T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

drchaos

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby drchaos » November 1st, 2015, 8:20 pm

Is mazda to blame or SS?

Postby equipped2ripp » November 1st, 2015, 8:33 pm

Southern Sales gets the Mazdas on what is available for the South American market, more so Chile. The top Mazda mechs at Southern Sales are trained in Chile and Ecuador on a yearly basis.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 1st, 2015, 9:14 pm

But South American market is left hand drive? All of the other Japanese car makers give us, south east Asia and Oceania spec.

But isn't there some choice with the options offered? I have spoken to one of the one senior SS sales people and he says they can bring in the mazda 3 2.0 but the cost would be same as the entry level Mazda 6 and that doesn't make sense to them.

Postby j.o.e » November 2nd, 2015, 8:54 am

All this back and forth about the Mazda 3 engine is summed up by engine tax. Mazda uses large displacement engines around the world in their 3. Stop whining about it a 2.0 Mazda 3 will not be competitive in price as long as we have the archaic engine tax.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 2nd, 2015, 9:42 am

You could not be more wrong! It's not down to engine tax because the mazda 3 base engine is a 1.5L skyactiv engine. The fact that they use an older 1.6L engines goes against your logic... they would be paying a little bit more on the engine tax of that old engine.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 2nd, 2015, 10:05 am

Well he did mention the 2.0 option. Don't think he was talking about the 1.6 at all.

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » November 2nd, 2015, 10:24 am

The newer 1.5 Skyactiv is more power, and more fuel efficient (http://www.carguide.ph/2014/04/first-drive-2014-mazda3-15-v-and-20-r.html) and from my (admittedly small amount of) searching, all the major international markets where the 3 sells are using the 1.5. It's almost like they went out of their way to find a worse engine in every way to sell.

Postby cinco » November 2nd, 2015, 11:33 am

Back to my original statement. Third world markets get whatever sheit they can send

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » November 2nd, 2015, 9:25 pm

New Hyundai ix25 / Creta, GL -$189 900, GLS $219 900

Main differences between level seems to be Rear view camera, full "leather", full auto ac, smart key. It kind of makes me think of a cross between a Vitara and Evoque.
Creta 2015.jpg

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 3rd, 2015, 9:53 am

I think that thing is manufactured in India ... would stay far away.

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » November 3rd, 2015, 11:27 am

It's sold in India (mostly as manual diesel) and in China as well, all the reviews I've read and watched were very impressed with build quality. It comes in a lot lower in price than the HRV and looks pretty good I find. I think it will do well since everybody wants a small SUV/crossover these days.

Postby j.o.e » November 3rd, 2015, 2:54 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Well he did mention the 2.0 option. Don't think he was talking about the 1.6 at all.

Yup ... I thought that was obvious. Also SS chose the old 1.6 over the new more powerful and efficient 1.5 because the average shopper things bigger is better and have never researched skyactiv.
Yes I know some people are more educated than that , but I'm not gonna argue the logic.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 3rd, 2015, 4:26 pm

drchaos wrote:I think that thing is manufactured in India ... would stay far away.

Why?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 3rd, 2015, 4:54 pm

drchaos wrote:I think that thing is manufactured in India ... would stay far away.

Why?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 3rd, 2015, 4:55 pm

Why?

Postby cinco » November 3rd, 2015, 5:23 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Why?

Because made in Brazil volkswagens are better. :/

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 3rd, 2015, 5:32 pm

cinco wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Why?

Cough Mexico cough

Postby cinco » November 3rd, 2015, 5:36 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
cinco wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Why?

Cough Mexico cough

Sorry sir thanks for the correction

Postby tr1ad » November 3rd, 2015, 9:16 pm

Doh be on VW fadda

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » November 3rd, 2015, 9:17 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Well he did mention the 2.0 option. Don't think he was talking about the 1.6 at all.

Yup ... I thought that was obvious. Also SS chose the old 1.6 over the new more powerful and efficient 1.5 because the average shopper things bigger is better and have never researched skyactiv.
Yes I know some people are more educated than that , but I'm not gonna argue the logic.

That logic just blew my mind. I can see now that people don't research their vehicles even though it's a couple hundred thousand they're paying... and they're idiots.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 4th, 2015, 1:11 am

I'm having trouble finding information that shows the 1.5 sky engine is more powerful than the 1.6 mzr. I have found information to the contrary though.

The next thing that might be a bit troubling is the compression ratio on the 2.0; An affordable compact car might see trouble to sell in trinidad if it needs premium fuel in addition to the mvt for a 2.0 engine. There also appears to be two versions of the 2.0 sky engine; a 14:1 and a 13:1 compression ratio. I am unsure which one we get here.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 4th, 2015, 9:02 am

It makes a few less HP but it is supposed to be more efficient.
But we can all try to take a guess as to the logic SS is using.
From what I have read all their Skyactiv engines use AKI 87 which translates to super even tho the compression ratio's are high. The direct injection and new exhaust manifold allows for the engine to run cooler.

jedismurf99

Postby jedismurf99 » November 4th, 2015, 9:25 am

Our super tests at 93-94 RON. We're fine. Besides with knock sensors in everything it's not going to matter for any mainstream vehicle, you might just lose like ~1% max power output with throttle wide open if the recommendation was 95+.

Edit: As far as running on premium also, the 6 uses the Skyactiv 2.0 and can run fine on super.
Last edited by jedismurf99 on November 4th, 2015, 9:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 4th, 2015, 9:26 am

Lol @ anyone thinking SS could tell Mazda hey we only want the 1.6 and doh send the 1.5 Skyactiv in d new 3. Mazda clearly sends what they want.

neexis

Postby neexis » November 4th, 2015, 11:16 am

tr1ad wrote:Doh be on VW fadda

Dem lyin cheatin scyamps

Postby cinco » November 4th, 2015, 11:25 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Lol @ anyone thinking SS could tell Mazda hey we only want the 1.6 and doh send the 1.5 Skyactiv in d new 3. Mazda clearly sends what they want.

I'm actually liking that 1.5 Mazda 2 alot

Postby noshownogo » November 4th, 2015, 11:49 am

Yeah the new one is good looking, the outgoing was real basic if I had to describe the exterior.

New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 4th, 2015, 12:01 pm

cinco wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Lol @ anyone thinking SS could tell Mazda hey we only want the 1.6 and doh send the 1.5 Skyactiv in d new 3. Mazda clearly sends what they want.

I'm actually liking that 1.5 Mazda 2 alot

Mazda whole lineup looks good. Would have been nice if they were boosted.
Last edited by Allergic2BunnyEars on November 4th, 2015, 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby noshownogo » November 4th, 2015, 12:18 pm

Yeah the new one is good looking, the outgoing was real basic if I had to describe the exterior.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 4th, 2015, 2:54 pm

I have read that the 2.0 sky engine with the 14:1 compression ratio requires premium.... despite all the fancy technologies/engineering

I have no test of our fuel but I am off the belief that super is below the 92 ron that is stated.

No knock sensor helping you if you constantly put the wrong fuel in. There is only so much timing you can pull with 14:1. Might start running like a diesel :shock: