Skybox companies: Buy less things online

Numb3r4

Re: Skybox companies: Buy less things online

Postby Numb3r4 » November 9th, 2017, 4:39 pm

Having a racially homogenous country sort of helps. Easier to build consensus.

Postby The_Honourable » November 9th, 2017, 4:39 pm

Online shopping, a Forex nightmare:

Online vs In-Store Shopping: Mr Pantin hitting sixes.

airuma

Postby airuma » November 9th, 2017, 9:55 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:yup a fair amount of items are wastage

for the past 4 years i have 3000 1amp 12v power supplies and half container of pvc moulding that never sold

the pvc moulding the supplier sent the wrong colour
the market for the power suppliers changed when camera equipment upgraded

To me this is just the cost of learning, not wastage..... now you know to keep up-to-date with advancements in your market. Now the challenge for you is to:
1. find an application for 1 amp 12v power supplies
2. create a need for those power supplies.

airuma

Postby airuma » November 9th, 2017, 10:14 pm

A whole segment just to suggest that the skybox companies cheating on the duties. A totally uninformative segment IMHO.

airuma

Postby airuma » November 9th, 2017, 10:20 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Having a racially homogenous country sort of helps. Easier to build consensus.

Really? how does that help Haiti?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 10th, 2017, 2:54 am

airuma wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:Having a racially homogenous country sort of helps. Easier to build consensus.

Really? how does that help Haiti?

It helps because the common culture allows for a shared ideal a good example could be any one of the Nordic states.

In the case of Haiti, and something you see in many post colonial societies, the culture is divided, most of the time by race or even within the race or you may have a small minority exerting undue influence over the masses. I do believe that a certain percentage of the Haitian population is either white or mixed and they do make up the ruling class hence poper policy and decision making. To be mulatto in Haiti is a big thing....I think.

In Haiti's case it would be a good idea to consider the colonial culture than to apply what I said. The attitude of the French toward the colony played a large role in influencing the current culture. They spent little time developing the colony and more time maximizing the colony's output, this emphasized the rape, pillage and plunder of the slaves and the natural resources with little regard for the society and culture of the island.

When they left those who were left behind had very little to work with and no clear example of how to be different, as such the cycle continues to today. Other things contributed but I'm being short here.

Like it said in my comment "...sort of helps." Never said it would guarantee but.....

In the case of Singapore with a fairly racially diverse population it's success can be attributed to the leaders having the foresight to instill a collective vision into the minds of the people. It might help that the majority of the people while racially different are of Hindu or Buddhist tradition both of which are similar cultures which as I said before that similarity helps.

They also got a fairly good style of governance one very close to a benvolent dictatorship which is pretty cool but still not without its flaws.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 10th, 2017, 4:32 am

airuma wrote:
SR wrote:Makes you wonder if any research was done at all in hat business watch segment. Or was it just propoganda

Nothing to wonder about there. Which properly run business will discourage their customers from patronizing?

Exactly it seems it was propaganda. some business must be loosing sales and sponsor that segmet

Postby Redman » November 10th, 2017, 8:04 am

A progressive disposition is what we need.

In 2017 it's never been easier or cheaper to execute multiple referendum s in a transparent manner.

Run a multi question referendum after publishing the facts.
Get an indication.
From a broad policy.
Get going.

Postby ismithx » November 10th, 2017, 8:42 am

maybe CNC3 should run a story called local retailers: a consumer spending nightmare

Postby pete » November 10th, 2017, 9:21 am

The guy from eZone made a very valid point. There are skybox companies that you definitely get away from paying the correct duties and taxes. That is a BIG reason why the price for items online is less than in a store. Until customs stops that from happening then everyone doing the right thing is going to be negatively affected.

It's not hard to do either. Simply pick one random shipment a week from each skybox company and do a full examination of all the cargo they bring in. If there's a significant difference between what they have declared and what is in the shipment they get to have all their shipments fully examined until it stops. Once you start to do that you would quickly see how they start to declare everything and all the correct duties and taxes are paid.

