T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Stephon. » July 2nd, 2011, 11:30 am

Stephon. wrote:Whats up with Chevy cars, how come second hand PC* Chevy vehicles are being sold for 60 grand :?
They not good awa? :lol: Headache to maintain?

Postby cinco » July 3rd, 2011, 12:05 am

Stephon. wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Whats up with Chevy cars, how come second hand PC* Chevy vehicles are being sold for 60 grand :?

brand stigma
remember chevy has changed ownership already on our shores it reminds the consumers of peugeot and renault
also trinis have blind faith in toyota and honda
and they feel ze germans are superior

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » July 6th, 2011, 4:46 pm

cinco wrote:
Stephon. wrote:

brand stigma
remember chevy has changed ownership already on our shores it reminds the consumers of peugeot and renault

You can fool some of the people...

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » July 6th, 2011, 4:47 pm

996vtwin wrote:
cinco wrote:
Stephon. wrote:

brand stigma

You can fool some of the people...

Ze Germans are superior...but not in every way.

gsr4life

Postby gsr4life » July 8th, 2011, 9:05 am

great post man, we local used vehicles sud worth even more:D like me b13 and lancerz lol

Postby cinco » July 8th, 2011, 9:17 am

Manual Navara SE 178000
LE 190000 (Chrome doodads, 3rd brake light and Power Mirrors only difference)
4x2

gsr4life

Postby gsr4life » July 8th, 2011, 9:24 am

great post man, we local used vehicles sud worth even more:D like me b13 and lancerz lol

Postby sharkman121 » July 9th, 2011, 11:53 am

cinco wrote:
Habit7 wrote:yip, is Hyundai we talking about here you know, they getting better, but no turbochargers yet

no turbo locally there is a turbo sonata :wink:

what u guys think of the 2011 Sonata, went to neal & massy yesterday to check it out and was very very impressed.

May opt for the well equipped model but wanted to get some reviews here first of any problems anyone who has owned one may know of.

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » July 11th, 2011, 7:44 am

Habit7 wrote:
the new Elantra coming to blow every mid-size out of the water, once N&M dont get too excited and price it too high........ppl might still buy it, everything is overpriced these days.

That Elantra eh reach yet? I was shopping around in March for a car and the sales rep in N&M say they getting the new Elantra by June.

I saw a couple 2012 elantras on the port this morning, I guess we'll see them in the showroom later this week

Postby Habit7 » July 11th, 2011, 11:37 am

sharkman121 wrote:what u guys think of the 2011 Sonata, went to neal & massy yesterday to check it out and was very very impressed.

May opt for the well equipped model but wanted to get some reviews here first of any problems anyone who has owned one may know of.

The one I checked out was ok, the 1.6L engine though was dissappointing.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 11th, 2011, 3:59 pm

^^ Sonata coming with 1.6L???? It's supposed to be a 2L

Postby sharkman121 » July 11th, 2011, 6:47 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:what u guys think of the 2011 Sonata, went to neal & massy yesterday to check it out and was very very impressed.

The one I checked out was ok, the 1.6L engine though was dissappointing.

sonata doesnt come in a 1.6L, it comes in a 2.0 and 2.4L and it comes in 3 editions:

Luxury edition - 2.0L
Well Equipped - 2.0L
Fully loaded - 2.4L

i think u getting tied up with the 16valve DOHC GDI engine. I was in the showroom today and friday.

I'm extremely impressed with the Well Equipped version, its just the right mix...some of the features include:

Push to start
full panoramic sunroof
18" rims
heated driver & passenger seats
Fully automated with memory saving passenger and driver seats
Digital dashboard guages
Xenon headlights
Digital display for climate control
6 speaker sound system including bass speaker and amplifier
Sound system controls on steering wheel incl. on/off volume and bluetooth connectivity
6 speed tiptronic transmission
Rain sensors
Solar glass
Wing mirror indicator lights
Paddle shifters on steering

some pics

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » July 12th, 2011, 12:35 pm

Sonata is amazing. In some ways I think the new Elantra is just as amazing looking.

First batch to arrive this week at neal and massey. 1.6L 130 hp with a 6 speed automatic.

sorry if it is a re post

Starting price is around 170,000 i think. I see the car is classed as a mid size car now?

Postby noshownogo » July 12th, 2011, 12:48 pm

midsized car :? the price very competitive tho.

Postby cinco » July 12th, 2011, 12:51 pm

midsized @170 will have lots of buyers
considering the corolla is now 198 :| as per their open house saturday

Postby Stephon. » July 12th, 2011, 1:00 pm

That vehicle real good looking boi.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 12th, 2011, 1:00 pm

corolla - 198K

that car is so bland....198K let them keep that

Postby Stephon. » July 12th, 2011, 1:02 pm

Everyone should know that people will rush for this car, and the price wil most likely pass 200k by 2012.

