<<TriniTuner 2009 F1 Thread>>

Postby MG Man » October 23rd, 2009, 11:51 am

^^^indeed
last time that was in force, cars used to run out of fuel on the final lap while in the lead...remember drivers desperately swerving left to right to shake the last ounce of fuel into the pickup.....and the first third of each race was slow as cars struggled with a full load of fuel.....

Postby Monk BANzai » October 23rd, 2009, 12:26 pm

MG Man wrote:^^^indeed
last time that was in force, cars used to run out of fuel on the final lap while in the lead...remember drivers desperately swerving left to right to shake the last ounce of fuel into the pickup.....and the first third of each race was slow as cars struggled with a full load of fuel.....

*walks into MG FANNIE's office...slams this pic on his desk...

Identify!!!...

Postby Monk BANzai » October 23rd, 2009, 12:28 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:
MG Man wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
what team orders schumi complied with? "Michael, you will win today" "OK Jean"
Rubio was the team orders bobolee in that team

indeed...

"Reubens...WTF are you doing...slow down and let Michael get past you"

JT - "Michael, I tell you where to ...how do you say...park..."
MS- " I park in garage, no?"
JT - " Finish lap and leave car on track"
MS - "ok, boss"

8-)

edited...

Postby 16 cycles » October 23rd, 2009, 1:04 pm

F1 getting too soap-opera-ish....

Postby Maserati » October 23rd, 2009, 2:24 pm

Vatanen would have gotten my vote as well

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 23rd, 2009, 2:27 pm

Vatanen wudda bring back some integrity to F1.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 23rd, 2009, 2:43 pm

Next year is going to be sweet with Lotus poised to return to F1, that I have to see !!!! And Alonso going to Ferrari, finally !!!

Button is a worthy champion, he paid his dues, but I was still hoping Rubino wudda take it in the end. Hope he gets another shot next year.

How good is Button?

By Mark Hughes
BBC F1 commentary box producer
Even now Jenson Button is the Formula 1 world champion, there are those questioning whether he is worthy of the crown.

Because he has been around F1 since 2000, a certain perception of him has built up - and people hate letting go of their preconceptions.

How can this guy they have never particularly rated suddenly be a world champion? How can a driver who took until his seventh season to even win a race really be mentioned in the same breath as such instant legends as Fernando Alonso or Lewis Hamilton?

Very easily, actually.

As a breed, racing drivers are a laid-back lot. Year upon year of slowing down the action in their heads, of training their brains to take the emotion out of the multiple thousands of split-second decisions they make every time they get in the car, tends to lend them a languid air when not in action.

Jenson was the guy I wanted to be, the one we all wanted to be. He was the best - that was how he was seen
Lewis Hamilton

Button is extreme even by these standards, so serene on the surface that it has in the past led to questions about how much desire - an essential quality for a truly world-class racer - was within him.

Such doubts were completely misplaced as it turns out, just as other brickbats thrown at him over the years have been.

F1 is a sport dominated by the quality of the car. Which lucky driver gets his bum into one of the special cars is so reliant on preconceptions.

The "chosen ones" are channelled into the right seats, which give them the career momentum that keeps the perception on course. That starts from way earlier than F1. And the perception helps create the reality.

Early in his career, once he had established his devastating speed in karting as a kid, Button actually was a "chosen one". But it did not last.

Within the grass roots of the sport there was a buzz created by Button and his apparently effortless success. A few years behind him, a young kid called Lewis Hamilton used to look upon Button with awe.

"He was the guy I wanted to be, the one we all wanted to be," says Hamilton. "He was the best - that was how he was seen within karting." In time, so Hamilton would become another chosen one.

Button's reputation attracted him - through a third party - to David Robertson, a motor racing entrepreneur looking to invest in a talent he could take to F1.

So Button graduated to car racing as a 17-year-old in 1998 in the British Formula Ford championship. Naturally it was with one of the best teams. Why wouldn't it be? He duly won the championship and the prestigious Formula Ford Festival at the end of the year.

Momentum effortlessly maintained from karting into cars, just like his silky driving style converted his corner-entry momentum into lap time.

But you can fall off the ladder so quickly. Drivers climbing the greasy pole of motorsport have to pay their own way, and the tricky point comes when your financial backing fails to match up to the budget required of the next step.

Robertson had underwritten the Formula Ford programme but, to maintain that momentum and perception, a top Formula 3 drive was needed next - and the budget didn't quite stretch.

