What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Re: Austerity - why are we doing this?

Postby Habit7 » April 14th, 2016, 9:24 am

eliteauto wrote:OP could you list some of the austerity measures being implemented?

Expect personal attacks for asking for facts...

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 14th, 2016, 10:12 am

Habit7 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:OP could you list some of the austerity measures being implemented?

"Austerity measures refer to official actions taken by the government, during a period of adverse economic conditions, to reduce its budget deficit using a combination of spending cuts or tax rises."

Now comes the personal attacks - please learn to use Google!

Ouch - Burn!!!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 14th, 2016, 10:16 am

OP what do you suggest?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 14th, 2016, 10:22 am

If everyboday in austerity...iz one ting...

But austerity 4 the masses while gubbament PM drives new Benz...iz ole talk.

Postby desifemlove » April 14th, 2016, 10:54 am

ingalook wrote:
desifemlove wrote:because comparing the Eurozone to T&T, a small economy with fossil fuels as half of its GDP, does mek good sense.

What exactly you mean here?

Are you saying that Austerity will work here when it fails everywhere? Why??? God iz ah Trini?

all economies are different. what works for a big developed economy like the USA or the Eurozeon countries is specific for them. my point is that our situation is different to that of all others, when did Obama or Cameron ro Merkel or Hollande or Trudeau ever talk of FOREX crisis? some measures have to be taken, so we does have to see tings in our own unique context. so I don't oppose EVERY tax raising measure.

Postby desifemlove » April 14th, 2016, 10:57 am

ingalook wrote:
desifemlove wrote:because comparing the Eurozone to T&T, a small economy with fossil fuels as half of its GDP, does mek good sense.

What exactly you mean here?

Are you saying that Austerity will work here when it fails everywhere? Why??? God iz ah Trini?

He is one of the PNM diehards, the only difference is his weak attempts to appear neutral by saying both UNC/PP and PNM are equally culpable. Look at every statement that comes from him and there is a pro-PNM slant every time. I have no problem with measures taken to save money, but when MY money is being frittered away on Tarouba stadium, Benz, the millionth Eric Williams shrine/memorial, then I draw a line. There seems to be an unholy haste to push every single measure down the populace's throat, with fakery about "consultation" now being exposed as a giant sham.

eh? i give it out in equal measure. i never said i'm ah PNM and never will be, nor a UNC. my standards of governance are social and economic development, and we had none under UNC, or manning. but i know people critiquing she bothers you, but not my beef breds. :mrgreen:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 14th, 2016, 10:58 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:OP what do you suggest?

Don't impose austerity???

Many of the dumb actions of GOVTT are hard to reverse:

Reducing VAT largly benefited retailers and not consumers

The government has lost billions thanks to this (but they knew they would)

No government can come back in and send back up VAT to 15% without causing significant inflation.

Adding items to the VAT list certainly did cause inflation (Kamla is partially to blame here because they took items off in the first place) but this government had the benefit of this experience since they saw that reducing VAT on items held little benefit for the consumer but went ahead with 12.5% anyway.

The fuel subsidy is very small or non-existant when oil prices are low - why target it now? Because it is easier than when it is high??? BUT IT IS THE WRONG TIME!

The country is going through a tough time - they are only making things tougher

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 14th, 2016, 11:03 am

ingalook wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:OP what do you suggest?

Don't impose austerity???

Many of the dumb actions of GOVTT are hard to reverse:

Reducing VAT largly benefited retailers and not consumers

The government has lost billions thanks to this (but they knew they would)

No government can come back in and send back up VAT to 15% without causing significant inflation.

Adding items to the VAT list certainly did cause inflation (Kamla is partially to blame here because they took items off in the first place) but this government had the benefit of this experience since they saw that reducing VAT on items held little benefit for the consumer but went ahead with 12.5% anyway.

The fuel subsidy is very small or non-existant when oil prices are low - why target it now? Because it is easier than when it is high??? BUT IT IS THE WRONG TIME!

The country is going through a tough time - they are only making things tougher

I meant how would gain revenue? How would you account for the difference in expenditure and revenue is what I meant to ask.

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby desifemlove » April 14th, 2016, 11:05 am

desifemlove wrote:
desifemlove wrote:and when did i say everything?? i think i really touched a nerve, but not my problem. i only "blame" UNC for this economic issue, both parties as bad as each other.

Yet I've never seen you call Manning, Panday, Rowley by name. You'd be more credible if you didn't sound like a one track record.

because she is the immediate past PM.....sorry, but then i can see you doh like opinions...

Sorry two track record :roll:

haha..how? it's my standard of good governance, develop a country economically, socially, and having continuity between governments on the major issues. all successful countries have this, we need it. it's a fact we had no diversification, and whilst crime stats DID fall, why did they fall? was it the state of emergency alone, or what? not murders rose back up once the SoE went. if this to you is "singling she out" no it's not, since the PNM did nothing to defeat crime, or diversify the economy. since this crisis isn't as bad as made out cos the IMF and Rowley/Imbert themselves say so, then if they ent do nutten to change it, i will call them out.

