wtk thermostat removal...

streetsleeper2

wtk thermostat removal...

Postby streetsleeper2 » October 1st, 2007, 8:59 am

I was advised to remove the thermostat from my sr20 equipped p11. Is this safe. Are there any disadvantages as a result of doing this?

Postby Dave » October 1st, 2007, 9:14 am

don't do it
replace with a nissan unit

nizmoB12

Postby nizmoB12 » October 6th, 2007, 9:49 pm

As Dave said replace with a new unit

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » October 10th, 2007, 2:57 pm

**Note to self.........Find back that new NISMO thermostat and put it back in the fo*kin car!!****

streetsleeper2 Check this thread here:

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=151930

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 10th, 2007, 4:39 pm

don't do it
replace with a nissan unit

But Dave I remember that you advise something else in the past eh :lol:

Postby Dave » October 11th, 2007, 7:53 am

gutting it out and i still do gut them out
still poses a restriction to get water temps up but at the same time its something u don't have to worry about if it fails unlike u who does run down sr head like it going out of style

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 11th, 2007, 4:30 pm

u don't have to worry about if it fails unlike u who does run down sr head like it going out of style

Eh nah wrong persona homie. I am running the same engine since 2005 the only thing I did was spin #3 bearing. I didn't bother to gut the thermostat I just removed the whole dam thing and since then no more headgasket problems. :|

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » October 11th, 2007, 5:37 pm

a new OEM sr20 thermostat is like TT$75 :|

Postby Dave » October 12th, 2007, 8:32 am

Eh nah wrong persona homie. I am running the same engine since 2005 the only thing I did was spin #3 bearing. I didn't bother to gut the thermostat I just removed the whole dam thing and since then no more headgasket problems.

u change it like 10 times in 2005 :lol:
without a thermostat u can once again have head gasket problems
u need temperature build in there unless u run one temperature all the time

i like the motorad unit, when it fails, it fails in the open position so u safe

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 13th, 2007, 4:16 pm

Nope no problems running 3 months strong and the thermostat is never ever going back in again :D

Postby X2 » October 14th, 2007, 12:57 am

Picasso wrote:

Nope no problems running 3 months strong and the thermostat is never ever going back in again :D

Plenty iron in that engine... my money is on the turbo goin first... :skurred:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 15th, 2007, 8:10 am

^^ actually just as expected the engine takes a little longer to warm up 2mins app. After that it runs cooler than previously with no problems. I bought all my thermostats at Massy and the all lasted app. 2 months signs of this was the radiator hoese swelling more than usual... a couple weeks after the radiator top tank will always burst. When the thermostat was checked it was stuck in the closed postiton all the time. After taking it out I got no more problems. :|

Postby X2 » October 15th, 2007, 5:53 pm

Picasso, give this thread a read... my explainations will show why it's not really taking long to warm up and why your car is not actually running cooler as your temp gauge tells you:

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=151930

Postby Maserati » October 15th, 2007, 7:12 pm

good read in that thread X2

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 16th, 2007, 8:39 am

thermostats ... hard to live with it and not easy to live without it. * Sigh * :( But phoq it still meng that dam thing sticks whenever it wants to! I will put one in a couple days and if I get back problems then I buying a tricycle! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Bummer :(

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » October 16th, 2007, 12:32 pm

Picasso wrote:thermostats ... hard to live with it and not easy to live without it. * Sigh * :( But phoq it still meng that dam thing sticks whenever it wants to! I will put one in a couple days and if I get back problems then I buying a tricycle! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Bummer :(

I would have to agree there, put it back in dread......

remember the basic physics of an engine hasn't changed over the years whether the engine was built in 1920 or 2007..

an engine loses 70% of it's efficiency due to heat, so while u have no problems with headgaskets blowing because of stuck thermostats, u also raising the amount of heat on your engine, and thus eventually something WILL give out!!!

also your efficiency drops as u retaining more heat...

jus my 2c

Postby X2 » October 16th, 2007, 12:41 pm

oh gorm yuh complainer... just give IN and buy a honda....

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 16th, 2007, 1:20 pm

X2 wrote:oh gorm yuh complainer... just give IN and buy a honda....

Eventually but right now I need to resist the force :lol:

Postby RBphoto » December 10th, 2007, 8:30 am

Dave wrote:gutting it out and i still do gut them out
still poses a restriction to get water temps up but at the same time its something u don't have to worry about if it fails unlike u who does run down sr head like it going out of style

Just got a new radiator (2 row brass) on my QG18 and want to change the thermostat. I have heard of racing cars using orifices instead of thermostats, which is essentially the same as the gutted thermostat I fugure. Since the QG runs very effficiently, I want to buy a new thermostat, but I am told they do not last very long, even if you buy them from Massey. My mechanic advised throwing it away and run without, which I have no intention of doing. Dave, would you think that using a gutted thermos on a QG a good idea, since that car runs real good as is? What parts do you remove to gut it? The spring? The valve seat? Have any pics?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » December 10th, 2007, 12:09 pm

Picasso wrote:
X2 wrote:oh gorm yuh complainer... just give IN and buy a honda....

Eventually but right now I need to resist the force :lol:

super_cadet

Postby super_cadet » December 10th, 2007, 1:15 pm

There is another con to removing a thermostat..BTW it shudnt be going bad that often unless you are servicing your cooling system properly..The other con to taking out a thermostat is that your car uses a coolant temp sensor in the major part of its ECU operation.When the coolant is not allowed to reach up to proper temperature, the temp senson will read the engine as cold and operate well rich and also cause a host of other problems associated with what would seem to be sensor failure...ANY MECH THAT SAYS REMOVE IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED..Time to upgrade from these mango tree mechanics people..Cars aint that simple anymore

Postby RBphoto » December 10th, 2007, 2:06 pm

^^^^Yeah, my mech does swear by taking that out. Everything else he do is top notch, and he is very experienced in the bull work category, like pumps, suspension, steering components, brakes etc. That is the first time I had a dissagreement with him. Only problem is, I hearing that the replacement thermostats from massey does stick in just a few months, when they supposed to last at least two years. I want to find out if there is another more reliable brand for the QG and where I can get it, and about the one dave mentioned that fails open. Also want to know if gutting it is a viable option. My engine is over 250,000 Km's, running really smothe and this is the first thermostat change it getting. Don't want to screw it up. Never intended to remove it. I know that you can throw a thermostat code so I will check with my ECU man for that.