Postby noshownogo » July 12th, 2011, 1:04 pm

but wait nah, Hyundai can boast that the new Elantra's 1.6 makes almost as much power as the Toyota Corolla 1.8 and Civic 1.8 both of which pushing close to mid $250's AND the Elantra has a 6speed auto, Toyota has an ancient 4speed and Honda as last century 5speed.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 12th, 2011, 1:14 pm

honestly like say 5 years ago I would swear that I would never be caught purchasing a hyundai or kia........but now.....I really would consider purchasing one of these...

they have come real far in terms of looks, and power....

amazing.........................................................................

they leaving other manufacturers in the dust...............

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » July 12th, 2011, 1:30 pm

Apparently the base model is 170, and the GLS model is 190. The new ceratos also come with the 6 speed trans.
http://kia-buzz.com/?p=6300

In some other markets the new Kia Cerato and Hyundai Elantra are coming with the 1.6 GDI engine, which puts out just under 140 hp.

Local ones are coming witih a "non-GDI" 1.6 (Gamma) engine, which puts out the 130 hp.

Postby Habit7 » July 12th, 2011, 2:09 pm

Habit7 wrote:The one I checked out was ok, the 1.6L engine though was dissappointing.

Oopps, my bad, I had just checked out the i30 with its 1.6L and I guess I thought the 16valve was 1.6 (dyslexia)

But the Sonata is a nice looking car, the price is competive in the States but in T&T the price isn't as competitive. If I had that money to spend on an entry luxury vehicle in T&T I would buy a VW Passat. But IMHO the Kia Optima looks better but it has less kit.

Postby Habit7 » July 12th, 2011, 3:59 pm

Hyundai Elantra

1.6 GLS Basic-$169,900

1.6 GLS Value Pack-$189,900

1.6 GLS Fully Loaded-$209,000

Elantra 1.6 GLS Basic

* 6 Speed Automatic Transmission
* 16" Alloy Wheels
* Leather Steering Wheel
* Manual Tilt and Telescopic Steering Wheel
* Dual Air Bags
* Rear Disc Brakes
* ABS
* Central Door locks
* Center Console
* Luggage Net
* Fabric interior
* Front Head Rest
* Centre Armrest with Cup Holders
* Fog Lamp
* Map Lamp
* Radio, CD, MP3, AUX & USB
* ipod Cable
* Manual A/C

Elantra 1.6 GLS Value Pack

* 16" Alloy Wheels
* Dual Air Bags
* Rear Disc Brakes
* ABS
* ESP (Electronic Stability Control)
* Central Door locks
* Keyless Entry
* Luggage Net
* Mud Guard
* Fabric interior
* Front Head Rest
* Auto Light Control
* Fog Lamp
* Map Lamp
* ipod Cable
* Rain Sensor

Elantra 1.6 GLS Fully Loaded

* 16" Alloy Wheels
* Leather Steering Wheel
* Dual, Side & Curtain Air Bags
* Rear Disc Brakes
* ABS
* ESP (Electronic Stability Control)
* Central Door locks
* Keyless Entry
* Push Button Start/Smart Key
* Power Safety Window
* Center Console
* Sunroof
* Leather Interior
* Luggage Net
* Mud Guard
* Front Head Rest
* Power Seat Lumber Support
* Auto Light Control
* Steering Wheel Audio Control
* Fog Lamp
* Map Lamp
* ipod Cable

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » July 13th, 2011, 12:14 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:honestly like say 5 years ago I would swear that I would never be caught purchasing a hyundai or kia........but now.....I really would consider purchasing one of these...

they have come real far in terms of looks, and power....

amazing.........................................................................

they leaving other manufacturers in the dust...............

Have you yet driven the Chevy Cruze? Take it from me, you'll be pleasantly surprised!!

Vee

Postby Vee » July 13th, 2011, 4:49 am

Can somebody please update! thks! excellent thread btw

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 13th, 2011, 8:30 am

People who paying close to and over 200k for a hyundai elantra real crazy. How can the value brand price their cars with the big boys from Japan? Are they nuts?

Also, some of you guys quick to say the Elantra has the most powerful 1.6 right now in the market with the same output as Honda's 1.8 but guess what, it must be!!! It has direction injection plus dual CVVT/ intake and exhaust valve timing.

The same crowd of people who saying "boy doh buy no galant or cedia gdi boy dem ting no good, and doh buy no lancer glx boy dem ting have cvt" but they buying cvt nissans and audis and now they wanna buy gdi engines from hyundai. :lol:

Neal & Massy you guys have to drop them prices to about $150k or you can price it like a Jetta and lose out.

Postby cinco » July 13th, 2011, 8:33 am

big boys from japan have been losing out for years as have the value priced germans
doh beat up

nes123

Postby nes123 » July 13th, 2011, 3:27 pm

cinco wrote:big boys from japan have been losing out for years as have the value priced germans
doh beat up

would be curious to see where or how you arrived at that when as we are seeing here the Koreans now learning a thing or two from the germans....case in point...count how many focus' , octavia's and Jetta's on the road from 2005 go up....if you wanna argue about resale you will be surprised to see these cars actually have higher resale than the Korean/Japanese equivalents....

Postby Stephon. » July 13th, 2011, 3:33 pm

Really? I always thought that japanese cars had a higher resale value

Postby cinco » July 13th, 2011, 3:36 pm

leff dem nah
you getting a bora for less than a b14