DOOKERAN resigns...

Postby equipped2ripp » September 11th, 2006, 1:03 am

-No longer UNC's political leader -Forms Congress of the People before thousands

With hands outstretched and to the cheers of thousands of people, St Augustine MP Winston Dookeran gave up the political leadership of the Opposition party to form a new political movement.

This now leaves the United National Congress without a political leader and with a potential new party to battle with in the next general election.

Dookeran began his new chapter in politics at his Congress of the People held yesterday at the multi-million-dollar Centre of Excellence in Macoya which is owned by United National Congress deputy political leader Jack Warner.

Before a packed hall at the Centre, which Dookeran team member and Pointe-a-Pierre MP Gillian Lucky declared to be filled with 15,000 people by 3 p.m., Dookeran ended months of speculation about his role in the UNC.

"Today, I am relinquishing my leadership of the UNC. I have a bigger job to do," he said to a standing ovation.

Just before his address, those at the congress voted in favour of a motion mandating Dookeran to "lead a political party that will carry us to victory in the next general election and allow us to stand tall again under the principles of integrity, morality and democracy."

During his address, Dookeran referred to that motion.

"I now answer your call to serve, and to serve this country deeply, to create a political organisation that can harness and release the potential of our people, to immediately prepare for the next general elections, to form the next Government of Trinidad and Tobago and to build a strong country and a united nation," he said.

"Let it be known from today onwards that the main challenger to the PNM shall be known as the Congress of the People."

Dookeran, however, did not announce that his new movement is a political party even though many anticipate that is what it will soon become.

Asked by the Express after the congress, a senior Dookeran team member said that his new movement already had a party symbol and was set to register it with the Elections and Boundaries Commission.

In his address, Dookeran did not declare the Congress of the People to be closed to the UNC membership.

"A new political house for all our UNC members and for all the citizens of our country is now under construction," he said.

Dookeran said he had no-ill feeling for the members of the UNC executive who moved a vote of no-confidence in him and said they no longer acknowledged him as their party's political leader.

"But I know, I know, that the executive can feel what they wish and remove me as leader but in the hearts and the minds of the people of Trinidad and Tobago, I shall not be removed from the politics of this country," he said.

Dookeran also paid tribute to UNC founder and former prime minister Basdeo Panday who had endorsed the St Augustine MP for the post of UNC political leader which he won uncontested at the party's internal election last year.

"Today, I want to acknowledge Mr Panday's excellent contribution to the politics of our country," he said.

"We must go on. Changes happen. It is happening right now."

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161011389

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 11th, 2006, 5:14 am

YES !!!!!!!!!!
Forget Pandy and them UNC people. Once a good party... not anymore.

People need to wake up.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » September 11th, 2006, 6:23 am

I feel real people would givehim a chance. People real fed up with the PNM / UNC sheit.
We need new blood.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » September 11th, 2006, 6:30 am

more division , they shud disssolve the fackin unc one time or kill d congress of the ppl...have one party
we aint stand a chance , pnm gonna win hands down just like like time :evil:
a lil bit go vote unc because they doh wha change...den a lil will vote dooks cause they want change...and den pnm will get more votes dan either one

streak

Postby streak » September 11th, 2006, 7:10 am

I feel he stand a good chance !!! People really fed up of UNC and PNM :!:

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 11th, 2006, 7:13 am

best thing to happen to politics in a while.

farah_nisa

Postby farah_nisa » September 11th, 2006, 7:29 am

I feel he stands a chance
Look how many ppl turned up at centre of excellence
He has support, he has my support as well

the votes will be divided now yes, but plenty ppl are fed up of the PNM and the UNC

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 11th, 2006, 7:31 am

Votes divided but he pulling both UNC and PNM votes.

sXe

Postby sXe » September 11th, 2006, 7:38 am

BlueIce wrote:more division , they shud disssolve the fackin unc one time or kill d congress of the ppl...have one party
we aint stand a chance , pnm gonna win hands down just like like time :evil:
a lil bit go vote unc because they doh wha change...den a lil will vote dooks cause they want change...and den pnm will get more votes dan either one

u make real sense there...but what if...what if the UNC and the congress of d ppl form an alliance of some sort. Like they combine all the seats they win....then we go have a chance...think about it....it could work. I think both parties altho they have their differencs and they fightin 4 power, the have 1 thing in common...TO GET RID OF D CURRENT GOV'T

Postby wagonrunner » September 11th, 2006, 7:44 am

sXe wrote:TO GET RID OF D CURRENT GOV'T

and i guess it's ok, if each political party has that as the agenda, as means to the end of WHAT'S BEST FOR THE CITIZENS OF THE COUNTRY

sXe

Postby sXe » September 11th, 2006, 7:56 am

aye well i certainly hope thats what the main fight is eh. To do whats best 4 trinidad & tobago

Postby Greypatch » September 11th, 2006, 7:59 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:best thing to happen to politics in a while.

ditto...

