SC Dana Seetahal murder - 11 men charged Pg.34

Re: SC Dana Seetahal murder - Bakr held for questioning 20/7

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 22nd, 2015, 10:01 pm

^ ok I see thanks didn't know that.

I heard on the News he is going to peruse legal action and compensation. So not sure if he could get anything out of that.

konartis

Postby konartis » July 22nd, 2015, 10:11 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ ok I see thanks didn't know that.

I heard on the News he is going to peruse legal action and compensation. So not sure if he could get anything out of that.

He had a shot gun in his hand, also the most he cab say is that he was ill treated in police custody etc, nothing would prevent him from taking legal action, but I'm pretty sure the diary notes in the station are on point!

konartis

Postby konartis » July 22nd, 2015, 10:15 pm

desifemlove wrote:if there is no evidence on him, i hope the police top brass going by de tailor to make court clothes...

The police can pick u up, question u for days on any crime, as long as their notes are made and they don't physically hurt u like burn ur dick in the process so u dont have to seek any medical attention... you have no case...u have to take that and chill bro...

Postby The_Honourable » July 22nd, 2015, 10:25 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote: Bakr and he men overthrow the government, shoot the prime minister, demanded compensation, got compensation, went home and took ah nice sleep normal after all that. lol :lol: the men good yes :lol:

But I did hear it had a lot more to 1990 that anyone of us even know. Who knows what Bakr had on these fellas that they ended up letting him go and compensated him aswell.

You ever heard about Kamaluddin Mohammed and ASJA triggering off the bacchanal when it comes to the lands at Mucurapo that was a precursor to the coup?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 22nd, 2015, 10:26 pm

^Hmm honestly I have never heard of that, how long ago was that?

Postby The_Honourable » July 22nd, 2015, 11:09 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^Hmm honestly I have never heard of that, how long ago was that?

That started back in the 70s. Read up on Jihad in Trinidad and Tobago, July 27, 1990 by Daurius Figueira. Good book but need editing.

You are going to learn a lot about the history of Islam In Trinidad, the muslim organizations that were created and became defunct. Kamaluddin Mohammed working within the PNM in cahoots with ASJA to prevents lands going to the Jammat, and of course, how muslims were practicing racism for nearly a century. A discourse between Muslims and Hindus caused by Kamaluddin is also mentioned.

http://www.amazon.com/Jihad-Trinidad-To ... 0595228348

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 22nd, 2015, 11:30 pm

^ oow thanks will check it out, never even knew about these stuff before.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 24th, 2015, 9:53 am

was heading home last night passing through piarco and bam....road block.....cars told to turm around by officers in mask and holding high powered rifles.....lo and behold...now read y......these ppl boi...

A protest by members of the Jamaat Al Muslimeen last night escalated into a stand-off with police officers at the Piarco and Belmont police stations.

Members of the group had planned the protest outside the Piarco police station at about 8p.m

as a show of solidarity with a woman they believed was detained at the station.

The woman was among nine people, including Jamaat leader Yasin Abu Bakr, detained on Monday during a police exercise along the East-West Corridor in connection with the murder of Senior Counsel (SC) Dana Seetahal.

When the Express arrived at the scene, three police vehicles with armed officers were parked on the roadway outside the police station, which is located across from the Piarco International Airport’s runway. The vehicles appeared to have taken defensive positions around the police station, while more officers patrolled the road.

At about 9:15p.m. the officers began conducting spontaneous road block exercises outside the station, stopping and searching vehicles and occupants who happened to fall within their dragnet.

About 10 minutes later the officers expanded the road block exercises, and this continued for approximately another 30 minutes.

However, shortly before 10p.m. a group of men and women from the Jamaat Al Muslimeen attempted to approach the police station. They were stopped by officers. The group were told that they would not be allowed to proceed any further with their vehicles, and traffic on both lanes in front of the station was halted.

Motorists trying to get to their destinations were also affected as police officers ordered all vehicles coming towards the police station in either direction to “turn around and find another way.”

This led to a group of irate men and women abandoning their vehicles.

“You want it? You want this car? Then take it! But you are not stopping us from trying to reach our sister!” shouted one Jamaat Al Muslimeen member as he abandoned his vehicle.

The men and women began chanting religious .

