Riots in the USA

Redress10

Re: Riots in the USA

Postby Redress10 » June 16th, 2020, 11:15 pm

Bro

I went to school in the UK. It's not part of the school curriculum. English history speaks little of it. Uk kids don't know anything abt "colonies". Even when it is mentioned it is mentioned within the context of US independence or what was done in far east such as hong kong etc. It doesn't touch on the caribbean or slavery or indentureship.

The average brit just knows that they were once an "empire" Don't ask them what that empire consisted of.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 16th, 2020, 11:19 pm

"If we were all taught about colonial history in school, we’d learn at a young age that many of the people who came here from colonies and former colonies did so as citizens, not as immigrants. We’d discuss how so-called immigration policies introduced from the 1960s onward were designed to make it more difficult for people of colour to come to this country, and we’d examine the forms of resistance that came with this."

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfr ... -migration
Last edited by Redress10 on June 16th, 2020, 11:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » June 16th, 2020, 11:24 pm

Statues have never been about history. Statues have always been about propaganda.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 16th, 2020, 11:25 pm

Redress10 wrote:If we were all taught about colonial history in school, we’d learn at a young age that many of the people who came here from colonies and former colonies did so as citizens, not as immigrants. We’d discuss how so-called immigration policies introduced from the 1960s onward were designed to make it more difficult for people of colour to come to this country, and we’d examine the forms of resistance that came with this.

Not saying your wrong but I have UK friends who have said the opposite. In fact one of them used to be a teacher and he was the one who told me that they learned about all their colonies etc. He knew Brits exported cocoa and sugar out of Trinidad and then later oil.

Postby paid_influencer » June 16th, 2020, 11:27 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Not saying your wrong but I have UK friends who have said the opposite. In fact one of them used to be a teacher and he was the one who told me that they learned about all their colonies etc. He knew Brits exported cocoa and sugar out of Trinidad and then later oil.

might be primary school vs secondary school level classes. O-Level geography is just naming places and facts associated with them.

doh blame redress. he trying

Postby paid_influencer » June 16th, 2020, 11:34 pm

Redress10 wrote:If we were all taught about colonial history in school, we’d learn at a young age that many of the people who came here from colonies and former colonies did so as citizens, not as immigrants. We’d discuss how so-called immigration policies introduced from the 1960s onward were designed to make it more difficult for people of colour to come to this country, and we’d examine the forms of resistance that came with this.

to which country? :drinking:

Postby zoom rader » June 16th, 2020, 11:50 pm

Redress10 wrote:"If we were all taught about colonial history in school, we’d learn at a young age that many of the people who came here from colonies and former colonies did so as citizens, not as immigrants. We’d discuss how so-called immigration policies introduced from the 1960s onward were designed to make it more difficult for people of colour to come to this country, and we’d examine the forms of resistance that came with this."

You not from the UK

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 17th, 2020, 12:16 am

Redress10 wrote:"If we were all taught about colonial history in school, we’d learn at a young age that many of the people who came here from colonies and former colonies did so as citizens, not as immigrants. We’d discuss how so-called immigration policies introduced from the 1960s onward were designed to make it more difficult for people of colour to come to this country, and we’d examine the forms of resistance that came with this."

You not from the UK

You don't know where I am from or where I was born.

Postby Gladiator » June 17th, 2020, 6:05 am

And our local school system glorifies colonialism...every history text book teaches you all from the Spanish to the English and Portuguese.

They don't spare the illustrations with all of the slaves chained up by the neck and all the white men in their fancy drag clothes.

Nothing is taught about pre colonial cultures regarding African or Indian people. Just a little sprinkle about the Caribs and Arawaks and their primitive ways.

In schools in Africa and India it's even worse. They teach that the white man is next to god and should be worshipped.

Redress10 wrote:Bro

I went to school in the UK. It's not part of the school curriculum. English history speaks little of it. Uk kids don't know anything abt "colonies". Even when it is mentioned it is mentioned within the context of US independence or what was done in far east such as hong kong etc. It doesn't touch on the caribbean or slavery or indentureship.

The average brit just knows that they were once an "empire" Don't ask them what that empire consisted of.