And so Button contested the 1999 British F3 championship with an under-performing Renault engine. He did brilliantly well to win the odd race and finish third in the championship.

That was the reality. The perception was different; he'd failed. How could he be one of the special ones? And he fell off the ladder.

A few years later, Hamilton would find himself in a similar situation.

He didn't win the title in his first year of F3 either. But he was by then being backed and managed by McLaren, who took a wonderfully enlightened long term view of their protege's career.

They simply had him do another year of F3, with the best team in the category - and at his second attempt he blitzed it. Hamilton remained on the ladder.

Button had no F1 team or big-time benefactor. He had Robertson taking a share in his future in exchange for his help.

But there was not necessarily a ready budget for a second year of F3 or a season of Formula 3000, the final step on the ladder before F1. They were now reliant upon grabbing opportunities as they presented themselves rather than having the luxury of dictating their own path.

Luckily, a timely opportunity did present itself in that the French element of the F3 team were in contact with the French Prost F1 team, raving about Button's ability. An F1 test was duly arranged and Button almost immediately went 0.5secs a lap faster than regular driver Jean Alesi.

The F1 jungle drums began to beat and Frank Williams - looking for a driver to replace the disappointing Alex Zanardi - had him in his car a week later.

In the space of a few weeks Button had gone from being uncertain about regaining his momentum in the junior categories to becoming an F1 driver.

His wonderful talent was frequently demonstrated in that rookie year, but the consistency borne of experience was missing. The reality was, he had arrived too soon. But he had no other realistic option - because he wasn't on the ladder.

So in comparing his career with someone like Hamilton's or Alonso's you are not comparing like with like.

Button arrived in F1 after a season in Formula Ford and another in F3. Hamilton arrived after five years of carefully controlled preparation by the best F1 team in the business.

Button is not therefore as reliable a performer as Hamilton or Alonso, but give him a well balanced car and he is devastating

Then there were the cars he spent his F1 career in. Hamilton won races in his first season, Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen did so in their first seasons with top teams. Button, in eight years of toil, never got into a car capable of winning races.

To those watching closely there were frequent tell-tales of the huge talent, but that doesn't cut it in a world where headline perception is all.

Button's playboy lifestyle in his early F1 career didn't fit well with the mores of the sport, either. That and the lack of track record saw him written off as a lightweight by those with no knowledge of his early career.

It took the fluke of circumstance that is Brawn Grand Prix to finally get him into a good car. In it, he won six of the first seven grands prix this season - a sequence that stands comparison with any of the sport's greats.

Irony of ironies, he was then accused of winning "only because of the car advantage". Which was to ignore the previous eight seasons when he'd been prevented from success by the car disadvantage - and that he was blitzing team-mate Rubens Barrichello in the same car.

All of which is not to say that all of the criticism of Button is misplaced.

For someone of his immense gift, he is generally overly sensitive to a car's characteristics. He needs the car to be exactly right to have access to his full talent.

If the car is anything other than that, if it suffers from any measure of instability at the rear under braking or into the corner, then he is not good at improvising a different style.

When this happens, his various team-mates usually manage to go faster and it is probably not a coincidence that Button was clearly faster than Barrichello this year when the car was at its best, but the positions were reversed when its competitiveness dropped off.

Button is not therefore as reliable a performer as Hamilton or Alonso, who can always improvise some sort of performance from their cars, can always access most of what is there. But give him a well-balanced car and he is devastating.

There have been many less gifted world champions than Jenson Button. The length of time it has taken is nothing to do with lack of ability, everything to do with how the talent ladder of the motor racing system works - or doesn't.

Postby Maserati » October 23rd, 2009, 3:06 pm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/motorsp ... 322334.stm
New world champion Jenson Button has emerged as a contender to join Lewis Hamilton in what would be a mouth-watering line-up at McLaren in 2010.

The Englishman has yet to sign a new contract for Brawn and McLaren are interested having so far failed to secure first choice Kimi Raikkonen.

"We've talked to a number of drivers," said team boss Martin Whitmarsh.

"It wouldn't be appropriate to say more than that. We'll hire the two best drivers available as we always have."

Button's manager Richard Goddard refused to comment on whether he had held talks with McLaren, but told BBC Sport: "Brawn could have sorted Jenson out weeks ago and none of this would be going on.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 23rd, 2009, 3:07 pm

been sayn!! been SAYN!!!!

Button is not therefore as reliable a performer as Hamilton or Alonso, who can always improvise some sort of performance from their cars, can always access most of what is there. But give him a well-balanced car and he is devastating.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 23rd, 2009, 3:27 pm

Listen to this.....

