Toyota considering return of rear-wheel drive AE86?

TK!

Postby TK! » May 9th, 2007, 3:58 pm

http://www.autoblog.com/2007/03/22/toyo ... rive-ae86/

Our pals at Winding Road just passed along a note that Toyota might be considering re-releasing the driftastic Corolla Sport. The endearingly tossable rear-wheel-drive AE86 platform was known by many names around the world: Corolla Levin, Sprinter Trueno, Corolla GT and of course the Corolla Sport in the States. Particularly in GT-S trim, it was one of the few sporty models to make its way into Toyota dealerships, alongside the Celica and Supra, and eventually the MR2, which essentially replaced it. But it was fun and cheap, and that set it apart. Available from 1983-1987, it was one of the last affordable rear-drive cars that could take a pounding, making it a favorite of budget street racers and the emerging drift scene in the '80s and '90s.

It looks like the suits at Toyota are close to greenlighting a new version. Apparently the idea has been floated several times over the years with mixed reaction, but it seems to be gaining some momentum lately. There is reportedly some disagreement within the corporate ranks over whether or not it would actually sell, but a few officials appear to be backing it strongly. Must be some Initial D fans up in there. A modernized Hachi-Roku would have to find a suitable rwd platform, but would be a blast to see in the lineup again. Of course, we've had access to AE86 in games like Need For Speed for years now, but getting our hands on the real deal would be sweet. We'll keep our fingers crossed on this one.

[Source: Winding Road]

aR&D

Postby aR&D » May 9th, 2007, 4:28 pm

very promising!

good post

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » May 9th, 2007, 4:54 pm

Must be some Initial D fans up in there. A modernized Hachi-Roku would have to find a suitable rwd platform.

hehhehe, so they re-release a car based on initial d? THAT's their market research???

Well I guess if you're the numero uno automaker in the known universe (I dare you to find a more sucessful automaker even in our solar system) you can pretty much do whatever the heck you want......

Hate drifting but love that hachi roku........

Fuzz Master

Postby Fuzz Master » May 9th, 2007, 4:57 pm

heck yeah bring it back .......*crowd cheers*

Postby X2 » May 9th, 2007, 5:10 pm

I got $5 on it that it'll never happen.

You actually think they'd kill the Supra, Celica and the MR2 so they could bring back an underpowered rwd Corolla.... :lol:

Next thing ya know... Honda gunna bring back the S800 and Nissan will bring back the 200NX.... :shock:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 9th, 2007, 6:04 pm

i'll believe it when i see it.........

scientist

Postby scientist » May 9th, 2007, 6:38 pm

Aint this real old news? since Initial D the movie came out. I know they made some for the Movie. can't believe inside lane would Rehash old news

Madchanic

Postby Madchanic » May 10th, 2007, 12:48 pm

Been hearing this rumour some time now. But do you think they could build a better chassis than the previous AE86? Or one thats even more balanced, being that they have much more advanced technology than back then. This should be interesting.... worst the drifting scene is slowly but surely becoming recongnised more & more worldwide :mrgreen:

lowlife

Postby lowlife » May 10th, 2007, 1:33 pm

I hope this happens *standing ovation*

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » May 10th, 2007, 1:52 pm

interesting...will believe it when it happens. would be nice though

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » May 11th, 2007, 10:32 am

I doubt this will happen. That'll mean whole new drive train layout for the zze13x and complete suspensions workover.

More likely i'll believe that they'll go ahead with the Crorolla sport with the new 2L turbo powerplant and 4wd to homologate reentry into the WRC.

Postby wagon r » May 11th, 2007, 10:57 am

but they already have a rwd sport car of sort....the IS.

...the most they may do is offer a bare bones version...

Postby crazybalhead » May 11th, 2007, 11:08 am

wagon r wrote:but they already have a rwd sport car of sort....the IS.

...the most they may do is offer a bare bones version...

But it not cheap, that is the difference.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » May 11th, 2007, 1:17 pm

*starts petition to re-manufacture RWD lancers*

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » May 11th, 2007, 9:15 pm

i'll believe it when i see it...too long has this news been floating around. they even called the 'IS' the new 'hachi' :roll: :roll: riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight........................t!

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 11th, 2007, 9:28 pm

Side ways.... :wink:

k.c.151

Postby k.c.151 » May 14th, 2007, 4:03 pm

it will be nice...only if...

Altezza576

Postby Altezza576 » May 19th, 2007, 1:05 am

This will NEVER happen. Street Racers dont even make up 2% of new car sales. What makes you think someone will buy a RWD Corolla now?

Postby X2 » May 20th, 2007, 6:27 pm

Altezza576 wrote:This will NEVER happen. Street Racers dont even make up 2% of new car sales. What makes you think someone will buy a RWD Corolla now?

thank you...

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » May 21st, 2007, 8:17 am

This article is more like " hopes and dreams"

EvoDraZ

Postby EvoDraZ » June 20th, 2007, 10:09 am

^^^ agreed i doh believe it until ah see it.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 20th, 2007, 10:24 am

i can see it happening, it would be a scion based sport compact

probably based on one of thier existing chassis (modified for RWD) but using the same engine etc..

i would love to see a 160hp RWD 1000kg coupe from toyota, i would buy one.