Need suggestions on sr engine re-build

MagikDragon

Need suggestions on sr engine re-build

Postby MagikDragon » November 17th, 2007, 6:09 pm

Yeh guys just need some input..i am changing the block on my sr18 to a p11 sr20 block...will this affect compression..from what i read online i have mixed answers....some say raise compression and some say stay the same.

also if the compression is raised would it be advisable to used a cometric or other aftermarket head gasket (if u can suggest one will be great) rather than a stock gasket in the rebuild? ..... what kind of problems u guys think i will run into???

what are your thoughts???

all comments and advice will be greatly appreciated...

Picasso

Postby Picasso » November 18th, 2007, 8:37 am

Old school SR project man nice.. but it works better if (shoot me if I am wrong) you use the SR20DE head on the SR18DE block... Dave correct me yuh know I am just a n00be :lol:

kevin_mender

Postby kevin_mender » November 18th, 2007, 12:39 pm

the bore of the sr18 and sr20 might be a little different.
get a head gasket and line it up to see whether or not there will be interference between the valves and the block cause of the smaller bore diameter. if there is interference u can tek it into a machine shop and have them fix it for you but it is possible

u kno in trini we does make anything wokk

MagikDragon

Postby MagikDragon » November 18th, 2007, 12:56 pm

thanks for the info there
anyone with definite figure on compression though???