Barrichello Could Stay With Brawn In 2010: Rubens Barrichello could stay at the Brawn team next year, despite expectations he had already penned a deal to switch to Williams. The Brackley based team will almost certainly keepJenson Button on board for 2010, but it was thought Nico Rosberg would fill 37-year-old Barrichello’s place. But to Brazil's SporTV, the Brazilian said he was "surprised" by some of the behind-the-scenes developments during last weekend's Interlagos event. "I have the possibility of being with Brawn and also with others," Barrichello said. However, a report in Spain's AS sports newspaper said Barrichello suspects Brawn altered his tire pressures after leading until the first pit stop last Sunday.

Oh Lorrrddd !!! Not again, Y always Reubens? Thats the problem with driving for an English team that has an English driver. Poor Reuben.

Postby MG Man » October 24th, 2009, 9:06 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
MG Man wrote:^^^indeed

*walks into MG FANNIE's office...slams this pic on his desk...

Identify!!!...

you for real? :roll:
you still owe me a CAR WASH following the Cunningham C4R debacle and now you come up with this?
pfffffffffffffft

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 26th, 2009, 3:37 pm

F1: No Need For British GP?Written by: SPEED Staff / GMM 10/24/2009

Bernie Ecclestone insists he is prepared to scrub Britain's name from the 2010 calendar if Silverstone does not want to pay the going rate for its Formula One race.

With Donington's chances now all but over, it had been expected that the F1 chief executive might move to safeguard the British Grand Prix by reaching an alternate deal with the race's traditional venue.

But after a Silverstone spokesman said Ecclestone's current offer is not "commercially viable", the British billionaire hit back: "No one is forcing them to take it.

"This is business. We have offered them a deal," he told the Daily Express newspaper. Do we need a British Grand Prix? No."

Ecclestone disputes that Silverstone, scene of F1's very first world championship event in 1950, should enjoy protected status as one of the sport's "traditional" venues.

"Italy is a traditional race because they have always raced at Monza,"he argued. "Monaco is traditional as they have always had the same track.

"Britain and France have raced at three different circuits. They want a cut-price deal because it is traditional. That's not traditional to me. Britain is not protected," said Ecclestone.

"I would like a new plane because it's traditional as I have had one for 40 years but no one is offering me a cheap deal. That's not how it works."

Meanwhile, The Times newspaper reports that Donington's breach of contract may cost the circuit up to 15 million pounds sterling in cancellation fees.

Hmmmmm......Is he the Jack Warner of motoracing ???

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 26th, 2009, 3:38 pm

F1: Hulkenberg, Barrichello To Race For WilliamsWritten by: SPEED Staff / GMM

While the news remains unofficial, a well connected figure all but confirmed Sunday the composition of Williams' driver line-up for 2010.

The British team heads into this weekend's Abu Dhabi season finale with Nico Rosberg and Kazuki Nakajima at the wheel of the FW31s, but Williams looks set for a wholesale change ahead of its next championship campaign.

Rosberg looks likely to head to Brawn, while Kazuki Nakajima is out of favor at Williams due to the forthcoming parting of ways with the Japanese driver's backer Toyota.

Willi Weber, famous in F1 circles for being Michael Schumacher's manager,
let the cat out of the bag when speaking to Germany's Bild am Sonntag newspaper about his new charge, the 22-year-old rookie and current Williams test driver Nico Hulkenberg.

"I think he will be a match for his new teammate (Rubens) Barrichello," Weber said.

Postby Maserati » October 26th, 2009, 3:52 pm

Bernie is the devil

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 29th, 2009, 9:50 am

Trulli need help oui....

Sutil and Trulli continue their Brazilian feud

Adrian Sutil and Jarno Trulli traded insults on Thursday as they continued a war of words sparked by their first-lap crash in Brazil

Eleven days ago Toyota driver Trulli and Force India's Sutil came close to blows after a collision that forced from both out of the Brazilian Grand Prix at Interlagos.

Attempting to pass Sutil around the outside, Trulli put a wheel on the grass, sending him spinning into the back of the German's car and then into a wall.

The impact resulted in Sutil careering across the infield grass and his momentum taking him back onto the track where he was struck for a second time, on this occasion by Fernando Alonso.

An outraged Trulli leapt out of his car and ran over to confront a stunned Sutil, gesticulating furiously and clearly accusing him of causing the accident.

The exchange resulted in the 35-year-old Italian being fined £6,000 for what the FIA described as "aggressively confronting" Sutil.