I was there, it was an intellegent young crowd...

remember the 30% who doh vote...

plus pull from both sides the ones who vote but realy doh support either side

Postby eliteauto » September 11th, 2006, 9:24 am

I would be very wary of an alliance being formed, as I heard Dr Gopeesingh hinting this morning, because the history of such leaves much to be desired, it would be of pure convenience and if successful at removing the PNM would likely implode after getting into Government, what the launch yesterday did was possibly force Manning's hand to call an election sooner to avoid Dookeran gaining momemtum, but would the so called "third force" be enough to pull voters away from the PNM-till-ah-dead and ah fraid Indian voters, and the died-in-the-wool UNC base, I'm adopting a wait and see attitude. Hopefully we could see the removal of the PNM by a singular party

Postby ronsin1 » September 11th, 2006, 9:37 am

would be very wary of an alliance being formed, as I heard Dr Gopeesingh hinting this morning, because the history of such leaves much to be desired, it would be of pure convenience and if successful at removing the PNM would likely implode after getting into Government, what the launch yesterday did was possibly force Manning's hand to call an election sooner to avoid Dookeran gaining momemtum, but would the so called "third force" be enough to pull voters away from the PNM-till-ah-dead and ah fraid Indian voters, and the died-in-the-wool UNC base, I'm adopting a wait and see attitude. Hopefully we could see the removal of the PNM by a singular party

I agree

Postby Greypatch » September 11th, 2006, 9:49 am

thing is he has to continue..

pnm will win the next one...defeat could be in 2012

racy lady

Postby racy lady » September 11th, 2006, 9:55 am

well people shouldn't jus stand by and wait and see what happens....

if people really as fed up with the state the country is in and want things to change then a move has to be made to turn things around... which i would think should start with removing the current gov't out of office...and if people really fed up of UNC nonsense...then who else is there really to vote for when the time comes...

Mr Dookeeran has my vote...

Postby Greypatch » September 11th, 2006, 10:01 am

true

it have plenty fed up ppl in this island....

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » September 11th, 2006, 10:04 am

He doesn't have my vote. Thanks to him votes have been split and PNM's gonna be in power again for another setta years. And they're way too many question marks over his name for me to support him. Ppl need to stop idolising this man

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 11th, 2006, 10:20 am

yes votes have been split and any level headed voter could not possibly vote for a party that needs a map to find its way out of a paper bag.

panday cannot become pm again people sould realise that too

ramesh brought the unc down brought charges again them which many of them still have to answer.

in recent years kamla has show that she does not have the goods to be a leader at that level and i saw the mismanagement at the ministerial level

that leaves whom?

remember the 30% who don't have alliance to the caroni basin or the hills overlooking pos

dokeran yes but his slate must be chosen carefully no one politicain has impressed me as much as the true current opposition ms. gillian lucky i hope she an the country are able to get her full talent under a different team

racy lady

Postby racy lady » September 11th, 2006, 10:20 am

I don't think its idolising.....well i certainly hope not...

there are alot of people fed up of what's going on .....and hopefully with the young population who has yet to vote...then we have to pray for the best party to win...

cuz if PNM stays in office...that will be real disappointing...cuz they not doing anything to help the poor people in this country...IMO

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » September 11th, 2006, 10:30 am

Like I have said many times, prepare for another 50 years under PNM

racy lady

Postby racy lady » September 11th, 2006, 10:49 am

yeah well....keep saying that...it will surely happen...

i guess if people really wanted things to change they'd do something about making it happen... :|

Postby Greypatch » September 11th, 2006, 10:51 am

well the present UNC cannot defeat the govt..in fact they will loose ground to them.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » September 11th, 2006, 10:54 am

Neither can Dookeran. He's not strong enough to make decision, he'll keep delaying and delaying and delaying as the past has proven. I dunno, maybe it's just me, but I have way too many questions about how "great" he is, dating back to some decisions he took during that coup

racy lady, I've so far helped everywhere I can, but my parents have decided that for now away is better for me. And anyone who knows my dad for him to send me away from home, things have to be really bad in Trini

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 11th, 2006, 11:02 am

i can tell you what, myself and others like me who seldome vote will be turning out in numbers to support a well manered, well educated, successfull, honest man leading a new party, everyone i know is going out and registering to vote Dookeran...

my small scoop of society doenst represent allot of the polulation, but allot of young whites/mid-upper mid class-mid 30's dont vote.. and recently cause of the political and social climate, they all are now realising tehy need to vote to have a say and the buzz from them and all their familaies is Dookeran.. fed up of UNC and PNM and all their stupidness.. if this new party can cause some kind of calm amongst society we will all be better off.

he's got my vote.
Last edited by Bezman on September 11th, 2006, 11:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Greypatch » September 11th, 2006, 11:03 am

well once the formula eh wuccking you have to change it eh...

makes no sense to do the same thing over and expect diff results

racy lady

Postby racy lady » September 11th, 2006, 11:07 am

what i'm saying is that its up to the population to decide if they want the current gov't to stay in power and run this country into more debt and spend more money or to give someone else a chance to hopefully do something...

cuz UNC ain't gettin that much votes to beat PNM but Mr Dookeran may have a chance...

racy lady

Postby racy lady » September 11th, 2006, 11:10 am

Greypatch wrote:well once the formula eh wuccking you have to change it eh...

makes no sense to do the same thing over and expect diff results

agreed!

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » September 11th, 2006, 11:12 am

unkle dooks has my vote... hell if de rest of south realise that unc really lookin for power and that he is the man with teh plan and actual capabilities of carrying it out then i'd say let the quiet walk with the big stick ......

move liek ah sr20 .....quiet but deadly

Postby Greypatch » September 11th, 2006, 11:17 am

was a nice cleam meeting no name calling no wasting don ppl..

well behaved crowd as well...