E.O.I SQS #2. All Info on Pg1.

nigel1977

E.O.I SQS #2. All Info on Pg1.

Postby nigel1977 » January 14th, 2008, 3:29 pm

Gents

Due to the fantastic turnout for the last SQS, and the interest generated in advanced SQ, I'm gauging interest for the SQS#2.

I will be contacting past attendees for feedback on the sqs, such that the SQS#2 will be tailored based entirely on where the grey areas are, and for those who require advanced information.

It will be a 2 day event, the first day being a repeat of the last SQS for those who missed out, or want a refresher (at a discounted rate) and the second day - the Advanced section.

Because I know how this works.. here are a few F.A.Q.

1. Giveaways
Yes, this will continue, and will follow the same trend as the last SQS.
We anticipate products to be available for giveaway from both the Legatia and the Clarus line. We welcome participation from other brand dists.

2. Group Rates
Yes. there will be group rates available for 3 or more attendees registering together.

3. Venue
Yes, I will try to have the venue, further north

4. Near field Reference Listening System
Nuff said

5. Liner Notes
Yes, I will arrange to have the liner notes issued in a shorter time frame.

The SQS hotline is 3727636 (Trinidad) or 1-770-888-8200(Atlanta), or you can Pm for more info.

EDIT:

The SQS#2 Price Structure is as follows:

Returning Participants from SQS (07)
Day 1 150.00
Day 2 200.00
Both Days - 325.00

Everyone Else
Day 1 200.00
Day 2 200.00
Both Days - 350.00

Prices are Quoted in USD. Use 6.4 for easy calculation.

Registration should be opened in a few weeks.

To have your name added to the mailing list and for pre-registration, please pm me you contact info, incl, Name, cellie, email addy.

Note: Pre-registration is separate from registration. The purpose of preregistration is primarily to create a database of interested parties to allow easy communication from BHI to you.

Best Regards

EDIT:

Times:
Start 8:00 am Promptly. We will not wait on anyone, and my cell phone will be switched off.

I strongly urge all to be there for 7:45, to be seated etc to begin at 8 am.

Remember, its an 8 hour seminar, with 3 breaks for breakfast, lunch and afternoon snack.

If all goes smoothly as planned, we should leave there by 5.

Venue:
TOSL Engineering Ltd.
8-10 Maharaj Avenue,
Marabella

Days:
May 17th and 18th 2008

Map:
Last edited by nigel1977 on March 7th, 2008, 11:02 am, edited 2 times in total.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » January 14th, 2008, 3:57 pm

any idea of when the sqs would be nigel?? cuz i have exams coming up

TK!

Postby TK! » January 14th, 2008, 4:15 pm

i dey

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 14th, 2008, 6:21 pm

LATE APRIL - EARLY MAY

Thats the best approximation at this time.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » January 14th, 2008, 6:27 pm

arite thanx nigel..will try to make this once exams dont get in the way :)

gfbl

Postby gfbl » January 15th, 2008, 7:10 am

im there

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 15th, 2008, 7:21 am

Im adding contact info to my SQS database. Can all interested parties send me a PM with your name, email addy and a cellie? Thanks

jeff

Postby jeff » January 15th, 2008, 7:51 am

any word on what will the sylabus be for the "advanced part"?

any 'in car' references?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 15th, 2008, 7:58 am

Not yet

Maybe

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 15th, 2008, 9:30 am

cooolll....will try to make this one. April-May sounds good.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 15th, 2008, 10:02 am

any indication of having a more in depth spl section as well?

jeff

Postby jeff » January 15th, 2008, 10:08 am

^^ i say u would be giving that course 8-)

i dont think too many trinis Genuinely interested in Hardcore spl tho

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 15th, 2008, 10:13 am

Monster - no. SPL has been removed from the SQ portion, so its emphasis is a lot less than the last time.

Scott Buwalda

Postby Scott Buwalda » January 15th, 2008, 10:14 am

Hello gentlemen:

I am excited to come back to Trinidad! As Dinelle pointed out, it will be a two-day event this time. I suspect it will be Saturday/Sunday. The first day will be the original Sound Quality Summit, with a few enhancements such as animated slides (a better slide presentation), better nearfield system, and etc. But it will generally be the same course syllabus. The course starts elementary and topical, and advances throughout the day, so all are encluraged to attend---novice through veteran.

Day two will be an advanced topics day, where we dig deep into eight or ten topics of interest. I am open to suggestions, and would like to tailor it to your needs in Trinidad. I was thinking about an advanced discussions on: Zero Delay Plane, IID, HTRF, and "prescedence effect" and how they play a role in staging and imaging, time and amplitude alignment and how they play a role in impulse response, etc. I'd also like to do some *real world* installation discussion...application of fundamental principles for a great sounding installation: do's and don'ts. This might include an outdoor session of some building techniques, as well as having a car on site that was can play with (tuning and listening tests).

Thoughts?

Ideally, we'd like to cut it off at 30 attendees for each day of the event. Last time we had to turn people away. So register early this time (although registration is not up yet, it will be within the month, so be on the look-out).

Scott

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 15th, 2008, 10:15 am

which is why it'll be wise to incorporate it into something like this..

i am sure there will be alot more interest in "real" competitiors not just those who read manuf specs and builds a box

having been to the sqs#1 i know alot of pple who will benifit from another one of these

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 15th, 2008, 1:43 pm

I'd imagine we could open up registrations after carnival has cooled down. (mid Feb).

