WTK: Speed and Rev. Cut

sr18

WTK: Speed and Rev. Cut

Postby sr18 » August 24th, 2007, 4:36 pm

Want to know which wires on the ECU to cut for the limiters to be disabled!

sr18

Postby sr18 » August 24th, 2007, 10:57 pm

Rephrase that the Speed Limiter and Rev Limiter to be disabled! I think the yellow with the green strip is for the speed but dont know for the Revs

fras

Postby fras » August 25th, 2007, 11:20 am

For what car? What engine?

Its that simple... Cut 2 wires?
You dont have to get a piggy back/ems or something? I know HKS has an electronic speed cut http://www.hksusa.com/categories/?id=1926

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » August 25th, 2007, 4:55 pm

just 2 wires wow.
man you sure ?

sr18

Postby sr18 » August 25th, 2007, 6:01 pm

fras wrote:For what car? What engine?

Its that simple... Cut 2 wires?
You dont have to get a piggy back/ems or something? I know HKS has an electronic speed cut http://www.hksusa.com/categories/?id=1926

A SR18/20 DE

rev hard

Postby rev hard » August 25th, 2007, 6:09 pm

that sound kinda unsafe fadda...

rev hard

Postby rev hard » August 25th, 2007, 6:10 pm

try to get a speed cut defencer...

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » August 25th, 2007, 6:11 pm

^^^ sure thing and safer.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 26th, 2007, 8:02 pm

nah i've actually heard from many ppl its jus one or two wires to disable the speed cut/ rev cut on sr's

but i dont suggest doing it on your own, take it 2 someone who knows how to do this..also why u wanna go more than 180km bro..plus remember, your stock engine made to take a certain amt of whatever..hence the reason for this...so i dont suggest you do it unless u have had some mods done to your engine.

>>>why u wanna take it off for?? if u dont mind sharing??

Re: WTK: Speed and Rev. Cut

Postby wagonrunner » August 26th, 2007, 8:04 pm

sr18 wrote:Want to know which wires on the ECU to cut for the limiters to be disabled!

cutting all dem wires wouldn't work?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 26th, 2007, 8:06 pm

:lol:, bro also it doh make any sense risking that, jus get an ECU without a speed cut and a rev limiter..

my ecu came without a rev limit and a speed cut....so look at that..what great joy, but it doh really serve a purpose cause is not to say im gonna swing 10,000RPM's or go 260kmph on the highway..

i wud say leave the thing alone and forget tha.

at present what rev limits your gears have??

droppa

Postby droppa » August 27th, 2007, 10:37 am

actually according to the ecu u have it can be done for the speed cut, buh i strongly advise u dont remove yur rev cut on a stock bottom end... :twisted:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 27th, 2007, 12:33 pm

also bro..to go with what droppa said...it really doesnt make sense removing your speed cut..for what reason?? u not going to make power if your car is stock...higher RPMs dont make sense if u dont stay in your powerband u know..so rev cut aint going to make u faster.

droppa

Postby droppa » August 27th, 2007, 12:44 pm

but the speed cut on my car is not consistent and its damn fcukin annoying..... 0X

will have it removed if it can be, otherwise HKS SLD in it fuh sure :twisted:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 27th, 2007, 12:53 pm

yea..its always better to go safe..

if u spend $500 on an HKS, atleast u know u cud sell it after..if u go and damage uh ecu u would have to spend about a $500 on a new one anyway..so better bet. buy the speed cut, but best thing to do is leave uh car so..

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 27th, 2007, 6:39 pm

reving past 7000 on a stock valve train wont be nice for your engine..........not nice. :!:

sr18

Postby sr18 » August 27th, 2007, 10:11 pm

scene the removal of the rev limiter is not for speed its for burn out purpose...but i had a SR20 DET ecu and some men broke in my car and stole it.....i had a few mods on the car before

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » August 27th, 2007, 11:09 pm

very unsafe

Postby Razkal » August 28th, 2007, 3:22 pm

there's a REASON the engines come with a speed limiter and rev limiter, just like mercedes' AMG cars, 500+ hp and 155 limit??? because the motor can make the car go WAYY faster than that, but the OTHER cars' components weren't meant to withstand that sort of speed.
same with your stock car, a stock valvetrain isnt made to rev regularly past its limiter, cars that can naturally ahev higher limiters...so unless u got yourself a titanium valves, valve springs, spring retainers etc...i suggest u leave it as is....besides if ur car is stock, highly unlikely u gonna be making any more power after the limit.
speed limit applies the same way as well...unless your suspension was modified and changed to more 'capabkle' components, your tires are rated for higher speeds and all other necessary mods, i suggest u leave your limiter where it is...

if ur begining to mod ur motor and u have a FUEL cut, thats something that u can remove, especially if ur boosted or plan on going boosted...

in that case:
625-8638 (Gerard) Teknet Performance, he's W2J on the forum, excellent Greddy and HKS fuel cut defencers, and he has great prices as well..

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 28th, 2007, 4:42 pm

sr18 wrote:scene the removal of the rev limiter is not for speed its for burn out purpose...but i had a SR20 DET ecu and some men broke in my car and stole it.....i had a few mods on the car before

but u aint need to rev pass limit to do a burn out :?

Postby Razkal » August 28th, 2007, 5:33 pm

your burnout technique may be a tad bit askew :?
u know u dont have to heel-and-toe a FWD for a burnout right? and if u keep it in 1st gear u will over rev the motor, try shifting to 2nd once traction is lost and powering from there, whenever u start picking up grip, pop the clutch..

sr18

Postby sr18 » August 28th, 2007, 10:33 pm

Razkal wrote:your burnout technique may be a tad bit askew :?
u know u dont have to heel-and-toe a FWD for a burnout right? and if u keep it in 1st gear u will over rev the motor, try shifting to 2nd once traction is lost and powering from there, whenever u start picking up grip, pop the clutch..

thanx dudes i appreciate the comments...will try to get rid of the addiction to burning rubber..lol

Raziel

Postby Raziel » August 29th, 2007, 12:46 am

Get rid of the speed cut (180Kph is soo damn annoying) :wink:

But the rev limiter will save your engine, no gain to be made there ..

