Mountain Biking

Mini

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby Mini » March 10th, 2014, 9:41 pm

Well the next bike I buy I'd like to get with intermediate components. Something I can ride for a while and only upgrade when components are worn out.

trinirider

Postby trinirider » March 13th, 2014, 10:15 am

Friday night ride
more details https://www.facebook.com/CannondaleTrinidad

bgh

Postby bgh » March 13th, 2014, 10:56 am

allyuh read something nah!!!

Is Your Bike Holding You Back?

Posted Date: 3/27/2013
Printer Friendly Version Email A Friend Add This Increase Text Size Decrease Text Size

20 reasons you need a new bike

There’s a friend of the Mountain Bike Action wrecking crew that we reluctantly invite on our rides. He’s tremendously talented, riding wheelies down sections of trail that inspire fear in the hearts of others. He’s also fun to be around, on or off the bike. The problem? He rides this hard on a 15-year-old hardtail that’s never seen any maintenance.

Rides with him have been cut short by everything from broken chains, bent handlebars, sheared derailleurs and taco-ed wheels to cracked frames. We’re all for getting the usable life out of our components, but riding blown- out parts simply isn’t fun. Mountain biking is a gear-intensive sport. If you’ve neglected your equipment long enough, it might be easier to start fresh. Here are 20 situations where a new bike might make sense.

Put it out to pasture: This Manitou dual-suspension bike, while revolutionary for it's
time, is now more apt to be used for grocery-store runs than slaying trails.

The bike shop has a nickname for your bike, such as “The Nightmare”:
We actually had a bike with this nick- name. It’s been retired. If there’s so much wrong with your ride that the shop mechanics run when they see you walk in the door, it’s time for an upgrade.

You still have a 1-inch head tube:
The steerer tube standard has been 1 1/8 inches for years, and now the tapered style (1 1/8 to 1 1/2 inches) is all the rage. If your bike was designed to accept a 1-inch steerer, your operat- ing system is no longer supported. No, you can’t retrofit a 1-inch steerer tube into a current fork. It’s a one-time press fit. Save the phone call to the fork manufacturer; get a new bike and enjoy your old one as a townie.

Your chain has never been replaced:
Drivetrain parts wear together. We’ve explained how a chain can wear a different spacing into the rings and cassette. When this happens,throwing a new chain on will cause more skipping woes. Also, if that’s the case, we’re willing to bet the derailleurs, shifters, cranks and bottom bracket have seen better days too.

Your bike’s components are on display in a mountain bike museum:
Most companies will keep service parts on hand for five or so years after they stop making a product. If it’s past that point, it’s probably not worth shopping the endless eBay jungle to restore your dinosaur.

There’s a creak that’s undiagnosable:
This could be anything from an overlooked loose suspension bolt to a cracked frame. Also, if you find yourself trying to upgrade a frame and swap parts over, you will find more compatibility issues than you can imagine.

Your bike was owned by a former pro racer:
It’s a cool story to tell at the trailhead, but if Aaron Gwin owned your bike first, he probably rode it hard. Racers at any level are notorious for being tough on equipment. Expect parts on these bikes to have a shortened lifespan.

You’re thinking of a new paint job:
Painting a bike is difficult, and repainting a bike is way more difficult. Drop the notion that you can just take your parts off and run your bike down to Maaco for a fresh look. It’s not worth it.

You think you can upgrade to disc brakes:
So you want disc brakes, but you need new wheels to do it. If you’re getting new wheels, you might as well get the thru-axle versions. You’re going to need a new frame and fork to support those, though. Go for a new bike instead.

The company you bought your last bike from no longer exists:
Enjoy your bike while it lasts, but if your bike’s manufacturer has been acquired or reorganized, you can expect a serious headache when trying to track down service parts. Also, you can all but toss your warranty out the window. Companies that have gone down or been acquired have no legal obligation to honor your warranty.