Pirate

Re: RE: Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby Pirate » April 14th, 2016, 11:32 am

Numb3r4 wrote:The whole issue with collection is what got me.

Shouldn't we try to improve the way we go about collecting revenue before raising the amount we intend to collect. I mean we could raise it as high as we want but if the revenue collection service is poor then we still won't get the benefits/revenue that is intended.

Yup!

Postby eliteauto » April 14th, 2016, 11:39 am

ingalook wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

"Austerity measures refer to official actions taken by the government, during a period of adverse economic conditions, to reduce its budget deficit using a combination of spending cuts or tax rises."

Ouch - Burn!!!

yeah but you didn't answer my question and your definition is unfinished, so are you saying any tax measure or spending cut implemented during difficult economic times is considered an austerity measure? So wouldn't that mean that austerity measures are implemented by almost every Gov't? Again my questions are predicated by YOUR definition.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 14th, 2016, 11:50 am

eliteauto wrote:
ingalook wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Ouch - Burn!!!

yeah but you didn't answer my question and your definition is unfinished, so are you saying any tax measure or spending cut implemented during difficult economic times is considered an austerity measure? So wouldn't that mean that austerity measures are implemented by almost every Gov't? Again my questions are predicated by YOUR definition.

Not my definition boss, that's why I put it in quotation marks - it is literally the first definition that comes up in google

To answer your first question - Yes

To answer your second question - Yes it is implemented by every stupid government

What you didn't ask - Why is it done?

Answer - it is far easier to tax your citizens than be fiscally responsible

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 14th, 2016, 12:01 pm

ingalook wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
ingalook wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Ouch - Burn!!!

Not my definition boss, that's why I put it in quotation marks - it is literally the first definition that comes up in google

To answer your second question - Yes it is implemented by every stupid government

True.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 14th, 2016, 12:28 pm

I am speculating there is a bit of scapegoating going on regarding this online shopping tax.
Firstly, this is not an issue of recovering taxes from corporations operating outside of Trinidad and Tobago. It is about dampening the demand of online shopping to curb forex leakage.
With that in mind, has the Government released an estimate of the amount of foreign exchange leakage that is occurring through online shopping? I heard a number mumbled during the presentation by a back-bencher but I’m yet to see a concrete number.
Instead, all we hear is “increasing popularity of online shopping was another culprit, with purchases being paid for by credit cards” or “online shopping is an area of tremendous leakage of this country’s foreign exchange” or “online purchases are now a significant area of foreign exchange demand” (real quotes from newspapers).
And then over the last three years we have the major corporations as significant spenders of foreign exchange (as released by former Central Bank governor Jwala Rambarran): one spent US$507 million; another spent US$169 million; another spent US$153 million and a fourth spent US$136 million.
All of them are glorified online shoppers engaged in buy-markup-resell businesses. They offer little domestic value added and simply transfer surplus from consumers. Will these companies also attract the seven per cent tax?
The Government needs to quantify the leakage attributable to online shopping and provide us with a comparison on how this stacks against the “corporations” involved in the same line of business. Essentially they are putting similar strains on foreign exchange.
Whether an individual needs these products is another debate. But we need to understand how this affects competition and the distribution of income. Online shopping and low limit credit cards (US$1,000) have provided the common man with an alternative source for goods and services that could not be afforded on the local market—largely due to price gouging. This has had direct implications on the standard of living for citizens.
This seven per cent tax is essentially closing the online market and passing the bargaining power back to these “corporations”. Their profits will continue to soar and the income will be payable to a select class locally. How much of the population owns shares in these “corporations”?
I’m not disputing the need to curb non-productive foreign exchange leakage. I’m just disturbed by the biased manner in which its being orchestrated. Clearly you can see who the big winners are.
Miguel Dindial
via e-mail

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160410 ... orex-leaks

Postby 16 cycles » April 14th, 2016, 12:46 pm

check around for the rental fees for brick and mortar establishments or the outlay for land and building + commercial fees (water / electricity / phone / internet) for running a business...

add

-business levy tax
-green tax
-copyright fees if you playing a radio
-accountant / other support services
-staff
-poor customer service culture

.....you get a sense of why online shopping is much more viable...

a 7% fee might not deter the shopping...

York

Postby York » April 14th, 2016, 1:18 pm

the objective is to reduce online shopping thereby conserving foreign exchange for traditional business imports...which stimulates the economy by providing jobs for ppl and service etc.

those who can afford to buy online can afford to pay more or opt for traditional with warranty etc...but conserving jobs, cause ppl going home in this current economy.

Postby eliteauto » April 14th, 2016, 1:18 pm

ingalook wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
ingalook wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Ouch - Burn!!!

Let me be clear, I agree that austerity measures don't work, it's not possible to spend or tax your way out of a recession, however what would you consider the fiscally responsible way to proceed?

York

Postby York » April 14th, 2016, 1:22 pm

like it doh have enough threads on this general topic....

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 14th, 2016, 1:31 pm

How much revenue is lost through improper income tax collection?

We have an entire shadow economy of people who don't pay income tax, yet the entire system is propped up by those that do. It's not that I'm hating on the small entrepreneur. It's the fact that some people who make millions and evade the taxman.