Some officers challenged the men who were present, ordering them to back down, but the group refused to move until they were given some news about “their sister” who had been detained at the police station since Monday.

Senior police officers informed the group that the woman they were looking for had been moved from the station earlier that day

However, the men and women gathered refused to believe the officers.

It was only following communication with defence attorney Criston J Williams who is representing the interests of the female suspect, that the group dispersed. Williams confirmed information he received from the police that their “sister” was no longer at the Piarco police station and had been moved to the Belmont police station earlier that day.

The Jamaat Al Muslimeen members left the scene at Piarco and made their way to the Belmont police station. However, the group once again got into a confrontation with police officers at this location.

A group of women attempted to enter the station to ask about their missing “sister”.However, they were physically removed from the steps of the station by officers on duty. This then led to a group of men attempting to enter the station to get information from the police.

They were also prevented from doing.

Some of the men, including Yasin Abu Bakr’s son Fuad, were physically removed from the steps of the police station by a group of police officers.

And while tempers flared on both sides, and harsh words were exchanged, no one was arrested in either incident.

Speaking to the media Fuad Abu Bakr made a plea for the police to either charge the female suspect, or release her.

“This sister has been suffering from anxiety attacks this week. She was even treated at hospital and carried back to prison. All we are asking is that they treat with her matter. Either charge her or let her go. The time period where they can keep her legally is over, yet they are still holding her, without any real excuse. At least if they charge her she will know her fate and get bail or whatever the case would be. But this… just keeping her in a police station away from her two year old child without even a peep on what is going on… that is unacceptable,” Bakr said.

When asked about the confrontation between himself and the officers, Bakr said that it was unfortunate but he believed the police were at fault.

“The women went up the steps and were forced out of the station in a physical manner. And while this was not what it should be, I want to be clear that we did not resist. I was personally pulled by my neck one way and pulled by my legs another by officers there when they ordered me off the steps. So I don’t know how they wanted me to get out. I know adrenaline is a thing and I am not feeling all the pain I probably have right now, but I will deal with it.

“I know the officers involved and I suppose we will come again and do what we have to do legally to get redress. But if I could not have afforded a lawyer what would have been my predicament? I would just have to go home and nurse my wounds? So poor people have no rights? Only the rich man has rights?” Bakr asked.

When it was submitted that the confrontation between the police and Jamaat Al Muslimeen members could have been avoided if its members had complied with the lawful instructions of the officers, Bakr said they did comply.

“They asked us to leave, and then they began to physically remove us. I respectfully said to them that I don’t mind spending the night with this young lady in a cell. I said if that was the only way to get in to see her and make sure she was OK and to finally get some answers, then they could willingly arrest me, I just didn’t want to get physical. Yet, they decided they wanted to go the physical way. I’m sure the cameras that they have installed here would have captured the incident. Now what would become of that footage is another story,” Bakr said.

Postby K74T » July 24th, 2015, 9:18 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1437787130.021126.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 24th, 2015, 9:29 pm

nick639 wrote:I eh know but i have a feeling Mr Anand have a bigger role to play in her murder... I dunno i jus have a feeling something sneaky goin on dey

Sauce: 2 old man outside Rienzi on screening day last week

Why are so many people saying this? what evidence people have that Anand had something to do with this?

not sure how this talk started but sounds like more tin foil hats.

konartis

Postby konartis » July 24th, 2015, 9:37 pm

If the men charged, is bacchanal time!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 24th, 2015, 9:39 pm

konartis wrote:If the men charged, is bacchanal time!

how so?

sorry I don't know who these fellas are who got charged. Would appreciate an update on what this means as this person was charged with the murder.

Postby pugboy » July 24th, 2015, 9:41 pm

Dont forget this carapo group held high positions in the east lifesport sector

Postby Ted_v2 » July 24th, 2015, 10:18 pm

Yea. I feel so. It's simple to pay someone to take the rap And squash everything

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 24th, 2015, 10:25 pm

Yeah but nick why would Anand be responsible for what happen to Dana?

Under what theory exactly? I keep hearing people all over the country saying this but I just wanna know why he would do it? I know its sort of a coincidence that he got fired as AG not long after but still that eh good enough.