Postby bluefete » June 17th, 2020, 7:08 am

When I was a student in Form 2, we got a teacher - Mrs. Emeagwali, who taught us African history. One of the best classes ever. She taught us about the great kingdoms of Africa and their contributions to the world.

By the next year, the school got rid of her.

Gladiator wrote:And our local school system glorifies colonialism...every history text book teaches you all from the Spanish to the English and Portuguese.

They don't spare the illustrations with all of the slaves chained up by the neck and all the white men in their fancy drag clothes.

Nothing is taught about pre colonial cultures regarding African or Indian people. Just a little sprinkle about the Caribs and Arawaks and their primitive ways.

In schools in Africa and India it's even worse. They teach that the white man is next to god and should be worshipped.

Postby alfa » June 17th, 2020, 9:48 am

bluefete wrote:When I was a student in Form 2, we got a teacher - Mrs. Emeagwali, who taught us African history. One of the best classes ever. She taught us about the great kingdoms of Africa and their contributions to the world.

Gladiator wrote:And our local school system glorifies colonialism...every history text book teaches you all from the Spanish to the English and Portuguese.

History as a subject should be removed or at least heavily modified as in its current state as it's heavily one sided and causes more harm than good. We keep hearing of the plight of the African slave to the point where today people like Dr Cudjoe blames all of the black community's failure on such and the dangerous part is it absolves self responsibility for said failure. We never hear of the great Mali king Mansa Musa or the fact as Dr Morgan Job used highlight was that Eric Williams' grandfather was a slave owner, but PNM people don't want to hear that. We never hear about the white slave trade where white Christians were captured by North African and Muslim slave traders or that Zimbabwe was once a prosperous nation called Rhodesia but turned to the worse country on earth under black rule. Then we have local nut jobs like David Muhammed narrating an analysis from some great black 'thinker' who said that the game of pool was invented with the object of which is a white ball trying to sink a black ball which is really the white man trying to sink the black man, seriously dude...
All this nonsense just gives people a reason to underachieve and come up with all kinds of ridiculous ideas like reparations, speaking of which, when Indian people getting they money? Didn't we go through hardships as well albeit no nearly as severe, but I go take half what the black man getting. See how stupid the whole thing is for those who not mature enough to study history and take the good and leave the bad just like with the Columbus statue. The liberal media doesn't help either, why do they always paint the NRA as a a racist neo nazi organisation but will never say that the NRA was founded by two union army officers who were fighting against slavery held areas in the confederate south or that civil rights activist Roy Innis was an NRA board member. And get this the union army who fought to stop slavery were actually republicans, there's something you never hear in history class.
Either way I think it is more important to study recent history of things with more relevance on within the last hundred years but by definition that's not old enough to be considered history. I'm sure there are CXC history students that can tell you all about the discovery of the new world but don't even know it had an attempted coup here in 1990.

Postby zoom rader » June 17th, 2020, 9:51 am

alfa wrote:
bluefete wrote:When I was a student in Form 2, we got a teacher - Mrs. Emeagwali, who taught us African history. One of the best classes ever. She taught us about the great kingdoms of Africa and their contributions to the world.

History as a subject should be removed or at least heavily modified as in its current state as it's heavily one sided and causes more harm than good. We keep hearing of the plight of the African slave to the point where today people like Dr Cudjoe blames all of the black community's failure on such and the dangerous part is it absolves self responsibility for said failure. We never hear of the great Mali king Mansa Musa or the fact as Dr Morgan Job used highlight was that Eric Williams' grandfather was a slave owner, but PNM people don't want to hear that. We never hear about the white slave trade where white Christians were captured by North African and Muslim slave traders or that Zimbabwe was once a prosperous nation called Rhodesia but turned to the worse country on earth under black rule. Then we have local nut jobs like David Muhammed narrating an analysis from some great black 'thinker' who said that the game of pool was invented with the object of which is a white ball trying to sink a black ball which is really the white man trying to sink the black man, seriously dude...
All this nonsense just gives people a reason to underachieve and come up with all kinds of ridiculous ideas like reparations, speaking of which, when Indian people getting they money? Didn't we go through hardships as well albeit no nearly as severe, but I go take half what the black man getting. See how stupid the whole thing is for those who not mature enough to study history and take the good and leave the bad just like with the Columbus statue. The liberal media doesn't help either, why do they always paint the NRA as a a racist neo nazi organisation but will never say that the NRA was founded by two union army officers who were fighting against slavery held areas in the confederate south or that civil rights activist Roy Innis was an NRA board member. And get this the union army who fought to stop slavery were actually republicans, there's something you never hear in history class.
Either way I think it is more important to study recent history of things with more relevance on within the last hundred years but by definition that's not old enough to be considered history. I'm sure there are CXC history students that can tell you all about the discovery of the new world but don't even know it had an attempted coup here in 1990.
U going real deep there.

