Thermostat
The thermostat’s job is to block the flow of coolant so a cold engine will warm up quickly, and to then maintain the engine’s operating temperature within a certain range. Most are set to open at 195° or higher.
A bad thermostat is often blamed for causing an engine to overheat. But in many cases, the thermostat is a victim and not the cause of the problem. Severe overheating can often damage the wax element in a good thermostat, which is why it should always be tested following an episode of overheating even if you’ve diagnosed something else as the cause (like a coolant leak).
You can check the thermostat by starting the engine and feeling the upper radiator hose (or use an infrared non-contact thermometer to read its temperature). The hose should not feel uncomfortably hot until the engine has warmed up and the thermostat opens. If the hose does not get hot, it means the thermostat is not opening.
Another way to test the thermostat is to remove it and dip it into a pan of boiling water (it should open). The exact opening temperature can be checked by using a thermometer.
If the thermostat needs to be replaced, install one with the same temperature rating as the original. Using a cooler thermostat (160 or 180) in an attempt to "cure" poor cooling performance can increase fuel and oil consumption, ring wear and emissions. Vehicles with computerized engine controls use engine temperature to go into closed loop and to control other emission and drivetrain functions, so if the engine never reaches a normal operating temperature it can cause additional problems for your customer.
Biggs3ne wrote:^^ My car does the same thing from time to time as well and I'm thinking it's the step up motor or the solenoids in the transmission. I could be wrong.
KURMAman wrote:hey mety,
i dunno if u get meh msg bout buying de oil..i'll msg u in a few days nah..waiting to get paid.
sound boy 64 wrote:try belt dressing and see if it helps
rameshb wrote:sound boy 64 wrote:try belt dressing and see if it helps
tried that, didn`t help at all.....besides that i need to get both front door lock actuators for a cs2, it is a cable type so i don`t think the normal universal actuator would work...tried bella and bamboo..nothing
rameshb wrote:daeth365 wrote:an clip my right hand side mirror , had to replace glass @ caribbeanglass .... its not the same at all![]()
where can i find the original glass an part with clips alone .... not the whole housing ????
oh an price too plse
you could check Gazalie`s recently bought one for mines, by the way i change my fan belts and they can`t stop making that annoying noise,i tension the belts a couple times and no change...anyone know any good brand of belts i could get?
Biggs3ne wrote:Yep the problem lies with the actuator. Two issues to consider are if the actuator is getting sufficient current and if the actuator needs servicing or replacing.
mety57 wrote:rameshb wrote:daeth365 wrote:an clip my right hand side mirror , had to replace glass @ caribbeanglass .... its not the same at all![]()
where can i find the original glass an part with clips alone .... not the whole housing ????
oh an price too plse
you could check Gazalie`s recently bought one for mines, by the way i change my fan belts and they can`t stop making that annoying noise,i tension the belts a couple times and no change...anyone know any good brand of belts i could get?
hey padna i had that same problem with the belt the brand of the belt wasn,t the problem but it was the installation .. the ac belt was rubbing on the other belt right where it crossing because on the ac compressor had a extra groove and i line it up on the inner one but wasnt seeing it touching but when the car running noise so check the belt line up on the compressor btw normal gates belt works well
staggagoat wrote:anybody know where u could get coil pack and wiring for cs3 lancer 4g18 engine.
faiz auto have d wrong ting. also dem aftermarket coil pack any good????
mitsu_chick941 wrote:hey guys i'm having a little problem with my cs2, lemme see if i could describe it accurately.
When i'm driving, at random times i get a kinda jolt. Mostly when i mash the brakes, while slowing down i get the same jolt. I dunno what is causing it, do u guys have any idea?
Biggs3ne wrote:Hey Peeps, you all ever used Mitsubishi ASA? I'm seeing that there is one for the US, Japan, Europe and General.
I'm tryna figure out which one to download for my car, CS3 4G18 engine!!!
Any advice?
Team Loco wrote:anyone has the part number for the fan control unit? mines is faded. trying to source it online to purchase
staggagoat wrote:NEED SOME ADVICE: CS3 lancer with 4G18 engine
What other engine can i use to replace my 4g18 that is better and uses the same mounts.
What will i need and who can do it. Also COST.