Grandfather leaves 17mth Newborn in car...

Re: Grandfather leaves 17mth Newborn in car...

Postby Morpheus » May 18th, 2014, 6:57 pm

LoL wtf I reading here!

Read what Hook last said.........especially the last sentence!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 18th, 2014, 7:16 pm

I know people like this, make chirren and have their grandparents mine them. Don't have a care in the world and could careless. Nobody eh call or even think about the child goes to show how useless the entire family is.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » May 18th, 2014, 7:18 pm

rollingstock wrote:It may be so, but the law is clear wrt the offence.
Plus I can't see anyone walking away free without any kind punishment for an act of such gross negligence, despite what level of remorse they may feel.

I wonder how trini society would respond if the defendant was a 25/35/45 year old male.

Would they be calling for leniency?

"oh goaar ease up granpa nah ollor too damn wicked"

"goan lock up kamla"

I wonder if it was the baby sitter who did such, would dey say she too old etc etc etc?

Postby pioneer » May 18th, 2014, 7:38 pm

LOL@ social media campaign

I can't believe these people actually live in this country.

Postby mero » May 18th, 2014, 7:52 pm

This S_2NR fella eh :lol:
Btw you n Sabriel used to guts or wha ? Does look like allyuh have a lil history beyond 2nr nah.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 18th, 2014, 7:57 pm

pioneer wrote:LOL@ social media campaign

I can't believe these people actually live in this country.

She should strap herself into a carseat in a locked car in the hot sun for 8 hours with no food and water

hondablood

Postby hondablood » May 18th, 2014, 8:25 pm

buh ent the man say he sorry,what else does out beastly law system want

Postby S_2NR » May 18th, 2014, 9:05 pm

Hook wrote:If both he and his son/daughter had kids at 27, the mathematics works out just fine and leaves room for a university education and at least three years job experience. Stop being an idiot, S_2NR.

Ok. Fair enough. But unless you know the man family tree you are just speculating just like me. Except I won't call u an idiot for having a different opinion to me.

Postby S_2NR » May 18th, 2014, 9:09 pm

mero wrote:This S_2NR fella eh :lol:
Btw you n Sabriel used to guts or wha ? Does look like allyuh have a lil history beyond 2nr nah.

Boy hear nuh..
Back in the day when MSN was a thing, we spoke shortly. Literally a few mins.
I thought she was facially challenged and had an attitude so I deleted her and ceased contact. Ever since she running all over the forums calling my name and laughing every time somebody pokes fun at me.

True story

Postby Ted_v2 » May 18th, 2014, 9:50 pm

MSN was the flick

Postby Spitfir3 » May 18th, 2014, 9:54 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:MSN was the flick

agreed 8-)
Last edited by Spitfir3 on May 18th, 2014, 11:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » May 18th, 2014, 10:38 pm

dem emoticons

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 19th, 2014, 12:36 am

This is a sad story. .. couldn't believe it when I heard it.

Postby Bizzare » May 19th, 2014, 1:19 am

sabriel, i always tort u waz a man tbh :|

Postby shogun » May 19th, 2014, 5:50 am

That pic of the child though. Damn.

I just hope it's investigated thoroughly. Situation fcuked up all around as it is. At least for a recent pattern of forgetfulness, or some other extenuating circumstance like early Alzheimer's or MCI, or something that might help explain this. Justifying this by claiming you were "excited about a promotion" won't cut it.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 19th, 2014, 6:22 am

shogun wrote:That pic of the child though. Damn.

I just hope it's investigated thoroughly. Situation fcuked up all around as it is. At least for a recent pattern of forgetfulness, or some other extenuating circumstance like early Alzheimer's or MCI, or something that might help explain this. Justifying this by claiming you were "excited about a promotion" won't cut it.

pic posted in spoiler tags is fake

Postby mero » May 19th, 2014, 7:06 am

S_2NR wrote:
mero wrote:This S_2NR fella eh :lol:

Boy hear nuh..
Back in the day when MSN was a thing, we spoke shortly. Literally a few mins.
I thought she was facially challenged and had an attitude so I deleted her and ceased contact. Ever since she running all over the forums calling my name and laughing every time somebody pokes fun at me.