This is tuner and not much folk bright in here to understand what you wrote.

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2020, 9:59 am

We were taught about the fruits the CAribs and Arawaks ate, the canoes they used and their living camps
And also Caribs bad, Arawaks docile, names of places with Amerindian names.
End of history right there.

Postby Les Bain » June 17th, 2020, 10:27 am

How come Woodford Square closed months now? So long it does take to prune trees or Woodford was a racist oppressor as well?

Diagonal shortcuts matter!

Postby Dizzy28 » June 17th, 2020, 10:33 am

Les Bain wrote:How come Woodford Square closed months now? So long it does take to prune trees or Woodford was a racist oppressor as well?

Diagonal shortcuts matter!

Without even googling it I am sure by today's moral and societal standards Ralph Woodford would be classed as a racist oppressor.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 17th, 2020, 12:10 pm

Alfa

All of that you are saying is not really making sense. If you want to understand white supremacy you need to look at the most recent case of places such as Iraq etc. It's a known fact that the war in Iraq wasn't about terrorism or "freedom" but about oil. Same with Venezuela. Bankers, politicians and industry titans get together and conspire to steal a nation's resources and wreck the economy. This is modern day pillaging. Do you ever see this being done to a white country say Denmark? Remember Trump's sh*thole remarks? Sh*thole countries lives don't matter.

Ask yourself this, why after all these years of independence the major energy companies in TT have all been foreign? Do you honestly think that they could have been excluded from the energy sector and we not face some sort of serious repercussions? Again, modern day pillaging in a different form.

As much as Mugabe may be an ineffective leader remember what caused Zimbabwe to deteriorate. It was not only the sanctions etc but also the exclusion from the world. This is another thing they do. Because they control all the major international governing bodies such as IMF etc they are able to exclude people who stand up to them. Mugabe started to take back lands from white farmers. This resulted in sanctions etc and Zimbabwe deteriorated. Alot of it is also economic manipulation and collusion by white entities.

When Apartheid finished and blacks were abt to rule, South Africa dismantled their nuclear weapons, the first and only nation to do so. So nuclear weapons don't belong to the state of South Africa it only belonged to the white leaders of South Africa in partnership with other white countries.

Alot of history is about brain washing to make africans feel inferior. Remember, propaganda claims that africans were discovered by Columbus etc and immediately became slaves. Another propaganda is that africans caught and sold slaves. What they never tell you about are the many battles africans fought to rescue slaves who were about to be taken etc. Remember history is written by the victors. Another lie is that africans became christians because of slavery. Christianity existed in Africa for centuries before slavery. There were africans in the roman army before Britain was even founded. Don't be mistaken.

The reason there is calls for reparations is the belief that black labour built the western world but black people were not compensated for it hence they were not able to build generational wealth to uplift the living conditons of their families or communities. Indians are not categorised similarly because they came voluntarily and were still compensated for their efforts plus they also had the opportunity to return to their homeland. Africans were not afforded this opportunity and those who came as slaves now have no ties to Africa with no knowledge of their lineage.

Postby MaxPower » June 17th, 2020, 12:48 pm

Redress10 wrote:It's a known fact that the war in Iraq wasn't about terrorism or "freedom" but about oil.

I wonder what the BLM protesting is really about.

I have a strong feeling that the real outcome is not in favor of our black brothers and sisters.

Postby alfa » June 17th, 2020, 1:08 pm

Redress10 wrote:Alfa

All of that you are saying is not really making sense. If you want to understand white supremacy you need to look at the most recent case of places such as Iraq etc. It's a known fact that the war in Iraq wasn't about terrorism or "freedom" but about oil. Same with Venezuela. Bankers, politicians and industry titans get together and conspire to steal a nation's resources and wreck the economy. This is modern day pillaging. Do you ever see this being done to a white country say Denmark? Remember Trump's sh*thole remarks? Sh*thole countries lives don't matter.