Basic maintenance, such as a new shifter cable, no longer helps:
A new shifter cable should fix most shifting woes. If it doesn’t, your drivetrain could be shot. You’ll need derailleurs, a cassette and chain.

It’s been crashed more times than Josh Bender’s bikes:
You’ve seen the footage. If you’re a crasher, you’ll have to replace your bike more often.

Your fork has never been serviced:
Forks need to be serviced every season at a minimum. If you have never had yours worked on and your bike is a couple of years old, chances are you’ve done some internal damage. Bushing wear is the most common damage, and because stanchions are fit to the crown with a one-time press fit, it will mean replacement of the crown-steerer-stanchion assembly. It’s an expensive repair, usually about half the cost of the fork, which may be the resale value of your entire bike.

There are shifting issues when nothing seems wrong:
Everything is dialed perfectly in the workstand, but as soon as you put the power down, pop! This could be a worn drivetrain or freehub. Either way, it’s costly.

Your frame is out of alignment:
Take a look at the rear-wheel spacing. If it’s off to one side, check the wheel dish; if it’s on, your frame is probably tweaked.

"You can't take her house, she's too old":
The Fox Alps 4 shock was top of the line. It was spec'ed on bikes like the Trek Y-frame and the Cannondale Raven. Today it's almost impossible to find service parts for it.

Your geometry is from another era:
New-school geometry is more fun to ride. Narrow bars and super- steep geometry are a thing of the past.

You can’t true your wheels anymore:
If your spoke tension is maxed in a couple of spots and the wheels still aren’t true, it’s time for new rims or wheels at a minimum.

An upgrade is more than the price of your bike:
Throwing a shiny new $1000 fork on a bike from the ’90s just doesn’t make sense. You’re better off getting new technology across the board.

Your bike weighs more than a downhill bike of today:
We’ve seen downhill bikes at under 30 pounds. Lighter bikes are more fun to ride. If your bike has little or no suspension and it still weighs over 30 pounds, it’s time to upgrade.

Your bike has an eight-cog cassette:
Eight-cog cassettes were bulletproof. They were far more durable and less finicky than the first-generation nine-speed systems. However, eight-cog technology is from the Clinton era, and parts are very difficult to find. Ride a drive- train with a 10-cog cassette and you’ll never go back.

You want a new bike:
Because “New Bike Day” is the best day of the year.

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » March 16th, 2014, 11:19 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1394983065.829482.jpg
saw this at bike inn yesterday $3500. Mechanical disc brakes, 24 speed and lockable front shocks. Thinking about it. Could do with some feed back

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 17th, 2014, 2:01 am

^ its a generic disk brake.

I bet it would be a nightmare. the Nevada 1.6 I had for $4000

with promax hydraulic disk brakes were total garbage.

You would need to spend money for something good, the Fuji nevada 1.5 comes with Hayes MX5 mechanical disk brakes.

now those are real brakes and would not give any problems at all once they set it up proper. Buying that one for $3500 makes no sense. $4600 for the Nevada 1.5 thats way better even has tubeless tires Hutchinson Cobra.

Either you buying a bike for $2500 or a bike for $4600 and up. Anywhere in between there is pointless as they are all the same quality as the $2500 nevada 1.9

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 17th, 2014, 2:45 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ its a generic disk brake.

I bet it would be a nightmare. the Nevada 1.6 I had for $4000

with promax hydraulic disk brakes were total garbage.

You would need to spend money for something good, the Fuji nevada 1.5 comes with Hayes MX5 mechanical disk brakes.

now those are real brakes and would not give any problems at all once they set it up proper. Buying that one for $3500 makes no sense. $4600 for the Nevada 1.5 thats way better even has tubeless tires Hutchinson Cobra.

Either you buying a bike for $2500 or a bike for $4600 and up. Anywhere in between there is pointless as they are all the same quality as the $2500 nevada 1.9

much much more to a bike than just brakes....

bgh

Postby bgh » March 18th, 2014, 12:28 pm

ED, you really need to stop the negativity towards hydro brakes just because of the bad experience with your LBS.

