Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Yes
47%
No
53%

Total votes: 193

Re: Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Postby MaxPower » April 8th, 2023, 10:34 pm

After all the occupants of the intercepted pirogue safely on board ttcg vessel

Yep, they better be.

Allyuh now catching on.

Postby 88sins » April 9th, 2023, 9:39 am

After all the occupants of the intercepted pirogue safely on board ttcg vessel

Yep, they better be.

Allyuh now catching on.

Like you eh figure it out yet that they have to be in ttcg custody, and that can only happen when they on ttcg vessel, and the only reason they in custody is to reach the shore and get processed, charged, convicted and then deported right back to their $hith0le

Postby paid_influencer » April 9th, 2023, 9:53 am

Over 100 Trinidad and Tobago tourists head to Margarita

23179173-1024x683.jpg

A total of 110 TT tourists arrived on the island of Margarita, Venezuela, on April 6, eight years after the airline travel was disrupted between the two countries.

The tourists travelled on a Rutaca charter flight and landed at the Santiago Mariño International Airport in the city of Porlamar where they were greeted by Venezuelan Minister of Tourism Alí Padrón and other Venezuelan authorities.

Padron told Venezuelan media they expect another 22 flights from TT to arrive this year, in the first phase of the renewed tourism drive.

Venezuelan authorities estimate 1,440 TT tourists will visit the island of Margarita "to learn about the natural, historical and cultural destinations."

Another flight is scheduled to leave on April 10 from the Piarco to Margarita. Those who left on April 6 are scheduled to return on April 10 and those who are leaving on April 10 and scheduled to return on April 14.

Padron said tourists from Poland will also soon arrive in Margarita, in addition to visitors from Russia and Cuba who are heading to Los Roques, Margarita, Canaima or Caracas.

Hammock Travel agency confirmed to Venezuelan media that flights originating from TT were being offered for sale.

Nadia Dookie a representative of Hammock Travel said TT nationals have always liked going to Margarita to shop. She said Rutaca's round-trip charter flight from Trinidad to Margarita cost US$420 and has been well received.

Venezuelan ambassador to TT Álvaro Sánchez Cordero told Newsday the reopening of direct flights will facilitate better communication and exchange through tourism, culture and education.

“TT tourists who go to Margarita on a monthly basis represent an economic benefit for Venezuela. During the last 20 years, we have gone through a process of economic diversification that has included tourism, as well as other sectors, as a focal point for obtaining foreign income. In addition, our tourism product includes the participation of local communities. Therefore, the benefits are shared equally with them,” he said.

Sánchez Cordero said the re-establishment of direct flights expanded all the possibilities of participation in various areas.

Since the beginning of the covid19 pandemic, direct trips between TT and Venezuela have been disrupted. However, last year the Triniflyer shipping agency obtained permits to transport passengers on ferries between the two countries from Chaguaramas to Guiria and vice versa.

https://newsday.co.tt/2023/04/09/over-1 ... margarita/

Postby MaxPower » April 9th, 2023, 9:56 am

88sins wrote:Like you eh figure it out yet that they have to be in ttcg custody, and that can only happen when they on ttcg vessel, and the only reason they in custody is to reach the shore and get processed, charged, convicted and then deported right back to their $hith0le

All done humanely and in a safe manner.

Postby MaxPower » April 13th, 2023, 7:57 pm

IMG_1375.JPG

https://guardian.co.tt/business/tt-tour ... linkin.bio

The bond continues to strengthen.

Welcome me, as i welcome you.

God is so so good.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » April 13th, 2023, 10:13 pm

IMG_1375.JPG

https://guardian.co.tt/business/tt-tour ... linkin.bio

The bond continues to strengthen.

Welcome me, as i welcome you.

God is so so good.
They will shoot ur ass in one go

Postby MaxPower » April 15th, 2023, 11:41 am

IMG_1377.JPG

https://guardian.co.tt/news/2-locals-pl ... linkin.bio

I thought all the guns coming from Venezuela?

Postby The_Honourable » May 16th, 2023, 12:47 pm

Kamla wants Venezuelan migrants to be regularised

Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar is demanding that Government regularize all Venezuelans with migrant cards who do not have criminal records and allow them to hold driving permits and begin contributing to the NIS system.