True story

She does sound like she's quite unattractive and annoying af irl tbh. How does she know your 2nr alias btw?

Hope you wasn't Shiving eh

Postby S_2NR » May 19th, 2014, 7:19 am

Nah. Was just casual convo. Can't even remember how it happened. This happen in 2011 or 2012.
Since then she posting the little she knows about me on tuner like first name and the school I went to score e-pips.

Taught me a valuable lesson about bishes and how some of them just don't deserve my time or in this case, to even know my name.

Postby j.o.e » May 19th, 2014, 8:33 am

Saw someone posted this on le FB...well documented problem for years now in the States

Jaipaulsingh

Postby Jaipaulsingh » May 19th, 2014, 8:35 am

kamakazi wrote:This is a sad story. .. couldn't believe it when I heard it.

X2...wait what you talking about.....the baby dying, or the S_2NR/Sabriel scene?

Postby Hook » May 19th, 2014, 9:33 am

Postby dougla_boy » May 19th, 2014, 9:36 am

so no bull did pass then?

bigfoot

Postby bigfoot » May 19th, 2014, 10:17 am

sad that it happened in the first place , but one question for the crowd ,
if the baby is with the grandfather , to be dropped off at the daily baby sitter ,
why does not the mother nor the father call to check in on the baby sitter for the entire day , this is the part i find a bit off , because even if you drop off your child at the baby sitter for the whole day , would you or you wife at least call one time for the day to check in with the baby sitter to make sure all is well with the child ??

i am not blaming any one , because blaming cannot bring the child back to life , its indeed a sad act , sorry for the family and those concern ,

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 19th, 2014, 10:27 am

I just heard that the Grandfather killed himself...

Can anyone confirm this?

Postby K74T » May 19th, 2014, 10:29 am

Where you "heard" this from? :|

JF.K

Postby JF.K » May 19th, 2014, 10:33 am

K74T wrote:Where you "heard" this from? :|

Someone said that they heard it in the news while driving.
Not believing it as yet... checking if anyone heard that same..

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » May 19th, 2014, 10:43 am

Thats ole talk.....just spoke with someone in that area

Postby desifemlove » May 19th, 2014, 11:04 am

This may be an unpopular, but he should get charged...but gih he a lil sentence no big ting.

People saying "but de parents should ah call he!" but then which grandparent would let dey progeny (even if it ent his chile) come to harm? I'd tink it so for any close relative.

It unfortunate, on so many levels....

spanish

Postby spanish » May 19th, 2014, 11:22 am

bigfoot wrote:sad that it happened in the first place , but one question for the crowd ,
if the baby is with the grandfather , to be dropped off at the daily baby sitter ,
why does not the mother nor the father call to check in on the baby sitter for the entire day , this is the part i find a bit off , because even if you drop off your child at the baby sitter for the whole day , would you or you wife at least call one time for the day to check in with the baby sitter to make sure all is well with the child ??

Million-dollar questions.

So many things could have happened to grandpa and baby on the way to the babysitter, and not a single call was made by anyone.

Postby Hook » May 19th, 2014, 11:22 am

Hook wrote:http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/06/25/what-parent-leaves-child-in-broiling-car_n_3497956.html

Kind of a long read, but a good one.

What Kind Of Parent Forgets A Child In A Broiling Car?

What kind of parent forgets their baby in a hot car?

I ask that question every year at this time, as temperatures rise and the number of children who die grisly deaths -- literally baking in the backseat -- also start to climb. This year is shaping up to be a particularly bad one, on track to match the worst year ever. On average, 37 children die in this way in the US when the weather gets warm; so far this year there have been 15 such deaths and it isn’t even July.

