48÷2(9+3) = ?

Re: 48÷2(9+3) = ?

Postby sMASH » April 13th, 2011, 9:57 am

for it to be 288 it would have to be worked out as two separate sums then the outcome of those then be used together. i.e.
48/2(9+3)=
24(12)=
24*12=288

and the only way for it to be worked out separately would be to have the 48/2 bracketed, so it would have to be (48/2)(9+3)= for u to get 288

so, that is wrong, the brackets associates the contents of the brackets with the 2, which is the denominator for the division 48/2. u cannot work out the division 48/2 because the denominator is complicated as 2(9+3). this must be simplified first. 2(12) which is then worked out to be 24.

only now can the initial division, can be worked out, which ends up being 48/24.

give mega this, he would say it not in the bible so is not true, and u have to have faith in the bible and not these distractions.

Postby sharkman121 » April 13th, 2011, 10:07 am

i give alyuh d ansa arredy yes :?

Postby Mark! » April 13th, 2011, 10:13 am

if allyuh maths teachers see allyuh now, they go hold dey head in shame!

ivar

Postby ivar » April 13th, 2011, 10:15 am

The final answer is 288.. thats that move on ppl.

Postby sMASH » April 13th, 2011, 10:19 am

Mark! wrote:if allyuh maths teachers see allyuh now, they go hold dey head in shame!

ms judy did ask all the chilren in standard 5 who taking lessons to come in front the class. she come out with she wooden cutlass to cheten all ah we. the girls were upset for making the teacher upset, i was like 'is my faddah money and my time, can i sit back down now'

dem eh have nutten on me,

Polydor

Postby Polydor » April 13th, 2011, 10:52 am

Bet everyone would have wanted it if was 288 when calculating interest or back-pay for staff.... :lol:

silvyrsurfyr

Postby silvyrsurfyr » April 13th, 2011, 10:52 am

just google de equation and u will get de answer :agrue:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » April 13th, 2011, 10:53 am

Postby ronsin1 » April 13th, 2011, 10:54 am

sMASH wrote:for it to be 288 it would have to be worked out as two separate sums then the outcome of those then be used together. i.e.
48/2(9+3)=
24(12)=
24*12=288

and the only way for it to be worked out separately would be to have the 48/2 bracketed, so it would have to be (48/2)(9+3)= for u to get 288

so, that is wrong, the brackets associates the contents of the brackets with the 2, which is the denominator for the division 48/2. u cannot work out the division 48/2 because the denominator is complicated as 2(9+3). this must be simplified first. 2(12) which is then worked out to be 24.

only now can the initial division, can be worked out, which ends up being 48/24.

give mega this, he would say it not in the bible so is not true, and u have to have faith in the bible and not these distractions.

actually you are right I will now hold my head in shame :cry:

Postby ronsin1 » April 13th, 2011, 10:56 am

Postby ronsin1 » April 13th, 2011, 11:10 am

jimdawg

Postby jimdawg » April 13th, 2011, 12:50 pm

the answer is 2!......... wat so hard to understand??? 48/2(9+3).. 48/(9*2+3*2) =48/(18+6)
=48/(24)= 2

Postby 16 cycles » April 13th, 2011, 1:00 pm

ronsin1 wrote::shock:

wonder what the HP's will out put with the RPL entry system...

Postby rollingstock » April 13th, 2011, 1:13 pm

Whoever got 2 as the answer should go beat the crap out of their maths teacher.

Postby teems1 » April 13th, 2011, 1:46 pm

after seeing this thread, I hadda agree with Tim Gopeesingh banning extra curricular activities... alyuh hadda spend more time in maths class...

plenty ppl on tuner getting ketch when this simple problem

Postby pete » April 13th, 2011, 1:49 pm

jimdawg wrote:the answer is 2!......... wat so hard to understand??? 48/2(9+3).. 48/(9*2+3*2) =48/(18+6)
=48/(24)= 2

No.. 48/2(9+3) = 48 * 1/2 * (9+3) = 288

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 13th, 2011, 2:45 pm

crap this sheit has reached here :|
answer is 288.
think about it.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » April 13th, 2011, 3:09 pm

Pay attention to the brackets

Postby Stephon. » April 13th, 2011, 3:19 pm

I am glad that more and more people are realizing tha the answer is 288. Even the two calculators. Look at the model numbers. The UPGRADED calculator gives the right answer where as the earlier calculator still has bugs at the time the sum was being worked out :lol:

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2011, 3:33 pm

this is why HP calculators use postfix notation which eliminates all these discrepancies of prefix notation.

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 13th, 2011, 4:04 pm

its 2

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » April 13th, 2011, 4:05 pm

288 is wrong remember BODMAS right u have to work the terms as pairs in BO DM AS so the answer is 2
Last edited by jeevdude199 on April 13th, 2011, 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 13th, 2011, 4:06 pm

lol i sure hope this dont come into play for those of us that are engineers an error of 286 is one epic fail either way

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 13th, 2011, 4:08 pm

ronsin1 wrote:
sMASH wrote:for it to be 288 it would have to be worked out as two separate sums then the outcome of those then be used together. i.e.
48/2(9+3)=
24(12)=
24*12=288

good work dude lets see how many morons try to disprove this.

Postby pete » April 13th, 2011, 4:09 pm

it would be 2 if the formula was 48÷(2(9+3))

Postby Mark! » April 13th, 2011, 4:10 pm

i have an idea, lets all divide by zero

Postby rollingstock » April 13th, 2011, 4:10 pm

jeevdude199 wrote:288 is wrong remember BODMAS right u have to work the terms as pairs in BO DM AS so the answer is 2

Yuh even read the other posts, (d&m - a&s) have no precedent over each other, if they appear in teh same equation it must be worked fro the left to teh right.

I swear some ah allyuh never payed attention in school.

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 13th, 2011, 4:14 pm

is this an international problem or a trini problem? i am gona post on fb see what my friends at home say.

Postby rollingstock » April 13th, 2011, 4:15 pm

jm3 wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:
48/2(9+3)=
24(12)=
24*12=288

good work dude lets see how many morons try to disprove this.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » April 13th, 2011, 4:15 pm

steupss.. is 288.. there is no way in hell it could be anything otherwise