My current bike had an issue with the rear brakes binding. I had 2 options, take it to a LBS or reslove it myself. I choose the latter.

Me personally, hydros are the best thing since slice bread.
I have no experience with mechanical disk, but I would think it would perform similar to the mechanical rim brakes.

Alpha, check out some other shops. Geronimo, Mike bikes, Trinirider before you decide. My visit to Geronimo last week they had some hard tails starting at 2900. Look around, use youtube and the web to get a sense of what the model you're leaning towards can do.

Postby eliteauto » March 18th, 2014, 12:41 pm

I agree, it's also a singular experience since the same LBS does both my bike and Pornie's without complaint, a bad experience can form an opinion but that doesn't mean it's the definitive opinion.

I have mechanical disc and I can tell you they're great and field serviceable, but no match for the hydro disc bikes I've ridden in terms of stopping power

Mini

Postby Mini » March 18th, 2014, 12:49 pm

bgh wrote:
You want a new bike:
Because “New Bike Day” is the best day of the year.

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » March 18th, 2014, 7:21 pm

I am no true mountain biker. I have not ridden in decades . I am just looking for a bike to ride for fun and exercise. I have no intention of going down any mountain at lightning speeds. But the little research I have done, I have found out that's how most people start off saying and end up on a mountain at lightning speeds. Lol. Upgrade is the word I am hearing a lot. Most people say they bought a bike then had to upgrade because the bike they bought cannot handle the trails they find. What I am getting is to buy a good bike from the start and avoid having to upgrade. I will check the other bike shops tomorrow. I am not adverse to buying a second hand bike that has not been abused.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 18th, 2014, 7:49 pm

a couple pages back a list of bike shops and other bike dealers for cannondale and felt as well. your budget has a part to play in it as well.

hey bgh you went on the run saturday with heidi and crew to paria ?

bgh

Postby bgh » March 18th, 2014, 10:54 pm

Yep. The ride was epic. 2hours to get to the beach and a lot longer to get back. The water fall was a few minutes away.
Some guys did it in a lot less time. Both ways!
There were a few falls, busted knee, a chin and so on.

Next time I need a 29'er, platfom pedals and my hiking boots. Those 29'er made the up hilll and over the roots look easy.
Last edited by bgh on March 19th, 2014, 7:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 18th, 2014, 11:33 pm

i saw mention a few pages back one guy mentioned a neck brace and another mentioned a full face helmet.......where are you guys riding with full face and neck braces?

i have both, but i use them on the moto, but never on the bicycle.....i go fast sometimes, but the majority of the time i'm at low speed and i think it will get too hot in a full face....
on the bicycle i use a POC trabec

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » March 19th, 2014, 12:09 pm

I know the old saying that good thing not cheap and cheap thing not good. It is with this in mind I ask if anyone has any experience with Khans bike zone ltd. I found them in yellow pages. They claim that they sell bikes called " euro" and " arrive". They claim to have a 29er with disc brakes for $2700. I did not ask if it was hydraulic or mechanical. If anyone has experience with them let me know. Thanks

bgh

Postby bgh » March 19th, 2014, 5:33 pm

Have a read...

bgh

Postby bgh » March 19th, 2014, 5:46 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:i saw mention a few pages back one guy mentioned a neck brace and another mentioned a full face helmet.......where are you guys riding with full face and neck braces?

i have both, but i use them on the moto, but never on the bicycle.....i go fast sometimes, but the majority of the time i'm at low speed and i think it will get too hot in a full face....

Some guys are accident prone so full face helmets and neck brace is recommended. They may also push harder than some of us do, but less than more. lol.