Postby Chimera » November 10th, 2017, 9:29 am

But Pete the skybox companies work with what customers give them. The supplier invoices or what is emailed by customers.

Postby Chimera » November 10th, 2017, 9:30 am

And I see a man saying on apple forums that with ibc he pay $1000 to clear a iPhone X 256 gb. Legit taxes should have been $4000

Postby *KRONIK* » November 10th, 2017, 9:33 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:But Pete the skybox companies work with what customers give them. The supplier invoices or what is emailed by customers.

Websources uses the value on the packing slips
So is always shafffffff

Postby pete » November 10th, 2017, 9:50 am

I have had different experiences at WS.

Also,if delinquent customers are sending fraudulent invoices and you are signing the declaration on their behalf that's YOUR problem. There's a way to deal with that too, open the package in Miami, if what's inside isn't matching the invoice then tell the customer they have to clear it themselves. Let THEM and go in front a customs officer and try to get stuff cleared.

Of course everyone is happy with the way things are going now. If you supposed to pay $4000 to clear a phone and you end up paying $1000 or less are you going to complain? Only time people complain is when their duties are too high.

The amount of money that is not being collected on behalf of the government there is high.

Yes I know there are big businesses who allegedly under invoice their goods or pay off customs officers and don't pay any duties on containers (as the guy from ezone also mentioned) and this is also wrong. There really needs to be a much tighter control over customs to ensure these things don't happen.

Postby Ben_spanna » November 10th, 2017, 10:27 am

Customes corruption going on Loooongtime now...... Certain SHED # in SOUTH used to and still probably still have containers full of under invoiced Pioneer electronics as well as other goods...................... coming in and clearing with minimum or No duties ...

pete wrote:I have had different experiences at WS.

Also,if delinquent customers are sending fraudulent invoices and you are signing the declaration on their behalf that's YOUR problem. There's a way to deal with that too, open the package in Miami, if what's inside isn't matching the invoice then tell the customer they have to clear it themselves. Let THEM and go in front a customs officer and try to get stuff cleared.

Of course everyone is happy with the way things are going now. If you supposed to pay $4000 to clear a phone and you end up paying $1000 or less are you going to complain? Only time people complain is when their duties are too high.

The amount of money that is not being collected on behalf of the government there is high.

Yes I know there are big businesses who allegedly under invoice their goods or pay off customs officers and don't pay any duties on containers (as the guy from ezone also mentioned) and this is also wrong. There really needs to be a much tighter control over customs to ensure these things don't happen.

Postby Chimera » November 10th, 2017, 10:35 am

Ezone opens all.packages in miami to verify contents..ive seem it myself when i dropped boxes there. They do infact send you to clear your items on your own if customs hold it . Fedex dhl ups all do this but in hundreds of thousands of packages most people would get away.

Postby Redman » November 10th, 2017, 10:39 am

A customs broker TOLD me to under invoice-so its a common practice.

Last year I brought 2 of the same items in, separate shipments same courier-a few days apart....materially different duties charged-this is before the online tax.

When I called to query the co rep told me to shutmeharse and be happy i eh pay full duties on both.

Ironically these are the same public servants that Duke is worried about-BILLIONS remain uncaptured between Customs and BIR-yet they are striking(or pushed to)

bring on the RA-ONCE it comes with a cleaning of the Augean Stables that these units are.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 10th, 2017, 10:46 am

Redman wrote:

A customs broker TOLD me to under invoice-so its a common practice.

Last year I brought 2 of the same items in, separate shipments same courier-a few days apart....materially different duties charged-this is before the online tax.

When I called to query the co rep told me to shutmeharse and be happy i eh pay full duties on both.

Ironically these are the same public servants that Duke is worried about-BILLIONS remain uncaptured between Customs and BIR-yet they are striking(or pushed to)

bring on the RA-ONCE it comes with a cleaning of the Augean Stables that these units are.

