Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
mariox

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby mariox » March 21st, 2011, 9:13 pm

lighthammer wrote:^ agree x2 with everything above.

There are two schools of thought however on air-fuel mixtures:

1. Since there is more air available, i.e. More oxygen, the ecu will sense that less fuel is needed to be burnt, since the currently available fuel will burn more efficiently and completely with more O2 around. Hence it should give a leaner mixture.

But on the other hand...

2. More O2 in the air-fuel mixture means the ECU would think you need more fuel supply to match the mapped amount in order to keep the ratios levelled. But this theory is tainted by the fact that drivers will feel the power surge from the engine and would want to floor it more often (just like Jeremy said) - hence skewing the fuel-consumption data to a heavier bias.

Best way to test this is to just drive normally and at the same rate - both with a K&N and then with the stock paper filter. See how the average fuel consumption figures pan out and then make a deduction from there.

I'd try and do that experiment but as it turns out, I'm having too much fun flooring the accelerator and making my turbo-charged engine whistle for me :) :)

picked up my ranger on March 1st and dont regret it. she runs great. thinking of the k&n but I've already taken the speedo to the max a couple times. braking is then the problem. I love my ride

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 23rd, 2011, 10:44 am

niceee..

and yes the brakes aint excellent..

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 23rd, 2011, 8:34 pm

cross drill and slot ur rotors!! u'd be surprized @ the diff it makes!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 24th, 2011, 4:24 pm

I am looking for some that are drilled/slotted.
If is dont, after about 50,000k, when i stop going by m&e... I will do it myselff..

JD......

Postby JD...... » March 27th, 2011, 9:23 am

yes slotting/ crossdrilling will help your breaking and clean the rotors during brinking in mud, water etc, BUT, cross drilling weakens your rotor and is pron to spider cracking from the drilled hole. As well as eating away at your brake shoes alot faster.
Take my advise and try and source aftermarket rotors which will be tried and tested, dont jepordize your safety.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 27th, 2011, 2:44 pm

^^true - i wont recommend that you try to drill or slot your rotors - that would be dangerous

JD......

Postby JD...... » April 2nd, 2011, 11:55 am

for those looking for brakes:

http://www.dba.com.au/product-search

prices kinda high, also check; EBC

Postby 3stagevtec » April 21st, 2011, 12:14 am

What is the recommended fluid (Viscosity & grade) to be used in the transfer case on the Ford Ranger / Mazda B2500? We don't have the factory manual for our Mazda...

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 21st, 2011, 11:31 am

API-GL 4 75w90...

Postby 3stagevtec » April 21st, 2011, 1:29 pm

^ Thanks, wasn't sure if it was GL4 or GL5..

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » April 27th, 2011, 11:52 am

hey guys,

Just posted Some Ford Ranger Filters for sale

In stock Moving fast

viewtopic.php?f=41&t=370031

Pm if interested more parts coming soon.

shah23

FORD PROBLEMS:

Postby shah23 » April 28th, 2011, 8:02 pm

People the Ford Ranger is a death trap. The vehicle cannot stop sometimes although you mashing that brakes. Fools at Ford don't care and only giving you hot air and old talk. Vehicle vibrating when pulling off, Transmission gear change with a slam or (clunk) Drive shaft center bearing giving up very fast, when driving with your A/C on you smelling other vehicle exhaust smoke inside vehicle although you have the lever on recycle.Man don't even try to talk to the service personal, they will rough you up and tell you go to Port of Spain. When you go to Port of Spain well next problem again, some stupidy tell you that is how it suppose to work. People don't trough away your money.

Well you smart people who get fools very easily. The firm call in some other customers and myself who has the same brakes problem on the Rangers. They bought down some guy from Port of Spain who don't know his ass from his elbow, he comes with an attitude and said he want to test drive our vehicles. I told him No! No! No!. I said let's test a NEW ONE and you smart guys out there, guest what???? Same problem... Same Problem.... Hahaha.
so who do you think has the problem now. All you who feel you all smart, Your vehicle has the same problem. If you want to know more here is my number 686-0825 call me if you think I alone have the problem. All the Ford has the said problem, 4X4, 4X2, Low ones, high ones. All!!!!
Last edited by shah23 on May 12th, 2011, 9:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 28th, 2011, 10:07 pm

it have rell men in here goh beg to differ eh bredss!!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 29th, 2011, 3:23 am

shah23 wrote:People the Ford Ranger is a death trap. The vehicle cannot stop sometimes although you mashing that brakes. Fools at Ford don't care and only giving you hot air and old talk. Vehicle vibrating when pulling off, Transmission gear change with a slam or (clunk) Drive shaft center bearing giving up very fast, when driving with your A/C on you smelling other vehicle exhaust smoke inside vehicle although you have the lever on recycle.Man don't even try to talk to the service personal, they will rough you up and tell you go to Port of Spain. When you go to Port of Spain well next problem again, some stupidy tell you that is how it suppose to work. People don't trough away your money.

somehow I don't think the truck is the problem here..

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » April 29th, 2011, 7:09 am

Ammmm........ Yea ppl moving along .

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 29th, 2011, 7:35 am

Personally , i have 2 rangers , one is 7 years old and the other is 1 year old - and I had absolutely no problems with both of them, never did any major work besides usual maintainace. Both rangers stop on a dime and both of them give me great mileage. The 7 year old one clocking 128k and the new one hitting 43k

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 29th, 2011, 7:39 am

Something is very wrong with that ranger - I never had that problem with smelling exhust from the other vehicles, thro the a/c and never had braking issues - take it to sookhai's , let them have a look at it

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 29th, 2011, 9:32 am

WDMC!!!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 29th, 2011, 9:35 am

Mine is 26K old, and I DO NOT pet it...
The brakes pads runs down fairly fast, and that has alot to do with how I drive the dam thing.
However that being said, the van never hesitated to stop when I needed it. NEVER.

AC.. works great, never get any scents from outside.
Vibration when pulling off... NEVER. Van is smooothhhh and the 4 shifts into 5th Gear is almost un-noticeable.
Never heard of the problem with the drive shaft bearing.. but it's something I will keep in mind.

I have never had a problem with service in POS. They call me and book my service for me. They call me the week after I service to know if I had any problems or anything they could do better.
Price is ok if carry your own oil and dont have to change your air filter (K&N)

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 2nd, 2011, 3:44 pm

ok guys i'm thinking of buying a ranger from a guy where i work, its the model like wagon r. was reading through the thread (long read) .now the van is great condition only thing he swapped out the rims and went 18's,stupes ,no running board, no roll bar, it bare and it only doing about 90k i think.services it regular, how do these ride not that it bothers me but just want to know. and any other info that you can share if anything that was left out in the thread but one thing worries me and thats the over heating problem .what can be done to prevent that from happening.

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » May 2nd, 2011, 4:51 pm

it wont ride like a car i could tell u .......to me once u get accostomed to the ride u would find that it is comfortable enough i just let out 2 PSI from the rear tyres an it good to go .....trust me u wont get a ride like the Navara or the Hilux

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 2nd, 2011, 11:00 pm

what overeheating problem!?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 2nd, 2011, 11:08 pm

yuh need to read de thread speedy. some of the guys experienced cracked heads due to over heating .

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 2nd, 2011, 11:39 pm

Ok - ^^ why kind of ranger is it? 2.5TD auto or manual?If it is manual, I currently own a 2006 model ranger and never had the overheating issue. Once good maintenance practice is carried out, there wont be a problem. Make sure and get a mechanic to check out the ranger before you buy. One thing alot of people dont do, is do a complete fuel system cleaning, which involves removing the tank and cleaning everything. Doing this eliminate alot of problems down the road. Remember we have real dirty diesel down here, so they then to do a number on engines.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 3rd, 2011, 8:48 am

it's a 2.5td manual 4x4. this guy takes really good care of his vehicle. does his maintenance on time. never heard of him complain about bad fuel. so i should be safe when i am buying it.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 3rd, 2011, 9:02 am

^^make sure and have a mechanic check it thoroughly before you buy - one thing to look out for is the gearbox. - make sure it sound and not sticking in any gears.

Honestly I love the 2006 ranger more than the 2010 - Its much more heavier on the road and more comfortable. The 2010 have more power and speed

homeboy

Postby homeboy » May 5th, 2011, 9:37 pm

Hey guys are the windscreen from DoubleZ or ZZ whatever any good?

Reason my sister used my Ranger and broke the windscreen and said nothing but went and change it at Double Z.............not home until few weeks so i want to know if the is any good at all or should i buy one from the firm.....thanks..........

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 5th, 2011, 10:40 pm

double Z is good! also Bobby's.. have gud experiance with both places..

nick009

Postby nick009 » May 6th, 2011, 8:31 am

the cracked head was me and it wasnt an overheating problem it was manufacturer defect, at least i think so. guess i just got one of the bad eggs , but i know it is not an isolated case; others have had this problem too.
(mazdas share the same engine, the manual ones)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 6th, 2011, 8:41 pm

homeboy wrote:Hey guys are the windscreen from DoubleZ or ZZ whatever any good?

Reason my sister used my Ranger and broke the windscreen and said nothing but went and change it at Double Z.............not home until few weeks so i want to know if the is any good at all or should i buy one from the firm.....thanks..........

Nah double Z uses good windscreens, but they not always brand-name.
They overprice the parts though....

Double Zee even supplies the firms - another guy on this forum had a cracked 'shield on his navara, N&M used a 'shield from Double Zee.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”