Ask yourself this, why after all these years of independence the major energy companies in TT have all been foreign? Do you honestly think that they could have been excluded from the energy sector and we not face some sort of serious repercussions? Again, modern day pillaging in a different form.

As much as Mugabe may be an ineffective leader remember what caused Zimbabwe to deteriorate. It was not only the sanctions etc but also the exclusion from the world. This is another thing they do. Because they control all the major international governing bodies such as IMF etc they are able to exclude people who stand up to them. Mugabe started to take back lands from white farmers. This resulted in sanctions etc and Zimbabwe deteriorated. Alot of it is also economic manipulation and collusion by white entities.

When Apartheid finished and blacks were abt to rule, South Africa dismantled their nuclear weapons, the first and only nation to do so. So nuclear weapons don't belong to the state of South Africa it only belonged to the white leaders of South Africa in partnership with other white countries.

Alot of history is about brain washing to make africans feel inferior. Remember, propaganda claims that africans were discovered by Columbus etc and immediately became slaves. Another propaganda is that africans caught and sold slaves. What they never tell you about are the many battles africans fought to rescue slaves who were about to be taken etc. Remember history is written by the victors. Another lie is that africans became christians because of slavery. Christianity existed in Africa for centuries before slavery. There were africans in the roman army before Britain was even founded. Don't be mistaken.

The reason there is calls for reparations is the belief that black labour built the western world but black people were not compensated for it hence they were not able to build generational wealth to uplift the living conditons of their families or communities. Indians are not categorised similarly because they came voluntarily and were still compensated for their efforts plus they also had the opportunity to return to their homeland. Africans were not afforded this opportunity and those who came as slaves now have no ties to Africa with no knowledge of their lineage.

I can't agree with most of what you've said. We all know that the war on terror was about oil but it had more to do with imperialism rather than race, if it was about race why didn't Obama stop it as a black man? As to Venezuela many of its citizens can pass as white so again race isn't a factor. Not to mention Israel being America's biggest ally and probably instigated some of its wars against Muslim countries but you forgot that the far right hates Jews as much as blacks so once again it isn't about white supremacy or else they wouldn't have anything to do with Israel
As to Rhodesia when they requested independence from England they had a policy to grant autonomy to the majority, which get this, were the blacks. That's why the war started in the first because the whites thought that the brits unjustly favoured the blacks over them and then all white countries pulled support leaving the Rhodesia whites to fight the war on their own so race was never an issue but quite the opposite . However I readily admit the whites wanted to maintain racist control over the country. As to black slave traders I'm pretty sure that was not a myth, how else would a few white men on a ship capture hundreds of strong black men and put them in chains by themselves before guns were invented, but I'll do more research on that. Either way as I said all this info is practically useless if and downright harmful if people use it as an excuse for their own shortcomings and none of this taught in schools gonna help someone be a doctor or lawyer or engineer. These kind of subjects just fuel liberal BLM type protestors. Lets focus on our present day problems like flooding and crime

Postby Ben_spanna » June 17th, 2020, 1:17 pm

Redress10 wrote:It's a known fact that the war in Iraq wasn't about terrorism or "freedom" but about oil.

I have a strong feeling that the real outcome is not in favor of our black brothers and sisters.

no sh1t sherlock :roll:

Postby adnj » June 17th, 2020, 1:36 pm

If you take the time to do the reading or do some post graduate studies, you will likely find that control of oil was the popular conspiracy theory and elimination of WMDs was the popular political rationale.

VP Richard Cheney, along with others in the Bush 43 administration, wanted to establish the USA as the dominant political power particularly in a post-9/11 world.

Cheney was Secretary of Defense for Bush 41 during the Gulf War. The purpose of the '91 Iraq War was to utilize the Saudi regime as a control for Middle Eastern states. The focus was to reduce Russian and Chinese political involvement in the region. Many Russian, Chinese and North Korean arms were being sold to North African and Middle Eastern countries.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 17th, 2020, 1:59 pm

Alfa

Imperialism is tied to racism. If it wasn't then the countries to be invaded and destabilised wouldn't be brown and black countries. The farmine and genocide taking place today in Yemen is no different to the farmine and genocide that took place in India by Churchill. Again, black and brown lives matter less than white lives. A terrorist attack in Paris gets more coverage than a terrorist attack in Pakistan.