In a press release yesterday, Persad-Bissessar said Venezuelan migrants who are law-abiding and contributing to T&T’s economy should be fully integrated into society.

“I am extremely disappointed that the Government has not yet seen it fit to honour our international obligations under the 1951 Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees and the 1967 Protocol Relating to the Status of Refugees. Instead, the Government implemented a haphazard policy in 2020 and they recklessly failed to follow up on supporting policies and programmes,” she said.

The Opposition Leader added: “Migrants cannot obtain driver’s licences and cannot be registered for National Insurance. They cannot tell employers that it’s okay to hire them because their migrant permits have expired and their academic qualifications are not recognized. They are unbanked and vulnerable to exploitation.”

She also noted: “Our public primary healthcare system is apparently open to them, but how effective is that when our medical staff do not speak their language?”

Persad-Bissessar called for eligible migrants to be fully integrated into society by:

Regularising all who hold migrant cards and have no police record.

Allowing Venezuelan migrant card holders to be allowed to apply for driver’s permits.

Allowing Venezuelan migrants to pay all applicable taxes as T&T citizens and to begin contributing to the NIS.

Allowing Venezuelan children to attend public schools to educate themselves.

Allowing part of T&T’s medical staff to be trained in basic Spanish to allow Venezuelans to access medical care.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/kamla-w ... 5065db863c

Postby maj. tom » May 16th, 2023, 1:47 pm

She is right. Something has to be done to treat the situation now, or else in 15-20 years all those kids who aren't going to school will form their own Trini-Venezuelan gangs here and the turf wars will be bloodier than ever. If you think now bad.

But don't listen right. You know nobody eh listening to Kamla. How many years gone by and no proper refugee policy has been developed for this situation. So we will pay. And will vote PNM again.

Postby pugboy » May 16th, 2023, 2:02 pm

not 15-20 years
more like 5years them youths gonna be looking for arepa

Postby 88sins » May 16th, 2023, 3:56 pm

maj. tom wrote:She is right. Something has to be done to treat the situation now, or else in 15-20 years all those kids who aren't going to school will form their own Trini-Venezuelan gangs here and the turf wars will be bloodier than ever. If you think now bad.

But don't listen right. You know nobody eh listening to Kamla. How many years gone by and no proper refugee policy has been developed for this situation. So we will pay. And will vote PNM again.

and that's only a part of the problem
With the amount of resources being used, and these people contributing absolutely NOTHING, while locals paying for their healthcare at public institutions, they work and pay no income tax or hs, etc, and their presence causing an increase in the cost of our already far too high import bill, how long can any reasonable person believe we can keep this up for before some aspect of our economy or institutions fail?
And when that happens, then what?

Postby paid_influencer » May 16th, 2023, 5:15 pm

The_Honourable wrote:[Kamla] noted: “Our public primary healthcare system is apparently open to them, but how effective is that when our medical staff do not speak their language?”

The_Honourable wrote:
[Kamla] noted: “Our public primary healthcare system is apparently open to them, but how effective is that when our medical staff do not speak their language?”

tru

Postby paid_influencer » May 16th, 2023, 5:20 pm

The_Honourable wrote:“I am extremely disappointed that the Government has not yet seen it fit to honour our international obligations under the 1951 Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees and the 1967 Protocol Relating to the Status of Refugees.

serious talk, kamla 100% right. We have bona-fide UNHCR registered refugees here and we have not provided to them their due rights in accordance with the conventions we are signatory. but amery browne outside campaigning to be president of the UN general assembly.

kamla position alone on vene regularization would make me vote for her. but kamla burnt we before on promises. i still waiting on term limits and the children's museum.

Postby paid_influencer » May 16th, 2023, 5:41 pm

maj. tom wrote:She is right. Something has to be done to treat the situation now, or else in 15-20 years all those kids who aren't going to school will form their own Trini-Venezuelan gangs here and the turf wars will be bloodier than ever. If you think now bad.

and that's only a part of the problem
With the amount of resources being used, and these people contributing absolutely NOTHING, while locals paying for their healthcare at public institutions, they work and pay no income tax or hs, etc, and their presence causing an increase in the cost of our already far too high import bill, how long can any reasonable person believe we can keep this up for before some aspect of our economy or institutions fail?
And when that happens, then what?

lewwe be real. BE REAL. bringing them into the NIS system will be a net drain. how much maternity benefit we going to shell out. 4 children, 5 children, 10 children, BE REAL BE REAL all nis maternity benefits to be paid and fund already insolvent. might as well scrap nis entirely once the bill comes

Postby pugboy » May 16th, 2023, 6:26 pm

she stirring shiet though,

hospital staff lack of language is a nonissue for folks who dont pay a cent in taxes yet dropping anchor babies every 9 months, nobody wants to talk about this elephant in the room for fear of being labelled xenophobic.

