COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Redress10

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 519 cases, 11 deaths, 368 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby Redress10 » August 16th, 2020, 2:11 pm

Bro

Western Europe etc not state quarantining citizens. Not sure about asia. Even testing is a private affair. There's no "treatment" so testing in those placesis mainly for surveillance purposes. A numbers game. Every single positive test in TT ends up in state quarantine as far as I could tell. Not sure if it has changed.

I have friends who tested "positive" showing they had covid in the past but had no symptoms etc. They needed to be tested before entering into Dubai so they went to get tested. They were also tested upon entering into Dubai with all the other precautions into play such as temperature check and social distancing.

For an individual to truly know their covid status, they will need to continuously test, either every 7 or 14 days. It can't just be a one off test like some of you all are advocating.

New Zealand don't have illegal immigrants from a failing state with poor healthcare services attempting to enter their country daily though.
Last edited by Redress10 on August 16th, 2020, 2:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 519 cases, 11 deaths, 368 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » August 16th, 2020, 2:13 pm

Redress10 wrote:Bro

Western Europe etc not state quarantining citizens. Not sure about asia. Even testing is a private affair. There's no "treatment" so testing in those placesis mainly for surveillance purposes. A numbers game. Every single positive test in TT ends up in state quarantine as far as I could tell. Not sure if it has changed.

I have friends who tested "positive" showing they had covid in the past but had no symptoms etc. They needed to be tested before entering into Dubai so they went to get tested. They were also tested upon entering into Dubai with all the other precautions into play such as temperature check and social distancing.

For an individual to truly know their covid status, they will need to continuously test, either every 7 or 14 days. It can't just be a one off test like some of you all are advocating.

By this logic best we just stop testing on the whole yes.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 16th, 2020, 2:19 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Bro

By this logic best we just stop testing on the whole yes.

NO

As an individual that is what you have to do. The state has to ensure that every test they administer, there is a strong possibility that those tests come back positive cause those people would be state quarantined. The state doesn't have time to repeatedly tests an individual to discover a positive case. You also don't want to give people false sense of security from a false negative.

A false negative just means that the test was taken too early resulting in a false outcome.

Postby redmanjp » August 16th, 2020, 2:37 pm

You can test persons who are contacts as long as u let about 7 days pass after exposure. There's a good chance the viral load would have built up enough to generate a positive test. Then test again a few days later if they are not positive yet. Don't need to be symptomatic as u already have 1 criteria with them bring exposed to a positive case.

That way u don't miss asymptomatic ppl who are a significant driver of the outbreak and who end up creating cases which are pending investigation.

I would agree that testing ppl with no exposure and also no symptoms would be wasteful unless there is community spread then a significant portion would be positive

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 16th, 2020, 3:13 pm

redmanjp wrote:You can test persons who are contacts as long as u let about 7 days pass after exposure. There's a good chance the viral load would have built up enough to generate a positive test. Then test again a few days later if they are not positive yet. Don't need to be symptomatic as u already have 1 criteria with them bring exposed to a positive case.

That way u don't miss asymptomatic ppl who are a significant driver of the outbreak and who end up creating cases which are pending investigation.

I would agree that testing ppl with no exposure and also no symptoms would be wasteful unless there is community spread then a significant portion would be positive

It's too late to adopt that approach, it's out of control right now. Let's see if in 2 weeks this lockdown brings the cases back down.

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2020, 3:20 pm

chances are 28 days may not be enough
and they will extend the lockdown

the first two weeks could have same rates of infection and the last two some decline under perfect conditions of lockdown but unlikely to drop to desired low levels

Postby redmanjp » August 16th, 2020, 3:52 pm

^yeah we may need 2 weeks of a full lockdown then continue a partial for another month

Postby MaxPower » August 16th, 2020, 3:58 pm

^ that’s true.

A full lockdown starting right now.

We shouldn’t be delaying this....cannot afford too.