Look at the IRS model, it's very unbiased and they get the business of collection done. We make it too easy to evade with no real repercussions.

Postby 88sins » April 14th, 2016, 2:13 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:How much revenue is lost through improper income tax collection?

We have an entire shadow economy of people who don't pay income tax, yet the entire system is propped up by those that do. It's not that I'm hating on the small entrepreneur. It's the fact that some people who make millions and evade the taxman.

Look at the IRS model, it's very unbiased and they get the business of collection done. We make it too easy to evade with no real repercussions.

as far as taxation collection goes, it damn near impossible to beat d IRS. but dem kind of efficient system will never happen here.

no trini big boi dont want nobody to come & tell him he being audited & provide proof all sources of revenue & list all his assets.
& they dam sure don't want the tax man going into their bank acc. & taking what's deemed owed w/o them being able to hide or stop it either.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 14th, 2016, 2:21 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:How much revenue is lost through improper income tax collection?

Its not just the small entrepreneur...its doctors and lawyers and then medium sized businesses that get "professional accounting advice" on hiding from corporation taxes as well as remitting incorrect VAT.
Its the business man buying a Range and not paying the BIK on it.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 14th, 2016, 3:24 pm

York wrote:the objective is to reduce online shopping thereby conserving foreign exchange for traditional business imports...which stimulates the economy by providing jobs for ppl and service etc.

those who can afford to buy online can afford to pay more or opt for traditional with warranty etc...but conserving jobs, cause ppl going home in this current economy.

So we should subsidize the minority (bidnezz) and the expense of the majority (people)?

That's not democratic.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 14th, 2016, 5:36 pm

Its not just the small entrepreneur...its doctors and lawyers and then medium sized businesses that get "professional accounting advice" on hiding from corporation taxes as well as remitting incorrect VAT.

What nonsense is this??? Professional accounting advice? Nah you just don't have to declare when your patients pay cash lol. And you good to go!

Postby De Dragon » April 14th, 2016, 10:56 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Expect spin and fluff and dotishness from Habit7, eliteauto under the guise of seeking clarification for what they fully well know already :lol:

Postby Habit7 » April 14th, 2016, 11:00 pm

Right on time.

Postby De Dragon » April 14th, 2016, 11:26 pm

Habit7 wrote:Right on time.

Frequently, their beloved PNM has no rational answers or clues, so expect stock responses like this and "le froth" "chessbun" etc. all designed to mask the cluelessness of their chosen cult :lol:

York

Postby York » April 14th, 2016, 11:30 pm

drchaos wrote:

What nonsense is this??? Professional accounting advice? Nah you just don't have to declare when your patients pay cash lol. And you good to go!

businesses dont hide, they build their empires and amass their assets TAX FREE cause it's legitimate business expense 100 tax deductible.

like bPTT paying billions for the oil spill but going to reduce their tax payments because guess what, even those payments to compensate ppl for losses are LEGITIMATE BUSINESS EXPENSE. So they will pay that amount less in tax. whatever percentage is corporation tax in the US.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 15th, 2016, 6:58 am

Wait nah I wonder if massy paid any trini taxes on all their dealership buy ups in central and South America. Last time I checked that was a foreign exchange leak ...

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » April 15th, 2016, 6:47 pm

Race

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160415 ... eaten-suit

Axed SSA directors threaten suit *
Claims of unfair dismissal, ‘racist’ request...

Published on Apr 15, 2016, 1:00 am AST
By Anna Ramdass
anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

Former high-ranking directors of the Strategic Services Agency (SSA) have commenced legal ­action against the State for unfair ­dismissal, with one ex-director claiming he was asked to identify Indians in the agency to fire.
The ex-employees are former director of the agency Bisnath Maharaj, former deputy director Keron Ganpat, former director of intelligence Carlton Dennie, former assistant director of information and communication technology Alonzo Flemming, and former assistant director of administration Seukeran Singh, who were all fired by National Security Minister Edmund Dillon.
The men have retained the services of former attorney general Anand Ramlogan, and five pre-action letters were sent to the Office of the Attorney General on Wednesday with a 21-day deadline to respond before legal action is taken.
The claims total in excess of $6 million.
In the letters, the former directors stated their termination was unjust, claiming they were targets of political victimisation, unfair treatment and discrimination.
Former intelligence director Dennie stated in his letter he was summoned to a meeting by then director Matthew Andrews and asked to assist in weeding out the Indians in the agency.

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » April 15th, 2016, 6:55 pm

Race

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160413 ... -selection

Bias in medicine schols selection*
Garcia stands by words:

Published on Apr 13, 2016, 9:46 pm AST
By Ria Taitt
ria.taitt@trinidadexpress.com

Education Minister Anthony Garcia hinted strongly that there was bias in the selection of scholarships to study medicine.
Speaking at a People’s National Movement (PNM) public meeting in Malabar on Tuesday night, Garcia said: “Only today, this evening, we have a committee that was appointed to look at GATE (Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses) in the area of students who access scholarships for medicine. I don’t think I need to tell anybody what happens at the level of our University of the West Indies in the scholarship selection for doctors. I don’t need to spell it out for you, but all of you know what is happening.