Obama can't stop it because he is a puppet of the white power structure. The rules are already laid out for any president who sits in that seat. Do you feel that a system that has been built up for centuries can be erased in a 4 year or 8 year term?

Venezuelans may be able to "pass as white" in your eyes but to americans and europeans they will never be white. That alone tells me that you don't even understand race. Race is not about skin colour or complexion. It is about genetics. White in today's context usually refers to white ango saxon protestants or WASP. A latina white looking person will never be viewed as white. Italians are also not viewed as white but are considered "brown". Even spanish people are not viewed as white because they are not typically blonde haired and blue eyes.

Israel got to its position via wealth and influence. The far right that you speak of such as KKK etc may not be as influential as you think. The far right usually consists of the white lower classes. The degenerates and rejects who have been fed stories that they are the lowest in society because of "immigrants" etc. This is just manipulation by white upper classes so that the lower white classes don't turn inward at them. So any group of people who are educated and more sophisticated than them will always have more influence than them.

With Rhodesia, that was the result of decolonising. Had the brits still wanted Rhodesia they would have gotten involved. Also remember that it was still possible for whites to migrate to europe based on their blood rule meaning if they had a parent or grandparent who was european then they could have migrated. The white powers just knew how to effectively exclude africans from economic structures etc. No need for force.

The slave catcher thing is simple. Was the european armies the most powerful at the time? Didn't the europeans constantly at war with each other? Weren't they more advanced militarily and had better equipment etc. Remember, the slave trade was west african based. They didn't conquer all of africa just to sell a couple of slaves. This was happening on the western coast of africa. As much as some slaves were sold as property, some were also captured. It was easy for europeans to conquer. Hernan Cortez defeated the natives with a couple horses.

The reality about this is some people are not aware of their history so they need to be taught such. A doctor, lawyer or engineer are jobs specific to TT. Do you think that all over the world those are the only jobs that are valued by people? Yet in TT we continue with this myth? Isn't that part of our colonial brainwashing? Are you saying that unless you are one of those professions then you have no value to the society or the world?

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2020, 2:00 pm

it usually backfires somehow
for example isis was born out of the iraqi prisoner camps they left behind and we all know how that turned out.

americas “deliverance” of freedom has never worked and likely never will

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 17th, 2020, 2:04 pm

adnj wrote:

If you take the time to do the reading or do some post graduate studies, you will likely find that control of oil was the popular conspiracy theory and elimination of WMDs was the popular political rationale.

VP Richard Cheney, along with others in the Bush 43 administration, wanted to establish the USA as the dominant political power particularly in a post-9/11 world.

Cheney was Secretary of Defense for Bush 41 during the Gulf War. The purpose of the '91 Iraq War was to utilize the Saudi regime as a control for Middle Eastern states. The focus was to reduce Russian and Chinese political involvement in the region. Many Russian, Chinese and North Korean arms were being sold to North African and Middle Eastern countries.

And everything comes back down to owning the resources of the world for private profit. Deals made in backrooms between global elites will never make it into post gradute studies to be disected by the common man. This world is owned and run by global elites. American elites, british elites, russian elites and now chinese elites. The military ia just a tool and a front for modern day conquest to own and control global resources.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 17th, 2020, 2:11 pm

pugboy wrote:it usually backfires somehow
for example isis was born out of the iraqi prisoner camps they left behind and we all know how that turned out.

americas “deliverance” of freedom has never worked and likely never will

That is because it was never about "freedom". It has always been about resources. Why isn't freedom spread to poor african countries that living under dictatorships? Where was Rwanda's freedom? Why would USA "invests" 1.5+ trillion us dollars in Iraq just for "freedom"? No, it's an investment to gain control of one of the largest oil nations on the planet. Iran and Venezuela have what in common again?

Also, remember the corruption that goes into military industrial complex. The US spends more on their military budget alone than Russia, India, china, eu etc combined. You don't spend that much money to just have your army getting fat.