Day 2 is a tailored event, with a few topics being done to tackle specific requests from the attendees, along with fixed material, being built upon the fundamentals from Day 1. To make Day 2 as meaningful as possible, I'd like those interested in attending Day 2, to either contact Scott or myself, to let us know, in particular, what you'd like to get into for the Advanced topics.

Day 1 will be offered at a discount* to past attendees as well.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 15th, 2008, 11:05 pm

but wont day 1 be covering what was discussed at the last sqs? or will new topics be covered ?

sorry about my last post i didnt see the part about spl being part of the sq ..

ah well might have a chat with shameer on this

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 16th, 2008, 6:51 am

The first day will be the original Sound Quality Summit, with a few enhancements such as animated slides (a better slide presentation), better nearfield system, and etc. But it will generally be the same course syllabus. The course starts elementary and topical, and advances throughout the day, so all are encouraged to attend---novice through veteran.

Hence the reason Day 1 will be offered at a discount to those who have attended before. Its not compulsory to attend day 1 again. I will be attending day 1, and so is SR, why, because it will give a better term of reference to be built upon for the second day, rather than wasting time re-doing day 1 topics on the second day.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 16th, 2008, 2:24 pm

Depends on wuk/school, but count me in...

More details on the nearfield reference system plz?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 16th, 2008, 2:45 pm

Interesting point Jon. What would you like to see as the next Nearfield Ref System?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 16th, 2008, 2:48 pm

Something that the IASCA Sound Q judges qualify as their audio reference. i.e. something similar to what THEY use as a reference

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 16th, 2008, 8:03 pm

Also, any idea of cost as yet?

Some ideas for topics...
I would like to hear what the pro's have to say about psychoacoustics how to make it work for you and also active noise control.

Last time SB talked about bringing out a new processor with 300db/oct slopes.
Maybe you guys can delve more into the operations invloved in processing and its associated elements and why ppl get so happy everytime a processor has a k-grade Burr Brown DAC in it.

Maybe there can also be more info presented on the vertical localisation of sounds. (Why does a rainbow soundstage exist?)

Scott Buwalda

Postby Scott Buwalda » January 16th, 2008, 9:05 pm

^^ This is excellent. We could spend some time talking about digital ringing with steep sloped processors, FIR, IIR...lot's of good stuff there.

Vertical localization also a good topic...getting back to prescendence effect and psychoacoustics.

Scott

jeff

Postby jeff » January 16th, 2008, 10:36 pm

the theory that was learnt in the sqs was very informative and we could probably learn all the advanced stuff in the sqs 2 but my opinion is that what good is all this theory when every car is different and we cant apply it

so just a suggestion, alot More reference cds with linear notes, a car or cars that we can listen to and be trained somewhat to hear the differences made applying theorys ie staging imaging tonality, while changing eqs phases even tweet positions plds (possibly if it can be done)etc realtime

sort of what scott was doing on the eq while we listen for freqs except do the same in cars rather than on nearfield systems and listen for the effects on staging etc

cause its possible some in the sqs learnt all the theory and yet dont know what to listen for in a car with a whole tons of reflections plds windshields uneven dsahboards etc

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 16th, 2008, 11:33 pm

IMO we don't need training for imaging and staging. A simple reference system can give us that. However, I agree with you for the tonality part, but I wouldn't rely on a system and someone else's interpretation to give the ref for tonal accuracy, I would rely on live music.

Aye, nigel yuh cud organise some live music orrr?

Maybe we can also run through a sound engineer's handbook too?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 17th, 2008, 7:09 am

^^^ exactly, I have always been an advocate of NOT using someone else's car as a reference of any sort. There is no replacement for live music. IMO.

And to answer your question Jon, IASCA Judges are trained on a 3 piece pc speaker system. I can get that to you in a heartbeat, but IMO the set we had was way better than the set we were trained with at the IASCA judges training. The fact is, that IASCA or any other org, cant teach you how a french horn or an oboe sounds. You have to be a student/fan/player of music to know that.

Coming to a SQS class, expecting to be taught how a tympani should sound is really not what you should look for. Using a simple 2 speaker system can teach you imaging and staging, and to a small degree, tonality, but it would be the tonality of those speakers and not anything else.

And Yes, I have the costs, its similar to the last event, with a discount of you attend both days, and a small discount if you attend both days and if you attended the last sqs.

Postby SR » January 17th, 2008, 7:40 am

imo the system used at world finals atlanta is sub standard compared to waht is normally used at spring break

thats why i didnt stay in the room when i walked in

but honestly a field trip needs to be coordinated to listen to a live band

jazz preferably

we will need to call around to see what schools have large band equipment and see what can be arranged

i will see if i can laise with saghs to see what they have

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » January 17th, 2008, 8:21 am

isnt there a new restaurant in st james .. SATCHMO`S o sumn so .. that has live jazz acts? cud prolly check there out

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 17th, 2008, 10:25 am

hmmm i now know those music classes in university did not go to waste ...

i have a cd that u might be interested in nigel .. might call or pass down by u and let u decide if it is worth the time

jeff

Postby jeff » January 17th, 2008, 11:02 am

ok cool makes sense