I am sure many would like to know the numbers and persons would have contemplated a foia request but holding back
because of a xenophobic backlash

Postby pugboy » May 16th, 2023, 6:28 pm

many venes have come here simply to utilize the free health care
who would not ?

paid_influencer wrote:
lewwe be real. BE REAL. bringing them into the NIS system will be a net drain. how much maternity benefit we going to shell out. 4 children, 5 children, 10 children, BE REAL BE REAL all nis maternity benefits to be paid and fund already insolvent. might as well scrap nis entirely once the bill comes

Postby 88sins » May 16th, 2023, 6:33 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

The_Honourable wrote:
[Kamla] noted: “Our public primary healthcare system is apparently open to them, but how effective is that when our medical staff do not speak their language?”

tru

Kamla back at hitting the puncheon hard again
If you move to an English speaking country, and could not be bothered to learn the language of the country that you choose to move to, explain to us please why the hell should citizens who are the majority be obligated to take up the language of the immigrants, the minority? Make that make sense.

Either learn English, or accept the limitations that your choices provide. Easy as that.

Postby The_Honourable » May 16th, 2023, 8:08 pm

Venes regularized and their generation to come will more than likely vote UNC than PNM.

Now you understand why Kamla wants them regularized.

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 17th, 2023, 8:03 am

This is fax

The_Honourable wrote:Venes regularized and their generation to come will more than likely vote UNC than PNM.

1.) this isn't a bad thing.
2.) Dont worry, she doesnt have any land next to central bank to give them

Postby MaxPower » May 17th, 2023, 10:47 am

What happened to the Venezuelans going back home? Ent allyuh say that?

Told you Trinis that the Venezuelans are here to stay whether you like it or not.

They WILL settle just as all the other immigrants.

Deal with it.

Postby j.o.e » May 18th, 2023, 9:50 am

The_Honourable wrote:Venes regularized and their generation to come will more than likely vote UNC than PNM.

And most live in areas UNC already win. Maths ain’t mathsing. Central stink with dem

Postby The_Honourable » May 18th, 2023, 10:14 am

j.o.e wrote:

And most live in areas UNC already win. Maths ain’t mathsing. Central stink with dem

True, but this is a long term strategy. Generations to come will not only solidify central but branch out as well. Targets would be most of those marginal constituencies.

Postby paid_influencer » May 18th, 2023, 5:16 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

True, but this is a long term strategy. Generations to come will not only solidify central but branch out as well. Targets would be most of those marginal constituencies.

nah

lewwe be real. BE REAL. The UNC have plenty man in their party that tie up with vene. Kamla interest is to at least speak about policies that give them what they want -- which is vene. BE REAL bE REAL. This ent four-dimensional chess going on. She just giving core unc supporters what they want

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 19th, 2023, 9:47 am

Why not?

Postby MaxPower » May 19th, 2023, 10:00 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Yes

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2023, 10:34 pm

how many do you think the quota should be?

Postby MaxPower » May 22nd, 2023, 12:00 pm

IMG_1539.JPG

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/m ... ed539.html

For those who may be willing to help, Escalona and her mother can be reached at 1 (868) 3491956 or 1 (868) 767-1517.

Postby adnj » May 22nd, 2023, 1:00 pm

There are just a couple of telephone numbers? No GoFundMe-like website? Not even a PayPal account? What's that about?

You can't be serious about crowd-sourcing your livelihood if you aren't at least doing the basics.

Postby MaxPower » May 22nd, 2023, 1:15 pm

adnj wrote:There are just a couple of telephone numbers? No GoFundMe-like website? Not even a PayPal account? What's that about?

You can't be serious about crowd-sourcing your livelihood if you aren't at least doing the basics.

adnj,

Did you at least call the number for more information?

Postby alfa » May 22nd, 2023, 1:27 pm

I think this country had done enough already. Sorry will not be contributing