Engine bay and water

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Saleem786

Engine bay and water

Postby Saleem786 » January 4th, 2008, 11:08 pm

Hey guys i was thinking about getting some fresh air into my engine bay with a scoop or vents but i was wondering if its safe to do. Would water (alot of water when driving in rain) cause any damage to anything under d bonnet? battery, alternator, wiring, sensors, short ram intake???

Postby 3stagevtec » January 5th, 2008, 1:35 am

the better vent design to use is the one designed to suck the hot under hood air out.. not the scoop used to force air in, like those on the Impreza STI...

notice the vent design on the front of the NSX-R.. this is designed to pull air out from behind the radiator..

a good location for these kinds of vents would be on fender, closer towards the back of the engine bay.. this way, no water would get in.. :wink:

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 5th, 2008, 1:43 am

Thanks but are the fender vents really effective? thinking about it it doesnt really appear to allow THAT much air out. what you think?

Postby 3stagevtec » January 5th, 2008, 2:07 am

the way the vents are designed, the faster you drive, the more suction effect you will get, hence more hot air will be pulled out..

evn a small vent at speed will move alot of air.. have a look at the vent sizes on rally cars to get an idea of what size vent you should be looking at...

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 5th, 2008, 2:09 am

Great. do you know anyone/anywhere that makes and installs these vents?

Postby 3stagevtec » January 5th, 2008, 2:18 am

can't help you there.. i don't know who makes aftermarket ones either, gotta do your own research on that topic..

i had seen a custom make vent system on a sentra once and was amazed on the quality of work.. if you are getting them custom made, make sure and study the design of the vents, so that way you are sure your vents will be effictive...

good luck..

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 5th, 2008, 2:21 am

Thanks alot man it was GREATLY appreciated. ESPECIALLY at 2am.. Thanks alot

rudeboy

Postby rudeboy » January 5th, 2008, 3:30 am

there are many side vents available for other cars that can be custom fitted to your specific car....

caddilac escalade
range rover HSE
bmw z3
and the list can go on....

jus check the styles and see what suits your taste....
once installed in the proper area, it will provide form and function...

Postby RBphoto » January 10th, 2008, 9:03 am

Doesn't a front air dam do the same thing?

rudeboy

Postby rudeboy » January 10th, 2008, 10:12 am

bhagan wrote:Doesn't a front air dam do the same thing?
front airdam does do the same thing but they are more for forced induction systems, the side vents allow the air that enters to escape more rapidly creating a consistent flow of cooler air thereby cooling the engine.

Postby SR » January 10th, 2008, 10:15 am

there is no need to do this

come to the honda meet on sunday and i will show you why

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 10th, 2008, 11:45 am

this weekend d car goin by d straightener (truck hit me) so i doubt i cud make it. it wud be nice if u cud explain thought ^^^^^

Postby SR » January 10th, 2008, 12:08 pm

why do you need more fresh air in the engine compartment?

is the engine stock?
is the vehcile being used for regualr daily driving and in regular driving conditions?

itroducing addtional air vents into the engin comaprtment will just cause the engine to get dirty and allow unnecesary increase in moisture etc into the engine comaprtment

the intake area for the radiator allows sufficient air intake for a stock engine

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 10th, 2008, 12:36 pm

its a daily driver currently stock but i have plans including a turbo kit later on and after driving for 15 mins d engine bay is HOTTTT. i have an aluminum sri and i wanna get some of the hot air out of the bay so it can get a good flow of fresher cooler air

Postby X2 » January 10th, 2008, 1:28 pm

You can't put functional fender vents on a civic because the body under the fender is box frame steel.

SR's option is a good one... but yuh hadda come to the meet to see... :oops: :twisted:

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 10th, 2008, 1:53 pm

ill try to hop a ride... any hondas workin taxi?? :D

Postby 3stagevtec » January 11th, 2008, 9:07 am

you know, i forgot the fender is a box frame... :shock:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 12th, 2008, 10:53 pm

Saleem786 wrote:ill try to hop a ride... any hondas workin taxi?? :D

call 1-800-$MALL$ :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: