"State of Emergency" Thread

Re: T&T put in Limited State of Emergency

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 26th, 2011, 9:29 pm

before day 4 he has to write to the speaker of the house, for a date for a special sitting or parliament...which has been done and it is next friday...during this sitting, the reasons for the soe and debate from both sides would tke place and if an extension is needed a vote would have to be taken...there is nothing unconstitutional once the president signs and put his seal of approval

Postby bluefete » August 26th, 2011, 9:36 pm

Stephon. wrote:Hear this next ass, did you even read the rest of my post? My post didn't even imply that there were big shots bringing in the drugs like your initial post implied. I was basically stating that what is being shown on the news is what they want the general people to think, they want people to think that the soe was actually doing something and making the place safer. Arresting these ppl on Nelson street won't change that much, but it still makes my heart smile to see them treated like animals.

Edit: now you implying that I in thing? :?

Yes, Stephon. Lemme hear yuh now after yuh read this.

You too Duane:

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:bluefete, your subscription to the the outdated concepts of the local "drug trade" in the SOE thread is no different from your almost fanatical subscription to dailymail.co.uk

both are done purely for sensationalism

Will another six years of misery reign?
By David Nakhid

Story Created: Aug 26, 2011 at 1:44 AM ECT

Story Updated: Aug 26, 2011 at 1:44 AM ECT

In case you missed Clarence Rambharat's excellent article, or if as all traits uniquely Trinbagonian, you agreed with and quickly went on your way lamenting how the curfew was eating into your social life or disrupting your late-night sweat, I am here again, inspired by Rambharat's piece to continue on the thread I started almost six years ago, concerning the root cause of the horrific crime situation that has gripped and will continue to plague our twin islands.

I have seen references aligned to my initial opinions—some vague, others more explicit (Tewarie, Shah, Fazeer and now Rambharat), which makes me confident that the awareness is there and being circulated among the populace. So, how come the dis-connect? Why would the politicians and the law authorities purposely ignore what most people on the street from Behind the Bridge to Beirut already know?

As someone in the midst of the so-called Arab Spring, one thing became patently obvious—these corrupt politicians and lawless law authorities are not going to just acquiesce to your demands, much less the mutterings and writings of a few enlightened and un-afraid Trinbagonians. There needs to be concerted action and yes, at the risk of once again being called a troublemaker, that concerted action cannot always be non-violent. Impossible! Who within the present establishment (social and political) is going to challenge our upper-class, drug-peddling mobsters?

The People's National Movement did not do it from its inception, the two corrupt entities so intrinsically linked, the death of one (yes we can!) surely meaning the downfall of the other. The United National Congress? It invariably tried to match and, in some cases, outdo the PNM for corruption, extravagance and nepotism! The present People's Partnership? To borrow a mobster's phrase, "Forget about it.'' Its only agendas, certainly not attuned to the demands of the people, are about retention of political power, the political stench so stagnant now that the will for any action can only be targeted at the underclass. Hence... tah dah... the curfew in "hot spot areas''.

Well, if you know, as most right-minded Trinbagonians know, that the crime situation is a direct result of the booming drug trade that is financed and proliferated by these upper-class mobsters, then the curfew hot spots should be Westmoorings, not Laventille; Fairways, not Trincity; the Marina in West Trinidad where a shipload of cocaine was tracked by UK law officers, not the Dial in Arima. But that ain't happening! Not by Kamla Persad-Bissessar or Dr Keith Rowley or Patrick Manning or Jack Warner! All seemingly impotent when it comes to even touching on this issue in the right and honest way.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) called me a racist six years ago when I singled out members of a community behind the drug trade, as if I cared one iota about their ethnicity! If I had mentioned that mostly Afro-Trinbagonians were involved in the actual killings taking place, would Jack Warner and the TTFF have made those statements about me?

Nice to know that the TTFF then collected some cool millions in sponsorship from businesses owned by some members of this same community. But this has become much more than Jack and his TTFF cohorts selling their souls at the expense of Trinbagonians. This is wake up time, Trinbagonians! Unless we as a people are willing to place our politicians and law-makers under all necessary pressures to move on this insidious and deadly drug trade, they will continue to do exactly what they are doing... nothing!

As our upper-class drug mobsters continue to evolve, branching out into fields of higher education, bestowing honours and titles, while surrounded by our salivating politicians and hands out businessmen.

The noxious political climate serves as fertile breeding ground for them to flourish, and flourish they will, unless we decide as a people to do whatever is necessary to bring them down... like asking the hard questions. Where is Cadiz, Daaga, Kambon, Sat? Busy tripping over each other in trying to show who is more African or Indian or whatever, oblivious to the reality of our shared destiny as Trinbagonians.

I could give a rat's behind about any Arrival Day for any community when it seems that every moment requires survival day for all Trinbagonians. Where are the good, civic-minded people of this same community, who called me six years ago to express their helplessness at being associated with these mobsters because of a shared ethnicity? The time is now, Trinbagonians, or will another six years of misery reign? Let's all take the actions and sacrifices we know are necessary to bring down these upper class mobsters along with their political allies!

• David Nakhid is a former national

footballer who played at both

professional and international levels. He currently lives in Lebanon

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 47953.html

Postby rfari » August 26th, 2011, 9:40 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:before day 4 he has to write to the speaker of the house, for a date for a special sitting or parliament...which has been done and it is next friday...during this sitting, the reasons for the soe and debate from both sides would tke place and if an extension is needed a vote would have to be taken...there is nothing unconstitutional once the president signs and put his seal of approval

Bruh, that's not what I read hence the reason I said over the weekend I would research what was stated in the article. from what I remember the president has 72hours to explain the purpose of the SOE. But for now, I'll give you the benefit of the doubt.

Postby RBphoto » August 26th, 2011, 9:56 pm

David Nakhid is some kinda intelectual genius? He is a footballer.

Postby eliteauto » August 26th, 2011, 10:00 pm

crossdrilled wrote:David Nakhid is some kinda intelectual genius? He is a footballer.

it comes naturally or you does practice?

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2011, 10:03 pm

eliteauto wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:David Nakhid is some kinda intelectual genius? He is a footballer.

it comes naturally or you does practice?

Postby bluefete » August 26th, 2011, 10:04 pm

Another brakes-er for the elite.

Postby rfari » August 26th, 2011, 10:09 pm

bluefete wrote:The noxious political climate serves as fertile breeding ground for them to flourish, and flourish they will, unless we decide as a people to do whatever is necessary to bring them down... like asking the hard questions. Where is Cadiz, Daaga, Kambon, Sat? Busy tripping over each other in trying to show who is more African or Indian or whatever, oblivious to the reality of our shared destiny as Trinbagonians.

Well said nahkid. Good post bluefete. The people's champions like sat, daaga, cudjoe and kambon have been missing the point completely for many years. one side is upset that the other major ethnic group has their sh.it in order and the other side strives to be singular in a mult-cultural society. Really their are all crabs in a pitch oil tin. We need to get our sh.it in order asap.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » August 26th, 2011, 10:38 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 26th, 2011, 10:39 pm

I see a certain club in South has defied the curfew and holding party, I thought gatherings of certain numbers of people was illegal during a SOE and worse yet the area being a "hotspot".

Postby Mark! » August 26th, 2011, 10:42 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:

was that some kind of macka diamond music video?
Last edited by Mark! on August 26th, 2011, 10:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2011, 10:43 pm

THAT IS TRINIDAD!!! :shock:

that looks like jamaica

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2011, 10:46 pm

bluefete wrote:Yes, Stephon. Lemme hear yuh now after yuh read this.

You too Duane:
me?

I think you misunderstood what I was saying - which is not unusual for you anyway.

