Accident by Trincity 29/1/2012 *Pic*

Re: Accident by Trincity 29/1/2012 *Pic*

Postby cinco » January 31st, 2012, 2:35 pm

a racing driver will never tell u hold 9/3 especially with your thumbs since the steering can feedback and spin and break them

Postby crazybalhead » January 31st, 2012, 2:38 pm

Postby MG Man » January 31st, 2012, 3:37 pm

cinco wrote:a racing driver will never tell u hold 9/3 especially with your thumbs since the steering can feedback and spin and break them

u sure?
even Formula D drivers use 9 and 3
Just look at Drift Bible and you'll see
nobody said to hook your thumbs around the wheel....the cutouts on that wheel CBH posted allow you to extend your thumb, not hook, while your fingers grasp the other side

Postby cinco » January 31st, 2012, 3:41 pm

thats why i said with your thumb
most ppl would just hook it on the wheel since its comfortable

Postby MG Man » January 31st, 2012, 3:50 pm

yup
I love watching those FD guys drive. No matter the steering wheel position, they almost always maintain 9 and 3
Watching Tsuchiya in his element in Drift Bible is awe inspiring....very light with his inputs
Even when watching older F1 videos when cars had more than 3/4 turns lock-to-lock, it was always a combo of 9&3 and 'pulling rope

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 31st, 2012, 8:11 pm

Ow BTW there was another accident tonight just before Bagwhansingh in Trincity on the High way.

3 cars run off the road, had traffic like mad, this was around 6:30 PM. Fire Service came in with Jaws of Life and saw and stuff I see them cutting apart a white van.

I could not stop to take pics cause police was directing traffic.

If anyone got a chance to take pics please post them. It was a terrible accident people seemed seriously Injured. No doubt drunk driving and speeding again. Very dangerous time of the year.

Postby pioneer » January 31st, 2012, 8:12 pm

traffic still backup

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 31st, 2012, 8:21 pm

The amount of people who get away with speeding and breaking red lights is amazing.

The government should provide training for the Police to be able to detect these things.

Postby K74T » January 31st, 2012, 8:22 pm

De fyaz cyah done

Postby Hook » January 31st, 2012, 8:28 pm

if we had these installed at major intersections, nobody would break a red light

Postby Trini Hookah » January 31st, 2012, 8:51 pm

That's amazing Hook, but down here it will go missing after a while :|

Postby pioneer » January 31st, 2012, 9:04 pm

our police still use stopwatch and calculator to catch speeding motorists

breaking red lights is trini culture that they proud of...blow horn an go chu...nuttin go happen...dem is jivers

Postby AllTrac » January 31st, 2012, 10:34 pm

Hook wrote:if we had these installed at major intersections, nobody would break a red light

lol@1:51-1:56 :lol:

Postby SR » January 31st, 2012, 11:10 pm

pioneer wrote:our police still use stopwatch and calculator to catch speeding motorists

breaking red lights is trini culture that they proud of...blow horn an go chu...nuttin go happen...dem is jivers

u sure dem have a calculator???

where else in the world is that method used to calculated a motorist speed in a speed trap

yet here it stands in court.................

Postby MG Man » February 1st, 2012, 12:10 am

Hook wrote:if we had these installed at major intersections, nobody would break a red light

imagine the bozo in front of u trying to run thru, and then bouncing back into you as you stopping for the red
or someone genuinely distracted etc

Postby rollingstock » February 1st, 2012, 12:19 am

SR wrote:
pioneer wrote:our police still use stopwatch and calculator to catch speeding motorists

where else in the world is that method used to calculated a motorist speed in a speed trap

Actually it is universally accepted, and is presently still used in England and in Miami (to my personal knowledge) in certain cases where drivers have radar detectors that notifies them of speed traps allowing them to elude prosecution.

But of course this is T&T where it is easier to open your trap before doing any type of research.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 1st, 2012, 12:30 am

rollingstock wrote:Actually it is universally accepted, and is presently still used in England and in Miami (to my personal knowledge) in certain cases where drivers have radar detectors that notifies them of speed traps allowing them to elude prosecution.

But of course this is T&T where it is easier to open your trap before doing any type of research.

Using a stopwatch introduces too many errors to be accurate.

First of all, are the stopwatches used by the TTPS calibrated as any measuring device has to be. Is the calibration traceable (NIST standards)?

How is the human reaction time taken into account in the timing?

There are too many sources of error. Any person with common sense can put a sensible case forward to a judge that the method used for measuring the time he/she took to travel over a fixed distance (and was the equipment used to set out the timing distance calibrated?) introduces too many errors to be accurate.

Accident by Trincity 29/1/2012 *Pic*

Postby Hook » February 1st, 2012, 1:47 am

^^^ I know someone who fought a speeding ticket on those grounds and won eh

imagine the bozo in front of u trying to run thru, and then bouncing back into you as you stopping for the red
or someone genuinely distracted etc

it only needs to happen to one bozo

Postby De Dragon » February 1st, 2012, 3:30 am

Yet the millisecond the light changes to green, some nannyjuice behind you starts to blow their horn! :roll:

Postby rollingstock » February 1st, 2012, 5:36 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Actually it is universally accepted, and is presently still used in England and in Miami (to my personal knowledge) in certain cases where drivers have radar detectors that notifies them of speed traps allowing them to elude prosecution.