Suspects Arrested for Minneapolis Police Fire

Postby adnj » June 17th, 2020, 2:15 pm

A former Menards store security guard was charged Monday with arson that damaged the Minneapolis Police Department’s Third Precinct building following the May 25 killing of George Floyd in police custody.

Branden M. Wolfe, 23, of St. Paul, is the first person to be charged in connection with the Third Precinct building fire. Hundreds of businesses were damaged in south Minneapolis and St. Paul in the aftermath of Floyd’s death on Memorial Day.

https://www.startribune.com/man-charged ... 571115042/
--------

A Minnesota man arrested in Colorado has been charged on suspicion of setting some of the fires that destroyed a Minneapolis police station on a night when protests over the killing of George Floyd turned violent.

Dylan Shakespeare Robinson, 22, appeared briefly in federal court in Denver by video on Tuesday to be advised of the aiding and abetting of arson charge filed against him. He was arrested Sunday in the parking lot of the recreation center in the ski resort community of Breckenridge by the U.S. Marshals and agents from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. Investigators initially traced him to the Denver area.

https://www.mprnews.org/story/2020/06/1 ... olice-fire

Postby bluefete » June 17th, 2020, 3:17 pm

From Twitter: Not sure how to embed so I am giving the link:

This would NEVER have happened if he was ... well ... you know:

Scroll down to June 13th under Qasim Rashid For Congress and watch that video.

https://twitter.com/DawnandKevin1

Postby bluefete » June 17th, 2020, 3:31 pm

alfa wrote:

I can't agree with most of what you've said. We all know that the war on terror was about oil but it had more to do with imperialism rather than race, if it was about race why didn't Obama stop it as a black man? As to Venezuela many of its citizens can pass as white so again race isn't a factor. Not to mention Israel being America's biggest ally and probably instigated some of its wars against Muslim countries but you forgot that the far right hates Jews as much as blacks so once again it isn't about white supremacy or else they wouldn't have anything to do with Israel
As to Rhodesia when they requested independence from England they had a policy to grant autonomy to the majority, which get this, were the blacks. That's why the war started in the first because the whites thought that the brits unjustly favoured the blacks over them and then all white countries pulled support leaving the Rhodesia whites to fight the war on their own so race was never an issue but quite the opposite . However I readily admit the whites wanted to maintain racist control over the country. As to black slave traders I'm pretty sure that was not a myth, how else would a few white men on a ship capture hundreds of strong black men and put them in chains by themselves before guns were invented, but I'll do more research on that. Either way as I said all this info is practically useless if and downright harmful if people use it as an excuse for their own shortcomings and none of this taught in schools gonna help someone be a doctor or lawyer or engineer. These kind of subjects just fuel liberal BLM type protestors. Lets focus on our present day problems like flooding and crime

There you go. After making some interesting points, you go and spoil it all.

Go and tell the Jews to forget the Holocaust.
Go and tell the USA to forget 9/11.
But it is okay to tell the descendants of slaves to forget their history.

Postby bluefete » June 17th, 2020, 3:40 pm

alfa wrote:

Nothing is taught about pre colonial cultures regarding African or Indian people. Just a little sprinkle about the Caribs and Arawaks and their primitive ways. (The Caribs were cannibals. Not so? I need to ask my Aunts, who are direct descendants, about that.)

In schools in Africa and India it's even worse. They teach that the white man is next to god and should be worshipped. (In T&T as well. Did you ever see how our governments prefer 'foreign" over local. Some radio stations as well with their Yankee voiceovers.)

History as a subject should be removed or at least heavily modified as in its current state as it's heavily one sided and causes more harm than good. We keep hearing of the plight of the African slave to the point where today people like Dr Cudjoe blames all of the black community's failure on such and the dangerous part is it absolves self responsibility for said failure. We never hear of the great Mali king Mansa Musa (Mrs.Emeagwali taught us about him in Form 2)or the fact as Dr Morgan Job used highlight was that Eric Williams' grandfather was a slave owner, but PNM people don't want to hear that. We never hear about the white slave trade where white Christians were captured by North African and Muslim slave traders or that Zimbabwe was once a prosperous nation called Rhodesia but turned to the worse country on earth under black rule. Then we have local nut jobs like David Muhammed narrating an analysis from some great black 'thinker' who said that the game of pool was invented with the object of which is a white ball trying to sink a black ball which is really the white man trying to sink the black man, seriously dude...
Either way I think it is more important to study recent history of things with more relevance on within the last hundred years but by definition that's not old enough to be considered history. I'm sure there are CXC history students that can tell you all about the discovery of the new world but don't even know it had an attempted coup here in 1990(They know more about 1990 than 1970. 1970 is not taught in schools even though it had a greater socio-economic impact on T&T).
U going real deep there.