I really wanna know how people getting this idea that Anand was behind all of this, based on what theory? How exactly would he gain from this?

mars

Postby mars » July 24th, 2015, 10:39 pm

The day after Dana's assassination is the first we heard of the Lifesport scandal. I really wonder who leaked that particular piece of information. Maybe a former minister of National Security would care to shed some light?

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 24th, 2015, 10:50 pm

lifesport curroption was known to alot of people long before that.. just saying

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 24th, 2015, 10:50 pm

mars wrote:The day after Dana's assassination is the first we heard of the Lifesport scandal. I really wonder who leaked that particular piece of information. Maybe a former minister of National Security would care to shed some light?

I would hope for someone more credible than a man who stole 3/4 million US dollars from Haiti then laughed on TV saying it would take 15 years to touch him.

Please don't tell me you asking a man who believes the onion to be real news to shed some light on this.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 24th, 2015, 10:53 pm

nick639 wrote:Its more a gut feeling and timing of everything.

I'm fairly young, and this dana case is what sparked my interest into trinidad politics and from since then i jus got that biased opinion that anand's hands were scratching the backs of the worse leaders just to make him look like a successful AG.

I know what you mean, I too find it very strange that the day after Dana was killed, is the day lifesport scandal was revealed.

That sounding very suspicious but without evidence, we could very well be going on major tin foil hat conspiracy here where we could be completely wrong. What if its just coincidence? for some reason we humans love to entertain conspiracy theories but they are almost always just that.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 24th, 2015, 10:56 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150724 ... nas-murder

Man charged for Dana’s murder

Hamid Ali has been charged for the murder of Dana Seetahal SC.

This was confirmed by sources close to the investigation late last night.

Ali, said to be the brother of a former LifeSport coordinator, was being held at the San Juan Police Station, where he was officially processed and charged last night for the murder of the senior counsel.

However, the process, sources said, had only now begun as other men were confirmed to face a similar charge.

Sources also noted that, based on their information, charges of conspiracy to commit murder and other charges under the Anti-Gang Act will be utilised against the remaining seven people.

One woman, a close relative of the same former LifeSport coordinator, had been charged for being a gang member earlier yesterday evening

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 24th, 2015, 11:02 pm

wow

look thing, conspiracy starting to become reality now. So lifesport scandal came the day after Dana was killed, well it all adding up now. But still don't explain why people keep saying Anand was involved in this somehow.

I not seeing the link. That one seems like really wild conspiracy.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 25th, 2015, 1:04 am

https://instagram.com/p/5i3c39AGeF/

star947#BreakingNews Ali, one of eleven persons who were detained by police on Monday for questioning in the murder of Dana Seetahal one year ago, has been formally charged with murdering the State Counsel in May 2014.
Ali is the brother of Rajaee and Ishmael Ali, both of whom are on Remand Yard at Golden Grove, awaiting trial on a charge of conspiring to murder radio announcer Kevaughn “Lerbz” Savory.
His other brother, Hassan Atwell, remains at large, after he, along with Alan 'Scanny' Martin and Christopher Selby, staged a daring escape by shooting their way out of the Port of Spain prison at noon on Friday.
Several among the detainees will be slapped with different charges. Among those detained on Monday were Rajaee’s wife, Stacy Griffith, brothers Stephen and Devon Cummings, Ricardo Stewart, Keston Seales and Deon Peters, all of whom are members of the Carapo mosque which is...

Daran

Postby Daran » July 25th, 2015, 3:06 am

All got charged except Bakr?

Lance

Postby Lance » July 25th, 2015, 3:31 am

Prior to this government administration the Jamat had become a dog with no teeth. Their income had dwindled and they didn't have the resources to orchestrate their dodgy activities.

This government, via the lifesport program put millions in the hands of the Jamat and gave them back the monetary power to function to full capacity.

hornchile

Postby hornchile » July 25th, 2015, 4:17 am

Lance wrote:Prior to this government administration the Jamat had become a dog with no teeth. Their income had dwindled and they didn't have the resources to orchestrate their dodgy activities.

This government, via the lifesport program put millions in the hands of the Jamat and gave them back the monetary power to function to full capacity.

Oh really???...why don't u ask who gave them the state contract to provide security for the refinery?