Using a stopwatch introduces too many errors to be accurate.

First of all, are the stopwatches used by the TTPS calibrated as any measuring device has to be. Is the calibration traceable (NIST standards)?

How is the human reaction time taken into account in the timing?

There are too many sources of error. Any person with common sense can put a sensible case forward to a judge that the method used for measuring the time he/she took to travel over a fixed distance (and was the equipment used to set out the timing distance calibrated?) introduces too many errors to be accurate.

There are set procedures and notes that need to be made prior to setting out to do this, many times the police fail to do this which cause them to lose matters in court cause diary extracts cannot be produced.

Errors are calculated for, that's why you sometimes get that stupid 'how fast you were going?' question.

I'm not advocating the continued use of this procedure, there are easier ways to calculate the speed of a vehicle, but this is what the law caters for, and the police has to work within that, my point is that nothing is wrong with the procedure used, calculating speed.................measure a certain distance, time how long it takes a vehicle to cover that distance, and then convert to km/h, it is what was done prior to the radar gun, however the invention of that instrument did not cancel the existence of basic maths and physics.

Postby r3iXmann » February 1st, 2012, 7:46 am

De Dragon wrote:Yet the millisecond the light changes to green, some nannyjuice behind you starts to blow their horn! :roll:

mind you,they take a year and a half to reach 80km eh :roll:

altaph

Postby altaph » February 1st, 2012, 7:57 am

Just to shed a little light on this. The reason the driver of the Hilux was unable to exit the vehicle is because he was paralyzed from the impact. Still in ICU unable to move form the neck down. From Police reports it appears that the B14 Broke the lights & hit the Hilux hence the severe damage.

Unfortunate to see some of the posts here.

Postby SR » February 1st, 2012, 2:00 pm

SR wrote:

Actually it is universally accepted, and is presently still used in England and in Miami (to my personal knowledge) in certain cases where drivers have radar detectors that notifies them of speed traps allowing them to elude prosecution.

i qoute
"Speed limits were originally enforced by manually timing or "clocking" vehicles travelling through "speed traps" defined between two fixed landmarks along a roadway that were a known distance apart; the vehicle's average speed was then determined by dividing the distance travelled by the time taken to travel it. Setting up a speed trap that could provide legally satisfactory [b]evidence was usually time consuming and error prone, as it relied on its human operators[/b]."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speed_limit_enforcement

Postby rollingstock » February 1st, 2012, 2:15 pm

^ Don't get me wrong i'm not defending the continued use of this method, yes it is prone to human error, but it is the only 'lawfully' accepted method in T&T, until the powers at be see it fit to change legislation for the implementation of other methods, this is what we have to work with.

My point is that this method if the proper procedure is followed can and will stand up in court, the problem is proper training of police officers and then getting them to do the right thing................and well that, near impossible.

Postby SR » February 1st, 2012, 2:23 pm

well yunno that eh go happen till officers could pass maths and english
a 3 is not a pass

and common sense not so common

many wear a uniform and fell they above everyone else

most need to learn how to talk to people professionaly whether they are wrong or right

Postby rollingstock » February 1st, 2012, 2:56 pm

SR wrote:well yunno that eh go happen till officers could pass maths and english
a 3 is not a pass

and common sense not so common

many wear a uniform and fell they above everyone else

most need to learn how to talk to people professionaly whether they are wrong or right

You mad? According to CXC it is :|

btw you don't need common sense if you have a gun (it's written somewhere <-- like a few words back :D )

Postby pioneer » February 1st, 2012, 6:27 pm

our police pretty backward...but hey at least they have a plane now

no administration would ever properly equip the police...because it would work against them

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 1st, 2012, 7:09 pm

altaph wrote:Just to shed a little light on this. The reason the driver of the Hilux was unable to exit the vehicle is because he was paralyzed from the impact. Still in ICU unable to move form the neck down. From Police reports it appears that the B14 Broke the lights & hit the Hilux hence the severe damage.

Unfortunate to see some of the posts here.

3 witnesses said the hilux Driver broke the red light. Which is what I went on.

Very unfortunate if its the other way around and 3 people lied. Not sure what reasons those 3 people have to lie because they were not related to anyone in the accident and claimed they saw everything.

However if for any reason they did lie then its very unfortunate for the Hilux driver.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 1st, 2012, 7:13 pm

It is unfortunate we don't have cameras on our traffic lights especially at that area in trincity which seems to have an accident every 3 days.

Postby Hook » February 1st, 2012, 8:19 pm

The camera will do what exactly? After we all see the evidence and realize who was wrong, the footage is still inadmissible in court. A two-forked approach is necessary to get both the hardware AND the legislation in place.

I'm all for posting up some really blunt street signs that say "IF YOU RUN THIS RED LIGHT, YOU DIE!" in the interim.