This is tuner and not much folk bright in here to understand what you wrote.

Postby alfa » June 17th, 2020, 3:51 pm

bluefete wrote:
alfa wrote:

There you go. After making some interesting points, you go and spoil it all.

Go and tell the Jews to forget the Holocaust.
Go and tell the USA to forget 9/11.
But it is okay to tell the descendants of slaves to forget their history.

What has history done for the descendants of slaves other than tell them everything is a conspiracy by the man to hold a 'brotha' down. The Jews used the holocaust to develop one of the most advanced albeit oppressive nations on earth. USA used 911 to strengthen their military and foster patriotism. They used it as an excuse to go after oil in the middle east as well, which while bad was to their selfish benefit. So I ask again what has history done for the descendants of slaves? That's why I said focus on the present and issues like single parents household and why children from board schools do inherently better than the others without using the rhetoric of slavery have it so

Postby alfa » June 17th, 2020, 3:58 pm

Imperialism is tied to racism. If it wasn't then the countries to be invaded and destabilised wouldn't be brown and black countries. The farmine and genocide taking place today in Yemen is no different to the farmine and genocide that took place in India by Churchill. Again, black and brown lives matter less than white lives. A terrorist attack in Paris gets more coverage than a terrorist attack in Pakistan.

Obama can't stop it because he is a puppet of the white power structure. The rules are already laid out for any president who sits in that seat. Do you feel that a system that has been built up for centuries can be erased in a 4 year or 8 year term?

Venezuelans may be able to "pass as white" in your eyes but to americans and europeans they will never be white. That alone tells me that you don't even understand race. Race is not about skin colour or complexion. It is about genetics. White in today's context usually refers to white ango saxon protestants or WASP. A latina white looking person will never be viewed as white. Italians are also not viewed as white but are considered "brown". Even spanish people are not viewed as white because they are not typically blonde haired and blue eyes.

Israel got to its position via wealth and influence. The far right that you speak of such as KKK etc may not be as influential as you think. The far right usually consists of the white lower classes. The degenerates and rejects who have been fed stories that they are the lowest in society because of "immigrants" etc. This is just manipulation by white upper classes so that the lower white classes don't turn inward at them. So any group of people who are educated and more sophisticated than them will always have more influence than them.

With Rhodesia, that was the result of decolonising. Had the brits still wanted Rhodesia they would have gotten involved. Also remember that it was still possible for whites to migrate to europe based on their blood rule meaning if they had a parent or grandparent who was european then they could have migrated. The white powers just knew how to effectively exclude africans from economic structures etc. No need for force.

The slave catcher thing is simple. Was the european armies the most powerful at the time? Didn't the europeans constantly at war with each other? Weren't they more advanced militarily and had better equipment etc. Remember, the slave trade was west african based. They didn't conquer all of africa just to sell a couple of slaves. This was happening on the western coast of africa. As much as some slaves were sold as property, some were also captured. It was easy for europeans to conquer. Hernan Cortez defeated the natives with a couple horses.

The reality about this is some people are not aware of their history so they need to be taught such. A doctor, lawyer or engineer are jobs specific to TT. Do you think that all over the world those are the only jobs that are valued by people? Yet in TT we continue with this myth? Isn't that part of our colonial brainwashing? Are you saying that unless you are one of those professions then you have no value to the society or the world?

I can't say for outside of TT as I never lived there, it might be a myth or colonial brainwashing but what I can say for certain is that you do a degree in arts, literature or history and you'll end up teaching arts, literature or history in secondary school. If one is comfortable with that then fine but at the end of the day the person favoring traditional subjects is most likely going to live a more comfortable life than the one doing masters in carnival studies and I know what I would want for myself and family, that's all I'm saying