Lance

Postby Lance » July 25th, 2015, 4:28 am

hornchile wrote:
Lance wrote:Prior to this government administration the Jamat had become a dog with no teeth. Their income had dwindled and they didn't have the resources to orchestrate their dodgy activities.

Oh really???...why don't u ask who gave them the state contract to provide security for the refinery?

I'm not assuming a political side here.

Do you have details? These are things that the population needs to know

Postby UML » July 25th, 2015, 5:00 am

‘I never wanted Bakr at Petrotrin’
FRANCIS JOSEPH Tuesday, November 21 2006

click on pic to zoom in
ARMY CHIEF GOES: Retired Chief of Defence Staff Brigadier Carl Alfonso leaves the Hall of Justice after giving evidence in the Bakr conspiracy to murd...
RETIRED Chief of Defence Staff Brigadier Carl Alfonso said yesterday that he never wanted Jamaat Al Muslimeen leader Yasin Abu Bakr on the Pointe-a-Pierre compound of Petrotrin.

As the Chief Security Officer, Alfonso gave instructions that Bakr is not to be on the compound.

Alfonso said Khalid Hassanali, a Petrotrin official, spoke to him about that order.

“I did not agree with Mr Hassanali’s suggestion, so I requested a meeting with Mr Malcolm Jones, the executive chairman of Petrotrin. He told me to treat all Johnson Simon’s employees equally. I wouldn’t say I was giving Abu Bakr unequal treatment, I had my concerns about Abu Bakr.”

Yasin Abu Bakr, 65, of La Puerta Avenue, Diego Martin, is before Justice Mustapha Ibrahim in the Port-of-Spain Third Criminal Court charged with conspiring with David “Buffy” Millard and others to murder expelled Jamaat members Salim Rasheed and Zaki Aubaidah on June 4, 2003 at Citrine Drive, Diamond Vale, Diego Martin.

Alfonso was the surprise witness called by lead prosecutor Sir Timothy Cassel QC. Alfonso worked at Petrotrin from July 10, 2000 to January 17, 2005. He headed 180 security officers with responsibility of securing Petrotrin’s assets.

The retired CDS said he knew there was a contractor Johnson Simon working at Petrotrin. He said one of Simon’s employees, Abu Bakr, caused him some concern. “I gave instructions to my staff about this man. As a result, Simon requested to see me and I did see him. I did not change my instructions to my staff.

Cross-examined by defence attorney Pamela Elder SC, Alfonso said he knew that Bakr was charged with conspiracy to murder. Alfonso said he never gave evidence in this matter before yesterday. He said he did not give the police a statement in 2003.

Alfonso said he knew Bakr was on trial in 2005. Although he knew that the first trial was extensively reported by Newsday, he could not remember much about it. He said Corporal Michael Veronique called him sometime in 2006 about this matter.

Responding to another question from Elder, Alfonso could not say if Bakr was at Petrotrin on June 4, 2003.

Alfonso said he never really wanted Abu Bakr on the Petrotrin compound.

“Yes, I was dishing out unequal treatment to Abu Bakr. I did not seek an audience with him before I took the decision. He sought an audience with me, but I refused to see him. In 2003, I was not bias towards Abu Bakr. But it is not a normal practice for me to deny someone an opportunity when it comes to his work.”

Another witness Patrick Denoon, an estate constable working at Petrotrin, said Bakr was not issued a pass on June 4, 2003, the same day it was alleged that he conspired with others at a house in Diego Martin to murder two former Jamaat members. Denoon said Bakr received a pass on several occasions in May and June 2003 to enter the compound, but definitely not on June 4. Hearing will continue this morning.
http://www.newsday.co.tt/court/0,47943.html

Postby pugboy » July 25th, 2015, 5:12 am

cut the old talk
no govt has not given bakr big favours
he controls a lot of people in the marginal seats

Postby UML » July 25th, 2015, 5:17 am

Is it just me and my bias because I am pro-government

...but all this commotion and bachannal is because this is the first time in 25 years since July 1990 that the authorities and by extension the government are actually taking on the Muslimeen who using religious oppression as the excuse for the excuse makers?
Last edited by UML on July 25th, 2015, 7:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » July 25th, 2015, 5:43 am

wasn't sheriff dhanraj singh a big bakr associate in the early unc days ?
why did they allow him to control urp ?