In Thursday's main FIA press conference ahead of Sunday's inaugural Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, when asked by Press Association Sport if they had settled their differences, the row erupted again.

Here is the transcript of their exchange which will likely spill over into Friday's customary drivers' briefing.

Trulli: "Obviously it was very disappointing to end the race like that, especially on the first lap.

"I had every reason to be extremely furious. I've got all the evidence to show I was there and was next to him, and tomorrow we are going to discuss it."

Sutil: "There's nothing to discuss, it was quite an obvious incident.

"In the end it was very disappointing for me, even more because I was the one who was driving, and he lost control of his car and crashed into my back.

"It's not my problem. It's his problem. I don't know why he's freaking out like that to be honest."

Trulli: "I don't know if you're blind, but I can clearly show you my front wing is next to your front wing."

(Trulli then produced photographs to support his argument)

Sutil: "But you're trying to overtake me around the outside on the kerb. There was not a problem. You were off the power.

"The same happened in Barcelona where you lost control again and crashed again into a Force India car (Sutil).

"You have to sometimes respect the limits of the car. If you've nowhere to go, you have to back off. That's how racing is. I don't know how long you need to learn this."

Trulli: "In Barcelona I spun and he hit me because he cut the kerb, cut the circuit completely, and he didn't slow down."

Sutil: "I didn't hit you. You hit me. I don't know what is your problem. I really don't understand."

Asked what was said during their spat immediately after the accident, Trulli replied: "I was furious because he didn't see me.

"I was next to him and he kept on pushing me on the outside until I was obviously on the kerb."

Then the row continued:

Sutil: "It's not a problem to be on the kerb. Where's the problem?"

Trulli (sarcastically): "Yeah, no problem! As long as we know the rules."

Sutil: "I know the rules."

The verbal confrontation resulted in Alonso being asked for his opinion as he had a clear view of the incident prior to hitting Sutil.

With a smile, Alonso said: "I saw everything more or less, but as Jarno said we will discuss it in the drivers' briefing - deeply!"

Postby Maserati » October 29th, 2009, 10:49 am

Trulli is a balls man wrong and strong

redras

Postby redras » October 29th, 2009, 6:00 pm

Revealed: What the F1 drivers earn

The driver salaries for every competitor in Formula One in 2009 have been published and contain a number of surprises.

Most notable from the results are the discrepancy in team-mate pay and also the staggering gap between what the highest-paid driver receives and the pay packet of the next man on the list.

Ahead of the inaugural Abu Dhabi Grand Prix this weekend around the all-new, spectacular Yas Marina street circuit, Arabian Business, has revealed the salary list, which is perhaps unsurprisingly topped by former world champions Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari, 2007), Lewis Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes, 2008) and Fernando Alonso (Renault, 2005 and 2006).
More of a shock is the £16.4 million margin between Raikkonen's retainer and that of Hamilton, and the £22.5m that the Finn earned over injured Ferrari team-mate Felipe Massa, who is bidding to return to the fray in 2010 following his terrifying high-speed Hungarian Grand Prix qualifying accident back in late July.

The figure also perhaps sheds some light upon Raikkonen's current predicament, with potential suitors McLaren and Toyota reportedly baulking at the 30-year-old's financial demands for next season, and the 18-time grand prix-winner apparently unwilling to lower his expectations.
Newly-crowned 2009 F1 World Champion Jenson Button, meanwhile, was paid just £3m over the course of his title-winning campaign - albeit £2.4m more than Brawn GP team-mate Rubens Barrichello, who seemingly received less even than Scuderia Toro Rosso rookie Sebastien Buemi - after taking a substantial cut last winter in order to enable the Brackley-based outfit to survive the post-Honda F1 fallout.

Button and his team remain locked in stalled discussions over his 2010 salary - as the 29-year-old believes his achievements this year merit a return to his erstwhile retainer at the very least.
Also ahead of Button on the list are Brawn-bound Williams star Nico Rosberg, Massa, Toyota veteran Jarno Trulli and the Red Bull Racing pair of Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber.
Meanwhile, four drivers on the grid - Kazuki Nakajima (Williams), Romain Grosjean (Renault) and Adrian Sutil and Vitantonio Liuzzi (both Force India F1) - went unpaid.

The total salaries nonetheless equalled a mind-numbing £81.9m, or to put it another way, an average of £3.9m per driver.
"There may be a global recession going on," remarked Tom Rubython, who compiled the list, "but being an F1 driver means you earned a fortune this year. These figures are just basic salaries, and don't include sponsorship and other income, which can often be three times that amount."