Redz...sound like yuh want to drain the Caroni swamp lol

Postby pete » November 10th, 2017, 11:54 am

Yeah there are many corrupt customs brokers as well. Anyone telling you to under invoice is telling you to commit fraud. It's your signature going on the declaration so if you get held who you think getting fined/going to jail?

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2017, 12:15 pm

All now so containers of scotch passing thru no taxes paid normal for the Xmas season

Postby SR » November 10th, 2017, 1:01 pm

That a normal thing. Usually a couple cases to.sponsor some office lime is all u need

Postby pete » November 10th, 2017, 1:42 pm

What companies doing that?

Postby 88sins » November 10th, 2017, 1:59 pm

pete wha kinda make out question is dat you asking boi :lol:

Postby pete » November 10th, 2017, 2:17 pm

Well seeing that my company brings in scotch and pays the duties I wanna know who to report to customs. :|

Postby 88sins » November 10th, 2017, 2:23 pm

I feels for ya, but the sad thing is
the lube that greases the wheels sometimes also tends to make reports that are made become very slippery & hard to hold on to. & if they can't even hold onto it how could they do anything about it.

go ahead & report, cuz it's the right thing to do. just don't get your expectations up too high.

Postby pete » November 10th, 2017, 3:10 pm

TBH I don't think the distributors do it. Maybe the wholesalers who bring in a container or few this time of year to sell on their own as they are more cash oriented businesses. Lots of cash from many sources to convert to grease.

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2017, 3:20 pm

ask customs, they will know :lol: :lol:

sneaking an entire container is more than just a singular customs officer
it requires coorperation on a larger level
similar to how petrotrin loses entire tankers of diesel passing through the gates with correct documentation....

pete wrote:Well seeing that my company brings in scotch and pays the duties I wanna know who to report to customs. :|

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 10th, 2017, 3:21 pm

So Excellent stores etc really believe that we owe them our presence in their stores. Are these people stupid? Like honestly, are they really stupid?

Brick and mortar retail shops are dead, dead, dead in the water. It started before the 80's with the introduction of catalog stores and the internet just finish killing it off. Honestly, no one opens up new retail stores unless it's in the luxury product market. Definitely not the shite that excellent stores sells. They only have to keep physically "expanding" in order to properly launder but that is another story altogether.

We in this country too fass...If people want to go online and buy what they want then let them and tax appropriately. They pushing people in the country too far and they'll pay the ultimate price.

No one tell Excellent stores etc to sell those stuff. They were formed in a time when purchasing decisions were supply driven, now the market the demand driven. People buy what they WANT not what is AVAILABLE.

Also, Excellent stores etc are DUMBBBBBBBB....They are middle men in this. The internet allows the customer to go straight to the source so it will always be cheaper(using less forex etc). Excellent stores prob importing goods from USA that made in China etc. Look at the amount of exchanges that took place before the goods reached the customers. Plus by the time those products are placed for sale, they are old and out of date and sold at above premium price. That is irrational. Why would anyone support this. We live in a global era and we can't get away from it. Get with it.
Last edited by Redress10 on November 10th, 2017, 3:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » November 10th, 2017, 3:28 pm

pete wrote:Well seeing that my company brings in scotch and pays the duties I wanna know who to report to customs. :|

Which company is that

airuma

Postby airuma » November 11th, 2017, 7:48 pm

pete wrote:TBH I don't think the distributors do it. Maybe the wholesalers who bring in a container or few this time of year to sell on their own as they are more cash oriented businesses. Lots of cash from many sources to convert to grease.

Are you certain of this, I remember years ago, pre 2009, a container of Johnny assigned to a local distributor went missing and was eventually found open. I was told by a senior officer that the container HAD to go missing. Maybe this might jog the memories of some other tuners who may be more reliably informed than I am.

BTW, what was the customs charge on the container of plywood with the $2Mil USD?