Postby eliteauto » August 26th, 2011, 10:50 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:

some may be quick to say the Police could have shown restraint, but this is exactly the type of disrespect that some of our citizens revel in, worse they encourage their offspring to participate in. It's a State of Emergency know yuh role

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 26th, 2011, 10:52 pm

That place need sanitizing, some areas need to be on a 24 hour curfew, if you don't have a legit job or reason to be outside stay inside or come out and get shot.

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2011, 10:54 pm

the police should have shot those gunta rats.
dont arrest them, they dont deserve to be fed and sheltered in jail with tax payers dollars.

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » August 26th, 2011, 11:06 pm

Dem whole problem is that the SOE affecting their income which is from crime. Thats what have them vex.

Postby Stephon. » August 26th, 2011, 11:24 pm

Lol @ that video, I wish the camera wasn't there, the news article in the morning would have been a nice read.

Postby Stephon. » August 26th, 2011, 11:25 pm

I still don't understand howpeople could defend those people :lol:
You cantnbe getting on like that expecially durng a state of emergency. They think because they can roll up their neck and talk loudly that they automatically "more right than anybody else"

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 26th, 2011, 11:29 pm

S_2NR wrote:the police should have shot those gunta rats.
dont arrest them, they dont deserve to be fed and sheltered in jail with tax payers dollars.

with your response you are most likely one of those little fawkers who won't stand up for a friend or family member if they need help!

Do you know why they were getting on?

Get the story first before you pass judgment and decide the fate of ppl lives!

plenty atrocious act are being metered out to citizens at this time by the police & army, I have seen innocent & good ppl get detained during this time and their is no recourse for them during this period because of the SOE........and you little fawker are susceptible to this too.

I hope you and your family don't feel the hand of SOE!!!

Postby Stephon. » August 26th, 2011, 11:31 pm

But if the ...... Thing. Didn't start to roll her neck and wine down low and carrying on in the road she would have been free all now. We all sa the video you know, she not so smart to be acting like that in front of police in a Laventille, under a soe.

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2011, 11:35 pm

bluespeed wrote:
S_2NR wrote:the police should have shot those gunta rats.

with your response you are most likely one of those little fawkers who won't stand up for a friend or family member if they need help!

Do you know why they were getting on?

Get the story first before you pass judgment and decide the fate of ppl lives!

plenty atrocious act are being metered out to citizens at this time by the police & army, I have seen innocent & good ppl get detained during this time and their is no recourse for them during this period because of the SOE........and you little fawker are susceptible to this too.

I hope you and your family don't feel the hand of SOE!!!

i am fully able to understand you without the use of expletives sir.
and your point is noted.

but their behavior is unacceptable.

Postby cinco » August 26th, 2011, 11:50 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:

TBH this is why we need the state of emergency
there is no respect for the armed forces for too long they have been involved in too much corruption that the public has lost all respect for them
i hope they have cleaned up their act and now the public can show some faith in them after this SoE

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 27th, 2011, 12:07 am

^ I think those people just lack respect all around, self respect too!

regardless of what the situation was, that is no way to behave.

Postby rollingstock » August 27th, 2011, 12:16 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:

:lol: :lol: Good going B.J.

Postby Chimera » August 27th, 2011, 12:19 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:I see a certain club in South has defied the curfew and holding party, I thought gatherings of certain numbers of people was illegal during a SOE and worse yet the area being a "hotspot".

quite a few places are advertising 9pm to 5 am parties

wanna see how that works out

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 27th, 2011, 12:22 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:

he muss get on like dat....to be dethroned from CID and transferred to task force=SAD :(

Postby eliteauto » August 27th, 2011, 12:24 am

ppl feel curfew parties are easy, if is a lime by a friend fine, but to hit a public place for 8 hours eh eh

Postby rollingstock » August 27th, 2011, 12:31 am

bluespeed wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:

he muss get on like dat....to be dethroned from CID and transferred to task force=SAD :(

Actually he is the S.D.O i/c of the CCTV Unit, and OT pays a lot more than commuted ;)

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 27th, 2011, 7:55 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/HYA ... 15563.html