Full list of F1 2009 driver salaries:

1. Kimi Raikkonen £27.35m
2. Lewis Hamilton £10.9m
3. Fernando Alonso £9.1m
4. Nico Rosberg £5.15m
5. Felipe Massa £4.85m
6. Jarno Trulli £3.95m
7. Sebastian Vettel £3.65m
8. Mark Webber £3.35m
9. Jenson Button £3.05m
10. Robert Kubica £2.75m
11. Heikki Kovalainen £2.1m
12. Nick Heidfeld £1.7m
13. Timo Glock £1.2m
14. Giancarlo Fisichella £0.9m
15. Sébastien Buemi £0.9m
16. Rubens Barrichello £600,000
17. Jaime Alguersuari £300,000
18. Vitantonio Liuzzi £0
19. Adrian Sutil £0
20. Romain Grosjean £0
21. Kazuki Nakajima £0

What the F1 teams spent on drivers in 2009:

1. Ferrari £32.2m
2. McLaren-Mercedes £13.05m
3. Renault £9.1m
4. Red Bull Racing £7m
5=. Toyota £5.15m
5=. Williams £5.15m
7. BMW-Sauber £4.45m
8. Brawn GP £3.65m
9. Scuderia Toro Rosso £1.2m
10. Force India £900,000

Link here

Postby noshownogo » October 29th, 2009, 6:20 pm

dat list have me in shock yes, Kimi was overpaid IMO especially compared to two time world champion Fernando Alonso. I still cyar believe Barrichello was so grossly underpaid and I making more per year than some F1 drivers make in just salary :shock: blasphemy

Postby teems1 » October 29th, 2009, 7:30 pm

noshownogo wrote:dat list have me in shock yes, Kimi was overpaid IMO especially compared to two time world champion Fernando Alonso. I still cyar believe Barrichello was so grossly underpaid and I making more per year than some F1 drivers make in just salary :shock: blasphemy

Reubens and Button agreed to huge salary cuts because BrawnGP was strapped for cash after the Honda F1 buyout.

Postby noshownogo » October 29th, 2009, 9:47 pm

it still doh change the fact that Barrichello was significantly underpaid especially compared to Jenson, what Jenson did prior to deserve so much more?

Postby Maserati » October 29th, 2009, 11:52 pm

It was common knowledge that Kimi was receiving a crazy amount of $
As much as I like him, it's just not justified, he doesn't have the results to back it up.
And he should really ask for a more realistic amount if he wants to be signed to a new team.

Poor Rubens he getting the short end of the stick IMHO..

And are those figures of 0 for some of the drivers real or is it just no data available?

Postby MG Man » October 30th, 2009, 7:06 am

u guys forgetting Kimi's salary was secured in expectation of great things.....and don;t forget the year Hamtoiletson won his 'world championship' Kimi had abysmal bad luck, a lot of which was from the team;s bungling, NOT his driving. Kimi would have easily won over Hamratsassisone if he had a reliable car and reliable crew......who can blame him for being indifferent when he had to see Hamtuntunking hoist the championship trophy? Ferrari dropped the ball last year, NOT Kimi

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 30th, 2009, 9:04 am

Jensen say he was paying for himself to fly to races jed...tings was tight :? . Reubens on the other hand have a private jet 8-)

I wonder what Alonso will be paid next year
Last edited by JoKeR1980 on October 30th, 2009, 6:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » October 30th, 2009, 10:30 am

18. Vitantonio Liuzzi £0
19. Adrian Sutil £0
20. Romain Grosjean £0
21. Kazuki Nakajima £0

^^ really!

Postby noshownogo » October 30th, 2009, 11:38 am

Kimi - McLaren my only option

Kimi Raikkonen has said that McLaren Mercedes are his "only" option to remain in Formula One next season.

The 2007 World Champion is as yet without a race seat for next year having agreed to part ways with Ferrari a year earlier than expected.

And although Toyota have made it clear they want the Finn, Raikkonen says he's only interested in returning to McLaren, for whom he raced between 2002 and 2006.

"Toyota has not even been discussed," Raikkonen told Finland's MTV3. "If I want to drive (F1) cars, then McLaren is the only option. I should know the situation in the next few days."

Speaking at Thursday's press conference ahead of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Raikkonen also said he would like to do some more rallying.

The 30-year-old contested his home round of the World Rally Championship this summer having earlier taken part in three earlier non-championship events.

