Mountain Biking

cacasplat3

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby cacasplat3 » March 20th, 2014, 8:21 pm

bunsee trace, morne diablo, quinam, marac....they all have logging roads to explore.
there a logging road linking bunsee and morne diablo.....one of the harder and more enjoyable ones....its about 4 or 5 km one way.....

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 20th, 2014, 10:58 pm

Let's link up one day to try out them trails

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 21st, 2014, 9:39 am

This sounds interesting. The best part of riding hills for me it to go downhill. Which has mainly been road hills in my experience. Fort George, Chancellor. Would love to try one of these south runs.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 21st, 2014, 12:05 pm

Let's make a lime and do this

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » March 22nd, 2014, 11:01 am

Got to test ride two mtbs today. Definitely going with the 29er . This week going to biking and most likely buying on there. It's a 29er with hydraulic brakes for $4000. Fuji 1.6

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 22nd, 2014, 1:15 pm

Nice so we seeing yuh down chaguramas ?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 22nd, 2014, 1:52 pm

Alpha trini wrote:Got to test ride two mtbs today. Definitely going with the 29er . This week going to biking and most likely buying on there. It's a 29er with hydraulic brakes for $4000. Fuji 1.6

Where you getting this? Full suspension?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 22nd, 2014, 2:05 pm

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » March 22nd, 2014, 4:21 pm

Getting bike at bike inn st James. It's a hard tail

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 22nd, 2014, 7:00 pm

Alpha trini wrote:Getting bike at bike inn st James. It's a hard tail
saw at bike inn in El Dorado for 3000.

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » March 22nd, 2014, 7:18 pm

Thanks. Will check it out

30hz

Postby 30hz » March 22nd, 2014, 10:50 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:
Alpha trini wrote:Getting bike at bike inn st James. It's a hard tail
saw at bike inn in El Dorado for 3000.

El Dorado bike inn has the fuji 29er 1.9 mechanical disc brakes for $3200

$4000 is for the 1.6 Hyrdraulic brake version

trinirider

Postby trinirider » March 24th, 2014, 12:40 am

Cannondale Rush 2 12,500.00
http://www.cannondale.com/catalog/produ ... egory/931/

jm3 wrote:fellas just been told i'm finally getting a promotion at work,
so with the first pay check i wanna buy a new bike as a congratulations gift to myself,
my giant talon is still running nice but i would really like a good base spec full suspension bike with the intention of gradual upgrades.
i ride mainly trail and do some warm up laps i'm an experienced rider but with kind of low fitness right now due to a year of studying and exams.
the budget is around 12k and i think i can get a giant trance for that i would buy similar bikes from specialized, cannondale, scott or trek anyone have any suggestions?
i don't mind spending a little less on the complete bike and upgrading forks/drivetrain one time.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » March 24th, 2014, 5:49 am

Anyone from Tuner was riding through Carapichiama yesterday evening around 4pm?

trinirider

Postby trinirider » March 24th, 2014, 4:24 pm

trinirider

Postby trinirider » March 24th, 2014, 4:29 pm

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » March 24th, 2014, 7:54 pm

That bike looks cool. Who are the dealers and do you know price?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 24th, 2014, 8:31 pm

he is the dealer.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » March 24th, 2014, 8:49 pm

trinirider wrote:Cannondale SL4
http://www.cannondale.com/2012-trail-sl-4-20701

Nice ..... time for me to upgrade :)

trinirider

Postby trinirider » March 25th, 2014, 2:46 pm

Seeker wrote:

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » March 25th, 2014, 8:26 pm

An interesting article
http://www.pinkbike.com/u/mikelevy/blog/The-Argument-For-Short-Travel-Bikes-Opinion.html

In any case, I am rather satisfied with 120mm travel for my needs, the only upgrade I might see in future might be switching to something better than the Rockshox Recon Silver fork and Ario rear shock.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 26th, 2014, 7:55 am

that's a big can of worms...lol

my personal experience: it depends on how long you've been riding and on what sort of terrain....
if you are shitt scared on a hardtail (like i was) even after years of riding, maybe you should go up a notch.

you just need to know what terrain you will ride....no sense in riding a downhill bike on flat roads....find a good mid point between your requirements and your pocket, and look around....like i mentioned before, I bottomed out my suspension many times on some rides, that's a no-no and past a point of safety.

the article also left out a big point.....there are a lot of longer travel suspension bikes that feel and handle almost the same as a hardtail......yes, they cost upwards of $5K US sometimes, but they are available, and people do buy them.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » March 26th, 2014, 11:35 am

trinirider wrote:6000.00

Seeker wrote:

Cool.

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » March 26th, 2014, 7:55 pm

Bought bike today will upload photos later . Hopefully will be riding this weekend

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 26th, 2014, 8:03 pm

What did you get ?

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » March 26th, 2014, 9:56 pm

Fuji Nevada 29er. 1.6.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 27th, 2014, 4:49 am

Sweet

Seeker

Postby Seeker » March 27th, 2014, 4:09 pm

I think the bottom bracket on my bike needs changing. There is a small "play" on it and I am sure that is where most of the noise is coming from.

Has anyone change this part before?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 27th, 2014, 5:28 pm

When you say bottom bracket, what you mean? Where the pedals anchor to the frame?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 27th, 2014, 8:19 pm

Seeker wrote:I think the bottom bracket on my bike needs changing. There is a small "play" on it and I am sure that is where most of the noise is coming from.

Has anyone change this part before?

I have....depending on the type you have you may need one of a couple different tools....inboard bearings will use a tool like this:http://www.jensonusa.com/Bottom-Bracket-Tools/Park-Tool-BBT-22-Bottom-Bracket-Tool
outboard bearings use something like these:http://www.jensonusa.com/Bottom-Bracket-Tools/Park-Tool-BBT-19-Bottom-Bracket-Tool
http://www.jensonusa.com/Bottom-Bracket ... acket-Tool

if you have a Square taper, ISIS, or Octalink crank designs, you may need a crank puller as well (only if the crank is really stuck onto the spindle):http://www.jensonusa.com/Crank-Chainring-Tools/Park-Tool-CWP-7-Crank-Puller

i own a few of the tools because i have a couple different bikes with different designs.
just remember one side is reverse threaded, and it needs to be properly torqued when being installed.

the best way to know if its bad: remove both cranks and turn the spindle by hand....if its bad it will feels really notchy....mine was really bad on the cannondale, and with the crank arms on, i couldn not tell if it was bad on not.
also there are different thread styles, and shell widths. spindle lengths also vary, and must match the crankset otherwise the drive-train will go out of alignment.
if you aren't comfortable doing it, take it to a shop.