HYATT HIDEOUT
2 'big fish' from Sea Lots arrested at Waterfront hotel

By Akile Simon
Story Created: Aug 27, 2011 at 12:53 AM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 27, 2011 at 12:53 AM ECT
POLICE yesterday swooped down on the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Port of Spain and arrested two men they say are leaders of well-known criminal gangs in Sea Lots, Port of Spain.
The men, and a 26-year-old San Juan woman, who has been identified as the men's secretary, were arrested by officers of the Port of Spain CID and the Criminal Intelligence Unit (CIU) headed by Snr Supt Glen Hackett and John Martinez.
Guests and hotel employees looked on in shock as the three were led out of the hotel in handcuffs and into two waiting police vehicles.
Up to late yesterday, they were at the Port of Spain CID being questioned by CIU, CID and Homicide investigators. Their attorneys also quickly arrived at the CID office and spoke with them.
The men, ages 31 and 36, are said to be the leaders of the Pioneer and Production Drive Sea Lots gangs. One of the men, police said, also has an address at Third Street in Maraval.
At the time of their arrests, National Security Minister Brigadier John Sandy was in a room called Regency Six of the same hotel, delivering the feature address at the Commonwealth Regulatory Workshop on "Caribbean Countries and Global Financial Regulation".
Sandy, police sources said, was unaware of the activities taking place on the 16th and 22nd floors of the hotel, where the suspects were arrested.
Speaking at yesterday's daily news briefing regarding operations undertaken under the state of emergency, Sandy said police had detained three known gang members, one in Tobago. He, however, did not state where the other two suspects were held.
But, when the Express questioned Commissioner of Police Dwayne Gibbs on the arrest of the suspects at the Hyatt Regency, he said he had no knowledge of where the two men were detained, but was aware of the arrest of the third gang leader in Tobago.
He said, "I'm not sure what you are alluding to at this point. I say that because we have many operations going on throughout Trinidad and Tobago, and if there was something at the Hyatt, I have not received anything," Gibbs said.
Attorney General Anand Ramlogan, in an earlier statement at the news briefing, said the public would be shocked to know some of the areas where police had detained gang leaders. He said yesterday's arrest is a clear indication that they were actually going behind the big fish.
He said, "The scope and dominance of the gangs, picking upon the theme from yesterday, you would have heard from the Honourable Minister of National Security, we are not at liberty to disclose where we are picking up some of them, but I want to assure you, it is not only in Nelson Street and the Plannings. You will be shocked to know where some of them are actually housed, and the extent of the luxury in which they live.
"...I'm not at liberty to disclose the exact locations where we are penetrating and picking up the gang leaders, but, as I indicated before, we are not exactly confined to the Plannings and some of the areas where you see the media parading before the public, and it's definitely not consistent and very difficult to reconcile the perception that we are not going after the big men, we are going after the small men," Ramlogan said.
However, police sources yesterday confirmed they arrested the suspects at rooms 1601 and 2001 around 11.30 a.m. Police said CID officers, led by Sgts Mervyn Edwards, Andrew John Andy Wallace, and including PCs Anderson Roberts, Nikruma Porter, Rickey Babwa, Nobel Smith and WPC Claudia Cabie, raided the suspects' hotel rooms and seized $16,000.
Officers said they also found premium drinks which included Johnny Walker Blue, Moet, Bailey's and Harvey's Bristol Cream. Officers also stated that the suspects, who often exchanged rooms, had initially checked in on August 23, two days after Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar announced a state of emergency in the country.
The suspects, police said, had also checked in at the hotel in company with five women, who left on Thursday, and other women were expected to take their place yesterday. Police said they received information that the men had also been ordering food from a fine dining restaurant and had even thrown a curfew party at their rooms earlier this week.
Records from the hotel, police said, indicated that the suspects had been paying for their stay by cash on a daily basis—in excess of $900 per night. Before police moved in on the hotel, police said the suspects were spotted liming, eating, drinking and smoking in their verandah. Police said the suspects will be charged under the Anti-Gang laws and taken before a Port of Spain magistrate next week.