BIGGER TURBO FOR RB20DET???

basudai

BIGGER TURBO FOR RB20DET???

Postby basudai » November 22nd, 2007, 8:37 pm

Hey guys advise____ what would be the best ball bearing turbo to put on a internally stock rb20det?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » November 23rd, 2007, 12:44 am

it might not be bigger but i know the vg30 turbo works real bes on a rb20det.

Postby Sinister_Audio » November 23rd, 2007, 12:54 am

umm you could go with a GT35R turbo..
descent for a nice midrange of responsiveness.
esp with a 6 cyl 2.0 engine.

*btw how much boost u really lookin to get out of the turbo?*

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » November 23rd, 2007, 12:58 am

well ent it also depends on wha he want or where he wanna make the power...
the vg turbo wud give him a stink pelt out not so...and he guh build boost real brisk...but really it does limit u..depending on how much boost u wanna run.

Postby Razkal » November 23rd, 2007, 1:41 am

i really hate when ppl refer to a turbos' capabilities by 'how much boost it could push', its how much power u can make off the compressor, power made at 20psi in a GT28RS and a GT35R are totally different.

the VG30 turbo u speak off jj16, is not one from a VG30DETT, each one of those turbos are fed by a bank of three cylinders, so using one being 'fed' by six cylinders will not make sense, i believe its the single turbo version is the real deal, and yeah i heard they work really nicely on RB20s...
Sinister, a GT35R is a huge upgrade from a stock T25(?) eh...to make any kind of use from it you would have to have the supporting fuel, ignition, cooling, and tuning upgrades and if ur on stock internals, a spare block might help.

a better question would be to ask, what do you want out of the car? power inspite of lag and response? or do u want it a little more powerful and just as responsive as stock?

i have an RB20, and i found the GT28RS (disco potato) to be a really nice upgrade, probably able to make close to 300 whp with supporting mods and not laggy at all, spools quickly.
what u can also do, is google or wikipedia search how to read compressor flow maps, they can help u match the turbo u want for ur application, see the efficiency of the turbo etc..

$0.02

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » November 23rd, 2007, 2:00 am

Razkal, i was speaking about the VG turbo that i was speaking about, is like the same set up that sting uses.

but u made alot of sense..first u hadda say more about what u want before ppl cud really say that they beleve u shud put whichever turbo

basudai

Fellas thanks a mill for the advise

Postby basudai » November 29th, 2007, 3:10 pm

Actually i want as much as i can get out of the engine before doing mods internally.
Currently i have: BMPC 34"x3"x12" intercooler
Blitz electronic boost controller
Twin disk copper clutch
AFC Neo
BMPC Fuel regulator
Walboro 250psi external pump
LSD Dift and a couple other stuff

All this is well and good but to be honest the car is not working good at all....
I need someone to assist me real bad :(

the only reason i bought the afc is because the fuel regulation in the car seems poor, it does not idle properly and it seems to lean out??

I did most of the work myself but went to professionals for help but its a set of B.S.

Postby Razkal » November 29th, 2007, 7:49 pm

when i'm done tuning mine, i'll hit u a pm and u can come check it out cool?
mine is a single cam turbo though...but i have the same if less mods than u ststed.
have an SAFC-II for 'management' and the only real 'power upgrades' are a boost controller, FMIC and 3" exhaust :|

a bigger turbo wont necessarily sort out ur issues of 'not running well'...if anything, it'll just make u ran like crap with lag :|
i suggest getting ur car checked out completely..
*u have a higher pressure fuel pump and regulator...but do you have high pressure lines? and the walbro pump (unless internal) has to be gravity fed or from a surge tank...they aren't designed to work other than those to set-ups externally...trust me.
*why the twin disc copper tho? i think thats overkill, a nice 6puck ACT street disc would have worked fine...cause ur basically still stock..
*dont try tuning the NEO without some sort of A/F monitoring/data logging...or else it wont make sense, and u may fcuk the motor up... if u get a narrowband (regular A/F gauge) dont make large adjustments, i.e. leave room for error, and i'm not advising u do this 100% either...
get the car dyno tuned.
*check ur spark, all that boost, fuel and no spark means nada...get some good plugs, probably heat range 7 NGK Iridiums...
*dont max out ur injectors by running as much boost as the wastegate allows...
try seeing if the 25DET rail adn injectors would work on yours, not sure 100% or atleast the injectors...
*clean/replace ur sensors, maybe the TPS is dirty? or the MAF? if u get a 25DET or VG30DETT MAF, that'll be excellent as well..

just my $0.02...have alot more experienced 2nrs in here who can help u out..
TriniGT, fafrumlosin, dry etc..

