postby Conrad » April 30th, 2008, 7:37 pm

^^^ what do you then when the bandit recognises the car can't start and hits you a gun-butt for being stupid? :lol:

Postby buzz » April 30th, 2008, 10:39 pm

got one :mrgreen:

(provided that this is your only anti-theft device)

AFIK the selector cable can be cut.

the tranny put into N and the car's starter "bridged" or the car can be hotwired

put into D (form by the tranny itself of course)

and your cars' gone!!!

well @ least i could have done it with my AE 80 :|

open for corrections/ammendments

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » May 1st, 2008, 6:10 am

Yeah but at least it slows the thief down. The more anti-theft devices the merrier imo.

trinianouk

Postby trinianouk » May 1st, 2008, 7:55 am

buzz wrote:got one :mrgreen:

(provided that this is your only anti-theft device)

AFIK the selector cable can be cut.

the tranny put into N and the car's starter "bridged" or the car can be hotwired

put into D (form by the tranny itself of course)

and your cars' gone!!!

well @ least i could have done it with my AE 80 :|

open for corrections/ammendments

Okay I was thinking of the workarounds...and that might work with the older model cars (with transmission cables).
But my car is a 2003 Protege and I don't think the gear shifter is linked by a cable(correct me if I'm wrong) but its the opening and closing of Solenoids that drives the transmission makes it shift gears etc.

So in this case that won't work ...but wat else can they (bandit)to get the car going..... hmmmm.

I already have a Viper 791xv installed... :wink: but want something else (not necessarily Car search)

Postby crazybalhead » May 1st, 2008, 8:22 am

It is very effective for a manual transmission.

Postby Dave » May 1st, 2008, 8:31 am

i have the effective thing for the manual cars :mrgreen:

Postby bushwakka » May 1st, 2008, 9:04 am

the VRS (Vehicle Recovery System) on some of the viper alarms have gotten good reviews on this forum so far with hijacked ppl recovering their cars cuz of it.....

i don't know if clifford alarm system is the same, but the VRS as i understand is activated when the signal link between the owner of the car and the car is broken (usually like after a minute or so.....thus allowing the bandits to drive a short distance before the car shuts down)

i'm really not sure how it works though.....best thing is to call one of the Viper dealers and ask them

oh an btw, i think the Mul-T-lock is a very effective anti-theft......the thing is, although there may be some way to get around it, it may take quite a lot of work, and the bandits upon discovering u have a Multlock will jus not bother and move onto a nex car in most cases......my parents have had the lock on the b14 since it was bought in 98 and not one attempted break-in although things like fogs were stolen from it.....and i use to park in the most unsafe places (e.g. trinicity)

there's also something called an Autolock which locks ur brakes (like a club lock but for brakes).....so u can't shift the gears in the newer cars since u hav to depress the brakes to do that....and in the older cars even if u can shift the gears, then the bandit has no brakes to drive with.....Car Boutique has it.....its a very effective low cost option (made of titanium!!)

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » May 1st, 2008, 9:25 am

^^ there is a button on by the shifter that you can press to shift gears, once in neutral the car can be started and stoped with hand brakes...

i dunno... just a thought...

Postby Dave » May 1st, 2008, 9:28 am

there's also something called an Autolock which locks ur brakes (like a club lock but for brakes).....so u can't shift the gears in the newer cars since u hav to depress the brakes to do that....and in the older cars even if u can shift the gears, then the bandit has no brakes to drive with.....Car Boutique has it.....its a very effective low cost option (made of titanium!!)

thats the bugger, good for manual cars :wink:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 1st, 2008, 10:41 am

SWEET

Scoop

Postby Scoop » May 1st, 2008, 11:01 am

Dave wrote:

thats the bugger, good for manual cars :wink:

Does it work in the same way as a club lock
i.e. does it lock the brake pedal to the steering wheel?

Postby Dave » May 1st, 2008, 12:16 pm

it locks the brake or clutch pedal from being depressed

aviboy

Postby aviboy » May 1st, 2008, 12:28 pm

Its good for when the vehicle is parked. When i had my sentra that was what prevented bandits from going with the car at pricesmart chag.

trinianouk

Postby trinianouk » May 1st, 2008, 1:06 pm

Thanks for all the replies...I think i'm convinced I'll go with it.

Now the next question.Where do I go to get it installed??

Anyone know whats the cost off hand?

Postby Dave » May 1st, 2008, 1:10 pm

oscar francois is the dealer
get it done by them
they are on duke street
$1k and some change and with certain insurers u get a 10% off

Postby RBphoto » May 1st, 2008, 1:10 pm

The autolock pro is the primary anti theft for my U14. The secondary is condition of the flecking body and the black rusting steelies (dog like to piss on that car yes) :)

Scoop

Postby Scoop » May 1st, 2008, 1:12 pm

whats the price of the autolock?

Postby Dave » May 1st, 2008, 1:16 pm

$3something :roll: , cyar remember, i does just pick up ah set ah thing when i go car boutique :oops:

Scoop

Postby Scoop » May 1st, 2008, 1:19 pm

Dave wrote:$3something :roll: , cyar remember, i does just pick up ah set ah thing when i go car boutique :oops:

nex time yuh go...pick up one for meh nah!!

Postby Dave » May 1st, 2008, 1:24 pm

so dai 4 plastic bottle and a piece of iron u wha?

Scoop

Postby Scoop » May 1st, 2008, 1:32 pm

correcto!!!! :mrgreen:

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » May 1st, 2008, 1:52 pm

its ugly.......

nortel

Postby nortel » May 1st, 2008, 2:40 pm

it buys time