I like this Orange Troy lee design A1. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HD6 ... 8IYIE73YJE

I also like the color of this full face tld. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HD6 ... MEGLFPQJKU

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 19th, 2014, 6:28 pm

fellas just been told i'm finally getting a promotion at work,
so with the first pay check i wanna buy a new bike as a congratulations gift to myself,
my giant talon is still running nice but i would really like a good base spec full suspension bike with the intention of gradual upgrades.
i ride mainly trail and do some warm up laps i'm an experienced rider but with kind of low fitness right now due to a year of studying and exams.
the budget is around 12k and i think i can get a giant trance for that i would buy similar bikes from specialized, cannondale, scott or trek anyone have any suggestions?
i don't mind spending a little less on the complete bike and upgrading forks/drivetrain one time.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 19th, 2014, 7:08 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:i saw mention a few pages back one guy mentioned a neck brace and another mentioned a full face helmet.......where are you guys riding with full face and neck braces?

I bought my full face helmet because I had an accident and required stitches afterwards while riding extension reverse . Two sets of stitches twice in 1 year is enough for me. My helmet does not make my head hot , it has very good ventilation 15 vents. Bgh what yuh mean accident prone buddy :shock:

bgh

Postby bgh » March 19th, 2014, 9:46 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:

I bought my full face helmet because I had an accident and required stitches afterwards while riding extension reverse . Two sets of stitches twice in 1 year is enough for me. My helmet does not make my head hot , it has very good ventilation 15 vents. Bgh what yuh mean accident prone buddy :shock:

Lol. Sorry dude, had to throw that in...

Full face helmets are used by down hill bikers. For trail users, its really your choice and would boost your ride confidence and take some chances you normally won't.
I know some guys wish they had one during that paria ride.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 19th, 2014, 9:54 pm

Any trails I going on now I fully padding up , I may look weird bit at least I know I'm protected an can minimize the risk of me being injured. I have watched so many mountain bike videos all if not the majority of the riders have on protection, is only us down here feel we invincible until you end up getting hurt badly and need stitches or worse.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 20th, 2014, 12:35 am

i've been down and injured a couple times, nothing serious, but in any event an open face helmet does very little, and in all honesty, even though I ride with it, i have very little confidence in it.....
i may invest in a full face sometime...the one i have for the moto is too big for cycling.

on another note, i imported and assembled this for a friend today.
2013 GT Fury 3.0
the seatpost needs shortening and it needs pedals, but you get the idea.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 20th, 2014, 5:23 am

Omg that looking sweet , what was the price of the bike and how much to bring it in and how did you bring it in? I have been thinking about ordering a bike online for a while now , just want to get an idea of cost.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 20th, 2014, 6:51 am

Price ?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 20th, 2014, 6:54 am

http://www.jensonusa.com/!Jj1pSRvTXY!Zg ... -2013-Bike
Way out of my range. Way way out. Lol

bgh

Postby bgh » March 20th, 2014, 7:58 am

Thats lovely.... now thats a downhill bike worthy of a full kit.
1395316673573.jpg

Alpha trini

Postby Alpha trini » March 20th, 2014, 10:28 am

Bgh thanks for info. Really good stuff

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 20th, 2014, 10:51 am

These "downhill" bikes everybody using,
Where locally people going to ride them? Other than Macqueripe, wihich is mostly flat.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 20th, 2014, 12:16 pm

PapaC wrote:These "downhill" bikes everybody using,
Where locally people going to ride them? Other than Macqueripe, wihich is mostly flat.

^this

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 20th, 2014, 7:29 pm

we rarely ride in the north.......mostly south in the teak plantations and the adjacent forests...
on a long fast downhill section i could use up to 6 inches of travel on my bike's fork (7.1 inch fork).....i've ridden the same places on shorter travel bikes and its really over the edge, brakes are overheating and suspension is bottoming out (which is a sign of crossing a bike's limit)
riding bikes like these require pushing uphill sometimes, but you enjoy the downhills much more, because you brake less and are more confident.....

i took a quick spin on it today, and honestly it pedals really smoothly and the head angle is not really noticeable....my Ibis feels more raked out.....the GT does have super wide handlebars though.....its a really really nice bike....and the final cost was really really good.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 20th, 2014, 7:50 pm

Where in south man , location and what's the total cost of the gt landed