Postby adnj » August 16th, 2020, 3:58 pm

pugboy wrote:chances are 28 days may not be enough
and they will extend the lockdown

the first two weeks could have same rates of infection and the last two some decline under perfect conditions of lockdown but unlikely to drop to desired low levels
redmanjp wrote:^yeah we may need 2 weeks of a full lockdown then continue a partial for another month
I don't expect to see much decrease within the first 4 to 6 weeks. It's likely that infections will flatten during that time.

I would expect to see some decrease at the beginning of October.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 519 cases, 11 deaths, 368 active, 140 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » August 16th, 2020, 4:00 pm

c43c3be9-9736-4d89-83f7-5ace08acaf3d.jpg

Now Friends,

Let’s all take note that the wearing of masks and social distancing is not the whole picture.

Be mindful of surface contact.

You can wear the best mask and the latest face shield, have the top sanitizers brand and even wear gloves.

But from the time you touch a contaminated surface and reach for your face with no mask....its game over.

Remember when you wash your hands or sanitize to enter an establishment that its not a relaxing point.

Someone infected can wash their hands and sanitize but then cough on their hand or a surface for you to make contact with.

Get in the habit of sanitizing your hands before, during and after entering places.

Try not taking off your mask until you are out of public space. People have a habit of removing their mask immediately after leaving somewhere. We have no idea what hazardous particles are still airborne.

Come on Trinis, we know this.

We have to put conscious effort into this.

Postby goalpost » August 16th, 2020, 4:20 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:You can test persons who are contacts as long as u let about 7 days pass after exposure. There's a good chance the viral load would have built up enough to generate a positive test. Then test again a few days later if they are not positive yet. Don't need to be symptomatic as u already have 1 criteria with them bring exposed to a positive case.

It's too late to adopt that approach, it's out of control right now. Let's see if in 2 weeks this lockdown brings the cases back down.

I wouldn't call this a lockdown. I not even sure what this is...I'm pretty sure everywhere will still be buzzing as normal.

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2020, 4:23 pm

we likely looking at least two months

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 16th, 2020, 4:30 pm

Covid Las Lap: People flock to beaches, bars

Ahead of Monday's 28 day-long imposition of restrictions to slow the community spread of the Covid-19 coronavirus, some people went to the bars and restaurants on Saturday for a final night out with friends.

Some stayed past the 10p.m. closing time.

This morning, reports are emerging of a large number of people heading to the coastlines.

Shortly after Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced the new restrictions would come into effect on Monday, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh implored the population to act is if the restrictions were already in place.

The restrictions included the closure, from Monday, of beaches and rivers, and the banning of in house dining at bars and restaurants.

Patrons were advised to buy their drinks and leave.

This as the Covid death count climbed to 10, and the number of cases rapidly rose to almost 500, prompting a declaration by Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram that the country had reached the stage of Community Spread.

The primary purpose of the restrictions is to limit the movement and interaction of people so that the expected spread of the virus could be managed and not overwhelm the health care system.

Rowley said the Police Service would be expected to enforce the regulations.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/c ... a818a.html

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2020, 4:35 pm

so where was gg and the enforcing of crowd sizes ?

Postby maj. tom » August 16th, 2020, 4:47 pm

To me that would be a severe waste of police resources. We really can't fight this level of ignorance and stupidity in our population.

But come tmrw at 6am, Gary could share some baton and buss head.

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2020, 4:52 pm

he gone cold on this long long time
he does run hot and sweaty at the start only.

maj. tom wrote:To me that would be a severe waste of police resources. We really can't fight this level of ignorance and stupidity in our population.

But come tmrw at 6am, Gary could share some baton and buss head.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 16th, 2020, 4:56 pm

pugboy wrote:so where was gg and the enforcing of crowd sizes ?

The guidelines are from 6am Monday 17th August

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2020, 4:58 pm

there are existing crowd size limits which many bars are not enforcing.....

pugboy wrote:so where was gg and the enforcing of crowd sizes ?

