COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 300 cases, 8 deaths, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 11th, 2020, 8:18 pm

no way 2 labs can keep up with that as they already seem to be behind schedule.

Dohplaydat wrote:Given our testing rates and the number of unknown source cases, it's safe to say we're at the beginning of our exponential increase and it's likely we'll be having 50-200 cases daily for most of this month if not more (once testing can keep up).

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 11th, 2020, 9:18 pm

Add tunapuna police station to the list. An officer attached to there tested +

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 11th, 2020, 9:19 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Over 100 cases in less than a week.
At least there have been no more deaths and the facilities are not overwhelmed

Atm, they are looking into pt.fortin and arima hospitals as back ups

Postby redmanjp » August 11th, 2020, 10:48 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Over 100 cases in less than a week.
At least there have been no more deaths and the facilities are not overwhelmed

with exponential increase there will be a lot more ppl going into the hospital than being discharged so that may soon change- 1 person in ICU

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 11th, 2020, 11:54 pm

Last week Tuesday == 49
This week Tuesday == 153
Next week Tuesday == 400..500 (?)

"It is what it is.." == "We have to live with it.."

We're still on an upward growth trajectory..

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 11th, 2020, 11:57 pm

#We're movin on up....#
https://aatishb.com/covidtrends/?locati ... and+Tobago [press play]

Postby shogun » August 12th, 2020, 12:00 am

pugboy wrote:no way 2 labs can keep up with that as they already seem to be behind schedule.

This.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 12th, 2020, 12:10 am

Why the Second Wave of the 1918 Spanish Flu Was So Deadly
The first strain of the Spanish flu wasn’t particularly deadly. Then it came back in the fall with a vengeance.

The horrific scale of the 1918 influenza pandemic—known as the "Spanish flu"—is hard to fathom. The virus infected 500 million people worldwide and killed an estimated 20 million to 50 million victims—that’s more than all of the soldiers and civilians killed during World War I combined.

The second wave of the 1918 pandemic was much more deadly than the first. The first wave had resembled typical flu epidemics; those most at risk were the sick and elderly, while younger, healthier people recovered easily. October 1918 was the month with the highest fatality rate of the whole pandemic.

While the global pandemic lasted for two years, a significant number of deaths were packed into three especially cruel months in the fall of 1918. Historians now believe that the fatal severity of the Spanish flu’s “second wave” was caused by a mutated virus spread by wartime troop movements.

Sources:
https://www.history.com/news/spanish-fl ... resurgence
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spanish_f ... _late_1918
https://www.cdc.gov/flu/pandemic-resour ... -waves.htm
https://www.cdc.gov/flu/pandemic-resour ... e-1918.htm

Postby The_Honourable » August 12th, 2020, 12:20 am

Good job with the charts FrankChag

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » August 12th, 2020, 12:32 am

The_Honourable wrote:Good job with the charts FrankChag

It's how I keep calm .. data.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 12th, 2020, 6:26 am

Add another for Tobago

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 12th, 2020, 6:50 am

Saw two ambulance last night pelting through penal. Occupants in full suit

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 12th, 2020, 6:58 am

Question.
Seeing that the "new" government has not been sworn in yet, who is in charge for making any decisions at the ministry of health in the mean time? CMO? Permanent secretary?

Postby SMc » August 12th, 2020, 7:32 am

I would expect the existing government to make these decisions- I don't think we are in a situation where there is no government in place

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2020, 7:47 am

popular bar on upper carlos st has to close and sanitize yesterday after worker tested positive i hear

Postby pete » August 12th, 2020, 7:56 am

People still going to bars and socialising in a pandemic? Keep it up I guess.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 12th, 2020, 7:57 am

Bars ram out

Postby zoom rader » August 12th, 2020, 7:58 am

Undertakers will be pleased

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2020, 8:02 am

bars in woodbrook normel

esp the liverpool one on ave
everyday packed like sardines

ST Auto wrote:Bars ram out

Postby Dizzy28 » August 12th, 2020, 8:12 am

pugboy wrote:bars in woodbrook normel

There is a Liverpool themed bar on the Avenue??
I clearly haven't been out much!!

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2020, 8:46 am

Next to irie bites

pugboy wrote:bars in woodbrook normel

There is a Liverpool themed bar on the Avenue??
I clearly haven't been out much!!

Postby Chimera » August 12th, 2020, 8:52 am

pete wrote:People still going to bars and socialising in a pandemic? Keep it up I guess.

boy..i eh understand that na

i shunning and blanking direct family because of corona

my brothers not allowed to go home by my mother

i blanking every single bday lime and house lime

yet i seeing the masses happily liming in bars and public

normally i have two little nephews who does come stay off and on with me as they home ....all that i stop....

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2020, 9:02 am

It’s getting closer and closer to everybody
Everybody knows of an establishment nearby which has had to close to sanitize

Our general population is indisciplined

Postby Dave » August 12th, 2020, 9:02 am

And that's very much overkill but highly commendable of you.

Since elections have been completed I am limiting my outings as little as possible.

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 9:43 am

it could be that even though we are getting more cases than the first wave in march/april it's due to more testing (community & private lab tests), at the time we only had CARPHA testing returning nationals & primary contacts and salt for everybody else.
So we may have had hundreds more undetected cases at that time that ppl started to die every couple days so govt took a calculated guess that community spread was happening and shutdown the country- and now they know that because we not seeing deaths yet we OK- but even so it still worrying.

Postby De Dragon » August 12th, 2020, 9:49 am

Dave wrote:And that's very much overkill but highly commendable of you.

Since elections have been completed I am limiting my outings as little as possible.

Yuh was campaigning or wha' :lol:
I said a while ago, that when all the phases were compete, was the time to maintain, or even increase your vigilance.

Postby Chimera » August 12th, 2020, 10:03 am

Nah....my brother lime with someone who quarantined in caura....because his co worker positive

Then my nephews does be around a cousin who home 3 weeks now waiting on her corona results because she sick and her work send her to take a test.

So not really overkill

Dave wrote:And that's very much overkill but highly commendable of you.

Postby adnj » August 12th, 2020, 10:05 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
pete wrote:People still going to bars and socialising in a pandemic? Keep it up I guess.

normally i have two little nephews who does come stay off and on with me as they home ....all that i stop....
This is exactly what is meant by "stay home" -- limiting your physical interaction to the smallest number of people possible to slow the spread of infection.

Postby De Dragon » August 12th, 2020, 10:08 am

adnj wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

This is exactly what is meant by "stay home" -- limiting your physical interaction to the smallest number of people possible to slow the spread of infection.

Good advice but only IF it can be followed practically. My mother in law is over 70 and we physically have to go from time to time to drop groceries, and other supplies, collect and fill prescriptions etc. All with minimal contact, but still.

Postby redmanjp » August 12th, 2020, 10:13 am

adnj wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

Good advice but only IF it can be followed practically. My mother in law is over 70 and we physically have to go from time to time to drop groceries, and other supplies, collect and fill prescriptions etc. All with minimal contact, but still.

just wear masks when u visit- make sure she wipe at least the cold/frozen foods before putting in in the fridge and wash hands after and leave the rest to sit for 1-2 days before putting it away .