And avoid sheit like cutting wires, either program it out, or buy a speed cut removal system

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » September 2nd, 2007, 4:30 pm

sr18 wrote:scene the removal of the rev limiter is not for speed its for burn out purpose...but i had a SR20 DET ecu and some men broke in my car and stole it.....i had a few mods on the car before

oh boy *sigh* why do you guys do this to me?
sr18 lets make this as objective as possible.

you need a higher rev limit to do burnouts :!: ok thats important.

But at the same time you say that you have
A SR18/20 DE
at the very best i can assume that you are using the 18 head on the 20 bottom end or the stock 18 head and block with SR20DET EMS. Questionable but fair enough.
by my calculations with any combination of modifications you may have made to the stock head(s) or block(s) you are using stock management and you will be limited to about 160WHP NO HIGHER normally aspirated and about 200 WHP under turbocharged boost.
mind you those figures are probably double what my experience tells me you're actually running but just for you sake leave it at that.

anyway here's what i wanted to put forward. The ONLY SENSIBLE purpose of a burnout is so that the race compound used in racing slick tires can be brought to their optimum operating temperature before a race. That said it is also worth mentioning that race slicks work best on race tracks prepared with traction compounds like "track bite" or they loose their effective capacity to put the power to the ground when launching the car aggressively.
so basically what should govern your immediate decision to remove your stock speed or rev limiter settings would be:
1) are you going to be running on full race slick or drag radials?(less than 100 threadwear tires)
2) will the track you intend to run the car on be prepared with trackbite?
if the answer to either or both of these questions is NO then i guess it follows sensible thinking that you should leave the limiters alone.

now just because i have nothing better to do i'll go on to say that AS LONG AS you are running the engine (especially without boost) within the confines of the stock fuel system and you have done nothing to significantly improve the volumetric efficiency of the engine,
(meaning improved flow over through the head like bigger cams etc)
THERE IS NO POINT to increasing the rev limit of the engine for any reason than just being able to brag about the higher rev limit or enjoying the way it sounds. the payback for doing it will usually come by way of greatly reduced engine reliability because the stress on the rods and bearings are increased tenfold. EVEN IF the stock cams could make more power at higher RPM they have the stock exhaust headers restricting as well as the intake port design. Unless reflashed the stock ecu will usually not be up to the task of providing optimum air fuel ratios beyond stock rev limits which puts you in the range of immediate detonation. The lubrication system may fail if not designed to properly lubricate crank and pistons at these extreme RPM's. this will in turn cause the engine to overheat causing at the very least an annoying experience of a blown radiator hose or cap. If the engine had seals on the verge of failure this is a sure way to expedite their demise as well possibly taking the Oxygen sensor along with them if enough oil gets into the combustion chamber before complete engine failure. of course anything that screws up the oxygen sensor will probably affect close loop (less than full open throttle) fuel economy. multiply the catastrophe by 10 if you're running boost.

at the end of it all if you're running a race for pink slips and it doesnt matter if you blow it up in trying to win cause you'll lose the entire car anyway if you lose then why the heck not? pour in some Aviation fuel, advance the timing all that the distributor could go. drain out half the oil from the engine (2/3 if you're feeling lucky) bolt on some 14 inch steelies in front with semi slick compound racing tires and launch the car at 14 000 RPM. you may not win but hey... at least if i was there watching i'd be impressed. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » September 2nd, 2007, 4:39 pm

Razkal,w2j is the guy from french street that had the teknet lancer?

vipervega

Postby vipervega » September 4th, 2007, 10:34 pm

so a hKS sld wudnt do damage with your stock engine :?

Postby Razkal » September 7th, 2007, 3:38 pm

Death-Row, yeah W2J is the same guy, still has the lancer afaik

roadkill

Postby roadkill » September 23rd, 2007, 11:30 pm

from some research i have done, by cutting that wire that goes to the ECU will in fact allow you to remove the speed cut but at a loss. from what i have read on other nissan forums the electronic speed sensor sends a signal to your speedo which then sends a signal back to the ECU to let it know how fast the car is going.
The ECU uses this info to electronically adjust the timing of the engine, where it retards on the low end, advances in the middle and retards back on the top end.

so by cutting the speed wire you acceleration would be dull.

if i'm wrong let me know. i'm just here to learn

boogy

Postby boogy » September 24th, 2007, 10:47 am

pallie HKS speed cut defensor pls!!

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » September 26th, 2007, 7:39 pm

[quote="Razkal"]there's a REASON the engines come with a speed limiter and rev limiter, just like mercedes' AMG cars, 500+ hp and 155 limit??? because the motor can make the car go WAYY faster than that, but the OTHER cars' components weren't meant to withstand that sort of speed.
same with your stock car, a stock valvetrain isnt made to rev regularly past its limiter, cars that can naturally ahev higher limiters...so unless u got yourself a titanium valves, valve springs, spring retainers etc...i suggest u leave it as is....besides if ur car is stock, highly unlikely u gonna be making any more power after the limit.
speed limit applies the same way as well...unless your suspension was modified and changed to more 'capabkle' components, your tires are rated for higher speeds and all other necessary mods, i suggest u leave your limiter where it is...

i strongly agree with what is being said here.ensure that all other components could handle a serious increase of speed (handling,higher revs etc.)