The guidelines are from 6am Monday 17th August

Postby paid_influencer » August 16th, 2020, 5:21 pm

my feeling : the real lockdown coming next Saturday at 2:30pm.

rolling back to Phase 4 (where we are right now) is not a lockdown. Rolling back to phase 4 will keep cases at the current level, but at 46 cases/day that level will soon:

(1) over-run our capacity for contact tracing and testing
(2) bring our 'parallel health care' hospitals (Couva and Caura) ICU and HDU to capacity, and
(3) seriously threaten patient populations in the regular public hospitals (SFGH, POSGH)

The only way out is a full lockdown, Phase 2 or Phase 1 rollback. And I suspect that will happen Saturday once the population had a week to process that things are not normal right now.

Or we possibly could choose the Trump strategy

Postby K74T » August 16th, 2020, 5:30 pm

TATT head office in Barataria closed for sanitisation after worker tests positive.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/tatt-head-office-closed-for-sanitisation/

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 16th, 2020, 5:37 pm

paid_influencer wrote:my feeling : the real lockdown coming next Saturday at 2:30pm.

rolling back to Phase 4 (where we are right now) is not a lockdown. Rolling back to phase 4 will keep cases at the current level, but at 46 cases/day that level will soon:

(1) over-run our capacity for contact tracing and testing
(2) bring our 'parallel health care' hospitals (Couva and Caura) ICU and HDU to capacity, and
(3) seriously threaten patient populations in the regular public hospitals (SFGH, POSGH)

The only way out is a full lockdown, Phase 2 or Phase 1 rollback. And I suspect that will happen Saturday once the population had a week to process that things are not normal right now.

Or we possibly could choose the Trump strategy

I agree but again that's too late eh. We are going to overwhelm facilities very soon.

Look at NZ, a couple of cases after 102 days of no cases and they go into full immediate lockdown and state it's community spread.

Only Trinidad made up some screwed definition of community spread to fool people into believing everything was peachy.

What pisses me off is that Rowley himself said 3 weeks ago, after a handful of untraced cases, that this was the point where many countries lost control, however Trinidad was in a good position to contain it. FFS Keith, why did you go and make the same mistake everyone warned you about?

A lockdown now is better than the American approach by far. But with non essentials still working and house limes on going, this time we won't see much if any slowdown.

Listen to Fauci, this thing is primarily spread from person to person interaction not from touching door knobs. Unless everyone in non essential offices are wearing masks this thing will still spread.

Postby matr1x » August 16th, 2020, 5:48 pm

Isn't it obvious that they suppress the numbers to make the government look good for election?

Postby paid_influencer » August 16th, 2020, 5:54 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:What pisses me off is that Rowley himself said 3 weeks ago, after a handful of untraced cases, that this was the point where many countries lost control, however Trinidad was in a good position to contain it. FFS Keith, why did you go and make the same mistake everyone warned you about?

dais true eh :drinking: :drinking:

My Prime Minister's reasoning was that we are a small island; our smallness being a unique advantage in making contact tracing more effective.

What he did not discuss was the conservatism principle. He should have locked down first, not take chances. But there was an election as well so :drinking:

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 16th, 2020, 6:04 pm

If they call another election pnm would still win so it doesn't matter.
matr1x wrote:Isn't it obvious that they suppress the numbers to make the government look good for election?

Postby paid_influencer » August 16th, 2020, 6:20 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:If they call another election pnm would still win so it doesn't matter.
matr1x wrote:Isn't it obvious that they suppress the numbers to make the government look good for election?

you know what does matter? that nasty little bug we picked up that came from a romp about two weeks ago.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 16th, 2020, 6:24 pm

Rumourville saying heavy weights with the initials PE and CM tested +

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 16th, 2020, 6:26 pm

Boi
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Rumourville saying heavy weights with the initials PE and CM tested +

Postby goalpost » August 16th, 2020, 6:28 pm

Who dem?

Postby j.o.e » August 16th, 2020, 6:29 pm

Probably too much alco. The initials ain’t even making a note for me.

Postby bluefete » August 16th, 2020, 6:30 pm

ST Auto wrote:Boi
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Rumourville saying heavy weights with the initials PE and CM tested +

And they are refusing to go to Caura. They are being allowed to self-quarantine at home.

Allyuh natives, take that in yuh pweffen.

Man say what I posted earlier was not true.

Also heavyweight with initials HJ was the one I referred to earlier real beating up with the young ones for exposing "him/her" to the virus.