oil change

Usual Suspect

oil change

Postby Usual Suspect » January 22nd, 2007, 9:09 am

what are some of the things that can affect an engine because of a late oil change oil change is about almost 3mths overdue ooil used in engine is castrol gtx and it is a ga15 engine

Postby Dave » January 22nd, 2007, 9:54 am

extra build up of sludge but nothing really
just change and monitor from there
might wanna do another quick change or pour a fresh qt in to kinda flush out the old oil

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » January 22nd, 2007, 10:39 am

3mths overdue....like is Mobile1 u usein ah wah....thats a long time....that oil must been baked on the parts!! when changin d oil, put a engine flush.

Postby Dave » January 22nd, 2007, 11:07 am

nah, i rather use a quicker oil change interval period than use a flush

Usual Suspect

Postby Usual Suspect » January 22nd, 2007, 11:32 am

would that engine sludge build up cause a reduce in engine performance and an increase in fuel cunsumption and engine heat

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » January 22nd, 2007, 12:01 pm

would that engine sludge build up cause a reduce in engine performance and an increase in fuel cunsumption and engine heat

it will decrease the protection of the engine...not really fuel consumption..but create more heat, ie: decreasing the efficiency of the engine

larafan

Postby larafan » January 22nd, 2007, 10:38 pm

put a engine flush

thing with engine flushes...there will be some engine flush reside left behind..which could break dong yuh oil...

Postby equipped2ripp » January 22nd, 2007, 11:26 pm

doh even think of using a flush

as Dave said, just pour a quart and let it run through

nash

Postby nash » January 23rd, 2007, 1:02 pm

Don't know if you guys do this but I do...
Give the car a good run and then change oil when the engine warm !
Avoid the flushes,residues left behind can screw up the new change.
Use a qt of cheap oil instead.

Postby wagonrunner » January 23rd, 2007, 6:40 pm

does the car need a good run? or can be left idling so it reaches normal operating temperature?

i'm thinking revving high for long "good run" can't be the best decision to make on thinning oil.

StangSai

Postby StangSai » January 23rd, 2007, 9:18 pm

i also heard that when doing an oil change and want to clean out the motor, you can pour in ATF (auto trans fluid) instead of oil and start and idle. let the motor run so that the ATF can cleanse for a few minutes. ATF has more cleaning agents since it's designed to maintain a trans which has very tiny passages and intricacies. i don't think it's wise to rev above idle though. then drain and put oil as usual.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » January 23rd, 2007, 11:12 pm

i read an Article about tips when changing oil...
Drain abt 1qt of oil from the engine and fill back 1qt of Diesel...
Start engine a let idle for a few mins(revvin not Recomended) and then drain all the oil....
i tried it already, the oil drains thin like water and the diesel cleans out the oil passages

Postby Dave » January 24th, 2007, 8:01 am

^^^yup, i have a friend who filled the entire engine with diesel, took like 2.5 gals and this also works well
engine was real clean
was left to soak overnight and then drianed in the morning
don't use keroscene

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » January 24th, 2007, 9:16 am

i have a friend who filled the entire engine with diesel, took like 2.5 gals

:shock: :shock: ...using diesel alone wouldnt damage the engine?...or u mean he fill it w diesel and didnt start it.!!

Postby Dave » January 24th, 2007, 9:37 am

^^basically to soak, no starting involved