What kind of parent forgets their baby? A monster, right? A callous, careless, stupid, irresponsible human being who should never have been trusted with a child in the first place, yes?

No. Which is why I keep asking this question.

The parents who accidentally leave their children to die could be any of us. That was the message of one of the most compelling pieces of journalism I have ever read, one in the Washington Post by Gene Weingarten four years ago (it later won him a Pulitzer Prize.) Dissecting a number of tragedies he persuasively argues that those who lose children this way could be you or me. He writes:

What kind of person forgets a baby?

The wealthy do, it turns out. And the poor, and the middle class. Parents of all ages and ethnicities do it. Mothers are just as likely to do it as fathers. It happens to the chronically absent-minded and to the fanatically organized, to the college-educated and to the marginally literate. In the last 10 years, it has happened to a dentist. A postal clerk. A social worker. A police officer. An accountant. A soldier. A paralegal. An electrician. A Protestant clergyman. A rabbinical student. A nurse. A construction worker. An assistant principal. It happened to a mental health counselor, a college professor and a pizza chef. It happened to a pediatrician. It happened to a rocket scientist.

A number of years ago I wrote an article for The New York Times Magazine examining fatal medical errors, and the changing thinking that assigned blame not to humans but to systems. People are, by definition, fallible, the argument goes. Pointing fingers and punishing them does not prevent the next mistake; creating a system that assumes fallibility and works around it makes a lot more practical sense.

Such is the case with hyperthermia deaths in cars. Closed, glassed in spaces have always heated rapidly -- it takes but a few minutes for the temperature inside a car parked in the summer sun to rise to the levels used for slow-cooking meat. But children only began dying in cars with alarming regularity in the early 1990s, according to Kids and Cars, an organization which tracks these numbers.

What changed?

Unintended consequences. It was during the '90s that laws began requiring children ride in car seats, in the back seat, where they were safer, yes, but also less likely to be seen and therefore more easily forgotten. Add to that a parent who, in nearly every case, changes the usual daily routines and simply forgets that he or she didn’t already drop the baby at the sitter’s on the way to work.

Think that could never happen to you? Read Weingarten’s enitre article here. Then come back and tell me you are still completely sure. Think that parents who do this should be tried for manslaughter and sent to jail? Read of how these families punish themselves, and come back and tell me if you still feel the same way.

Yes, some of these cases are muddled. One in North Dakota, in May, happened to a child whose mother had previously been charged with neglect. And one in Illinois last week included the accusation by police that while a 2-year-old died of heatstroke in the driveway, his father lay passed out, drunk, in the house.

But most are like the tragedy this weekend in Florida, where two parents brought their three children to a babysitter before going to a family funeral. They took two cars to the babysitter’s, and each parent thought the other had brought the 3-year-old inside. They then left one car -- the one with the 3-year-old -- in the sitter’s driveway, and drove to the funeral together. They found their son, dead, when they returned three hours later.

So what to do, systematically, to lessen the chances of such simple but fatal errors? Kids and Cars sums up their suggestions with the acronym BE SAFE:
Back seat: Put something in the back seat whenever you strap a child in, so you have to open the back door, or at least turn around to find that item, when you get out of the car. Your handbag or briefcase, cellphone or employee badge.

Every child should be correctly restrained in the back seat.

Stuffed animal: Keep a brightly colored one in the car seat when your child isn’t there. Then move it from the car seat to the front seat after you strap your child in, to remind you when your baby is in the back seat.

Ask your baby sitter or child-care provider to call you within 10 minutes if your child hasn't arrived on time.

Focus on driving: Avoid cellphone calls and text-messaging while driving.

Every time you park your vehicle -- every single time -- open the back door to make sure no one has been left behind.

My heart breaks for the 15 families who have lost children to the heat so far this year and the more than 650 who have done so in recent decades.

Calling the parents inhuman monsters might make us feel better, but it won’t save the next child. Recognizing they are human beings just might.

Please check your back seat.