Can LSD eventually die?

BlueIce

Can LSD eventually die?

Postby BlueIce » April 29th, 2007, 11:37 pm

A couple different ppl told me that an FWD LSD box can lose its LSD over time and in essence become a normal non lsd box.

Is this possible and would you have to replace the box or can it be fixed by changing the diff?

im just tryin to expand my knowlegde so enlighten me here

SuperSpeedStuff

Postby SuperSpeedStuff » April 30th, 2007, 12:23 am

hmmmm....... jed i not no mech or anyting i jus learning...........but d gears in my lsd tranny went bout 3 months ago and well i had it repaired.................... but it REAL COSTLY!!!!!!! :( :(

Darthwars

Postby Darthwars » April 30th, 2007, 12:42 am

o dat kinda lsd........... my bad ill leave now

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » April 30th, 2007, 2:02 am

yeah an lsd can 'go' and in most cases can be rebuilt as it is made up of gears and bolts jus like other parts inna gearbox but i kno theres many types of lsd so i cant say which type this applies to..

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 30th, 2007, 7:03 am

the running gears in the LSD get worn after use, but like resupra said, you can get it rebuilt.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 30th, 2007, 7:37 am

Well you dont say , my bro told me only his left side is burning out now and thats why he not performing like he used to on the launch so i thought it was just another excuse.

What about getting the diff from another LSD box....would that solve the prob?

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 30th, 2007, 8:52 am

krack korn

Postby krack korn » April 30th, 2007, 10:22 am

Blue ice, the lsd u have is VLSD and it does break down over time and abuse. Sometimes the Viscous liquid leaks out and u will loose the LSD effect, yes if u change the diff to a good one it can be repaired, or if u replace the liquid, don't know where u getting the liquid though.

Its a similar principle to the 'clutch' fans off RWD vehicles. There aren't any clutches but a thick silicone type liquid in the housing.

Clutch type LSD similarly can wear out and be easily repaired by replacing the clutches.

Geared LSD's will never fail unless the diff mash up. In this case u can't drive at all.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » April 30th, 2007, 1:03 pm

thanks for the info korn

Postby honda hoe » May 1st, 2007, 11:39 am

krack korn wrote:Geared LSD's will never fail unless the diff mash up. In this case u can't drive at all.

yup. learnt dis d hard way.... 3 TIMES :!: :evil:

Postby Sinister_Audio » May 1st, 2007, 3:01 pm

well i had it repaired.................... but it REAL COSTLY!!!!!!!

how much is REL costy?
and when it was done, did it last?

gizmo

Postby gizmo » May 1st, 2007, 4:44 pm

clutch type lsd's wear faster than viscous i think

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » May 2nd, 2007, 1:53 pm

Remember this saying "All good things come to an end" :twisted: :twisted:

SuperSpeedStuff

Postby SuperSpeedStuff » May 2nd, 2007, 3:42 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:
well i had it repaired.................... but it REAL COSTLY!!!!!!!

how much is REL costy?
and when it was done, did it last?

well my tranny is automatic............. didnt know ice was talkin bout manual.................. i paid 5500 to have mine rebuildt...................... :(

and well since i got it rebuildt it was workin good until bout a few weeks back when it start givin alil trouble.... when i put it in drive it dont fully go in drive is like it between it moving like the car drivin but revin hard like it in neutral at d same time..................... so not sure if it is tranny or just the shifter cable................. d good thing is wen i get it rebuildt i got 1 year warranty wid it............

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » May 2nd, 2007, 7:16 pm

hoss u sure u on the same page as everyone else? what kinda car your lsd automatic tranny came with? an evo?
(refer to the link posted by KiD)

SuperSpeedStuff

Postby SuperSpeedStuff » May 2nd, 2007, 8:10 pm

it came in an nissan bluebird sss u13..................... i think i amm on the same page with you all......... if not let me know so i could hush my mouth......

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » May 2nd, 2007, 9:38 pm

nah if u know what u have no scene is just i know hardly any manufacturers care enough about automatics to equip them with a limited slip diff ya know? but from time to time the love does spill over into the world of automatic transmissions thankfully.

mild2wild

Postby mild2wild » May 17th, 2007, 12:48 am

so, if let's say in an sr20 with lsd box you break a right side axle, should the vehicle still drive almost normally or at least be movable? if it's supposed to and doesn't then does that mean the lsd is malfunctioning?

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » May 17th, 2007, 12:56 am

I aint want to sound like ah dummy eh but that sounds like ah good question .

azis

Postby azis » May 18th, 2007, 12:35 pm

so..... i understand the vlsd part but where would a helical lsd diff fall in... clutch type or gear type ??? (rwd)

droppa

Postby droppa » May 18th, 2007, 2:56 pm

without scrapping anything how can u tell if a diff or gearbox is lsd, providing it has no markings........ :?: jus from external observation and checking tru it.... :?:

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » May 19th, 2007, 1:16 am

on the fwd sr lsd box the left side where the axel goes into the box....the housing projects out while the non lsd is jus flush and straight to the axel

i doubt u could understand what u mean unless u see it :?

but yes u can know LSD fwd sr box from jus lookin at it

Postby Razkal » May 20th, 2007, 2:39 pm

a worn out LSD can cause an in-lift while driving, no while i'm sounding like i know what i'm talking about, i just heard Tsuchiya-san say this about the Amuse Supra in the Amuse vs Mine's battle :lol: i'm sure an Lsd can become worn out like regular differentials, about losing their LSD power completely i highly doubt, u may get more 'slip' than previously tho...