"If I do Formula One, it's going to be in the contract that I'm allowed to do it (rallying)," he said. "It's not going to hurt you. Any kind of driving is always going to give you some experience, so I don't see what's the issue.

"It's been working well this year, so as long as it doesn't disturb what you're doing in Formula One or whatever you do, I don't see that there's any problem."

However, Raikkonen said he could also opt for a year on the sidelines.

"I can if I want. I can do whatever I want, but like I said before, I haven't made my decision what I want to do yet," he said.

He added: "Basically I have a few different options and we will see what is the best one overall and then make my decision."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528, ... 77,00.html

Postby noshownogo » October 30th, 2009, 11:40 am

Todt: Room for Schumacher

Newly-appointed FIA president Jean Todt has revealed close friend Michael Schumacher could enjoy a role within his new regime.

Todt was elected to replace Max Mosley and is now the most powerful man in motor sport following a landslide victory that saw him secure 135 votes to 49 over rival Ari Vatanen, with 12 abstentions or invalid votes.

Although former Ferrari team principal Todt already has his team in place, including deputy presidents and World Motor Sport Council members, the 63-year-old has hinted that Schumacher may yet play a role in some capacity.

Todt suggested the possibility of the German, who won five of his seven F1 titles working with the Frenchman at Ferrari, expanding his ambassadorial role with the FIA.

"He is like a son," said Todt. "There has always been a place for him next to me and there still will be."

Despite previous concerns about Todt's former allegiance to Ferrari, the Formula One Teams' Association have welcomed his appointment.

"I am convinced Jean's presidency represents an opportunity for all Formula One's stakeholders to unite under his leadership and work together to strengthen our sport," said FOTA vice-chairman John Howett.

"FOTA is looking forward to supporting him to broaden the appeal of our sport among fans and sponsors, while respecting Formula One's great heritage to which he has contributed enormously."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528, ... 13,00.html

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 31st, 2009, 9:16 am

dat is one hell of a lovely track in AD :shock:

Postby MG Man » October 31st, 2009, 9:18 am

Ferrari Land yo :!:

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 31st, 2009, 9:34 am

F1: Button Fuels Talk Of McLaren SwitchWritten by: SPEED Staff / GMM 10/30/2009

A relaxed Jenson Button has added fuel to speculation that he could leave Brawn after Sunday's 2009 season finale if they are not prepared to pay him more.

Following reports he has been in contact about joining McLaren for 2010, the new world champion told British newspapers he is not afraid of lining up in the same team as Lewis Hamilton.

"I have achieved what I wanted to in F1 and I want new challenges," said the 29-year-old. "There's no one on this grid I wouldn't go up against. But I'm not talking about Lewis; I'm talking generally."

Button scoffed at suggestions that Brawn cannot afford to pay him more because they have now burned through the money provided by Honda amid the management buyout of last winter.

"They have just won the world (constructors') championship, you know. There is a lot of money involved in that. But as I have said before, money is not the most important factor for me," the Briton insisted.

He confirmed that he has been approached by some of Brawn's rival teams, but refused to name them.

"It wouldn't be fair (to name them) as I haven't yet sat down and discussed the future with my team. We are waiting to get this race out of the way first," said Button.

He also took issue with boss Ross Brawn's
comments that a new deal with Button is "99 per cent" likely.

"I wouldn't put a percentage on anything," said Button.

Button also vowed to enjoy this weekend's Abu Dhabi season finale, now that he is guaranteed the 2009 world championship.

Two weeks ago when he clinched the title in Brazil, the Briton admitted to enduring months of stress, but his first reward is a race at the impressive Yas Marina Circuit with his lifelong dream already secure.

"It's been a while since I've jumped into an F1 car and not felt stressed or a little bit under pressure," he said, before going second quickest in opening practice on Friday afternoon behind the reigning world champion Lewis Hamilton.

"The last time I wasn't thinking about the championship was my final race (for Honda) in 2008," Button added.

Watch The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix LIVE Sunday at 7:30 am. Eastern on SPEED

djaggs

Postby djaggs » October 31st, 2009, 9:36 am

Maybe Kimi at Brawn ???

"With Toyota there was nothing, although they said that we negotiated," Raikkonen told the Finnish newspaper Turun Sanomat. "We didn't speak with them; that was only what they said," he added.

Elaborating on why he is not interested in joining the Cologne based team, he said: "It is not cool to drive bad cars."

Oh yeah KIMI, i sooooo agree LOL