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » November 29th, 2007, 8:08 pm

try seeing if the 25DET rail adn injectors would work on yours, not sure 100% or atleast the injectors

won't work ..u need to use RB26DETT injectors on the the RB20DET . The rb25det carries side feed where as the 26 and 20 carries top feed.

shinaka

Postby shinaka » November 30th, 2007, 9:14 am

RB25 turbo is a good upgrade with least work and modification......

put back your stock fuel regulator and put the SAFC back on stock 0 settings. you dont need both an FPR and SAFC on an rb20 with stock injectors, MAF and ECU..at this stage you only require minor adjustments with your current setup...

I'd advise that you dont run more that 10 lbs of boost until you get the car professionally tuned.

Postby Razkal » November 30th, 2007, 9:57 am

^good advice :idea:
and thanks for the correction sr20ve 8)

my FPR is adjustable and set at 40psi
and my SAFC all i did was leaned out the low throttle ranges, used a wideband though.
AEM UEGO.
and i'm only running 9psi.

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » November 30th, 2007, 12:30 pm

ok after doing much research the vg30 turbo is very simmilar to the rb25 turbo it is identified by the 45v mark on the comp housing there are different variants of this turbo signified by series 1,2,3 or 4 some being ball bearing and some not.
i presently have a ballbearing series 3 if i rem correctly on my engine and i run 18psi daily for almost a year now i have an aeromotive rising rate regulator set at 36psi with ngk 7 sparkies all of it goes thr a evo 5 intercooler and out a 3 inch exhaust with a hks hi power muffler...i have my timing set at 14degrees and i make fuel adjustments with a field safc that actually removes my speed and boost limit...i next intend to try a mines ecu i recently aqquired, all my tuning has been done by myself of recent but i would like to go dyno the car so i can see how my power is made and check afr and such

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » November 30th, 2007, 3:36 pm

jasonsjohn16 wrote:Razkal, [/b]i was speaking about the VG turbo that i was speaking about[/b]

sookoo

Postby sookoo » November 30th, 2007, 9:08 pm

anyone know where i can get a vg30 turbo ,( ballbearing or bushing) ? :mrgreen:

send a pm or email
weirdo1344@hotmail.com

Postby Razkal » December 1st, 2007, 5:35 pm

fafrumlosin, which safc are u using?
not quite sure what u meant by field safc...
cause i have an safc-II now and i dont think my boost or speed cut has been removed :|

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » December 1st, 2007, 7:37 pm

field is a brand of afc, it has more features than the apexi safc. i dont believe they in production anymore though. Dont see alot of them down here

Postby Razkal » December 2nd, 2007, 6:34 pm

^thief my head yes, when i saw the man mentioned field safc i was thinking Apex'i had another version of their afc that has these features :?

read about field somewhere, but knows nothing much about those :|

on a sidenote, i real liking these Autronic standalones though...
but 14K+ for an SM2 :shock: and thats a 'last gen' one :lol:
i dont even wanna hear how much for an SM4 locally :lol:

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » December 3rd, 2007, 8:54 am

yep field is the brand i think skunk2 actually are the manufacturers there was one for sale a while ago on the forum and i think andy at mini city had them really neat... about the size of a timer you can adjust fuel at every thousand of rpm it reads speed up to 999km LOL and can give you 0-400..0-800 and 0-1200 times i personally bought it to rid me of my stock speed and boost cut...eventually i think i might just get a plug and play ecu like a spl20 or mines as they run more advanced fuel and timing curves..

basudai

Postby basudai » December 3rd, 2007, 4:05 pm

1. Hey well i have a copper line as the fuel line with the original supply line of the bluebird as the return line.
2. The feed is a gravity feed one but don't have a surge tank [IS THIS STILL NECESSARY?]
3. The only reason i got the twin disk is because a friend sent it for me, real small price and it the whole assembly with fly wheel to.
4. I already have good plugs Iridium platinum
5. I wanna clean throttle body sensor and check for any vacuum hose leaks- this could be contributing to the bad idling and so on :(

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » December 3rd, 2007, 4:52 pm

^ i dont reccommend using copper for your fuel lines, its easy to work with but it will screw up your injectors in time. Try using steel lines instead.

Postby Razkal » December 4th, 2007, 10:28 am

^yup. some steel braided lines are great, but u could also just get hoses that are rated to withstand higher pressures, just ask before buying.
vacuum hose leaks shouldnt be contributing to bad idling, but if u have problems building boost or maintaining boost once spooled, this could be why. check ur MAF, O2 sensor etc. is it an uneven idle or just too low/toohigh?